We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Stay - very nice resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Salobre Golf & Resort Villas
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful Stay - very nice resort”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Stayed with family over Easter, and had a really wonderful stay.Some initial confusion - the booking was not correctly recorded, and they expected us a day later - this was sorted fairly fast, and they put us up in a different villa for one night, and then moves into "ours" the next day. Did not bother me too much, these things happen, and they gave us lunch, dinner, coffee and 1 day internet for free to say sorry.

Both villas we thus stayed in were of very high quality, very clean and spacious, all things you expect. Huge main bedroom with en-suite bathroom and walk in closet room. 2 extra twin bedrooms, one more bathroom and a toilet room - works perfectly for 6 people (and we were only 4!).

Kitchen has Nespresso machine, microwave, dishwasher, washer & dryer... nothing missing for us.

Easy drive to villages around, but we mostly stayed put, too beautiful around the pool. You have access to the Sheraton nearby for facilities, just E10 to use thr gym for example. There is a spa there as well.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephanJudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    41
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
84
53
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Absolutely beautiful. This is a large resort set around a golf course, so what I'm writing about Los Lagos may not be the case for the villas the other side of the resort.

Firstly you'd have to be crazy to go here without a car and I struggle to see how people have not picked up on that from the descriptions of the location.

The resort is lovely and even though it was a villa complex they were so cleverly designed we weren't overlooked and had fabulous views without other villas in the way.

The villa itself was on two floors with a master bed upstairs with en suite. Bedding and towels were changed very couple of days and the place cleaned half way through our two week stay. You can pay for more regular cleaning but it seemed a bit steep at 50 Euros a day. The odd sweep up kept it ok for us.

It was lovely inside and out although starting to see some peeling paint in places. Our pool, which we paid to heat at 20 Euros per day, was little more than a plunge pool but it was fabulous for our baby daughter to play in and she loved it. When you've spent so much on a beautiful place then it seems daft to us not to pay the extra. My husband heard people complaining they wanted their pools heated on specific days but that was clearly not possible as it needed time to warm up. There was a heated communal pool in our complex which was lovely but too cold for our daughter.

The villa had everything we required and when we found we needed something else such as larger coffee cups we'd ring reception and often it was there in 5 minutes. They did check with us after a couple of days that we were happy with eveyrthing, great service.

My husband ran around the perimeter of the resort most days and saw a lot of other runners. It was about three to four miles around.

We weren't there to play golf but it looked a challenging and interesting course. The bar and restaurant were in a lovely location overlooking the course and we went most days to use the free wifi and enjoy a fresh orange juice. Food there was very pleasant.

Beds were wonderful and not too hard as previous reviewers have said. I slept really well and so did my usually restless husband.

Gran Canaria itself is sadly spoilt with the horrendous hotel resorts along the cost. If only they'd built in the class of this golf resort it may still be a nice island.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlf77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director de Recepción at Salobre Golf & Resort Villas, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Dear customer,
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience in Villas Salobre with everybody. Our aim is to fulfil your expectations, and it is really important for us to know whether we do, or what we can do for getting it.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran Canaria, Spain
Level Contributor
142 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Have stayed in these lovely Villa's several times now & have always enjoyed my stays.
However, it is becoming clear now that no one take's responsibilty for the very poor condition of the road that contacts all the villa complexes together.
I always bring my car, which I like very much, but it has got to the point now where its dangerous to even drive to the various different villa complexes. The problem is there are 'Huge' pot holes everywhere which are growing by the day!.......What is going on!!! How can the people who run these beautiful complexes let the whole area get 'Run down' like this. This would not be allowed to happen in other countries.....
I Was seriously considering buying one of the Villa's but not now, because of this, and also know off others that are being 'Put-off' by the same problem....
Sorry to say, but it's time to stop saying 'Manana manana, and start Doing Today!......This is now going to be my last visit.

Room Tip: Nice Villa's, but because no one is taking responsibility for the road connections as mentioned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rigboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director de Recepción at Salobre Golf & Resort Villas, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear customer,
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience in Villas Salobre. Our aim is to fulfil your expectations, and it is really important for us to know whether we do, or what we can do for getting it.
In order to be able to make our resort as comfortable as possible, we would like to know some more details about the problem you have mentioned. Please send us an e-mail to recepcionvillas@salobregolfresort.com.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

I recently stayed at a Specialodges villa on this resort - par 4 villa 3.  It was great!
The villa was lovely and had 2 bedroom and 2 bathrooms, with it's own pool (heated which took the chill off it), bbq and outdoor covered seating area. It is also situated at the top of the hill so when the sun left the garden late in the afternoon (we were there the second week in January) we just moved out to the front where we could sit in peace and quiet and watch the sun go down.
The villa was very well equipped - I particularly liked the TV as we could swap the language of programmes back to english if they had originally been recorded in English (e.g. Friends, films, etc.).
The resort is away from the town so you do need a car but there is a small supermarket on site (although a 20 minute walk away) it had all you need to top up your main shopping.
Special lodges were great to deal with - they helped out with all of our requests and left a great selection of grocery items for our first day (and the bread delivery each morning was a nice touch!).
I would definately stay again for a relaxing holiday in the sun and would recommend specialodges.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tokyo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2011

A very pleasant stay. We lived in four people in Los Lagos, villa 11. Villa very nice, bright, spacious, despite 85 m2. It can be seen in light signs of used. Spectacular views, peaceful, beautiful surroundings. You need a car. For sure we will return there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonnette04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director de Recepción at Salobre Golf & Resort Villas, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear customer,
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience in Villas Salobre with everybody. Our aim is to fulfil your expectations, and it is really important for us to know whether we do, or what we can do for getting it.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed here nine days i july, family of four. Nice villas, but NOT five stars - mayby four. Extremely poor service. There is abseloutely nothing to do for childeren on the premesis. Sadly, because of the service (the manager) and the standard of the villas, our summervacation did not turn out as we had hoped for. If you are looking for å five (or Good four) star vacation, dont go here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank browsfre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director de Recepción at Salobre Golf & Resort Villas, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
Dear guests,
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience in Villas Salobre and we are sorry that your stay with us did not match your expectations.
Our aim is to satisfy your wishes, and it is really important for us to know whether we do, or what we can do for getting it. In our establishment, we are working every day on a continuous improvement.
We hope you give us a new chance to demonstrate you the comfortable and lovely place Villas Salobre can be for everybody.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

We booked through James villas and stayed in Par 4 villa 22 in early April for one week. 

The pro's
- beautifully furnished/decorated
- good kitchen utensils (toaster, sandwich toaster, grill, hand blender, coffee machine
- great welcome pack on arrival -bread, wine, water, yoghurt, tea, jam, butter, ham, cheese, loo roll & a massive bowl of fruit
- safe in cupboard of main bedroom
- lovely cot for our 5 month old with linen
- fantastic outdoor space & seating area
- beautiful views over golf course to mountains & all the way down to maspolomas.
- plenty of parking (you get one space but can park on road easily)
- lovely quiet area
- villa reasonably private . Not overlooked.
- amazing fresh bread delivered daily
- 2 min walk to Sheraton hotel which is very nice with bar/restaurant which are expensive but enjoyable
- the clubhouse at the entrance to resort has a restaurant/cafe which is very lovely & 10% off for villa guests. They do takeaway pizza too. Check opening times though as kitchen can close as early as 20.30 they do afternoon tea too!
- beds are comfy
- small but very well stocked Spar on site with decent prices
- very good week of weather
- you get a golf buggy for the week

Cons
- furthest away from the On site Spar & clubhouse, not at all walkable but you have the golf buggy
- pool a tad cold even when heated, was 26 degrees
- only English tv channel is BBC news24
- potential for more villas to be built on complex therefore building works possible I would say
- 2/3rd bedrooms considerably smaller than bedroom 1
- no other bars/restaurants on site other than hotel. Only 10min drive to meloneras/maspolomas though. 

All in all, a beautiful villa in a relaxing location. We absolutely loved it & would go again without hesitation. 

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank anna68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort
3.7 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#16 of 218 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
6.6 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#6 of 19 in San Agustin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
4.5 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#21 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,213 reviews
4.6 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#9 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salobre Golf & Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salobre Golf & Resort Villas

Property: Salobre Golf & Resort Villas
Address: Autopista GC1, km53 | Urbanizacion Salobre, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 173 Specialty Lodging in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Salobre Golf & Resort Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive private villas within the Salobre Golf Resort with private pool or jacuzzi and magnificent views at the golf course and the surrounding landscape. The resort is located in the sunny South of Gran Canaria, only a few minutes drive away from the golden beaches of Malspalomas and Playa del Inglés. In cooperation with the Hotel Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort and the golf courses of Gran Canaria, we are happy to offer tailor made packages attending to your individual requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Salobre Golf & Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salobre Golf And Resort Villas
Salobre Golf & Resort Villas Hotel Maspalomas
Salobre Golf & Resort Villas Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing