We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun in the sun”
Review of Tabaiba Princess

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tabaiba Princess
Ranked #52 of 216 Hotels in Maspalomas
Reviewed May 9, 2013

im going to start with first impressions, as this was our first time in gran canaria.the room was of good size as was bathroom.clean plenty of storage, cleaner came in everyday, changed towels, the only downside were the pillows, hard wasn"t the word, house brick comes to mind. did mention it to rep & was told well that's spain!. .the restaurant was light an airy with plenty of choice, only if you like your hot food hot you wont get that everything is lukewarm.coffee was awful, no tea & coffee making facilities in room. pool towels provided, have to pay for safety deposit box. this is the only ai we"ve been to where you weren't able to have bottled water available , it was all in the bars given by glass.i did find the location a little bit out of the main area.didnt mind that as it was a nice walk to the shops.entertainment in hotel was good & varied,overall we had an enjoyable week with good friends,

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
1  Thank fortyyearsruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,248)
There are newer reviews for Tabaiba Princess
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

891 - 897 of 2,248 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week over the Easter break.
We had a superb holiday. The pools are amazing. Two are heated which made a bug difference.
The food was beautiful. A different choice very night. Lots if cheese, puddings, bread. You name it, you could have it.
The snack bars were good; pizza, burgers, hot dogs etc.
it's slightly confusing as some bars are for all inclusive and others are paid bars, but you soon work out which is which.

A nice touch was on Easter Sunday, the entertainment ream rounded up all the kids (and I mean all of them, at least 100) and took then to an Easter egg hunt. We expected them to come back with a couple of mini eggs, but they came back with 6 proper kinder eggs each.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel. It is large, but we like that. Easy access to the beautiful dunes, it takes about 20 minutes walking along a flat path.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank familywills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We've just returned from a weeks all inclusive holiday at this hotel and I have to say I was really pleasantly surprised at the overall standard and value for money. I was quietly dreading it because of some of the previous negative comments. I haven't stayed AI in the canaries before so went with an open mind and it was great value for money. I think we chose the right time of the year to go outside of school holidays as there were only a few families with young kids who were all well behaved and didn't cause any trouble to us at all. The hotel was very clean in all the public areas and our room was spotless, cleaned every day with fresh towels. The chap on the reception desk was more than helpful on arrival when we asked for a room with a double bed and we had a lovely pool view on the 2nd floor away from the lifts. All the staff work really hard in all areas, especially the restaurant, clearing the tables asap and resetting. We chose to eat later on each occasion which we found to be better...quieter although the standard of food was still good and was constantly being replenished and the variety was very good...different each day/night. We found the red wine and beer to be the best in the restaurant and the white wine in the other bars better.
The pool areas were lovely with lots of beautiful plam tress and shrubs everywhere.There was no need to reserve sunbeds as there was plenty for everyone although you still got the usual ignorant people who reserved with their towels and didn't show up until mid afternoon. I do agree with previous comments re the 'beach/gritty' area.....this should all be paved like the other areas as it just causes a nusience.
The area outside the piano bar was fabulous with gorgeous gardens and comfy seats...great in the day for some peace and great in the evening for drinkies.
It was quite a walk to Melonaras but a nice walk along the front with some nice bars to stop for refreshments.
The only minus points are :- would have been nice to have some sun umberellas's around the pool area for shade although the palm trees did offer some shade. The pillows were a bit hard and the hair dryer cut out after about 2 seconds! would have expected more than one pool towel each week.The air conditioning didn't seem to be as effective at night. Entertainment was not great more designed for the older clientelle..sorry!
I am usually very fussy with where I stay and with high standards etc but I would definitely recommend this hotel for the value for money/standards and would definitely go back. A fabulous week.

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher floor overlooking the pool were more airy and light...some of the others seemed a...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HolidaykingEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Having read the mixed reviews before my wife and i left for our holiday, we were not sure what to expect. We had booked this holiday quite late as a 30th wedding anniversary 2nd honeymoon and when we booked it there was only twin rooms available although we put down a double room if available, as a special request on the booking form.
When we checked in at the hotel we were extremely happy to find out that we had indeed been given a double room. We were up on the 3rd floor and it was very quiet up there. The balcony overlooked palm trees and the kiddies paddling pool. The only negative was that the balconies did not have a great deal of privacy but it was only a very small negative. The room was spacious and very clean and was cleaned on a daily basis. The staff at reception were extremely friendly and helpful as were the staff down in the restaurant area . We were all inclusive and the food was excellent with plenty of choice. The night time entertainment was varied but not to our taste most nights. The one night we looked forward to was the elvis night but it was cancelled late on and replaced with a group of dancers. The piano bar seemed to be the more popular destination after dinner. Outside, around the pools was clean and tidy, although personnally i didnt like the rough sand that was by a couple of the pools. I couldnt walk bare foot on it and if you wore shoes, it got in your shoes and again made it difficult to walk. It was like walking on grit. If the hotel wants to re-create a beach -like effect then surely it would be better using proper sand and not grit. We chose to sunbathe near the wonderful waterfall as it was paved around that area. There are plenty of bars scattered around too, but half were for the all inclusive and the other half you had to pay, but we soon got used to which were the all inclusive. If you got fed up of sitting around the pool, there was also a varied list of activities around the hotel, like archery and volleyball. The crazy golf was also a fun way of passing a couple of hours.
We spoke to quite a few people who were on return visits and loved the place and to be honest, i cant blame them, we loved the placed and have already said we will return next year. I would highly recommend this hotel as it is wonderful from start to finish.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Big_AndyPX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a week at the end of March. It was brilliant. All inclusive - drink and eat as much as you like! Staff were great and I would go as far to say that this was quite possibly the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. The food was good quality for all inclusive. Rooms were cleaned daily to a very high standard. Like other people have mentioned this hotel is symmetrical to its sister hotel the Maspalomas Princess, be wary of this, first night I ended up knocking some poor family up several times as I had had far too much to drink and didnt realise I was in the wrong hotel!! Taxi ride in to Meloneras is about 3 - 4 euros where you will find designer shops and lovely restaurants!

I would definitely recommend this hotel to couples/families and people travelling solo! Good food, lovely and clean, good weather, lots of drink, excellent grounds, what more could you ask for! ,.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I went with my two children in October 2012 and we had a fantastic time at this hotel. The food, accommodation and staff were lovely. My only complaint would be the sand that has been placed around one of the pools. I saw cat poo in it and after a drenching of rain it smelt awful as it was drying! Plus it was uncomfortable to walk on as it was very rough and gritty rather than soft sand.
Other than that i would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abby p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited the tabaiba princess during the last week of March leading up to Easter. We later discovered this was the perfect time as the Saturday before Easter loads of English families turned up meaning lots of kids! Luckily there wasn't many on our stay. We arrived and checked in with a lovely man who gave us a room on the first floor. The room was as you would imagine, we had a twin room as it was a few hundred pounds more for a double bed! However the beds were so solid and comfy that we both had good sleeps every night. The shower was really nice too, very powerful! The balcony was nice we looked out to the pool area however there was many palm trees but this didn't bother us too much. Some people have commented on the tele in the room, the only thing I have to say to that is why would you watch tele on holiday?! The room was also cleaned everyday exceptionally. We hired out the safe for a week costing €13.50, there was also fridge and laundry facilities on offer.

The hotels all-inclusive package was incredible! There was a different selection of foods every dinnertime and lunchtime. The dinner selection was amazing it included foods such as swordfish, veal, paella, roasted peppers and many other delicious dishes. Breakfast remained the same each morning but it is a good variety of foods including hot cooked breakfast,cereal, yoghurts and fruit. At each bar in the hotel there was a all-inclusive menu on Stating which drinks you can have for free there was a good variety however we found that in Gran canaria their shot measures are much much stronger than ours we overcame this by asking for smaller drinks. Again all of the staff are really nice.

The pool area was lovely we had good fun there. There are not strict rules on the adult pools as there are children in them to. Everyone that says it was hard to find a sunbed is lying there are so many sunbeds available youd never be without. There is also minigolf on the resort which was good fun. You also allowed to use the facilities of the neighbouring hotel maspalamas. The two hotels look identical hard to tell apart specially on your first night we managed to identify them to the chairs in the reception area orange in our hotel and red in the hotel next door. In regards to evening entertainment we didn't attend many we saw the show the black brothers which was a Acrobat act which was quite good and we also saw a lady dancing with a fan which wasn't too impressive so we didn't go to the evening entertainment much instead he went to the piano bar for a drink and a laugh at the other people. There is also a massage bar and fish spa located in the resort.

The location of the hotel was brilliant it was a round about a 20 minute walk from beach along a nice promenade. Taxis were easily available everywhere in Gran canaria, They were also very cheap as they had a taximeter. During our holiday we Took part in many excursions Including logo parque Trip to Tenerife which is very good and had shows with killer whales & dolphins. We visited last palmas capital for a day which included sightseeing and shopping This was held by a very nice rep! We also visited aqualand which is the local water park & rode camels which was around 10 minute walk from the hotel to the sand dunes. On one of our nights we decided to experience the night life, We visited kasbah, Like any clubbing/there are many reps trying to call you into their club. We visited Nikis and MTV bar Both of these were really good and had a very good time. With the reps if they know that your English you would try to sell you lots of things on arrival both clubs gave us free drinks are two-for-one offer. First club gave us two vodka and Coke each a cocktail and shot each Then it came to paying we were quite worried however it only cost €16 for a whole lot so is good value.

Overall we had a brilliant time on holiday with nothing to complain about other than the many cats hidden around in the palm trees the weather was lovely reaching 26° which is a very much change from English weather in March this year. As always don't listen to the moaners make up your own decisions we had a brilliant time!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Carley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.1 mi away
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
#57 of 216 in Maspalomas
2,009 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
3.5 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,947 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,653 reviews
1.0 mi away
H10 Playa Meloneras Palace
H10 Playa Meloneras Palace
#8 of 216 in Maspalomas
3,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabaiba Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabaiba Princess

Address: Avda. Tour Operador Tui, s/n | Campo Internacional, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#45 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#49 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range: $171 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tabaiba Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maspalomas & Tabaiba Princess is perfect for families with children, golfer (there's a golf course right behind) and those who just want to relax by the pool. The two u-shaped buildings Maspalomas Princess and Tabaiba Princess share a huge pool landscape including an artificial beach, with pool bars and a relax-island. The Maspalomas & Tabaiba Princess is situated in Maspalomas, in the south of Gran Canaria. Within walking distance there is the golf course Maspalomas Golf (300 m) and Maspalomas beach (1,5 km) with its famous dunes. Gran Canaria Airport is located 35 kilometers from the hotel and the resorts Meloneras and Playa del Ingles 3 kilometers. The Maspalomas & Tabaiba Princess has two main restaurants with live-cooking, offering buffet style breakfast, lunch and dinner. The À-La-Carte-Restaurant "La Hacienda" in the pool area serves tapas and international cuisine. Gentlemen are required to wear long pants and shirts with a sleeve in the evening in the restaurant. A total of 9 bars complete the gastronomic offer of the Maspalomas & Tabaiba Princess. The huge pool landscape of the Maspalomas & Tabaiba Princess boasts 6 outdoor pools, including 2 kids pools and a pool with an artificial beach, wooden parasols and a sand volleyball court. Some of the pools feature sloping entrances. The animation team hosts activities such as aquagym, aerobics, archery, beach-volleyballs and darts. Furthermore there is the option to play table tennis, mini golf, tennis, billiard and giant chess within the hotel. For the smallest guests there is a mini-club, kids pools, mini-disco, a playground and a special miniature hotel, the so called play-hotel. There are 439 rooms and suites in the Maspalomas Princess and 434 in the Tabaiba Princess. As a standard all rooms feature air conditioning, minibar-fridge (€), satellite tv, balcony or terrace and bathrooms with bathtub-shower-combination, hairdryer and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tabaiba Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabaiba Princess Hotel Maspalomas
Maspalomas Tabaiba Princess
Tabaiba Princess Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing