We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquile and Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort
Ranked #9 of 217 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tranquile and Relaxing”
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Had never been to Gran Canaria but chose the Salobre for relaxation and quiet. All of which were achieved in Grand Scale. First class service at all times, fantastic breakfast included in the room rate and affordable luxury. The assorted pools were fantastic for private relaxation and although a touch cold very refreshing! The rooms were fantastic - the only adjustment was the common European way of making a King bed by slapping 2 small beds together. I only fell through the crack once haha... Still a very nice hotel and very much worth the money. We rented a car from Autoriesen super cheap and drove to the hotel and all around the island. Hardly used any gas and the cost for convenience was great. We saw many people bussing and cabbing which just didn't seem convenient or cost effective.Parking is only 7 euro/day. As for the golf course itself, as an accomplished player it didn't strike my fancy viewing it closely and I didn't bother playing (the hotel and island gave all the relaxation and fun needed). An odd design that while stunning to look. at some holes seemed too gimmicky and difficult for the calibre of players that were playing it. After watching play for a week from the private balcony on our room it was apparent there were a lot of people playing that don't play well (play was very very slow often with 2-3 groups on any given hole/tee). That said kudos to all for having fun. Driving in to Playa Ingles for dinners we were pleased to be away from the hubub.. 10 minutes to drive but quiet and tranquile at night and all day (perfect)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canmex23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salobre2008, Director of Sales at Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Dear Sir,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa. We are happy to know that you achieved the relaxation and fun you were searching for when you choose to spend you vacation in Gran Canaria.

Please do not hesitate to contact me on your next visit to the island.
Best regards,

Sandra Leibrock. Director of Sales and Marketing
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
sandra.leibrock@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,629
    747
    212
    86
    36
See reviews for
450
1,696
84
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

A last minute break found us booking a half board package at this stunning Sheraton. we had a lovely room (501) with a day bed and tables on the extended bakcony area. Yes, it took a while to find the room through the maze of lifts but it was very peaceful. half board was definitely worth it - the unlimited buffet breakfast was the best meal of the day - cava and freshly squeezed juices a highlight. we hired a car and had no trouble getting around the island (puerto de mogan is a lovely harbour with lots of restaurants on the quayside). I had a very rough massage at the spa which was disappointing considering the cost. A lovely hotel though that I would return too...
+ choice of pools, views, size of rooms, breakfast, tapas bar
- charges for spa, parking & wi fi, one english speaking channel on the tv, lack of staff, boring & repetitive evening buffets

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzyb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salobre2008, Director of Sales at Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
Dear Sir,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa. We agree with us, the breakfast buffet is almost overwhelming! Regarding your comment about your massage at the Aloe Spa, we will inform the person in charge.

We look forward having you again with us.
Best regards,

Sandra Leibrock. Director of Sales and Marketing
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
sandra.leibrock@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Before going, we read all the reviews and were quite apprehensive on what this hotel would be like as there have been many conflicting comments. I'm so happy to say it was fantastic, we fell in love with this hotel and would definitely go back.

Our room was amazing, big and it looked over the golf course - the bed was huge and room was spotless. People had commented on the layout of the hotel and the lifts - we were lucky as we didn't have to take a lift to our room. However we had to take 2 lifts to the top sunset swimming pool but it was definitely worth it (we went there every day). It was just stunning. We found the layout of the hotel not complicated and never got lost!

Food was great, the breakfast was very varied - can't think of anything they didn't have. We ate in the tapas bar (very good) and the restaurant which was great.

The only negative I can think of with this hotel is not having enough staff and we often felt sorry for most of the staff who were working very hard but kept smiling. The only exception was in the bar where we had to wait about 15 minutes for a drink & was served by a very moody barman!! But this was an exception as most staff was very friendly and efficient but I hope the hotel will take notice of the reviews to hire more staff!!

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel, it was so peaceful and absolutely beautiful yet unique hotel - we would go back tomorrow (or even today!).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnandcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salobre2008, Director of Sales at Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
Dear Sir,

Greetings from the fantastic Sheraton Salobre!

Thank you taking the time to write about your experience with us! We are more than proud after reading your review. It is such a pleasure to know your stay was more that you were expecting and we await your return. In the meantime, we will pass on the compliments to all our staff.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for assistance when booking your room, or with any other matter.
Best regards,

Sandra Leibrock. Director of Sales and Marketing
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
sandra.leibrock@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We visited the Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort early March 2011. It's a great hotel for the independent traveller, not requiring prompt service and assistance. The hotel is under staffed, given the enormous layout of the hotel. Having said this, everything else was great!

We were given a room on the 10th floor, with a beautiful view on the hills, stunning golf court and mountains in the background. The room is very spatious with a great bed, enormous shower with a separate bath, well equiped balcony and other nice details. The bathroom with the double basin was nice, but lacked the regular accessories (you have to request the sewing and vanity kits from the concierge desk, as well as other handy things). You just get the shampoo and body lotion. There was indeed some damage to the furniture and basins, like other Tripadvisors members mentioned, but we couldn't be bothered by it. The great view made everything worth while! But we can imagine you want everything to be top notch when you pay the full rate of 220 euros for a regular room!

The hotel has various pool areas for each segment of the hotel. We especially liked the top pool area on the 11th floor. The layout is great, featuring a big pool next to the Sunset bar (where you can order drinks and some simple baguettes) and massive sun beds near the edge of the hill. You can overlook Maspalomas in the background and the various hills. You can get fresh big towels near the entrance of the top level each day. Each pool area has a restaurant to grab lunch nearby (pretty expensive for what you get though)

We recommend getting a rental car, so you can travel around the island. The inland routes are stunning, swirling up the mountains up to a height of 1800 meters! You can also get to Maspalomas in 15 minutes. This is the same amount of time when you use the free hotel transfer, which leaves every hour from 10:00 to 18:00. The bus takes you to the Sheraton Guest House, very close to the Maspalomas beach. You can get a locker here, change clothes, get a towel or take a refreshment.

When you rent a car, you can park it down the hill (parking in front of the entrance is not allowed anymore!) or pay 7 euros a day for the hotel parking garage. We recommend taking the parking garage as the lift takes you directly to the 4th floor (or reception desk/restaurant), where you can take the other lifts to your room. Be sure to take a good look at the map of the hotel, as many guests had a hard time finding their room. Keep in mind that walking from your hotel room to the reception desk can take up to 10 minutes, having to wait for two lifts and a long walk through plain hotel corridors...

The dining area's are good, but nothing special (much better than the boulevard restaurants near the beach though) and quite expensive. But that's what you can expect from a 5 star hotel. Tripadvisor members complained about the food quality and the empty restaurants. You had to reserve for the à la carte restaurant and it was fully booked each night. We only used the tapas bar, but the food was good. The waiter/bar man was working very hard to please everybody and we were served within 10 minutes after ordering. Don't expect a nice chat or a genuine smile for the personnel. They do their job and work hard, but are not to entertain you. That seemed to be the general attitude throughout the whole island, perhaps it's because they have to compensate for the lack of staff.

The only thing that ticked us off, was the fire alarm sounding THREE TIMES during our one week stay, in the middle of the night! We called the reception desk right away, just to find out there were working on it....Later on we heard that some idiot was smoking in his/her room, activating the fire alarm. So the hotel is not to blame, but please make an prompt announcement throughout the hotel, stating that there is no danger. A lot of people were standing outside their room looking frightened (including us...).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jordymaxime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salobre2008, Director of Sales at Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
Dear Sir,

It is a pleasure to hear that you had such a good experience here at the Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa! Also to know that you got the chance to enjoy almost every service we provide for our guests, including our Beach House.

We are glad to know you liked the most our rooftop pool. We always get mixed comments about the “best one” out of so many! We will make sure to pass on the compliments to all the departments you mentioned.

We hope to see you again soon with us,
Best regards,

Sandra Leibrock. Director of Sales and Marketing
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
sandra.leibrock@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Until recently this has been our favourite hotel on the island and would get a score of 5 from me. (As platinum guests we were well looked after.) This time I was extremely tempted to give a rating of two but settled for a three. But that was when the hotel was quiet. When busy, as it was on our last three visits over the winter, the hotel simply cannot cope. There are regularly long queues at the small reception (not the staff’s fault, but why do they also have to answer the phone when there is queue of people?). We had a very long wait for our, well past the 3 o’clock check-in time and answers like “it will be ready in 5 minutes”, “it will be ready soon”, and finally “it will be ready in 30 minutes” are not acceptable. They had got our booking wrong, only having us staying for one night and not two. When we finally got our room there were no bathrobes or water. We also had to ask twice for the extra pillows that are supposed to be on our profile at the hotel and thus should be in the room automatically. In the evening the restaurant was very busy and could barely cope with the volume. At least in the morning we were invited to a “VIP” breakfast in the Cameleon restaurant for SPG cardholders only but the selection was not as good as the main restaurant. The pools ran out of towels very early on. The annoying thing is that all of the above is what a five-star hotel should do well and I truly think that this hotel cannot cope when it is busy. We have been going there since it opened but there are now other 5-star hotels on the island that we will consider staying at. To top it all, when we got back to the UK and checked our SPG account we noticed they hadn’t credited the correct number of points….

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Duck_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salobre2008, Director of Sales at Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2011
Dear Sir,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa. We are happy to hear from guests that have come to the hotel repeatedly.

We would like to apologize for not having the same luxurious and relaxing experience you have had in your other says here. Certainly it is not the type of service that we wish to offer to all our guests. We do appreciate your impressions about it which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.


Please do not hesitate to contact me on your next stay at the Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa.
Best regards,

Sandra Leibrock. Director of Sales and Marketing
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
sandra.leibrock@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Hier merkt man, dass an allen Ecken und Enden gespart wird - im Zimmer, obwohl 5 Sterne, Zimmer Deluxe - weder ein Bademantel noch Bade- o. Hausschuhe vorhanden.
Beim Frühstück 1 - 2 Kellner für ca. 20 Tische für Getränkeservice, Abräumen, neu Eindecken - kurz und gut alles. Das Personal war flink, Gäste verständnisvoll, aber ein
5 Sterne Service sieht etwas anders aus. Am Pool gar kein Service, Getränke musste man sich in der Bude holen - Bier aus dem billigsten Plastikbecher, das war nur einmal zu verkraften. Das allerschoenste war der Baulärm, der täglich von 8 - 18 Uhr das Dasein zum Horror verwandelte - zumindestens vom 23.2. - 2.3.2011, also die gesamte Zeit meines sehr wertvollen Urlaubs. Ich warne vor diesem Erlebnis.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Reading some of other people's reviews makes me think they must have stayed somewhere else. This hotel was the most relaxing perfect stay from start to finish.
In fact it was so nice it made us want to stay by the pool all day rather than take the shuttle service down to the beach.
We stayed half board and the food was just the best. There was a wide variety for breakfast and in the evening we ate in the A la Carte restuarant every night and this food was simply divine (we couldnt believe this food was included in our package it was that nice). We're looking to stay here again this October we had such a good time.
Book it without hesitation you won't be dissapointed :-)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EStaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salobre2008, Director of Sales at Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2011
Dear Sir,

What a pleasure to read about your stay! We couldn’t be happier. Its is a great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our pools, food and Camaleón Restaurant and we await your return in October.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for assistance when booking your room, or with any other matter.

Best regards,

Sandra Leibrock. Director of Sales and Marketing
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
sandra.leibrock@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
5.2 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#3 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,383 reviews
4.4 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
4.5 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 217 in Maspalomas
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,770 reviews
3.6 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,165 reviews
5.1 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort

Property: Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort
Address: Urb Salobre Golf s/n, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#5 Green Hotel in Maspalomas
#6 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#8 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#12 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into serenity at Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort which is unique 5-star resort where you can enjoy a true and unbeatable holiday experience set in the countryside of the south of Gran Canaria, beside two 18-hole golf courses and with view to the sea and the mountains of the Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort And Spa
Sheraton Salobre Golf Hotel Maspalomas
Sheraton Salobre Hotel
Sheraton Maspalomas
Maspalomas Sheraton
Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort Maspalomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing