We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The downgrading to a 4 star really shows.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Oasis
Ranked #25 of 220 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Galway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The downgrading to a 4 star really shows.”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My family and I have holidayed in this hotel every year since 2004(9 years) and sometimes twice in the same year, such was the wonderful times and experiences we've had here. The staff always delivered a five star service.

Knowing that the hotel had recently being downgraded to a 4 star(pending plans for a new development), we decided to take a chance and spent last autumn's midterm at the hotel. Sadly, the new all-inclusive system introduced has taken away from the overall experience. It's now too cluttered, overcrowded, noisy, and with the availability of food and drink 24 hours a day, there are lingering stale foods smells and empty glasses left lying around the place. Cutbacks were very apparent with the children's club being non-existent in the mornings.

Overall, it was a very disappointing holiday as it was far from relaxing and turned out to be very poor value for money. Although dated in its build, this hotel wasn't designed as an all inclusive resort and it shouldn't be run as such. It's a shame that it has lost its former glory and we will only return once the new proposed development has taken place. The location is second to none.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CrogallIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    324
    106
    48
    35
See reviews for
233
517
48
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nyon, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Ne mérite pas 4* pour les raisons suivant:

Fluctuating hot water (hot/cold)
Not very pleasant reception staff.
Clean pool towels only distributed between 9-14h.
Fixed unreasonable meal hours because of not enough room in the dining hall! The reception did not inform about this upon arrival. Which caused some confusion the first night and and some sharp words from the head waiter. No possibility to chose between the two set hours which was 18:30 - 20:00 (TOO EARLY) and 20:30 - 22:00 (TOO LATE) We had been put on the 20:30 session. I remind that I was travelling with a child! Possibility to eat at self chosen hours in the down stairs warn out hall with even worse food. Each evening only some of the food was acceptable but very badly presented. It was very clear that a lot was recycled food and that the hotel was trying to seriously cut costs.
Breakfast in upstairs dinning room was ok with exception for very little choice in fruit and often very badly peeled.
Continental breakfast in downstairs hall was unacceptable.
Lunch only served in the not pleasant hall with totally unacceptable food. The same every day for 14 days! The same three warm vegetables every day (Brussels sprouts, carrots and beans)! Most certainly of frozen origin. A salad bar where half of the products came from cans. Spaghetti, chicken nuggets, other undetermined deep frozen fried pieces of whatever. Sausages, minced meet for hamburgers, fries. Some grilled fish and beef that was acceptable but not every day for 14 days!
Definitely no fun for children. A majority of guest were retired Germans and that fact made all the staff speak to you whatever German they knew which was annoying. The hotel is definitely specialized in retired German customers even if they claimed to be a family hotel.

The so called SPA at the hotel:
Was not 4 star hotel worthy! Looked like something that had been built wherever the hotel could find some space. Probably old storage space. Extremely small massage rooms evidently not build for that purpose. A very noisy machine room next to the room that is used for cosmetic treatments which eliminates the "relaxing" in your supposedly relaxing facial treatment.
Will never return again and other guests agreed with me.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bettina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Whilst the garden suites could generally do with a refresh (especially to rid themselves of a slightly damp smell), everything else was terrific. The hotel itself, the pool, grounds, food were excellent but by far the best thing was the staff - who we found could not do enough for you (especially Alexis in the bar, Noelia in the restaurant and Fedra in the kids club). This was evidenced by the fabulous effort they all made to make NYE so spectacular and enjoyable. Myself, wife and two young children had a brilliant time and would def recommend it for a lovely relaxing week.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RichardWeddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel for last minute break over Christmas. Booked on the basis it is on the beach at Maspolomas with decent sized swimming pool and tasteful rooms. Read reviews that clientele is mainly older Germans and this appealed as did not want to be surrounded by kids. Price was cheaper for all inclusive than lower grade hotels with room only so very good deal. Staff all very professional and friendly, great choice of food in restaurants and you can book very elegant AL A Carte restaurant at no extra charge. Lovely large heated pool which I often had to myself even though hotel full. Overall very good, let down by strange clashing styles of decor in public areas, a gym which is no more than a home multi gym and no wifi in rooms but can't complain at that price.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank westdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed in the Riu Palace Oasis towards the end of November. Sadly we only stayed one night but really enjoyed ourselves. The staff, from check-in to restaurant and bar were without exception friendly, polite and helpful.

This is an all inclusive hotel and as such offered excellent value for money. Meals were buffet style which might get a bit monotonous after a while but the quality and choice offered were excellent. Drinks were generous and premium brands of alcohol were available.

The location is great being beside the beach - you can access the beach directly from a gate in the garden. We also enjoyed the pool area and gardens. As already written, we only had one night but the entertainment was also very enjoyable on the evening we stayed.Would definitely return - and would stay longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sue1771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

From the moment you walk through the door you are looked after by all the staff at the hotel! I had a fantastic room with a full sea view and upstairs! Room 566 it was amazing. The food is incredible so much choice and always prepared fresh, the waiters constantly come round checking if you require a drink. It was beautiful right on the beach by a gorgeous lighthouse with few restaurants and bars close by.
Gorgeous hotel another RIU wonder

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stardixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicesteshire, England
Level Contributor
122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Gran Canaria is unlikely to be an aspirational destination for most but the flight from Europe is short and, in the winter time, the traveller is likely to be blessed with good weather. So it was that we packed our bags to have a week of rest and recuperation for the school half term. Monarch airlines were performed to their usual abilities, meaning we were delayed on the outward and inward flights.
The Riu Palace Oasis, was equally uninspiring but comfortable enough for a one week stay. The rooms were clean. The food was okay. The staff were polite but thin on the ground. The gym and spa were poor. We used the out door table tennis quite a lot. There is a Jacuzzi in the grounds but is curiously separated from the swimming pool but it is a good place to soak and relax as long as there are no young children around. The back of the garden leads, via some iron gates, to the public beach. You would have to hire your own sun bed on the beach. We did not bother as it was very crowded. There is a nice promenade, however, to the right of the hotel along the beach with lots of bars and restaurants. As a result one wonders if there is a need to have an all inclusive hotel such as the Riu Palace in this area.
There is some commentary, probably based on cultural stereotypes, about this hotel. Yes it is mostly frequented by Germans and most of us have no contact with groups from Germany except on holiday so we fall back on our preconceptions. However most of the TV channels are in German and the meals are indeed heavily carnivorous. There is also a sense of regimented living and conformity. I was immediately struck by how the lie-lows were set in strict lines along the pool. I did not see much in the way of towel wars but I suspect there were a few skirmishes around particularly favourite spots.
There were two dinner sittings and we were roundly told off for sitting on a table that had not been allocated to us on our first day. When you have a table allocated for your evening meal it is expected that you will sit on that table throughout your stay! We were also given the second sitting in the evening. The doors were actually locked prior to the allotted hour so it was curious to see guests patiently standing outside waiting for the doors to open. Personally I like to see a bit of chaos but then outsiders would suggest that I am conforming to my own racial stereotype!
One reviewer mentioned the age skew of the residents towards the elderly. Going grey myself, I was quite hurt by the comment but it is indeed true. Young teenagers with lots of energy be warned this might not be the place for you. There were quite a few families with young children during our stay though.
All in all, not a bad place to stay for a week but I don't think we will be going back.
As a post script I always endeavour to comment about suitability for persons with physical disabilities and this hotel ticks most of the boxes. In fact, this is the first hotel I have stayed in where there has been a hoist alongside the pool to enable people with physical problems to enter the pool.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank freeflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
1.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#4 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 220 in Maspalomas
1,044 reviews
0.1 mi away
IFA Faro Hotel
IFA Faro Hotel
#6 of 220 in Maspalomas
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
0.2 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
2.2 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#3 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Oasis

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Oasis
Address: Plaza de las Palmeras 2 | Maspalomas - Gran Canaria, 35106, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Gran Palace Maspalomas Oasis)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Maspalomas
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Maspalomas
#12 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#29 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#30 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Oasis 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Maspalomas beach. Near "El Faro" and the Maspalomas sand dunes. Direct access to the beach through lush gardens. Two 5-storey main buildings. Surrounded by 65,000 garden with artificial lakes and approx. 2,000 palm trees. 5 km from Playa del ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Grand Palace Maspalomas Oasis Hotel Maspalomas
Riu Grand Palace Hotel Maspalomas
Riu Grand Palace Resort Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Oasis Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing