We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Helpful Staff and Well Run Place. Too Bad Gran Canaria is Not For Me.”
Review of Villas Blancas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villas Blancas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Visited Villas Blancas in July. The place is outstanding value for the price and the staff (Sergio, so cute) and Ophelia (so helpful and warm) make it a great place to stay. The owner/manager is always on hand and oversees all the details which makes it great. I a wanted to play tennis and was lucky enough to have the club right next door. Can
walk to Yumbo or the beach, but easier to catch a taxi which are around and very cheap.

I'm writing this next section as a North American traveler and about Gran Canaria: As a solo traveler, the destination didn't work for me. Its a destination for Northern Europeans who want a cheap package tour with guaranteed sun and lots of alcohol. It's condo-land and kind of manufactured and unappealing in my opinion. My Brit friends say "It's a place where people from Essex like to go" (sorry Essexers). The food is terrible - I didn't find one good restaurant the whole time I was there. As a single guy, it was not easy to meet others at Villas Blancas or other places because the area is full of couples or groups jammed into their condo or hotel room and no one wants to speak any other language but their own (particularly the snobs from France).

Yumbo is tired and sad. Not sure why people go there. The bars are super sleazy with stuff going on that I haven't seen since the 80's in Gay New York. But hey - if you want some backroom fun and weeing people get totally tanked, go for it.

Best part of the whole trip - rent a car and drive into the mountains. See the hill towns, grab lunch in a little restaurant, cool off and have some amazing views and scenery. Stunning and from my perspective, the real Canary Islands.

Villas Blancas and the staff are great. It's just too bad it's in a destination that didn't work for me.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IveBeenAroundNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 479 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2011

This year it was our 3rd time that we stayed in Villas Blancas and again we had a very great holiday. As we are a couple we book always the bunglows in Villa1 and they are big enough for 2.

From Villas Blancas its very easy to get to Playa del Ingles, its about 20 minute walk or by taxi less then 10 minutes and that cost only 3.85 - 4.00 Euro.

We never had dinner or breakfast in VB, but sometimes a lunch at the pool and that was good.

When coming back from the bars or restaurants you can relax on your own pattio and if you want you can cruise around. Some people leave the door open.... :-)

Bar staff very friendly, reception very helpfull and the cleaner are great and the place is always very clean.

In November we will be back again. :-)

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marinus68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

My second stay at VB this time travelling with my partner and a friend. We stayed in the VB2 bungalows which are for us a must. They are much larger (3 bedrooms) and have a kitchen with a full size fridge/freezer and an oven. Our's (No'25) was right next to the newly installed Jucuzzi and was noisey, its open from 12noon -10pm and the filttration system runs 24/7. I would also avoid 25 unless you have voyeuristic tendancies and want to watch the 'goings on' which were at times a bit full on. The complex is quietly located perhaps a little bit too out of it for some but cabs to Playa, the dunes and nightlife are plentiful and cheap (4 euro approx)

VB is also very well run and very clean. There are two pools, one near the bar the other quieter but unheated, The service at reception from the point of booking to our departure was truly excellent. The bar service was however a little more hit and miss and usually slow! I think the food is average but the island as a whole is certainly not a 'Gastro' destination.

In summary I would definately recommend Villas Blanca's.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RighteousRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

i stayed for one week in VB as i had a break and was very tired; it was my first stay in a gay resort! it was really nice! so relaxing, so friendly; the staff is very nice and funny; laszlo at reception; Martin, Darius, Richard and Ingo at the nice bar!(food is good and simple!) i was a little bit worried about staying allways alone but i didn't eat alone once!:-) friendship is easy!everybody can do whatever he needs! staying alone, going to fiesta, or joining easily other people; i was lucky, i met very friendly and interesting people! nice athmosphere;everybody free and a nice mix of young/old/english/dutch/german/canadian/belgium/french people!a lot where returning here and i thing i will too! two swiming pools(one hot the other cold!) incredible massages with KUMOKI(great experience!) taxis to go to yumbo for 4 euros,really easy! or you can stay all the day reading, lying and swimming ;a little oasis to rest and meet new friends or just sleep out of noisy playa del ingles.quiet and friendly athmosphere.couples and singles, naturists or not : the place to go in this area !!nice bungalows; quiet, one or two beds; little kitchen, bathroom, terrace.wifi at swimming pool area or Key for 2 euros a day! not a luxury place! a very nice and friendly place!only for nice people please!!!! arrogance is not welcome!:-)

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ricky067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

We enjoyed a week here in March. No problems at all. We were in bungalow 19 and did get noise from the sports centre next door in the early evenings and mornings but not so much that it spoiled things. The service at the bar and restaurant can be rather slow as only one guy is on duty in the daytime but we decided to stay cool about it!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mattyjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Well, lost count how many times we have stayed and starting to struggle with writing a review that is unique! Everything about the place is value for money! We have now found that we live between VB and Bei Lelo in terms of eating, finding both very good value for money and a respectable level of cuisine against the cost.

I wish I could bottle the culture at Villas Blancas, it would certainly sell well in UK, where else do you get so many people dedicated to ensuring you enjoy your time spent in resort?

We travel twice a year and would love to visit more frequently but we have other places to visit so, have to make do with Autumn & Spring!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Commz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We returned to Villas Blancas after promising ourselves a return visit after visiting this time last year. The team at VB have just about got it spot on. The welcome and courtesy of the staff make this place hard to beat for a feeling of genuine hospitality. There are two decent sized swimming pools - one colder and quieter and the other warm and next to the bar/bistro. The bistro serves food and drink all day and evening. Breakfast is an extra (11 euro i think) but is excellent with a selection of dried and fresh fruit, yoghurt, variations on full english, croissants etc. If the type of eggs you want is not on display and the staff will whip you up scrambled/fried/whatever you want. Little extras like this make a big difference.

I recommend the salads for lunch - they are large and make you feel healthy. The burgers and the spanish tortila not so good. The evening Bistro has a very good menu with a daily special which is invariably good. The Bistro varied during the week with regard to atmosphere - some nights it was very quiet, others it was busy and making friends with the table next door is great fun.

If I were to make one complaint it would be the beds and pillows. Basically the apartments do need a refurb, they are spotlessly clean but the bright orange and red decor suggests they have not been kitted out/decorated for a while. I suspect the beds are getting towards the end of their natural lives too and quite simply now need to be replaced. With prices at VB creeping up I am not sure how long they can justify delaying updating the rooms.

All in all this place is just about perfect for its price range - the main pool area is a lovely sun trap, there is wi-fi in the bistro and around the pool, a newly installed jacuzzi, the gardens are immaculate and its spotlessly clean. There is a tennis club next door with a decent gym which you can use for 10 euro a day. The start of the dunes is about a 30 min walk away and gay beach about an hour by foot. Taxis are everywhere if that sounds like too much effort. A taxi to the jumbo is about 4 euro.

VB generally seems to attract the 35+ age group with plenty of retirees who visit several time a year - but everyone is welcome!

Great stuff from the VB team - just think about updating those beds!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank justin00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.5 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#9 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,755 reviews
1.4 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
0.8 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Vista Bonita Gay Resort
Vista Bonita Gay Resort
#3 of 173 in Maspalomas
654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Golf, Gay Men-only Resort
0.4 mi away
Seven Hotel & Wellness - Gay Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Blancas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Blancas

Address: Avenida Touroperadotjaereborg S/N, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 173 Specialty Lodging in Maspalomas
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 bungalows set within tranquil tropical gardens providing varying types of male only accommodation. Two swimming pools (one heated all year-round), 14 man heated jacuzzi, sauna and bar/restaurant. Close to the world famous gay sand dunes and the busy night life of the Yumbo Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Villas Blancas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Blancas Hotel Maspalomas
Villas Blancas Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing