We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caybeach Princess

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caybeach Princess
Ranked #39 of 220 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We went to cay beach at the end of May, and found it a rather nice resort, the food was Good, the drink was Exceptional though there wasnt a great deal of choice drink wise, The customer service was Good all round, the entertainment was poor at night and during the day there wasnt really anything on so you had to make your own, but that was fine as i intended to do so anyway, The resort was clean, there was Loads of cats/kittens on the resort that would let themselves into your bungalow if you left your door or window open, which some people may find an annoyance but personally i didnt mind it as they were no trouble, The minimarket didnt have much, the food and drink was expensive, but as with most places in maspalomas, Night time entertainment was poor, same old shows etc, like i said wasnt really any daytime entertainment, the pool was Freezing as was the jacuzzi, none of these were heated and there were very few people in the pool our entire time there, its about 3-4 euros from playa del ingles or the beach in a taxi which is decent or you can get the free bus to the beach, but for a few quid might aswell just get a taxi as the resort is out the way of everything really, very quiet and peaceful so sleep quality would be great but the beds were uncomfortable, rooms were clean and maids made regular visits and towel changes

wifi wasnt good but wasnt awful, there was one day where we couldnt use it at all despite paying 20 euros, but the rest of the time it worked ok.

would i return? no, would i recommend it? yes if you wanted a quiet peaceful getaway, no otherwise,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kyle w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    294
    90
    34
    19
See reviews for
257
278
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

we arrived on 27th may for a week. arrived late at night and everything closed so no chance of a snack. they put us in a bungalow tight at the back of the complex and there was a dog that barked all day and night if that wasnt bad enough the smell of the drains was intoxicating! we were moved to a better bungalow which we were happy with! after making good friends with a neighbour we found ourselfs surrounded by spanish we found them very dominaring and not polite people, there was a few incidents involving the cats that were onsite the spanish were abusing these lovely cats and kittens which came to a heated end which involved the spanish children and there parents sorrounding our children in a circle and threatening our children the staff was not helpful but did speak to our rep.(not to mention that the cats tails were broken in half by these awful people and had to be taken away for emergency ops)

The trips offered were expensive and not worth the hassle! the paths around the complex were dirty and littered! not much variety offered food wise for the children and very expensive the restaurant was very expensive we paid 49 euros (would you pay almost £50 for 2 adults 2 children if you was at home?) all staff were very pleasent to speak to, drinks expensive also, there is a small shop in the complex which is good for the basic items u need. the complex has a free bus on to beach but its a good walk to get there.

Pool was big bet very cold! there are smaller pools and park....everything else was to pay for. entertainment was a disgrace no kids club whilst we were there, entertainment on a night was non existant!!! if you looking for these things then this is not the place for you!! seems to be a place for elderly and couples...or people looking for a very quiet holiday.
i will not be returning here again!
~Kath from Durham~

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Self Catering or half board bungalows set around a beautiful pool and garden area. Very peaceful, very well kept. Location you are a bit out of the way but there is a free bus 3times daily to beach and back and taxis are cheap approx 4€. Pool bar serves food all day , drinks are a little pricey. Restaurant when we were there was al a carte for brekkie and dinner we used a few times but menu limited which was a shame because what we ate was good for price. Shop on site ample but supermarkets nearby. All staff were polite, helpful and attentive. Lastly do a trip to Palmitos Park worth every penny. We will definitely go back to this resort.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have recently returned from a holiday to Maspalomas and stayed at Cay Beach Bungalows. We booked this resort because we wanted something reasonably priced and failry quiet. On a positive note the complex is friendly, relaxing, quiet and the bungalows and resort in general were kept very clean. Staff were friendly and the poolside bar was good. We didn't rate the food highly but it was cheap enough and staff were very nice. Unfortunately however this resort has an infestation of cockroaches. On the first night we were greeted by a dead cockroache on the floor in our bungalow. We thought this was a one-off and let it go, but the next night we had a cockroach crawling up the side of our bed next to our daughters cot and we also found more half-dead ones on the floor. Our 3 year old daughter was petrified by the experience and couldn't sleep. We complained the next day and were told cockroaches are normal in Gran Canaria, we were the only ones to complain, and that they would give us a spray to help manage the problem. We were also offered a different (larger) bunglalow which we accepted. The larger bungalow was even worse. When we returned in the evening we found cockroaches in the sink in the bathroom, in the wardrobe next to the bed and in the lights, One or two would be acceptable but this place is clearly infested. We immediately began packing and next morning we got a taxi to a different hotel where we enjoyed a wonderful few days completely cockroach-free despite being on the ground floor and at considerable expense, but it was worth every penny. I could not rate the new hotel (Cordial Mogan Playa) highly enough and plan to return next year. The resort in Mogan was also much quieter and had a lovely beach with less wind than Maspalomas. If you are staying in Maspalomas my one top recommendation would be to go to the restaurant Samsara - it is amazing and truly the most fabulous dining experience ever! Check it out. It is a shame about the cockroach problem at Cay Beach as it is otherwise basic but very clean and friendly accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Anon575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was another great holiday at a complex which is quiet and very relaxing. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. The only downside to this complex is the restaurant. We dined in the restaurant once - it is buffet stye but it would appear that all the food is cooked at the same time and kept warm, thus it tends to dry out rather quickly. The food, in actual fact, was barely warm. The food at the pool bar is much better and is freshly prepared. Although the complex is out of the way, it is not expensive to hire a cab and the bus fares seem to be very reasonable. We like the place so much that we have a three week holiday booked for September this year.

Room Tip: A poolside bungalow is a must if you intend doing self catering. It is lovely sitting on the balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorainempond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Fourth time at the cay beach, beautiful place brilliant staff. Pool bar does great food and always served with a smile. This place is for you if you want peace and quite and relaxation. The beach is only a 20 min walk or you can get a free bus outside the hotel. Not alot close by but a taxi will only set you back a few euros if you want to go to the yumbo centre, aqualand and other places. the rooms are basic but clean and we had a cleaner in nearly everyday and towels changed at least four days. The weather was amazing never even saw a cloud! Going back for our fifth visit in November cannot recomend these apartments enough! Go and enjoy!!

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the pool they are fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicola f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Booked the Cay Beach as a last minute break for 9 days and upon arrival we were suitably

impressed with the site condition and layout that includes 220 units. (Until we managed to find our

bungalow) Ours was farthest to the left of the site, in relation to reception. Unit 168 is farthest to

the right.

Our unit sported all the usual expected for self catering, 2 ring cooker, fridge, micro, kettle,

toaster, percolator, etc. The twin beds were excruciatingly HARD and we both suffered sore

backs after a couple of nights sleep. Otherwise we had no complaints about our unit, other than

the long walk to reception and the adjoining mini-shop which stocked basic essentials. I went

each morning for fresh panini type rolls that were always fresh and suited our self catering

breakfast requirements.

Sheets and towels were changed regularly by the staff who were very friendly. Hand washing

could be dried in the open area of the unit that had a clothes airer. (Wish we had this at home, it

would save a fortune in tumble drying). Our washing air dried in a couple of hours.
Cannot comment on the site restaurant because there was no real choice due to lack of people

using it, according to the waiter I spoke to. The pool bar served basic things such as grilled

chicken, pizzas and some other items. We ate there twice and were not disappointed with the

presentation of the food.

The pool area was always clean with loads of sunbeds. 2 jacuzzi pools are available. The main

pool was very little used whilst we were there, whether too cold or ???, I don't know.
Entertainment advertised, appears to be basic, although we never stayed around to see what it

was like.

The Cay Beach is approx. 1.75 miles from Meloneras centre, so going out and about, involves

either chancing the local buses or trusting taxis. We had various experiences with both. e.g. (1)We

took a No.1 asking to be dropped at the 'Yumba' Centre, Playa Ingles. The driver dropped us miles

away at San Agustin. Forced to return via taxi. (2)Took a No. 32 back from Porto Mogan asking to

be dropped off around Cay Beach... got dropped off some distance away somewhere??...had to

flag a taxi, again!!.. Hell, these bus drivers live there..

The shopping in Melonares (especially the Varadero Centre) is a good bit more expensive than in

other areas in 'Ingles'. There are many restaurants to choose from in Melonares..some better than

others of those we tried.

For all you internet types, be advised that good reception within the site is I believe, limited, due to

the positioning of the transmitting antennas. We being in unit 123 had an antenna on the roof,

transmitting the wifi signal away TOWARDS reception area. I seen a second antenna on the

reception roof, transmitting towards the far right of the complex. There may be another situated at

the opposing corner of the site, but I did not confirm this. So where the best wifi can be obtained , I

can't say. I cancelled my 18 euros subscription. (p.s. I called out the "WIFI ENGINEER", who said

that the fault laid with my Blackberry Playbook, which was brand new..Amateur vs Pro. to find the

real fault. I ask you!!! He made no mention of the fact that the antenna was not feeding an

adequate signal to our bungalow.
TV is not worth bothering about, only English news channels. Air-con is chargeable, as is the safe and tv remote control.

Right, stop moaning and say something positive.
YES, YES, we liked the site and would we return ?? YES, we would, still going self catering.

I do believe that if you fancy hiring and driving yourself, this would be the best option, to see more

of this great island, without the hassle of local transport.

Enjoy our 9 days...Yep, we did...honestly.

Room Tip: Try for a unit nearer reception and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Langtoun-Wullie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.2 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#14 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canary Garden Club
Canary Garden Club
#12 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palm Oasis Maspalomas
Palm Oasis Maspalomas
#17 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cordial Green Golf
Cordial Green Golf
#43 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
0.6 mi away
Bungalows Cordial Sandy Golf
Bungalows Cordial Sandy Golf
#18 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caybeach Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caybeach Princess

Property: Caybeach Princess
Address: Avenida Thomson n 4, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#40 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caybeach Princess 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Also Known As:
Cay Beach Princess Bungalows Hotel Maspalomas
Cay Beach Princess Hotel
Cay Beach Princess Maspalomas
Caybeach Princess Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing