We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter sunshine”
Review of Tabaiba Princess

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tabaiba Princess
Ranked #51 of 216 Hotels in Maspalomas
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Winter sunshine”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

First visit to Grand Canaria and stayed at this hotel from 23rd to 30th November. Checked in about 9.00 and offered dinner which was nice after a long flight. No help offered with our luggage but we made our way to the room. A large room with a very lumpy bed.

Breakfast fine but poor sausages, more like frankfurters and frothy black coffee.Dinner choice is adequate but starters are the same everyday and the puddings are poor with very little choice. Best try the grill for a decent main course. Staff very polite and good natured.

Booked this hotel because it had a heated pool in winter, well I tried both the heated and unheated and there was very little difference.
Get the towels out early because sun loungers are taken

Tried the a la carte retaurant but the soup was cold, stick to a steak for main course .

No english channels on our tv ( room 2295) and payment required for safe and mini-bar. Oh I wish a kettle had been supplied!!

On the whole a typical 4* hotel trying to cut costs. They are fortunate to have good staff whoe are a pleasant and couldn't do enough for you. Will not recommend another stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank john990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    874
    397
    119
    63
See reviews for
694
1,063
27
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

A truly lovely hotel, our all inclusive stay was fantastic. The façade of the hotel as you approach is very impressive and entering the hotel does not disappoint as its equally beautiful. Our room was spacious and very clean and well laid out. The standard of the food and drink was very high and superb choice. Entertainment was very good and varied, although we just enjoyed sitting outside on the lovely patio area, it was fantastic. We enjoyed the location as we like a walk, although you have to dodge the dreaded sellers popping out from every bush. The staff were lovely with the exception of the odd one, which was a shame as they let the hotel down. The only other thing to watch out for, take your largest clothes you will need them, you cant resist the food and drink.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Elizabeth186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Never been in this size of hotel before, so didn't know what to expect. Pleasantly surprised with the hotel and facilities.
It took some getting use to the dining arrangements, we found it quiet busy and noisy at times but soon found the best time to eat which suited us. I found the food to my liking, as I like all the salad stuff, etc. My hubby would have liked a little more variety in the hot dishes,in saying that there was nothing wrong with the quality of the food. The snacks were also good in the afternoon.
Loads of sunbeds altogether which I'm not keen on but the hotel does share with its sister hotel. We always managed to find a sunbed that was a little further from the crowds on the man-made beach area.
The bars at night were great for relaxing and we enjoyed the very professional evening entertainment.
The walk to the dunes takes about 20 mins which helps work off all the extra pounds from eatingand drinking when A.I.
I celebrated a birthday and the hotel sent a bottle of champagne to our room, which was a really nice touch.
I have read some of the reviews and I would be nit picking if I moaned about the coffee/tea machines,cleared tables, queues at the bar etc. We experienced this BUT still ENJOYED the hotel.
All in all, we were very pleased, came back home and told friends who want to return with us next year to celebrate their 50th wedding anniversary and our 40th.
What more can one say.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dorothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Spent a week at the Tabaiba Princess from 7th November 2013. Have stayed here may times and always been very happy. However this year it appears to have gone totally downhill. The rooms were still fine, if a little tired looking. Reception was always clean and tidy. But the food - it was AWFUL. Always cold, very little choice. They seem very fond of sweets made of chocolate and garish jellies. 'Fresh' fruit was non existent. Mostly rejects from other hotels I would think. Breakfast was a joke. Coffee/tea machines were unbelievable that is if you could find a table that had been cleared to sit at. My husband had a pancake one morning which could easily have been used as a Frisbee. Our dog gets better food. As for the bar service that is unreal. They are obviously cutting costs everywhere - especially the staff. It was not unusual for queues to be 3 deep waiting to be served.

All in all very disappointing and we certainly won't be going back. It is a pity to see a hotel go from being excellent to abysmal.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 807Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We enjoyed our stay food was very good staff were friendly the room was lovely it was worth paying to upgrade room .just beware a lot of people naked in sauna and steam room.the hotel is clean and tidy .it is quite a walk to the sand dunes.the gym was most disappointing equipment not working the running machine actually stops whilst mid program very dangerous.enjoyed the off season break and the weather was kind.

Room Tip: It's worth upgrading
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed in this hotel, all inclusive, early November. We had both never stayed in an all inclusive hotel and were unsure what to expect. I was impressed with the presentation and layout of the hotel, the pool was huge and had a heated section as well as two children pools. There was a snack bar which served hot dogs, burgers, pizza, toasties, chips etc throughout the day to all inclusive customers, however several bars were for the hotel next door and they wouldn't serve us, unless we paid which was a bit annoying.

The main restaurant area was a buffet style dinner, breakfast was very good and included bacon, sausage, cereal, pancakes, bread, eggs, omelette etc. Usually we had lunch at the pool snack bar, but the one time we did eat lunch in the main restaurant it was mainly pizza, lasagne, meat, bread, etc. Dinner was different most nights, there way always a main meat being cooked by chefs on the grill at the entrance, this was often steak or fish. There was always a variety of meat, either chicken, fish, pork, duck etc. There was a bread section, a salad section and then other things like veg etc. The puddings were different every night, however there was always a choice of ice cream. I enjoyed the cake, whereas my partner often had the cream or mouse pudding that night.

I was disappointed by the all inclusive drinks, we realised once we got there, there was all inclusive 'premium' which we weren't told about. My partner wanted a Jack Daniels and coke but they would only serve him some local whisky. I also asked for shots one night and they refused to serve me any. The cocktails were very weak of alcohol and were made from a machine however they were very nice.

The room was basic and included a king size bed which we were very impressed by. The shower was a good size and the room had air con with three settings. The TV was useful to watch British Sky News but that was the only english channel.

The location of the hotel is about a 15 minutes walk from the beach and Meloneras.

The entertainment was good most nights, there was either a piano man performing in the piano bar or downstairs in the larger bar the entertainment during our stay included a parrot show, magician, drag act singer, The Supremes tribute act, there was a lot of tribute acts.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Our first visit to this hotel, first impressions are grand entrance with palm tree lined driveway, very clean and tidy, we arrived with several other guests and waited to check in, which was not a problem but didn't get given all the information about the room etc at the time, i.e. we weren't told anything about the mini bar or fridge (that you had to PAY for)and we had to ask about a safe to hire and no one explained how to find our room we were just given a map and they moved on to the next person. After working out which way to go (the hotel is huge) we found our floor and walked the longest corridor in the world to get to our room overlooking the mini golf course, beds are very firm and pillows were quite hard, the safe was quite easy to work out the tv took a bit longer, walls are quite thin and could hear next doors conversation early morning and when they went to the toilet. Also very few plug holes in the room I only found one behind a chair and one in the bathroom. We arrived about 3.30 pm so unpacked and went for a stroll round the hotel, the maspalomas princess is a mirrored hotel next door but not all inclusive. Nice pool areas but difficult to get a bed in the sunny areas not shaded by the palm trees as everyone must get up in the middle of the night to put the towels on the beds, even though there are signs saying you cannot do this, I never saw anyone move anyone's towels away and the people left them sometimes until late afternoon before they appeared, two pools are heated, and two pool bars are for the all inclusive guests, the usual local spirits, beers and wine are available, there are a few bar staff that do not seem to understand a lot of English trying to order a beer and lime seemed quite a task, and you cant have a bottle of water on all inclusive you have to have it in a plastic cup or glass or else you have to pay 2.20 euros for it so no taking a bottle of water to your room unless you buy it. We also found that you even had to pay for the Mini Golf that was quite expensive 3.50 euros each unless you played between 5pm and 7pm then it was buy one get one free, nice looking course but not very exciting, and the balls go down a shoot at the last hole so no sneaking a second game, the turtles were quite cute sunbathing on the walls around the course and the cats lazing under the palms. Massage and reflexology is nice, ladies very friendly, gym was a bit hit and miss, we couldn't get the stepper or the running machine to work and later in the week they had a leak from the roof with a bucket underneath but the water was running through the electric light so we came out, didn't see any staff in there at all. Steam room and sauna were both quite large, also a fish pedicure which seemed quite popular. Walking out of the hotel please be aware you will have to walk over a mile to the beach alongside the dry river bed or out onto the main road, both ways there are no toilet facilities only a garage on the top road, so anyone with walking difficulties I suggest they would need a taxi, there doesn't seems to be a bus to the beach as the bus station is also a little way from the front, early morning seemed the best time to walk as later on nearer lunchtime you get bombarded by timeshare people that get quite annoyed if your not interested, African looking ladies that try and get you to shake their hand and then tie a bracelet round your wrist and then try to get money from you for it, they also are not pleased and shout to each other in their own language when you walk away, nice bars along the beach front but drinks are quite expensive. Evening entertainment is varied and half board paying guests seem to take priority at the bar, Food in the restaurant is nice, again a lot of choice and varies from evening to evening i.e. Canarian. Chinese, Mexican, Very nicely presented, you have to queue and wait to be taken to a table, well thats the idea ..... some nationalities think this doesn't apply to them which can be most annoying when you have politely waited you turn. And eat plenty after about 10.30pm you cant get food anywhere except from a vending machine you have to pay for and no drinks until morning unless you take a cup up from the bar with water in. We made it a nice relaxing break but cant see us returning to this hotel in the near future, sorry

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank G A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.1 mi away
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
#55 of 216 in Maspalomas
1,915 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
1.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#19 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#6 of 19 in San Agustin
1,682 reviews
1.2 mi away
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
#16 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,499 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#5 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabaiba Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabaiba Princess

Property: Tabaiba Princess
Address: Avda. Tour Operador Tui, s/n | Campo Internacional, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#45 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#49 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tabaiba Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maspalomas & Tabaiba Princess is perfect for families with children, golfer (there's a golf course right behind) and those who just want to relax by the pool. The two u-shaped buildings Maspalomas Princess and Tabaiba Princess share a huge pool landscape including an artificial beach, with pool bars and a relax-island. The Maspalomas & Tabaiba Princess is situated in Maspalomas, in the south of Gran Canaria. Within walking distance there is the golf course Maspalomas Golf (300 m) and Maspalomas beach (1,5 km) with its famous dunes. Gran Canaria Airport is located 35 kilometers from the hotel and the resorts Meloneras and Playa del Ingles 3 kilometers. The Maspalomas & Tabaiba Princess has two main restaurants with live-cooking, offering buffet style breakfast, lunch and dinner. The À-La-Carte-Restaurant "La Hacienda" in the pool area serves tapas and international cuisine. Gentlemen are required to wear long pants and shirts with a sleeve in the evening in the restaurant. A total of 9 bars complete the gastronomic offer of the Maspalomas & Tabaiba Princess. The huge pool landscape of the Maspalomas & Tabaiba Princess boasts 6 outdoor pools, including 2 kids pools and a pool with an artificial beach, wooden parasols and a sand volleyball court. Some of the pools feature sloping entrances. The animation team hosts activities such as aquagym, aerobics, archery, beach-volleyballs and darts. Furthermore there is the option to play table tennis, mini golf, tennis, billiard and giant chess within the hotel. For the smallest guests there is a mini-club, kids pools, mini-disco, a playground and a special miniature hotel, the so called play-hotel. There are 439 rooms and suites in the Maspalomas Princess and 434 in the Tabaiba Princess. As a standard all rooms feature air conditioning, minibar-fridge (€), satellite tv, balcony or terrace and bathrooms with bathtub-shower-combination, hairdryer and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tabaiba Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabaiba Princess Hotel Maspalomas
Maspalomas Tabaiba Princess
Tabaiba Princess Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing