We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Venue, people need to stop moaning!”
Review of Turbo Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Turbo Club
Ranked #71 of 218 Hotels in Maspalomas
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Literally a great holiday!!!

Firstly anyone moaning about lack of food options is just an idiot.
There is loads of food and of course its gonna be at set times. (6-8 breakfast, 12.30-2.30 lunch, 6-8pm tea). As if anyone is going to be standing in the kitchen all day cooking! lol.

There was fish, rice, ribs, beef, chicken, lasagne. salad, chips, potatos, bacon, sausage, chicken nuggets, etc. You don't just eat it all in 1 go then moan u get the same stuff everyday. The 1st day you have fish n rice, 2nd day, lasagne n chips, 3rd day beef n potatos, 4th day Chicken Salad n chips.... What is wrong with your imagination people!

Also there was cold meats; ham, salami n pepperoni,etc Also Afters was Ice cream and always 3 different lots and there was even Cake time! about 3.30pm.

And to the person moaning that all they had to drink was local spirits, wine, beer and soft drinks. What else can u drink....Sea water? There is also a supermarkert on site with super cheap alcohol so if u need absinthe go and get some!

P.S For the person complaining that the hot tub wasnt hot, Why the hell would you want it to be hot! Its 28c out there. You would die if you then also sat in a hot-tub!

Also there was activities everyday, air-rifle shooting, french boules, ping pong, water polo. Anyone moaning about hairdryers etc knows that they could rent them out and if it was gonna be such a big issue to ruining your holiday why didnt u bring your own for good measure? Crazy!

Yes the slight downside is location but there is a FREE BUS that runs 3 times a day, 9.30, 10.30 + 12.30 to the beach and pick up at 2.30, 3.30 + 4.30! Also if you go out in the evenings its only ever 4 euros to the Gay location of Yumba centre + 5 euros to Casbar both in Playa del Ingles regardless if its 1pm or 5am.

Best 2 sites to book this on is onthebeach.com/lowcostholidays.com (Cheapest options)

Room Tip: All rooms overlook a pool so never pay to upgrade for a pool view if offered by a website!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Tigertonkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

671 - 677 of 1,323 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed for a week, arriving on the 27th March 2013. On arrival, check-in was efficient, and we purchased a safety deposit box for 15 Euros, plus a refundable 10 Euro deposit.

Food was excellent, with loads of choice, drinks (with the exception of the coke/diet coke, which were awful), were really good. The wine and beer and, coffee were excellent. Pool area was lovely, with two pools; a quieter one without loads of kids, or a noisier one with kids. Pool bar in the centre of the main pool was lovely.

Rooms were very large, and spotlessly clean, with kitchenette, fridge etc., and a living area. Balconies were really nice, and bathroom was spot on - shower particularly good, but go easy on the hot water as it runs out pretty quickly.

The only two downsides, which I have to mention were firstly the beds - they were not comfortable at all, with pillows to match. I didn't sleep well all week, but made up for it by chilling out on the beach, so no problem. The other downside was the safety deposit box - they are owned by an external company, and opened using a combination you set at the start of your holiday. Being electronic, if the code is reset, you cannot get your stuff out...this happened to us, randomly one day, and as it was in the evening, (with us about to go out), the company would not come and fix it until the next day. The hotel, to be fair, let us borrow fifty euros until the next morning when our box was opened.

Taxis to Maspalomas centre, the Yumbo, and the beach etc., were cheap, and there is a taxi rank nearby - leave the hotel via the super market, and turn right, walk two minutes, and the taxis are there. The hotel's courtesy beach bus was ace too, and regular.

A great holiday!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank domwilkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Just got back from a week here - we went for Easter what a mistake.
Best thing about it was the size of the appartment which was very clean and had adequate furnishing
What was wrong
The location is remote, miles from anywhere and hard to find.
The pools and outdoor jaccuzzi are freezing cold not heated.
No saucepans to cook up a snack with, no kettle, no hairdryer, water tank just enough for 1 shower then it goes cold. PAY TV 1 EURO AN HOUR FOR AN OLD STYLE TINY TV WITH ONLY ONE CHANNEL IN ENGLISH CNN. Also had to rent kettle, hairdryer, and the safe.
Towels were one each and only changed twice in a week. Bedding not changed at all.

Meals and Drinks
Set times to eat and nothing available in between. Drinks were available all day til 11pm. Meals were repetitive and bland. Mostly braised meat, fish or chicken chips rice and salads. The salads were good but nothing to go with it no cold meats etc.
DESSERTS WERE TERRIBLE every day the same for lunch and dinner. Jelly, blancmange, instant whip type runny pink stuff, fresh fruit or icecreams - the same every lunch and dinner no variety whatsoever. Orange juice was aweful - mixers were cheap own brand and nasty.

Entertainment was like Butlins where they get the audience on the stage to look silly but no groups playing, no singers nothing else.
This was our first time on an all inclusive holiday we wont ever go there again
STAY AWAY ITS AWEFUL.

Room Tip: Stay away its aweful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SB1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Can I just start by saying the last 2 comments were a bit ridiculous unless you paid 5 star prices then I have no idea what you are moaning about. We stayed here 20th - 27th March and paid £450 for 2 adults and 1child (this is just the accomm price) so lets be realistic people for that price we were not expecting 5 star quality. If you like a massive fry up for breakfast then you will be fairly disappointed. Cereal and toast does us so we were fine. Yes its a bit repetative but you will always find something to eat. We booked this as it was not much more than some self catering prices so we ate out about 3 nights. The drinks are fine fizzy juices, kids cocktails, slushy ice drinks. Ok so the alcohol isn't as great as here but really is that all your holiday is about? Rooms are clean, spacious and we had a pool view so it was lovely. Pools are great and my 8 year old enjoyed the mini club. It's a 10 minute walk to holiday world which has arcades and bowling and a 20 minute walk to the yumbo centre at playa del ingles. In a taxi it was 3 euros to the yumbo centre and less than 5 minutes so if people were paying 20 euros for a taxi I can only imagine they were going to Puerto Rico and if that is the case then why not stay in that resort in the first place?! It is not in the wilderness as suggested in previous reports. Sometimes I wonder what people expect when booking a 2 star accommodation. This is a good, clean, basic accommodation. If you want 5 star accommodation people then i'm afraid you are not going to get it at a 2 star - BE REALISTIC!
.

Room Tip: Rooms by the smaller pool are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 77janeEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

just back from the turbo club last week and extremely disappointed to say the least. After reading some really encouraging reviews all I can say is this hotel is totallly missold. It is literally in the middle of nowhere, a 20min taxi ride every time you wanted to venture outside the hotel. The staff were ridiculously strict and never smiled, we were refused all inc drinks at 11.55 on our last day! If u want a holiday that u can relax and go nice walks etc this is not the place for you its very restricting. The only positive I have about this place is the entertainment and even at that it was false and half hearted and repetitive but they did try. The rooms were ok and food half decent. The one thing that really irritated me was being ushered out the door literally straight after all inc finished. kids club was ok but the nights that we enjoyed most were the ones spent outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our apartment was very basic and very sparsely equipped. Although spacious and clean enough, the beds were never changed in the week we were there. Our towels were changed twice. We were all inclusive but found that, if you did not eat chips and salad, there was very little else which looked appetising. The drinks package consisted of local spirits, wine , beer and soft drinks. We could not drink any of them. There were no alternatives so you could not even opt to buy a drink of your choice at your own expense.. We ended up having to eat and drink elsewhere to get something pallatable or we were able to buy food and drink at the supermarket located in the complex but this defeated the purpose of going all inclusive. Holiday camp atmosphere where day and evening entertainment was geared to young children and there was no alternative bar for adults to go to for a relaxing drink. We were also very remote, with a bus three times a day to take us to the beach at Maspalomas but no public transport nearby. If you wanted to go out at night , it meant taxis to and from so that cost extra money. We paid at least £200.00 more than some others from our area and did not get value for money. Very disappointing. We will not be back..

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welltravelled071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Let me start by saying everyone is different in their opinions. Within an hour of arriving I was going to ask for a transfer to my usual place that I visit. I arrived about 9pm was greeted and given the keys to my room, which was very clean and spaciouse however there was no kettle, no hairdryer and then to really put my back up a no smoking sign on the door, luckily I never smoke indoors only outdoors. The night receptionist took me down to the restaurant where they had left some food (or their excuse of a meal) for me to have on arrival the only way to describe it was yuk!. I then very patiently explained that I need a kettle as im an insomniac and like a hot drink during the early hours finally I was offered what looked like a stewing pot but it boiled water so I accepted it. The next morning I went to reception and asked about a hairdryer as according to the books the rooms had one, NO! please be aware that you have to hire both a kettle if you want one and a hairdryer this also means that you have to leave deposits, so please plan for the fact that you have to hire and leave deposits on whatever you may need in your room.

I went fully inclusive and I must say was disapointed with the food it was either luke warm or cold and I am now fed up with scrambled egg and pizza but the restaurant was always clean looking food was pretty boring and repetative. You would often have to wait at the bar until you caught someones eye to come and serve you a drink which could be some time when they were busy.

The swimming pool and surrounding area were really good nice large swimming pool but my favourite was the jacuzzi at the side of the pool that was fantastic, it was also nice to wake up and have a view from my room of the swimming pool. The two fellas leading the entertainment were very good and got people to join in the childrens entertainment was excellent but entertainement in the evening left a lot to be desired.

If you enjoy photography then take a laptop or some device to view your photographs as the computers in recetion do not have any memory card device available so you can not view the photos you take.

Finally there is only one washing machine at this place and they keep it locked up and if you reserve the key they will still give it to someone else its easier to do hand washing than to try and use the machine. The supermarked attached to the turbo club I found could be unfriendly and the people would carry on conversations then just point to the price whilst ignoring you, not all the time but it does happen.

If you choose to go to this place I hope you have a good time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 289Pauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.8 mi away
Bungalows Vista Oasis Apartments
0.8 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#16 of 218 in Maspalomas
711 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bungalows Vistaflor
Bungalows Vistaflor
#60 of 218 in Maspalomas
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
#64 of 218 in Maspalomas
3,222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club Vista Serena
Club Vista Serena
#65 of 218 in Maspalomas
287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos THe Koala Garden
Apartamentos THe Koala Garden
#99 of 218 in Maspalomas
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turbo Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turbo Club

Address: C La Libra no 2 Campo Internacional, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 218 Hotels in Maspalomas
Price Range: $94 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Turbo Club 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Turbo Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turbo Club Hotel Maspalomas
Turbo Hotel Maspalomas
Turbo Club Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing