We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its well worth the money you pay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Turbo Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Turbo Club
Ranked #76 of 220 Hotels in Maspalomas
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Its well worth the money you pay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2011

Was at the Turbo Club the last week in January this year, this is my 4th year going to The Turbo Club, you get what you pay for. Why do so many people pay so little then moan when they get there!!!! Yeh the food is limited but every day for lunch and dinner you have the choice of a soup, fish, chicken or pork plus all the salad you can eat. Breakfast has cereals, meats, bread, cooked items (eggs, beans, sausages) and pastries. You can drink as much or as little as you like all day long. Yeh its local brands but the measures that are poured are massive!!! The entertainment at night , yeh its not the best but you dont need to sit and watch it if its not for you, sit on the terrace. If you were in a hotel in Britain would you get all inclusive for the same amount of money as you paid for in The Turbo? No i dont think you would and i also dont think many British hotels would even offer entertainment (apart from Blackpool) in the price. All in all i think the Turbo Club is a great place for a cheap all inclusive holiday.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cja1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    459
    322
    146
    102
See reviews for
507
396
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2011

5 of us stayed at the Hotel between 27/1/11 - 3/2/11 in two apartments.

Our holiday was booked through Flightline and we had an amazing deal...but there is a reason for the price!

Fully bearing in mind what we paid, my review isn't a cheap jibe, just a factual account of our week. We had read a few mixed reviews before confirming to go and any negative ones were met with comments of 'don't complain at that price'.

So here it is...

STAFF

Friendly reception staff, very helpful
Some bar staff weren't so friendly (the lady with the glasses who worked in the afternoon on the pool bar!), others good fun.
Restaurant staff nice

BEVERAGES / LIQUOR

There was a very limited offering at the bar:

1 draught beer (not that bad as it happens!)
Under strength spirits (nothing more than 25% ABV) consisting of Vodka, Gin, whisky, White Rum, Coconut liqueur & a Coffee liqueur.

There was a water dispenser (one of those with an upside down bottle) in the restaurant and I noticed the same bottle kept getting refilled...most probably from the tap so tasted a bit strange. I wondered just how long this one bottle had been there judging by the state of the label – not good!

The soft drink dispensers were plain dirty. Having worked in the licensed trade, the nozzles need to be taken off (daily for preference) and cleaned. These ones were showing signs of mould inside...nice!

FOOD

The food offering was of very poor quality. Generally the food was cooked ok but they must have a very small catering budget. There were just lots of very low quality food stuffs. For example, the fruit was battered, bruised and marked. Squishy chicken nuggets, a nasty excuse for a lasagne, stale bread. That said there was fresh salad every day with an ok choice.

ENTERTAINMENT

Entertainment on site left a lot to be desired! The 'animation' team consisted of two girls who looked after the kid’s entertainment and one guy who seems to never leave the place. In all fairness they don't have much to work with to entertain the guests with (e.g, on a karaoke night the songs and words to accessed on the computer behind the DJ consol - not on a stage with screens etc). They had visiting ‘artistes’ such as a man with a spider and a snake, a man with an Eagle, a few games around the pool (darts, water polo) but it was all a bit poorly done.

The place needs a bit (ok, a fair bit) of money spending on it - the stage curtains are about 50 years old, the lounge seats are ripped and uncomfortable. It was a bit sad really.

GENERAL CONDITION

Lots (and I mean lots) of light bulbs out all over the place and a general state of disrepair. There was no management presence around the complex looking out for problems - one night when it rained I took it upon myself to put out a wet floor sign on outside the restaurant on the slippy tiles, tiles missing from the bottom of the pool.

This one is hopefully unique to the apartment we were put in (241). The hot water ran out after one shower whereas our friends could get 3 showers out of theirs no problem. After reporting it to reception, the handy man came to look and had a tinker which didn't solve the problem. Next day we reported it again - the nice lady on reception said the Handyman would come again but told us not to let him go until it was sorted (difficult – he didn’t speak English and I don’t speak Spanish). I was a bit miffed at being asked to manage him in my holiday time! Anyway, he replaced it with another unit within half an hour. This one didn't work either so we then asked to change rooms (to room 238) and this was fine.

SUMMARY

Overall, if you are of the opinion that you should stay within the complex day in day out with a view to getting your money's worth, you may be in for a miserable old time - you will get bored of the food, surroundings and poor excuse for entertainment. If you are prepared to eat out a bit, go on trips etc, then it’s probably worth using it as a base and taking a few meals here. On this basis only would I recommend staying at the Turbo Club on the all inclusive basis.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishdinkydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Maspalomas hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2011

We went to the turbo club in november for a weeks break. We where not expecting much due to some of the reviews. We was very happy with the service, rooms and food. I admit you only get what you pay for food wise and what we paid for this holiday we could not grumble, there was always something to eat. The people we met were fantastic and very friendly. We had a great stay and the location was exellent for trips out by free bus or taxi. The staff at the hotel are friendly and you are guarented a good night sleep, they do not let people make noise after midnight. We would go back its a 3* so dont go if you are expecting more.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillandroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sowerby Bridge
Level Contributor
309 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2011

Having read some of the previous reviews we were a little apprehensive about our trip to the Turbo Club. What we found was a clean, well kept hotel. The bungalows were clean and well equipped and although we had booked a one bed roomed apartment for the 3 of us, we were given a 2 bed roomed apartment. Vey spacious, loads of room and plenty of wardrobe space with, unusually, lots of coat hangers. Hot water was limited at night so quick showers are needed. The pools and sun terraces were clean and the sun beds and parasols well maintained. Plenty of sun beds with adjustable backs. The drinks were as advertised- local brands but measures were generous and everything was drinkable. The only downside was that they were always served in plastic, even at night. The food was better than expected but not wonderful. There was always something we could eat at each meal and although it may not always have been to our taste, it was fresh and replenished often and tables were cleared quickly. As we had paid so little to stay at the Turbo Club we could eat out when we wanted. The hotel is a long way out but again this is advertised and they do offer a free shuttle bus. Taxis are cheap or do as we always do and hire a car. Surly staff- what surly staff??? Everyone was friendly and welcoming- perhaps other reviewers who complained got the service they deserved? There was a wide mix of nationalities. More Germans than any other but also guests from Iceland, Denmark and France. Everyone we met was very friendly and there was no conflict with anyone that we saw. With only one entertainer there is limited entertainment but he tries really hard and it was OK if you did want to stay in. Overall we enjoyed our stay very much and for the cost it is well worth a visit as is proven by the number of repeat guests

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidayaddict51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

We've just come back from our holiday. We didn't know what to expect after reading some negative opinions. We arrived about 2pm, got to our rooms and were very pleased with our appartment. It was spacious, clean and nice. We managed to eat our lunch. Staff were very friendly, most of them smiling. Now food. I don't understand how people can say that it was disgusting. For breakfast there was a choice of fresh crispy rolls, bread, cold meat, cheese, beans, sausages, eggs, cereals. Plenty to choose from. For lunch selsection of meat, fish, salads, chips or potatoes, fresh and cooked vegs plus sauces (really liked garlic creamy one), similar for dinner plus fruits, ice cream nad cakes. We were never hungry and always found something we really enjoyed. I wouldn't say the food was the best in the world, but it was nice, fresh and enjoyable. Drinks were fine and the bar staff very nice. Cannot understand why people complain about this hotel, they probably expect a quality of a 5 star hotel, but if you want that you need to pay for a 5star. For us it was the best hotel for the price, we loved our stay, we would reccomend it to people who want inexpensive holiday. We are already thinking about coming back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piterk7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

A holiday with two friends (all aged 18/19) and my mum. We all needed a cheap break and Turbo Club definitely gave us that.

Location: 5 minute walk from holiday world which was a good cheap laugh full of restaurants and rollercoaster rides. Yumbo Centre (not recommended if you are intimidated by a very open gay scene) which is full of restaurants and lively clubs was a taxi ride away but to get anywhere around the island was no more than 4euros. Definitely worth going too! You cannot miss the drag show at Ricky's bar, starts after 11pm, but get there an hour early to get a seat! You will cry with laughter!

Pool: the pool was gorgeous, cleaned out daily, a bridge going across to the bar. There is also a jacuzzi which is heavenly with a drink in your hand!

Pool bar: if you're going all inclusive you are allowed 2 drinks per person to prevent waste but it was no problem. You can ask for any mixture you want so you can go crazy with cocktails! Staff were always dead friendly no matter the amount of hours they work. Cannot fault it! open from 10am - 11pm.

Rooms: Spacious, very clean - cannot fault them at all!

Entertainment/Food: the only downside to the hotel, but it did not dampen our holiday. Food was generally catered for Germans but nothing made us ill, you just have to try stuff! For the price you pay for the all inclusive the amount of drinks you end up having accounts for that anyway!

General: The hotel is directed mainly at younger children, playing spanish children's songs at the same time every day but everyone joined in and it was a laugh. There is a supermarket on the site and a bus stop which is free to the beach which comes 3 or 4 times a day. The beach has sand dunes and is absolutely GORGEOUS you cannot miss out!

All in all a very satisfying holiday and would recommend anyone with a small budget to go!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica8791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

Perfect for families with children, much because of the child-club and child-entertainment who is included in the price many hours in the day. Pool is nice but no play-pool for smaller children thou. Clean around the pool who have a nice shape with a poolbar in the midle.

Great spacious and clean rooms with nice large balcony or terass (poolside). No air-condition who might be a problem in the hottest time of the year. Everything who is not specified to be included in the price costs pretty much extra, ex hairdryer, fun, safetybox, tv, internet in reception (no wi-fi). Big comfortable beds with posibilities for one child on the coach and one more in a extra bed. Hot and not breathable with some kind of plastic-cover over the matrasses in the beds thou.

Food is very simple but some different dishes to choose between every meal. Mainly pork and chicken in different shapes, mostly breaded and deep-fried. They could use some more herbs and offer boiled potatos and rise as an option and woulden't cost more than it gives back in more satisfied customers. Fresh vegetables and fruits to every meal and icecream and cookies for dessert. Breakfast is really ok with bread, some different toppings, sausages, eggs, beans, juice (who is more like soft drinks), instant coffeemachine. Bread to afternoon coffe is the same cakes, every day but I never felt hungry anyway.

Drinks from the bar are really not more than specified and there are not more mixers than comes from the soft-drink machine. Beer and wines are ok and don't know if it is possible to order better ones, not liquor anyway. You get pretty tired on the drinks after a while like with the food. One week is really enough what that matters.

The entertainment on the hotel is great for the kids but not very enjoying for grown-ups. Feels cheap and most of the entertainment in the evening-shows are based on selling photos afterwards or silly games with the ordience or karaoke without stage or monitoringsystem.

Service is ok and most of the girls are smiling and in a great mood even if they are working like animals most of the time. The nannies in the child-club could be a little more on the ball and sell them self in to the children a little more. The entartainer in the evenings who also take care of the dayprogram is kind but not much of a entertainer who hardly speaks some words in english and german. The entartainment is that unadorned like most of the rest on the resort.

Small supermarket just around the corner and free bus to the beach many times a day. Only five minutes walk to fun-park and a bus-stop from where the bus go to airport, Palmitos park (recommended), Aqua park and other locations on the island.

You simply get what you pay for. You better not have to high expectiations and you will get positively surprised. I guess you hardly get a more affordable all-inclusive for that low price anywhere else on Gran Canaria. I will definetly be back with my child next year and recommend Turbo Club for other visitors who want a cheap basic all-inclusive alternative with decent service.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sluggard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.8 mi away
Bungalows Vista Oasis Apartments
0.7 mi away
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
#61 of 220 in Maspalomas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,856 reviews
0.8 mi away
eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado
eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado
#55 of 220 in Maspalomas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bungalows Vistaflor
Bungalows Vistaflor
#84 of 220 in Maspalomas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canary Garden Club
Canary Garden Club
#16 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Green Field
Hotel Green Field
#53 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turbo Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turbo Club

Property: Turbo Club
Address: C/ La Libra no 2 Campo Internacional, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 220 Hotels in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Turbo Club 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turbo Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turbo Club Hotel Maspalomas
Turbo Hotel Maspalomas
Turbo Club Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing