We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great honeymoon ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria
Ranked #20 of 218 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband went here for our honeymoon. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Food excellent so many choices and hot. Dining areas were so clean and lovely, loved the atmosphere. Plenty of pool space and activities to do throughout the day. Loved our stay here, the weather was also great. Only negative thing was the wifi as you had to pay for it but some people don't mind. Entertainment at night could be a little better as well. Overall a good stay we enjoyed our 5 days.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank zalihe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,012)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,041 - 1,047 of 3,012 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

This was our first visit to Gran Canaria and our first experience of a Riu Hotel…we were not disappointed with either….!
We travelled with Thomson out of Cardiff at the end of March and apart from some confusion on arrival at the airport, the flight and transfer went fine.
The coach transfer dropped guests at a number of hotels on the way and how pleased we were to have selected this hotel in comparison to those we saw, especially the location.

Key points from our point of view:
People
The Riu employees are the most helpful and courteous we have experienced in hotels and on cruise ships, their attitude to service was excellent. Every individual we encountered, be they at reception, room service, meal times, bar service, general housekeeping…all did their jobs perfectly and without looking or expecting tips.

Room & Room Service
We were allocated room 3042 which offers beautiful views overlooking the pool and the open sea.
Our room was nicely decorated, well lit and extremely spacious with ample drawer and wardrobe space with enough hangars available.
A safe is included along with a small cooler fridge with bottled water already in situ and replacements available from Reception.

Food & Drink
The main buffet facilities are more than acceptable, some tables are a little close but not too intimidating bearing in mind the multi language guests & slight differences in culture. You can sit outside, weather dependent.
The salads varied every evening and the freshly cooked meats, fish and assorted vegetables were also varied and cooked to a high standard every night.
You could see the chefs prided themselves on serving good quality food.

The Asian Restaurant was fine, the food was very good but it lacked a little atmosphere and perhaps the suggestion of piped music would improved the ambience…it was almost too quiet.

The Atlantico Restaurant suited us, the location is spot on for breakfast and then convenient to chill out by the pools, gardens and Liquid or Purple Bar.
We also ate two nights at the Atlantico Restauarant for The Grill, which need to be booked in advance...these were our favourite meals and included some great meat options - BBQ ribs, Cajun chicken, lamb chops, chorizo sausage and the least tasting (in our opinion), sirloin steak alongside jacket potato, wedges & rice.

The quality/taste of the wines was mixed but these, together with Amstel beer, soft drinks & hot drinks were available for guests to help themselves and this proved convenient, however the service at the bars for sparkling wines, spirits and cocktails was excellent with no waiting time at all throughout the week.


Guests
The guests were of various ages with the majority from Germany, however together with the Dutch, Nordic & British they all mingled and the hotel catered for us all.
The towel brigade, representing all nationalities, were out in force but there are ample beds so no worries on this front.

Location
The location is beautiful with walks to the shops & onto the lighthouse, beach and dunes a nice break from sunbathing, however the opportunity to chill out by the Infinity Pool with drinks easily accessible at the Purple Bar ensured we spent most of out time in this area, despite the wind we experienced a few days.

Overall the hotel, its facilities, cleanliness and most importantly the People made this a really enjoyable break and I would not hesitate in recommending the hotel to all ages and nationalities.

Room Tip: Good sea views on the higher levels but noise from the wind could keep You awake....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Colesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This is our first stay in a RIU Hotel, and first package holiday in 11 years. (Normally organise our own holidays)

The hotel and staff completely exceeded what we expected from a "charter package hotel". From the staff, the food and the newly renovated hotel. It has a young vibrant feel to it, very ME Hotels and W resorts. In which we have spend time, and the service level here is exactly the same.

From the moment we checked in Raoul was extremely helpful, and also throughout our stay, when we wanted to move from ground floor rooms to higher level rooms. And this service was consistent during our week here.

Every time you passes a staff member they always meet you with a smile and a greeting.

We will come back and stay if we return to Gran Canaria.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Madwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Very good hotel like all Riu hotels, excellent service, good food, great choice, lovely position high up with brilliant views, beach below is superb. Can't say anymore well worth a try out of school holidays to reduce the children syndrome ! Good prices online as well

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holsmadSuttonSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Still here enjoying this wonderful hotel. Love the modern refurbishment. Feels very Caribbean like. Staff as always are great .. nothing too much trouble.

Food fantastic and plenty of choice. Rooms are beautiful and we were lucky to get a free sea view. Drinks of a great standard and plenty of choice of bars to use.

Loved loved loved the infinity pool which was heated and stunning views .

This is the second "new" RIU we've visited and have to say we love the new modern concept. It's just to our taste. Clean lines mixed with a splash of colour. But for regulars you still get the same friendly staff.

One example of the amazing service is I went to buy a ticket for the internet and the machine swallowed my 20 euro. Spoke with reception and instantly I was refunded no questions asked.

Also staff instantly remember your drinks orders.

We've visited gran Canaria many times and this by far is the best hotel we've stayed in . Can't wait to come back.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
7  Thank sylvester1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Perfect stay after the winter UK rain. Stayed all inc. from 27th feb to 10th march. Couldn't fault it. Everyone of the Staff fell over themselves to be helpul, my favourite was "Aranche". food excellent, drinks excellent. favourite watering hole was the Purple bar adjacent to the Infinity pool. All the restauraunts were excellent.
Stayed in room 3151 out of the way but quiet at night. Room spacious and very clean. Overall, a very clean hotel, eager to please guests. Anybody giving this place a negative review must be nuts.

Room Tip: If you want quiet , ask for the front of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Olllla....Boiling hot amazing hotel clean and friendly staff....night entertainment was dreadful food was perfect...no room service :(....kids pool is like ice cubes even in 24 degree heat my son didn't want to go in there blue lips moved to adult pool and thousand times better shame really seems a waste for such a fun pool and kids area is too open and overlooked by passers etc... But everything else was Amazing had a lovely time would definately go back

Stayed: March 2014
4  Thank Toni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
4.4 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,933 reviews
2.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#19 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
5,435 reviews
2.2 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#9 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Apartamentos MarinaSol
Apartamentos MarinaSol
#11 of 19 in San Agustin
250 reviews
4 mi away
Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort
1.3 mi away
Cordial Green Golf
Cordial Green Golf
#47 of 218 in Maspalomas
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria

Address: Urb. Las Meloneras, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Maspalomas
#8 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#9 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#15 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#16 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range: $235 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Costa Meloneras, near El Faro. 4 And 2-storey building. On the seafront. 30,000 M2 garden. 900 M from Maspalomas sand dune beach. 6 Km from the centre of Playa del Ingles. 200 M from various shops. 37 Km from the airport. 100 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Gran Canaria Maspalomas
Club Hotel Riu Gran Canaria
Riu Gran Canaria
ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria Maspalomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing