We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Refurbished Family Hotel in an Ideal Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria
Ranked #18 of 220 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Good Refurbished Family Hotel in an Ideal Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel a number of times in the past and this was the first time since the refurbishment and we found everything done to a high standard.
Pools: The kids pool is totally transformed from what was there before and anyone travelling with small children will find the kids will be entertained all day. The 2 main pools were clean however I did find them a bit too shallow (deepest was 1.25m) and personally would have preferred a deeper section. By the end of the week one of the main pools was heated and this made a dip to cool down a lot better. The adults pool overlooking the promenade/sea was busy on most occasions and we didn't use this pool due to having kids with us. There was always plenty of sun loungers to be found when needed.
Food: The food was fresh and there was always something to eat although after a week I found the food becoming repetitive in the main restaurant (this was mainly a personal opinion). I think since the main restaurant size has been made smaller since the refurbishment it may be the choice is a little less than before. We found the Asian restaurant very good and ate there on 2 occasions in the week which was very good.
Drinks: Always large measures and branded drinks when asked. There are lots of bar staff and you never have to wait long to get a drink.
Room: Kept spotless throughout the week and the walk in shower was excellent. The air conditioning wasn't great although the room was cool enough.
Location: Ideally located for a short stroll to some shops which was great after the evening meal and for a change of scenery the beach was also close.
Two downsides: There was nothing for teenage kids to keep them entertained in the evening and it would be worth have a teenage zone possibly supervised by one of the RIU entertainment team to get teenagers mixing which would make their holiday that bit better (free Wi-Fi would help!) The other downside was we had 2 rooms between a group of lads and although noise wasn't any real issue this is a family hotel and RIU should discourage groups of lads staying in the hotel.
Overall we thought the refurbishment has improved the hotel layout and we would return next year although having stayed in the H10 Playa in the summer we found the RIU food quality was not as varied. The all inclusive means there are no hidden charges like some hotels for food/drink after midnight. A good high standard hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank matsrossco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,364
    920
    228
    65
    24
See reviews for
858
1,273
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

I had been staying here for a week and I must admit that the weather was not really improving the mood but I found it a bit of a boring place. In comparison to the RIU hotels found in the Caribbean and Mexico, Gran Canaria isn't the crown jewel of them. However, if you are looking to get out to a quiet place, at a reasonable price with a reasonable level of comfort and plenty of entertainment for the kids, this hotel is probably a good choice. The food became boring and even though it is located along the boulevard and a short walk from a shopping centre, again it all seemed a bit boring to me. The swimming pool was a bit too cold in my humble opinion, but that might have had to do with the weather and time of traveling, bad luck but still prefer to go outside of Europe.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Faustino_Asprilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is , in my opinion, a clear example of horrible hotel where the customer is only a credit card to pay .
My parents , on the occasion of their wedding anniversary and birthday, were stayed at this site for a few days . The penultimate day of their stay (birthday of one of them) I brought her granddaughter, two years old, for both grandparents take a pleasant surprise and joy, late in the afternoon and I was surprised with great indignation , when they did not allow us to go to reception to met with them.
Only when I insisted a lot of time about their public service hotel status we were escorted to the reception , my daughter and I ( like if we were criminals ) , by the security guard; once there, they said me that , under their rules , for to visit someone who is staying in this hotel, we have to pay 25 euros per person.
It's not fair , or ethical , they force to clients to pay for visits and also I think it is totally wrong policy which shows a lack of tact , consideration and total abuse of those who , as customers, do not deserve to pay for see their dearest relatives .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Anonimo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We moved to this hotel from the suite princess ( which was shocking ) this is a contempoary hotel. Rooms are clean . Food is adequate typical buffet style .premuim.drinks and boy do they make them strong ! 24 hours all inclusive no lights out at 12 as was the previous hotel! Nice pools the infinity pool is adults only and is lovely however you will need to be up at the crack of dawn to reserve a sun bed ! Lovely walk along sea front with some nice shops .entertainment not great however there is a disco which did make up for lack of entertainment Had a great holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Janeythomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed first week of October. Great Hotel, rooms are a good size and well fitted out. Everything is new and modern. Food is good, with a choice of three restaurants plus the main restaurant. The grounds are well kept and the pools are all a good size. Staff are really friendly and everything is kept clean and tidy. Plenty of sun beds to choose from, but in the prime spots you'd have to get up early to put a towel out! The evening entertainment is a bit dire, but the day time fitness on offer was excellent with lots of classes to choose from. This hotel is a really good 4* and has everything you need. Hotel is in an ideal position for a walk along the promenade into Maspalomas.

Room Tip: Garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SEG3346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from week here. First time at a riu hotel, impressed with refurbishment, hotel looks brand new inside.
Room was lovely, clean, modern, huge shower, comfy beds. Only downside air con not at all powerful, very hot even with fan. Heard other guests say same. Think this has been overlooked on refurb.
Food was really good, best ai we ever stayed at, always plenty of choice, good quality too especially nice to have deserts that taste as they should, for eg strawberry!! Best thing: ice cream on tap with sauces wafers sprinkles the lot!

Liked the speciality restuarants, wish were table service rather than buffet again but food will good.
Found this to be a mainly Dutch and German populated hotel, felt English were In the minority but this was of no consequence. Pools lovely, liked infinity pool but actually preferred main pool as could see the water games etc, plenty of sunbeds everywhere. evening entertainment better than expected after reading previous comments, always a singing duo outside in evening and in main showbar the animation team put show on. Yes not high quality but high energy and always had the crowd cheering them on. Went to disco once but not much atmosphere as dj seemed to put a tape on and keep leaving so no interaction and not many in there. Shame as lovely venue, need to make more of it really.
Staff all nice and friendly, too many to get to know many individually as hotel large. Plenty bars around and drinks available to self service which was great after being grumbled at in Cuba by a grumpy bar man every time wanted a coke!!

Went for few walks outside hotel, few high end shops and restaurants, Supermarket etc. didn't like beach as dunes there and was very blowy, tried to walk up dunes but red hot and sand blew everywhere so stayed round pool. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, for an all inc sun holiday was great. I would not return as would prefer to go to somewhere with a nicer beach closer to hotel and preferably table service at some restaurants rather than all buffet but it was a very nice stay and holiday. If you going soon - lucky you!!!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank Wendymcg_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just returned this morning from this wonderful hotel
Second visit but since the refurb it is much better
Had a lovely ground floor garden facing room with walk in shower
Free bottles of water, free safe, large flat screen TV (only a few English chanels)
A kettle in the room would be handy
Food and drink all very good
4 Restaurants, plenty of bars so you can eat and drink in a different place everyday so does not become boring
but even if you decide to eat in the main restaurant you cannot fail to eat something different everyday
Drinks are self service for some ie beer,wine,soft drinks and coffee/tea all spirits are served by the barmen who a very quick
some branded drinks available I like a nice Smirnoff and tonic with ice and a slice very welcome and a hot day
Cava also available very pleasant
No complaints at all except it was fully booked so could not keep our room which was very disappointing as I suffer from Crohns desease and like to have my own facilities but thats my problem
But this morning have just booked a return trip for next February and as the flight leaves just after lunch I wont have a problem
Again this is a lovely hotel staff all happy and obliging
Cant wait to go back

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jackie_clements79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
4.4 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#6 of 19 in San Agustin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
1.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#3 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#21 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Corallium Thalasso
0.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria

Property: ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria
Address: Las Meloneras, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Maspalomas
#9 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#10 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#14 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#16 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Costa Meloneras, near El Faro. 4 And 2-storey building. On the seafront. 30,000 M2 garden. 900 M from Maspalomas sand dune beach. 6 Km from the centre of Playa del Ingles. 200 M from various shops. 37 Km from the airport. 100 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Gran Canaria Maspalomas
Club Hotel Riu Gran Canaria
Riu Gran Canaria
ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria Maspalomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing