We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant holiday .... You get what you pay for !!”
Review of Caybeach Princess

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caybeach Princess
Ranked #35 of 216 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Great bungalows nice clean and well equipped , lovely pools and surrounding gardens kept to a very high standard. Pool side bar lovely with great staff and service and as would expect usual pool side snacks and drinks at ok prices , 3 euros a beer 4 euros hot dog and chips happy hour from 5 - 6. Had some lovely meals out would recommend 19th hole and the Italian couple of doors up from it can't remember name but always packed so you will notice it as you walk passed. Aqua land good day out and moonlight cinema a good experience . A great holiday great resort and great hotel for what you pay , reading a couple of the negatives on trip advisor and there's not many on this hotel yes it's a little out the way either have a nice walk 20 mins to the front or pay 3 euros for a cab or catch the free bus ! Rude staff pmsl !! Every member of staff was jolly hAppy funny and polite and I watched them with other guest and all had the same reaction .... If a member of staff here was rude to you I cannot imagine what you was like to them for this to happen ??!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gav00000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (748)
There are newer reviews for Caybeach Princess
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 748 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Arrived on saturday. I am very particular about cleanliness and hygiene and this place is superb. Bungalows are very clean and maid in 4 times per week I don't even have to make the beds!! Corelina in the restaurant is wonderful so helpful and nothing too much trouble. Although its half term very quiet no rush for beds! Well set out with children's area one end with pools and adults the other end. Water cold in the big pool! It's about 30 min walk to centre but taxi only 4euro. We paid £12 for two for half board per day well worth it at least I don't have to cook!! Would highly recommend. Buses outside to anywhere u want to go

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mallardavenue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Like the preceding contributor, we went in February for a week and would recommend this place. We booked through Teletext and got a good discount, including flights and transfers. Whilst you get what you pay form, and there are always extras, we had half board and cannot fault the meals. There is a buffet breakfast (and dinner) so you can eat all you want, and I defy anyone to say they couldn't find something they liked. The staff are all pleasant and willing to help, and the bungalows are adequate. The décor is a little tired, but then these are only 3 star, although clean, the comment about the sofa bed is spot on- useless to sit on unless you use a couple of bed pillows. I have stayed in other 3 star places which are a lot worse than this resort. Food at the pool bar is good, for example, two ham and cheese omelettes with salad and chips and two bottles of water cost 18 Euros- fine if you don't want to cook. The on site supermarket does not overcharge so you can manage self catering if you want, but at the prices we paid, half board is a bargain ! Free bus travel to Maspalomas beach with return trips in the afternoon. Miniature golf (course old but still enjoyable) tennis and petanque. Evening entertainment enthusiastic but not top notch, but if you've been there for a week you've seen it all. You will need a jumper after 5.00 pm in the winter but daytime temperatures were between 22 and 24 degrees C- rather excellent!

Room Tip: We faced the pool (to the west) and got the sun in the afternoon and evening, I think that's bet...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Comeuppance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Beware the sofa bed for a third person, ours would have been ghastly and it would have been far better to have had a proper sofa that one could comfortably sit on rather than a terrible sofa bed that was hard to sit on and probably murder to sleep on!!
BUT although you do pay extra at every turn for any TV channels or a safe key or a tv Remote realise that how the place works and accept it. We had a substantial online discount from Thomson and the unit and facilities were far far better than we expected.The heated pool is still on the cold side but we didn't expect one to be heated at all and I even swam once in the big unheated one. Tennis courts are good but nets a bit low and not adjustable (usually the case in most hotels ) and the reception staff and cleaners were excellent. "Entertainment" in the evening was not gripping but enthusiastic and we mostly avoided it... and yes the pool bar service and prices were very poor. Apparently the food was poor, we went self catering, but some said at the price it was worth it not to bother with cooking. The microwave was a combi so more of an oven than other reviews indicate. Cats were not a problem, most places in the canaries have them,keep the door shut when not there. You can ask for a unit that faces the morning sun, we asked for and got a quiet unit when we arrived which didn't get morning sun but when we return as we hope to we will ask for that too. Entertainment ends about 11pm so if you are not high season and do not mind loud tinned music have a room facing the pools and the sun in the morning. Go straight to Lidl or Mercadona by taxi on arrival to stock up with food etc,(5 euro approx. for fare) and you can take a no 1 bus from the road opposite the entrance to Puerto Morgan via Puerto Rico for 3.20 euro each single and be grateful you were in such a quiet pleasant part of Mapalomas where the cliffs did not exclude any sun... Would strongly recommend this as a quiet self catering base in a very sunny and warm part of Gran Canaria.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PooleRelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Very clean comfortable & well maintained.
Just so many shortfalls and made to pay for things others provide free. Staff friendly but only interested in tip. Sorry but there are lots of better hotels around. Those who have given better reviews look around.Would I go back. No. (We had a nice holiday but hotel did not contribute other than a base).
Location. Furthest away of any Maspalomas hotels. Although flat area still takes 40 minutes to get to beach. Or use taxi. There is a courtesy bus but its hours of operation only 6 hours. A day on the beach means have to walk at least one way.
Pool bar ridiculously expensive for cheap local brews. Waiter very rude only one speed and when tried to pay had to threaten him with walking out before he took payment. Food not restaurant standard but restaurant prices. Heated area of pool. Yeah right, just. Still too cold.
TV. £3 or £2 per day for free TV everywhere else. Extortionate. Oh you can have a xxx channel. If that floats your boat.
Biggest problem. Cats. Ferrel cats with worms so probably have fleas. You can't open doors or windows without they are in. Not their faults poor things some people do encourage them. Oh cat pee smell in places.
Kitchenette. No grill or oven. Yes there is a basic microwave but no microwave dishes. There again local supermarkets don't do readymeals really. Can't really cook much other tan fried or boiled.
Oh air con not used by us but only in bedroom n of course at extra charge.

Room Tip: Some rooms get sun on terrace. Seemed to us those who stayed 2 weeks or more get them.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paulus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Great friendly place to stay,staff are excellent, apartments roomy,nice gardens. cleaned regulary,pools fantastic,we have stayed here 4 times and never had any problems.,hoping for our 5th visit this year in october..cannot wait.restaurant staff always freindly,melissa childrens entertainer fantastic. ,cannot find any fault with cay beach...

Room Tip: most rooms are ok. bit noisier nr pool
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank graham m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

little late on this one but here goes. Stayed here back in dec and enjoyed the winter sunshine(averaging 23 degrees),tho can be colder in the evenings.great size pool but can be cold in winter months.have stayed here on five different occasions before..even as far back when it was named the princess bungalows.was my first ever holidy location so prob a bit biased. yes its out of the way,but thats how i wanted it..just far enough away from playa del ingles centre.Faro shopping centre is only a 15 min stroll..tho taxis are very cheap in gran canaria for short journeys. the usual pool bar snacks are available,along with the indoor restaraunt.Beach is about a half hour walk but again taxis no problem.small shop on site for the essentials.sept temperature is a higher 38 ish degrees..sometimes higher,and around 28 in the evenings. If heavy nightlife is your scene then this resort may be too quiet for you,but is still a good quiet base to explore around the area.aqua sur waterpark is only about 9 mins by taxi also.will probably come back here at some stage

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.2 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#15 of 216 in Maspalomas
677 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
#57 of 216 in Maspalomas
2,009 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canary Garden Club
Canary Garden Club
#17 of 216 in Maspalomas
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
0.4 mi away
Tabaiba Princess
Tabaiba Princess
#52 of 216 in Maspalomas
2,254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cordial Green Golf
Cordial Green Golf
#43 of 216 in Maspalomas
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caybeach Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caybeach Princess

Address: Avenida Thomson n 4, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#40 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range: $120 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caybeach Princess 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Caybeach Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cay Beach Princess Bungalows Hotel Maspalomas
Cay Beach Princess Hotel
Cay Beach Princess Maspalomas
Caybeach Princess Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing