We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A huge, clean and attractive beach”

Playa de Maspalomas
Ranked #1 of 73 things to do in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sunderland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A huge, clean and attractive beach”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This beach is very clean and is quite a size. Be aware that as you wander along you will find a section of nudists, and a gay area, each to their own.

The picturesque sand dunes are worth a visit, almost desert like formations. Again, be aware, you may stumble across nudists. if that may bother you then I suggest you dont venture.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyLonsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,724 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,166
    1,923
    492
    106
    37
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Windy and uneasy.”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We were able to get a free bus to the beach provided by Dunas Mirador, the beach itself was very clean and looked nice but was far too windy to relax or do anything!

There were a few souvenir shops and a small cafe where we had a nice ice cream.

There were a lot of "dodgy" kinds of people trying to sale counterfeit sunglasses, belts etc and saw somebody try to forcefully sale something to clearly a tourist by grabbing their hand, which made me feel very uneasy.

In all, we didn't really enjoy our visit with the combination of the strong wind and "dodgy" people.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dub92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Wonderful, but windy beach”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Playa de Maspalomas is one of the classic beaches in Europe. It is enormous, but most people tend to stay close to the southern part, and preferably close to Maspalomas and the shopping centre. There are kiosques and sun beds are rented. On the dunes you can find quiet spots, but there are occasionally people behaving oddly (mostly sexual minorities/odd preferences) in the inner areas. Some of the area is for naturalists. I would recommend a walk from Faro along the shore to Playa del Ingles. Stop at one of the Kiosques. The walk takes a few hours.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lile_my
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Busy, but lovely visit”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We got the bus from Playa Taurito to the very convenient Faro Bus Station. 7.95euros return great scenic ride. Lovely walking along the promenade-statue men posing-very different and very clever and obviously they don't bother you at all! Nice classy shops scattered about and very upmarket hotels. Faro beautiful and the sea lovely. Beautiful beach and vast sand dunes. Loads of restuarants. It was busy but well worth the visit. Only one 'tout' but they need to stamp on it before it becomes like some of the other Canary Islands.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MerseysideJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great beach”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great,
if your gay this is the place to be.
Lots to do, plenty of sightseeing, recomend you hire a car.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank GPozzuto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa de Maspalomas also viewed

Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria
 
Gran Canaria, Canary Islands
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
 

Been to Playa de Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing