We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disaster”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Oasis
Ranked #25 of 220 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Devon,Great Britain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disaster”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Myself and my brother and Mum went for a 2 week stay at The Riu Palace Oasis, we picked the resort because its an official 4 and a half star hotel with a beach and pool on the pictures it looked stunning but when we got there it was a different story altogether! We arrived checked in the staff were extermely nice people and took our bags and said go and have some dinner the man took us there so we walked into probally the most chaotic buffet I have ever seen. Im going too say it bluntly but the food was terrible, there is no other way to put it. So after only having some stale bread we walked to our room the Junior Suite. We opend the door and the rank smell almost made me want too run away it was revulting we walked further into the room and there were stains on the carpet and the room was not changed probally since the early 1970`s it was soo dated it was unbelievable we turned on the TV and the sound quality was not good with crackling and distortion! The beds must had been made out of concrete as well as the pillows. After an extermely bad night sleep we went for breakfast the food was poor once again. Then we got up and went too the beach first thing we noticed was a nudist area 800m away the beach was horrible we did not even sit down and all the chairs are packed together like sardines. The pool is where we spent the day sunbeds crammed in with towels already on them so you couldnt sit anywhere... Horrible! That day we decided we leave. It was that bad! Not a good time and never coming back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Youth_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    324
    106
    48
    35
See reviews for
233
517
48
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Myself and my mother went on a package holiday with Thompson holidays. We chose this resort as we were told it was a wonderful 4 star all inclusive hotel with direct beach access and in excellent proximity to the shops and restaurants. This was true in respect of the beach, shops and restaurants but the hotel was an entirely different story.

We arrived at the hotel and my first opinion was it looked lovely.

We checked in to our room which we had paid to upgrade and it was tiny and extremely basic so we went back to reception to complain and the staff were very nice and told us they would upgrade our room to a ground floor room with a garden terrace. The room was large, the bathroom which is standard in all rooms was nice, but the location of the room was right by all the sewerage drains and the smell was terrible. The air on did not work and the room was full of damp and mould.
We stuck it out for 3 days but couldn't take it any more so we changed rooms again which cost us an extra £700 for the remaining 11 days we were there on top of the cost of the holiday.
This room however I could not fault. The room was large with an extremely large balcony.
All rooms have an empty mini fridge and safe but none of the rooms had any tea / coffee facilities.

This swimming was of a good size and there were a shed load of sun beds so there was never a problem with getting one.

One major problem with this hotel is that it caters 99.9% to Germans and is not British friendly.

The food was awful. It was all aimed towards German guests and nothing was labeled so you never knew what you eating, also unless you are a huge fish fan you are extremely limited in what you could eat.

The entertainment was poor and they only had 4 acts which just kept repeating itself on a 4 day cycle.

The Wellness Spa employs staff that are not trained and certified and ladies be warned DO NOT have a massage of the male masseuse as he is inappropriate and and may well sexually assault you as he did one of us.

This hotel is definitely not 4 star, I'd give it a 2 star and that is being very generous.

My advice to anybody that is not German - do not stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel for your stat
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely holiday here. The hotel staff are lovely, and the majority speak English very well and also German. The food was absolutely delicious... cannot fault it at all, the waiter service was impeccable, you didn't even need to ask for a refil, they kept close tabs on emptying glasses! The gardens surrounding the hotel are beautiful and very well maintained. The atmosphere here was lovely, I strongly recommend it to everyone!

An added plus for us was that many of the staff were animal lovers, the hotel staff feed and water the local cat population.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Absolutely loved this hotel and would return in a minute but must just add here that it is not a 5 star hotel even though it is still being advertised as one! However, the service from the loviest staff ever is 5 star. The staff in the Riu Palace Oasis could not do enough for you. From the moment you arrive and are offered a bucks fizz or a glass of cava, while the sort out organising your room, the service was outstanding. I loved how close we were to the beach and the beautiful gardens you can walk through to get there. Its in a perfect location close to beach, promenade, shops, bars and restaurants. Also round the corner to the bus station, which was really reasonable to travel about the island. Would totally recommend a visit by ferry from Puerto Rico or jump on a bus to the beautiful Puerto Mogan. Cheap to eat and drink there. Wonderful holiday. We will deffo be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOMERSET
Level Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Grand Palace Maspalomas Oasis was re-branded by Riu and renamed the Riu Palace Oasis following a complete closure during June 2013. This hotel has a much superior site to the IFA Faro ( small site and swimming pool and terrace on constant view to walkers on the sea front) and Palm Beach hotel ( car park at the front and ugly apartment blocks between the hotel and the beach).

The Riu Palace Oasis occupies a huge site with gardens to the north and south sides of the hotel offering shade and tranquility. The southern gardens lead to a private entrance to the beach. Literally hundreds of sunlongers and parasols around the pool and in the gardens. Pool towels provided free of charge.

The bedrooms have not been updated but have everything you need including a fridge and safe ( both free of charge).Bottled water waits for you in your fridge and further supplies are available free of charge from reception.

The garden rooms and sea view are the superior rooms. Thomson Guests please note you will be allocated the mountain view rooms overlooking the car park unless you pay the supplement for a superior room. There are only 5 pool view rooms (601 - 608). These are above the gym, overlook the pool and are close to the 24 hour bar Piscina. Similarly I would not recommend garden rooms 801 - 809 unless you like constant shade or rooms 820 - 826 as the terraces to these offer little privacy and will suffer from noise from the Bar Jardin where the evening entertainment takes place during the summer.

Also elderly guests please note there is a feature of a raised dias and a step in some rooms 201 - 530. As I caught my toes several times on these I suggest you ask for a room with a level floor.

The breakfast was exceptionally good and is offered from 8.00 to 10.30 in the Oasis restaurant. A late continental breakfast is available in the Restaurant Foresta where lunch and afternoon tea is also available. There are two sittings for your evening meal, with a designated table at 18.30 and 20.30. The food is superb with a tremendous choice. NO scramble for self service drinks here - everything is 5* waiter service with quality wine by the bottle etc.

Do not miss the Canarian Buffet in the Restaurant Foresta ( closed Tuesday and Wednesday)

All drinks are branded eg Gordons Gin, Ballantine's etc and again waiter service in the evening.

There are extensive lounge areas, a TV room, a card room all furnished to a very high standard.

To sum up - this is a fantastic hotel - a much superior All Inclusive experience to that which is normally available. Book it now whilst Thomson and Thomas Cook are offering it at inviting rates!!!!

Room Tip: See my notes on rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SUE SOMERSET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The hotel, officially downgraded to 4 star, all-inclusive, remains open UFN. Planning consent for proposed reconstruction has been refused or deferred (depending on who you talk to). Advertised 24 hour service but no room service and, although one bar open until 0600, the only food available after 2230 is peanuts..

A la carte restaurant only opened one night but buffet restaurant had good varied selection particularly if you like goat and rabbit..

I stayed there from 16 to 24 May. The hotel was at best 1/4 full. Most rooms are temporarily out of use pending possible refurbishment.

I had paid extra for a garden room after taking advise from reviews on this site. At check-in I was told garden rooms unavailable and I was being upgraded to a sea-view room, I could have got this room for 150GBP less and am attempting to obtain a refund. The room was just a somewhat faded standard room with a fine view of roofs of bars and cheap restaurants lining the seafront. Sleep was difficult because of the plastic incontinence sheets.

Grounds extensive and spectacular, and declared a conservation area (one reason for planning consent being denied.

Overall good, slightly faded hotel. Staff very friendly. In fact I got the impression more staff than guests.

Room Tip: You'll get what you are given, not what you pay for, is my experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank daisynook2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Been to this hotel in November 2012. Location is excellent - easy access to the beach - staff very professional, friendly and very helpful. Breakfast and buffet dinner were also excellent. Indeed it needs renovation but it is for this reason they will be tearing it down. Would without hesitation go back once the new hotel is up and running and also hope that the same staff will be there.

Room Tip: Ocean view I would highly recommend - preferably without a Palm tree (as much as I like them) they c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jazzie962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
1.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#4 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 220 in Maspalomas
1,044 reviews
0.1 mi away
IFA Faro Hotel
IFA Faro Hotel
#6 of 220 in Maspalomas
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
0.2 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
2.2 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#3 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Oasis

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Oasis
Address: Plaza de las Palmeras 2 | Maspalomas - Gran Canaria, 35106, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Gran Palace Maspalomas Oasis)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Maspalomas
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Maspalomas
#12 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#29 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#30 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Oasis 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Maspalomas beach. Near "El Faro" and the Maspalomas sand dunes. Direct access to the beach through lush gardens. Two 5-storey main buildings. Surrounded by 65,000 garden with artificial lakes and approx. 2,000 palm trees. 5 km from Playa del ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Grand Palace Maspalomas Oasis Hotel Maspalomas
Riu Grand Palace Hotel Maspalomas
Riu Grand Palace Resort Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Oasis Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing