We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel, shame about the smokers” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnolias Natura

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maspalomas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Magnolias Natura
Chatham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, shame about the smokers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2011

This was our third visit to Magnolias Natura.
It is a very relaxing place to stay, with a great pool, simple but well maintained rooms and a small but friendly atmosphere.
Minor niggles include.
The only English TV station (BBC World) on the TV. Very boring!
Old, but just about serviceable appliances and cooking utensils.
Anologue Radio CD player, but no MP3/iPod input.
Air conditioning failing in 44 Celcius heatwave.

Major niggles include,
Overpriced drinks
Overpriced, self servive, breakfast (€11), used to be €5. Even then it was expensive.
The restaurant menu is more for the benefit of the staff, rather than the diners. If it can't be deep fried, don't ask for it.

The really serious problem is smoking.
The mainly Dutch staff smoke heavily.
The Dutch and Spanish guests smoke very heavily and do not respect the 'no smoking' signs. The staff (heavy smokers) ignore this.
The bar staff smoke behind the bar.
The chef/s smoke in the kitchen area.
The 'house' wine is stuffed full of sulphates and other chemical 'nasties'
The industrial strength mattress protectors are very nasty.
Any items of kitchenware left by guests are immediately removed from rooms.
Bath tubs with worn enamel have been hand painted with gloss paint. Not nice.


Good points include,

A true naturist hotel.
Excellent houskeeping.
Peaceful (but remote) location.
The mad, but heavily smoking, June. Without her this place would die a death.

We've been for the last three summers. But not this year. The smoking was a real 'downer' for us last year, and we were not alone when it comes to the smoking problem at Magnolias Natura.

We would go back to Magnolias, but only on a 'Room Only' basis.
The food is overpriced and everybody smokes heavily.
Which spoils an otherwise splendid naturist retreat.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank effandvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    34
    11
    6
    0
See reviews for
4
98
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton. UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

Small well maintained Naturist resort. Very Quiet. Definitely need a car or else trapped without a supermarket or choice of restaurant.
Main complaint is lack of sunbeds on Individual Bungalow Patios. The only sunbeds are round the Pool very closely packed together. You cannot take your own drink or food to the pool so have to buy from the restaurant and bar.Presumably that is why it is impossible to sunbathe elsewhere. The only problem with this is there is no where to sunbathe without being surrounded by smokers and second hand smoke.
When I raised this point to the Manager and said I objected to spending a week surrounded by smoke,he told me to buy a blow up bed from the shop and put it on my patio!.Didnt find the staff helpful or friendly with the exception of June

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MagsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2010

Let me start by saying that we are not "established" naturists, as a matter of fact, this was our first trip to a naturist complex. From the minute we were in our bungalow we knew that we would love this place, and we were not wrong. We found the whole complex, while being on the compact (small) side, had every thing you would need, for the two weeks. Granted, the mini-mart was exactly that, "mini", but it had the usual, water, beer, wine, juices, and the very helpful Reception staff, who were top class. Faro 2 was about 15 minutes away, but most of the shops are closed down. Still a nice place too go at night for food. We would recommend it, that's providing that it is still open
The pool area, where everyone seemed to gather, got a little crowded, with the sun beds virtually on top of one another. The breakfast was ample, if somewhat on the expansive side, while the dinner menu was poor. The bar was a welcome break in the afternoon, but why is that waitress constantly grumpy, and downright rude to go with it. Just a quick mention of the gardener, top marks to him. We will be back, lets hope the waitress is on her holidays.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jacdan51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

We had been to Magnolias before and so were aware of the awful district of Maspalomas and the appalling scar on the landscape that the drive from the airport presented. As one guest said to us "You don't come to Maspalomas to see Gran Canaria". This isn't stricly true but once you have driven into the beautiful interior of the island and visited the excellent Las Palmitos Park, there isn't much to do. Magnolias is for a clothing free and sunny vacation in the Winter. Unfortunately, we had three days of rain and in the Spring the beach at Maspalomas had been trashed by a storm so no-one was on it.
The bunglaows at Magnolias are clean and comfortable and you can choose either the convenience of being round the pool, which is handy for getting loungers in the inevitable scrum each morning or you settle for a quiet location away from the pool. Friends of ours were near the road and were woken each morning by the dustbin truck which spoilt their holiday. We opted for full board and found the breakfast to be good although it was very busy at 9 am and we had to squeeze into a small pantry/kitchen to get the food. Do not under any circumstances book dinners for each evening. Some of the meals were awful and there were times when there was no choice of main course. Another irritation was that the pre-paid cost of the dinners didn't always cover the cost of the meal so you were left with paying a supplement. There are some nice restaurants, even a Chinese, a short taxi ride away and we should have done that. You don't need a car for the whole holiday as you can get a taxi to and from the airport.
It is clear that there is a policy of condoning antisocial behaviour by regulars. The bar is open until 1 am so that a noisy group of guests can stay out by the pool until 3 am if they like, keeping other people awake. Any comment is met by "Well you aren't regulars". There was one outspoken waitress who wasn't averse to being rude to customers, which left a nasty memory. As on the previous visit, the final bar bill was wrong so keep track of what you spend.
Yiou can make the best of your stay by going with friends and not eating in the restaurant or drinking at the bar and ensuring that you have a quiet room away from the pool and the road.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
29 Thank jnats1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2010

We went to Magnolias natura for a relaxing naturist break with good weather and that is what we got. Everything was spotless and the staff were helpful and friendly. There were however quite a few things we didn't like and we share them only as personal observations which may help others.
The facility is quite small and often felt crowded, particularly round the pool. The usual selfish reservation of sun beds with towels was irritating, particularly if you refuse to partake. Some people even reserved sun beds and then went out!
We had to pay 3 euros a day to rent the safe in our room and thought this was expensive, but essential, so you had no choice.
The food in the restaurant was adequate but unimaginative and expensive.
Breakfast could be purchased at a discount if you agreed to have it every day and this was reasonable value, although the variety was limited. Again could be crowded when lots of people were trying to fry an egg on the hot plate.
On leaving the complex you were able to make use of a free bus service into Maspalomas or Playa del Ingles. The surrounding area is not very pleasant and to get anywhere you had to walk down a busy road or tramp across waste land. Although on a map it appears you have easy access to the beach, this is not the case.
The local supermarket (Faro 2) is very poor. The staff are rude and the quality of there 'fresh' produce woeful. Don't go there.
We didn't hire a car and this was a mistake as we didn't particularly like Playa del Ingles or Maspalomas and by the end of the 10 days felt a bit trapped.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank mart146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2010

Excellent. Relaxing week at Magnolias enjoying the pool and hot tub. Well maintained bungalows and gardens with friendly and helpful staff. All bungalows are a good size with south facing terrace and equipped with 4 settings of cutlery, crockery etc. Kitchen/diner area has 2 ring hob, toaster, filter coffee machine and a good fridge with freezer box. Restaurant has a range of food with a daily special, though it isn't cheap especially with the Euro/UKP exchange rate. Wireless internet available for €2 per day. Free bus to and from Playa Del Ingles and Maspalomas beach stops right outside Magnolias several times per day. 10/15 minutes walk to local shops and Faro2.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank johnf_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2009

Our first trip to Magnolias Natura and to a naturist complex. An relaxing experience in a quite place. With good possibilities of walking and jogging to beach, Faro-2-center and Playa del Ingles. Very friendly staff. A little older crowd than expected +50 to +60 .. well OK for us.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LikeGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.3 mi away
Playa del Sol -  Adults Only
Playa del Sol - Adults Only
#40 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.4 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#22 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,975 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#13 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#3 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
0.4 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#9 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolias Natura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolias Natura

Property: Magnolias Natura
Address: Avenida Touroperador Tjaereborg | Campo International, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naturist Resort Magnolias Natura is the perfect naturists hideaway situated in Maspalomas on the southernmost tip of the island of Gran Canaria. During almost ten years Magnolias resort has earned the reputation it has today as being one of the best naturists resorts in Europe and the number of our guests who return over and over again is testimony to this. Magnolias Natura is to be found in a quiet and secluded location in Maspalomas, close to the golf course and sand dunes. Maspalomas beach, Europe's unofficial nudist capital where naturists gather every day to relax naked in the sunshine, is only a short distance away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Magnolias Natura Hotel Maspalomas
Magnolias Natura Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing