We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont believe the negativity!”
Review of Turbo Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Turbo Club
Ranked #69 of 218 Hotels in Maspalomas
Reviewed September 11, 2007

When we booked our holiday back in March we were happy with our choice of destination and choice of accomdation. I had never experienced all inclusive before but my fiancee had so we decided to go for it and keep our fingers crossed that it'd all be good!

We flicked through reviews websites such as this in the five months between booking and leaving for The Canaries, the majority were good but as always there were poor reviews and negativity.

We decided that as long as the food was ediable and the rooms were clean we'd be happy with all inclusive for a lower than expected cost, after all you get what you pay for, if you want 5 star you'd pay alot more than turbo club charge.

We arrived in the early hours of the morning (1am) to be welcomed and we were offered a cold meal and drinks but we were both shattered and kindly refused and headed straight to our apartment and bed.

The next morning we went for breakfast which was pleasent and got a safe, we didnt hear of any crime when we were there but felt it was best to get a safe given we both had jewelery, phones, passports and money which we didnt want to take to the pool or just leave in the room.

Overall the food was very good and there was always a wide variety of foods for everyone, we found ourselves taking small portions but trying different things instead of one plate of just one meal. The room was cleaned daily and towels changed every other day and the bedding was changed once during the week which we were mre than happy with.

As has been commented on elsewhere there is competition for sun beds in the morning but no more than any other resort, we came back from the shops and beach a few days during the afternoon and found beds available so its not as bad as people make out.

Travelling around is easy there is a place called 'Holiday World' nearby (a 10 minute walk) which has a bowling alley and arcades for kids and adults too, a little further on (another 5 mins walk) is Faro2 shopping center which some good little shops and there is a mini golf section outside it which is really good fun and only costs
5 euros.

Taxi's a cheap there and we went to Playa de la Ingles which cost under 7 euros return.

The service offered by Turbo Club was very good and we didnt feel short changed at all, we would definately stay there again given the chance.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank philly2007Chester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,106 - 1,112 of 1,315 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2007

I've been back a week from Turbo Club and I have to say I really enjoyed my holiday but it had nothing to do with the complex itself.....

Firstly the rooms are spotless and spacious but very hot and at times unbearable at night!

The food was ok, I'm not a fussy eater so I found my self full on most occasions, although after a week, pork, beef, chicken in assorted sauces with some kind of potatoes got a bit boring.

Drinks were ok, there were plenty to choose from, I stuck to the beer although it was called something else as the holiday went on!

Now for the entertainment........in a word, shocking!
I don't know where they got the entertainers from but I think they need to look up the word! We were subjected to a 20 minute kids mini disco (with the same 4 songs every day!) and woe betide anyone that doesn't get up! then followed a quiz/bingo game or Mr and Miss Turbo club, me and my girlfriend actaully won this on the first week mainly becuase all the spanish players walked off after the first task!!!! The quiz was a repeat of the quiz from the prevous week, for the bingo it was like being at your grandads house when the football pools were being read out, anything a much as a whisper and you would suffer the wrath of the lady that was calling the numbers (in 3 languages), she even had a go at some kids who were playing pool one night! Having said the the game during the day were pretty good with Water Polo, Darts, Shooting and other activities.

We were quite a large group so we made our own entertainment most of the time plus we met some really good people who we could have a good laugh with aswell...but not after 11:30pm.....TALK SALL! The highlight was probably one night when we decided we weren't going to talk small but talk big and jump in the pool at about midnight which really ruffled Mr Talk Small's feathers....so much so he called the police! So a big shout out to the Sunderland massive! (Kev, Sarah, Chris and Cath) not to mention the Scots (Ken, Claire, Christine and Mel) and all the kids, they made our holiday not Turbo Club!

Would I go again? only if the same crowd were there too!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarrenTopBombing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2007

My friend and I booked this hotel for a 2 week stay from Aug 13th, we
arrived at approx 8.30pm, the man on reception spoke very little English but we managed to check in with no problem. We were offered food which consisted of some (un-chilled) cold meat, salad & bread rolls.

There is NO air-con in the rooms, which makes sleeping a bit of a nightmare. The rooms get cleaned a twice a week, sheets were changed once in the 2 weeks. towels changed every 2 days. The shower is warm for about a minute, so the quicker you are the better.

Be ready to get up at 8.30am so you can be at the poolside by 9am when the chains are taken off the sunbeds or you won't get one. The pool is okay but a bit deep especially for kids although it did'nt stop them getting in. There was entertainment throughout the day, darts, water polo, crazy golf etc... There is also a guy who is there to keep you SAFE in the sun, he advises you on which factor is safe for your skin type. Well, after giving advice & selling his OWN lotion to one girl she ended up with a bad case of SUNBURN so take advice from a doctor before you depart.

The entertainment in the evening is pretty non-existent.. there's a bird of prey show & a reptile show another night, both last approx 30 mins, there was an lingerie show another night where a couple of females parade about in bra & panties definitely one to get the mens attention.

The best entertainment for us was sitting in the balcony & listening to the antics of the woman who runs the so-called entertainment. She really needs to brush up on her people skills, one night while doing the BINGO (in 3 languages) she stopped calling the numbers & told some guests to 'just shut up', another night she was shouting at some
kids who were just playng at the pool table, when a mother had to go up & tell her she could'nt speak to them in that manner, (this is the
same woman who runs the kids club EEK!!!)

At 11.30pm the bar closes, you then have 30 mins to drink up & get to
bed!!! If you dont, the lights go off & out comes MR.TALK SMALL who will tell you to "SHHHHH..... talk small", the first time this happened I could'nt believe it, there were some couples sitting chatting & laughing but by no stretch of the imagination were they LOUD, out he came and basically told them off.... but don't think you
can go to your balcony to get away from him as he has a torch big enough to shine a mile away.... Thankfully we could go out for our entertainment but I feel sorry for anyone with a family who are restricted to staying at the hotel.

The bar staff are not the nicest I've come across in the 4 occassions
that I've visited Gran C, there were only 2 who always had a smile, & one of them was the only male, the rest were very grumpy to say the least. I know they work very long hours but when you can't be civil to the guests then it's time to give it up. I did notice they had time for the Spanish speaking guests which there were a lot of.

On your last day (all inc) finishes at noon when you vacate your room, by rights you should still be entitled to it since you have paid for 7 or 14 days. I would'nt try & sneak in for a bite as the staff KNOW who are leaving that day by the colour of your wristband & one usually stands at the door of the dining room on guest change days.

I will probably go back to Maspalomas but NOT the Turbo Club, at the end of the day this is just my view on my experience, I only hope they get their act together for the sake of future guests.

HAPPY HOLS......

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cazz1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2007

We arrived at the Turbo Club in the early hours of 22nd Jul. I was a bit apprehensive after reading some of the reviews as I was taking my 10 month old daughter and both sets of her grand-parents!! I needn't have worried. We were offered food and drink on arrival (after everyone was checked in) and there was plenty of food to choose from at every sitting. My husband is a fussy eater and he had no problems at all with the food nor did my 10 month old daughter who only ate pureed food prior to her holiday and now eats anything! They even put steak on a couple of nights and chips! I cannot fault the maid service, our rooms were cleaned everyday apart from a Monday and our towels and bedding were changed every other day. The entertainment is not the best in the world but it kept the majority of the children happy which is the main thing. I would recommend going to holiday world and the moonlight bar which is less than 10 mins walk away and for 3.50 euros in a taxi, you can go to Maspalomas front which has lovely bars with live singers and 5 star shopping!!!
Would recommend the Turbo Club to anyone but would advise if you are going in the summer to hire the air conditioning unit from reception on arrival. We only hired a fan and during the heat wave, it was 56 for a couple of days and the fan did nothing!!!!
We are looking to go back next year for another excellent value holiday!!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LinziGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2007

Got to say we was very sceptical about this hotel when reading the reviews, however we thought we would give it ago.
When we arrived at the hotel in the early hours the reception staff was very friendly and helpful although could speak very little English.

We was told where to go to our room, along a lit path got lost, when we finally found our room we was pleasantly surprised as it was very clean and quite spacious. The only let down was there was no air conditioning so very hot at night.

Morning to get a sun bed was a nightmare they are all changed up and not opened till 9.00am then its first come first served trying to get 3 or 4 sun beds for your family was a little disappointing.

Food we thought it was very good all fresh plenty of it but did get very repeatable no problems with get a table no queuing, our kid eat well for a change.

Drinks unfortunately these are not that good beer was tasteless the shorts was ok but the mixers let them down, plenty of drinks for the kids ours drank milk shake all week.

The main Pool was very nice although a little deep for young children, there was a second pool with a kids pool but no facilities to get drinks etc.

Entertainment was not to bad kids stuff at the begging of the night and then a bit more for the adults.

If you like to get out and about I would recommend the jumbo centre about 10 min taxi ride £3 great night out lots of drag shows, very friendly place fair ground and loads of shops to keep the ladies happy. ( good value too)

There we're a few people that liked moaning about everything, but to be perfectly honest for the cost of this holiday you wont much find better, we would go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank markinglis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2007

My boyfriend and I came to the Turbo club the beginning of March, I am in my 20’s and my partner in his early 30’s.
For the price you pay- this is a GREAT Base.
I would defiantly return to the turbo club,
The weather was lovely. The rooms were spacious
Ok we’ve had better food but you must remember this is NOT a 5 star hotel. We ate well every day. There was certainly enough food
Some people are just far too picky !!!! Chill out !!!

The pool was nice, Bar by the pool . always a winner.
The hotel has a free shuttle bus that went to the beach.

Holiday world was a 10minute walk away where you could find a pub that showed the sports channels ( for you men that cant miss your football games)

We went to the aqua park – this was fantastic, as we went in March, it was very quiet- we didn’t have to queue once.
YOU MUST DO THIS !

We also took a bus to Porto Rica. Went on a whales and dolphins trip. We didn’t see any though

On the last day we had to check out by 12. our flight was a late night one, we did have to pay for an extra day all inclusive which you would have thought should have been included.
They did have a room where we could shower and change in the evening.

I would recommend this to people who want a cheap get away.
xxx

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tracey1983uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2007

The rooms were lovely, clean and spacious.
The food in general was ok, with plenty of options.
Daytime entertainment/games were good fun.
Evening entertaiment was getting better towrards the end of the week.
Staff are very friendly.
Overall this was a very nice cheap all inclusive holiday and my husband and I would go back. This is not an ideal hotel for kids.

And finally-- If you want English speaking staff-
GO TO ENGLAND!!!! Don't complain about people in their own country speaking their native language!!!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank skara114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.8 mi away
Bungalows Vista Oasis Apartments
0.8 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#16 of 218 in Maspalomas
699 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
#62 of 218 in Maspalomas
3,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos THe Koala Garden
Apartamentos THe Koala Garden
#103 of 218 in Maspalomas
820 reviews
0.8 mi away
eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado
eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado
#57 of 218 in Maspalomas
1,065 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Green Field
Hotel Green Field
#53 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turbo Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turbo Club

Address: C La Libra no 2 Campo Internacional, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 218 Hotels in Maspalomas
Price Range: $97 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Turbo Club 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Turbo Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turbo Club Hotel Maspalomas
Turbo Hotel Maspalomas
Turbo Club Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing