We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Turbo Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Turbo Club
Ranked #78 of 220 Hotels in Maspalomas
County Durham
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good value for the money”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed as a couple 9-16th December 2013. Was really pleased to be the first on the drop-off after only a 25 minute transfer. Check-in was quick, nice change for all inclusive to be a small apartment instead of just 1 room, there is a kitchen area but doesn't have anything other than eating utensils no kettle so if you like a morning cuppa take a travel kettle. The shower room was spacious and the who,e apartment although not luxurious was more than adequate and very clean.

The location is out int he sticks a good 40 minute brisk but direct walk to Maspalomas beach and not much about except Holiday World 6 or 7 minutes walk which has a sports bar and is a small funfair.

The food was what we expected for what we paid, the drink was ok again what you expect.

Entertainment was not that good for us, mini-disco same songs every night for 40 mins but the kids loved it followed by the young coup,e of animation guys doing bingo, quiz etc. we got a taxi to the Yumbo centre a couple of times it's cheap enough at under 10 euro return.

All in all it's a decent budget hotel the only thing that spoiled it a bit for us was the weather wasn't the best but nothing the hotel old about that!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsJanTiggy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    459
    321
    146
    102
See reviews for
506
396
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2013

don't go if your looking for 5 star. this is an excellent value holiday. the apartments are very good for the amount of time you will spend there. the complex is well set out around the pool, with quieter apartments around the second pool.the staff are all very friendly, helpful and very hard working. the animation team of two worked hard to get everybody involved in the activity's. the food was good well presented and plenty to chose from. some reviews are a bit negative but don't let that put you off. it is well worth the money. if you don't leave the complex you have the best of both worlds. a quiet on around the pool or a bit more involved with plenty to do. do try and see the island it has some lovely places. i will be back.

Room Tip: close to the action room 130.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garyroom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Arrived 2nd Nov 13 with friends & found staff, rooms, pool area very good. Food also extremely good & plenty of choice. Enjoyed tea & cakes in the afternoon & pool bar great. Entertainment could be a little better but reps certainly keep you entertained during the day & are not pushy in any way. Overall very nice hotel & room, would definately go back.

Room Tip: If you prefer peace & quiet at the pool request a room up at the other pool not the main pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Just got back today from a week at The Turbo Club. Firstly the rooms are spacious, clean and just what you need for a weeks stay. Large lounge/kitchen area with a pay to view TV. Kitchens need to be checked better for what is in it, we had 1 knife, no forks, 3 spoons, 2 plates and 1 cup.
The grounds when we were there needed a bit of a tidy, some grass areas where shin high and if people have moved sunbeds in front of walkways you have to cut across to get to the main paths. The pools are lovely if a tad cold in December.
All staff, without exception were friendly and courteous. The entertainment was done with a laugh and a smile each day.
The food......Hmmmm, the quality of food was good but the choice vastly let it down, each meal there was only ever once choice of vegtable and potato, usually chips or instant mash, not good. Some days the combinations were bizarre, for instance muscles without any kind of sauce, chips and cauliflower or at breakfast, sausage beans and broccoli. There were 4 types of meat most nights but as I mentioned one potato and one veg, if you dont like chips you are gonna be stuffed (or not as the case may be)
The guests I would say are predominantly German and Scandinavian and when were there mainly in their 60's and over.
Most nights we went to Moonlight Sports Bar in Holiday World which is about an 8-10 minute walk away. Happy hour specials and they show all the major sports events and some UK TV progs. Marcus does daily Karaoke which is a giggle and he gets half the bar up singing. Worth a visit, staff and beer was great.
We went to Yumbo centre to catch a drag show which was hilarious. €4.50 in a taxi.

Room Tip: we had room 157 which is ground floor and just steps away from the pool in the quieter part of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollergrafik01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 week with a friend.
Apt was generous size, kitchen area small and basic, but we didn't really use it. Bathroom had nice large walk in shower and large vanity area.
Bedroom is a tad small, but ok.
We stayed in ground floor room 119, far side from entertainment, so not too noisy when trying to get a siesta before hitting Yumbo centre!!
Only issues were couldn't have windows/doors open and was still warm in nov, I wouldn't want to stay in summer on ground floor, also I noticed a humming sound at night, which was a pain, altho not terrible.

Reception staff pretty useless on check in.
No info given on meal times, bus times etc. we had to go back to ask. Otherwise, staff were lovely.
Guests were Mainly families and split of UK and German tourists mainly.
4-5 Euro taxi ride to beach/Yumbo.
Food was hit and miss. Some days several tasty choices, 2 nights, we couldn't find anything even half palatable, but we didn't expect much due to price. A shame that no snacks available between means, on site supermarket good did this.
I wouldn't return to this accommodation, but all in all, I do think it was excellent value for money, so no real complaints.
Just remember no Air con if summer visitor.
Remember that on check out, after Noon, no food or drink, so get stuff before hand!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MarcusT007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I been there in the end of August, and what can i say. Good hotel for a good price. Of course don't expect a 5star hotel. if you want something very luxury go to somewhere else. Its a nice clean hotel, with a nice staff. The entertainment was very good. The food was not so good, but every day i found something delicious. Nice 7 days. But one thing was very bad. Not the hotel, but some people who didn't know how to behave, and of course their children didn't behave as well. Totally drunk adults with 4 screaming children. But all in all was a nice break.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bea0719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Got back from Turbo club a few days ago. I was there for a fortnight with my son, his girlfriend and my husband. We thought the price was amazingly cheap and some of the reviews weren't good so I was a little worried...but we were on a budget and really wanted a holiday in the sun. We couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised...We had a really fantastic holiday and the weather was amazing. The hotel was spotless and the apartments are spacious, tastefully decorated and have really comfortable beds and furniture. The pillows are a little flat but you only have to ask at reception and they will give you extra ones. They really do seem to want to please.. The balcony is lovely and I think that they all have a pool view. Some balconies are bigger than others and ours was a smaller one, but it was still bigger than most hotels and we were really happy with it. This is a low rise hotel with only 2 stories. If you are on the ground floor...you can walk straight out of your apartment into the pool area...we were on a higher floor as wehad requested as it was a little quieter and was still only a short flight of stairs away from the pool.
..... This is not a huge hotel...I think there are about 130 apartments, so it has a family feel. There is always plenty of room around the lovely pools which were heated for part of the time we were there...though this was a little random as some days they were not...however they were never really cold and we went in the first 2 weeks in November. There is one pool that is for families and is and another quieter pool...both were never really crowded...and you could always swim without being crowded out....Also the pools and surroundidng area were cleaned thoroughly every day.There is a jacizzi..but to be honest we didn't use it as it was very cold...but this didn't bother us.There is a childrens pool by the quiet pool which would maybe have been better by the family pool...but this is a minor detail.
The animation team consists of two young guys...Leo and Gilbert...I'd like to say Hi to them from Deb, John, James and Beth. They are amazing!!!!..They both work such long hours but never cease to be enthusiastic and friendly and have a great sense of humour. Leo does most of the evening entertaintment helped out by Gilbert (who is a fantastic dancer!!!)...Gilbert looks after the kids club and he was really marvellous with the kids who genuinely seemed to love him. Although there were only 2 in the animation team..I can honestly say that they were the best we have come across in our many holidays...and we won't forget them. They arrange activities and games throughout the day...we did archery, rifle shooting, water polo and aqua gym. There were plenty of other things to do if you feel energetic but they were never pushy.The evening entertainment was the usual sort of stuff but made more fun because of Leo...he even made bingo.entertaining! The only thing we didn't like were the animal shows which were done by people from outside the hotel. We don't like seeing animals used like this for entertainment so didn't watch...but as we didn't see..I can't comment about how the animals were treated.
The food was better than we expected for the price that we paid. It was pretty basic, but always fresh with a choice of cooked meats and fish every lunch and dinner time. Didn't have potatoes or rice very often...usually pasta. The desserts were very limited, but there were always a good variety of ice cream and some fresh fruit available.As with most All Inclusive food..it got boring by the second week, but my husband gained 10lbs...so obviously it was pretty good. I liked the breakfast best...they had English type food...eggs beans and on some days bacon...and always lovely fresh rolls and a toaster for sliced bread. the youghurt and honey was niice. Probably the worst thing about the food were the soups...bit tasteless...but there was plenty of other choices and lots of salads so we always found plenty to eat. We ate at a Tai Wan restaurant which is just 5 minutes down the road when we wanted a change...great food at very reasonable prices. The drinks flowed very freely at Turbo club....and a few people didn't know when to stop but this was never a problem and all in good humour.There were people from all over Europe here and the atmosphere was very friendly. There were groups of young people, families, couples,elderlypeople,...never any trouble..great atmosphere.
The location of the hotel isn't the best but a taxi into Maspalomas or Playa Del Ingles is only about 4 Euros and the hotel runs free buses to the beach every day so it's easy to get around. The beach at Maspalomas is beautiful...one of the best Ive seen and for those interested...there is a nudist area if you're prepared to walk down the beach about half a mile...always good for a laugh :). Playa Del Ingles is a well known gay resort and we went to a Gay bar called Sparkles ther one night.....you need to be open minded, but we had a brilliant night. The drinks are pretty reasonable if you buy them before about 10.30 and we all got more than a little meery. My adult son was dragged onto the stage on more than one occasion and so was his girlfriend....but it was all in good fun...although the humour is very adult. If you don't want to be heckled...don't sit near the front like we did!!!! Sparkles is in the Yumbo Centre, playa Del Ingles...the hotel staff will always give directions.
Generally, the hotel staff were okay...some were friendly and others not quite so...but if you try to be friendly to them they usually responded. No one was rude and on the whole they were fine. Reception staff were pretty nice.
If you want live footie...or really good free wifi ..ther's a sports bar at Holiday world..It's called The Moonlight Bar ...five minutes walk away which we went to a couple of times. It's by the Ferris wheel and that's where the Tai Wan reataurant is too. There is some fairground type entertainment there also.
I can really recommend this hotel.....for a budget holiday you get your money's worth and more in my opinion. We all agreed that we'd love to go back.

Room Tip: If you email the hotel before you go, you can ask them for a ground floor or second floor apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank debgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.8 mi away
Bungalows Vista Oasis Apartments
0.7 mi away
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
#61 of 220 in Maspalomas
2,849 reviews
0.8 mi away
eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado
eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado
#56 of 220 in Maspalomas
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canary Garden Club
Canary Garden Club
#16 of 220 in Maspalomas
684 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bungalows Vistaflor
Bungalows Vistaflor
#84 of 220 in Maspalomas
626 reviews
0.2 mi away
smartline Koala Garden
smartline Koala Garden
#192 of 220 in Maspalomas
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turbo Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turbo Club

Property: Turbo Club
Address: C/ La Libra no 2 Campo Internacional, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 220 Hotels in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Turbo Club 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turbo Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turbo Club Hotel Maspalomas
Turbo Hotel Maspalomas
Turbo Club Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing