We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria
Ranked #17 of 216 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Wales, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Oh my!. What a place. Where do i start? This hotel is just incredible. Just returned from a week there. Yes its pricey and yes there are a mixture of russians and germans, but hey, every hotel has that. The bars are fab, great drinks, and the barmen are always happy.
We managed to book the asian resturant on one of the nights, and it was gorgeous. The grill we couldnt get into. If i went again, i think i would book a night at each of them on arrival. I wouldnt bother every night, cus the main resturant is more than ample.
The infinity pool is for adults only and is heated. There is plenty for kids to do though as theres a riu kidsclub.
The day i left yesterday, at 7.30 in the morning, i counted 16 maids mopping, this place is spottless.
I could go on and on and on. This place is fabulous!
ps. The beds have got 10 inch memory foam mattresses. OMG

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank w0wwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,442
    970
    239
    66
    26
See reviews for
919
1,333
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Well what can I tell you about this hotel , well it is all Good , everything is perfect , the staff from cleaners to the top are lovely they all speak , food, bars , cleanliness, the weather, pools cant fault anything really , felt at home as soon as we arrived , it was easy to find our way around ,3 different restaurants 2 you have to book, we ate at the Atlantico for most meals , beautiful views out to sea as the big restaurant is a bit of a hunt and gather !You will not go hungry !
I have minor moans , hated our bedroom ceiling , would have liked a bath but lovely large walk in shower but everywhere has been refurbed and maybe I need to move with the times!
Kid's in the tranquillity pool sometimes which is not supposed to be allowed !! Lot's of sunbeds reserved very early doors , and English beware you will be in the minority !! Not a bad thing sometimes ! This was one of the best hotels and holidays we have had in the Canaries and will definitely return !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DianeT32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooglede
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Very nice hotel with a very good location in Costa Meloneras. Hotel has a big parking space, perfect when driving a rental car in Gran Canaria. Meals were of a very good standard. Very friendly staff. Would probably come here again if I would go back to this destination.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KennyHooglede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

An all-in hotel is never as cosy or sophisticated as a half-board hotel and this was no exception. I had not seen it before it was renovated but I wonder if it was so barren and minimalist before. The reception area is particularly uninspiring, with plastic-cushioned chairs and sofas and a central seating area which looks like a station waiting room.The whole hotel is designed for hot weather and if it is not so hot, like during our stay, all public areas can feel very chilly.The lobby is the only place to sit which is protected from the weather and even so, is cold when the temperature drops. There is free wifi in the lobby, restricted to 90 minutes per day per device. Once the 90 minutes has started, it cannot be paused. The connection is rather slow.

The quality of the food and drink is excellent and the service at all levels was outstanding. However the main restaurant (Las Dunas) is huge and noisy and not unlike a canteen. The other restaurants are cosier and the optional Asian restaurant, which needs to be booked, is excellent. There are outdoor eating areas but these are a long way from the buffet. Despite the large number of people, the floors were always clean and, in general, the level of cleanliness in the hotel is excellent.

The rooms are very nice but the bathrooms have very bright lighting, which is not good for a night visit. The bathroom door is a sliding glass door, which is not designed to fit snugly and does not therefore give full privacy. The TV in the room is a large Samsung HD, showing mainly German channels. The only English channels are news channels. The tiled corridors outside the room are quite noisy and we were frequently woken by early departures rolling their cases along. Towels and sheets are changed on request, as often as you like.

The evening entertainment is very poor and the bar where it takes place is awful. There are no external shows, only the in-house entertainment team miming to recorded music, prancing around or trying to get punters to embarrass themselves in silly games. There is also a resident duo, playing nightly on an outdoor stage.

The location of the hotel is very good, looking out to a nice promenade, not far from shops and restaurants. However, there is no beach nearby. The pools are very nice and some are heated. The indoor jacuzzi is a bit cool.

In conclusion, a good all-in hotel if that's the experience you are looking for.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jonnymonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Got a taxi from the airport well worth it beat the coaches so a quick check in!Very friendly and informative and booked into the atlantico for our evening meal.Luggage brought up to our room very quickly.Our room was amazing what a view. Couldn't have asked for more.the restaurants were all good but found the Dunas too busy the atlantico was a great experience just because of its position but we enjoyed the el patio as well especially sitting outside lovely ambience and the waiter was tops!
Our chambermaid was excellent and excellent and excelled in many areas. Our only disappointment was the entertainment the wearst we've ever seen and we've traveled the world maybe look at the iberostar for European holidays cos they can get the holiday people going .Ime sure riu can do better entertainment and don't for get children's entertainment
Will definitely return and had a lovely holiday thank you to all the staff
Wendy and Peter

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We booked the Clubhotel Riu Gran Canaria as the two Riu hotels we had previously stayed in were both good. Pleased to report this one lived up to expectations!
Our room on the top floor was large, with a comfortable bed and gorgeous bathroom. Everything was spotlessly clean, as was everywhere in the hotel.
The food was good in all restaurants although we found the main restaurant a little manic and preferred to eat in the quieter Atlantica or the excellent Asian restaurant.
Our favourite place to sunbathe was by the infinity pool but it was always busy and you had to be up by eight to secure a sunbed there, however, the area around the main pools is very nice so no real reason to get up early.
Have to mention the excercise classes which were excellent. Not too long, as you really want to be sunbathing, but hard enough to make you feel good about yourself. The gym was fairly basic but enough equipment to do a good workout and for any early morning swimmers there are pools available to do your lengths before breakfast.
Overall we loved it and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The hotel is bright and decorated in a modern style, having been refurbished last year. It is set in large grounds with three pools (2 heated) & a children's play area. The rear gate opens onto the promenade leading to the local shopping area. Security staff are posted to both front & rear exits of the hotel.
There are 5 restaurants and 5 bars one which is open 24 hours. The food in all restaurants is buffet style & is served to an exceptional standard with a vast choice.
The rooms are comfortable with satellite tv, good sized beds and linen changed daily if required.
The staff throughout were friendly, courteous & helpful.

What it lacked-
The waiters & bar staff were dressed quite casually and not as smart as I would expect. They did not wait on you except to provide water with meals or to find you a table if the restaurant was full.
Hot drinks, cold drinks, wine & beer was dispensed via machines which were located at the bars & in the restaurants. The beer was quite nice, but the wine tasted as though it had been watered down and the coffee often had a taste of chocolate or whatever had previously been dispensed. If you wanted cocktails or spirits you went to the bar to order them yourself. I may be old fashioned but I like to be waited on & to choose my wine for dinner & see the bottle opened at the table.
Then there was the sun loungers, plenty to go around, however by 10am all the better positioned loungers had towels on them, & remained that way until the afternoon when people moved around. It would appear that patron's were getting up early to reserve their favourite sun loungers which should not be allowed in good hotels..
Some people may think I am being petty, but when I go on holiday I like to be waited on & to feel pampered & this hotel just didn't do it for me. The difference between a 4* & 5* Hotel - Finesse.

Room Tip: If you like a sea view you should book a room above the first floor and in the main part of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
4.4 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#6 of 19 in San Agustin
1,720 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,614 reviews
2.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
2.2 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,566 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria

Property: ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria
Address: Las Meloneras, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Maspalomas
#9 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#10 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#14 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#16 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Costa Meloneras, near El Faro. 4 And 2-storey building. On the seafront. 30,000 M2 garden. 900 M from Maspalomas sand dune beach. 6 Km from the centre of Playa del Ingles. 200 M from various shops. 37 Km from the airport. 100 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Gran Canaria Maspalomas
Club Hotel Riu Gran Canaria
Riu Gran Canaria
ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria Maspalomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing