We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Caybeach Meloneras(Maspalomas)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
IFA Faro Hotel(Maspalomas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Oasis Maspalomas(Maspalomas)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
Reviews (3,137)
Filter reviews
3,137 results
Traveler rating
1,637
1,115
282
70
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,637
1,115
282
70
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspurple barinfinity poolatlantico restaurantel patiogran canariaclub hotela garden view roomself serviceall inclusive hotelplenty of sunbedsmain buffetevening entertainmentbranded drinkssand duneslovely promenadesea fronteither direction
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,269 - 1,274 of 3,137 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We spent two weeks from 23rd February to 9th March at this hotel and had a thoroughly good time overall. We arrived late evening and as a result it was quite dark and we were a little disappointed that it was a long way from reception to our room on the third floor (3040). However, in the morning when we awoke and looked at the view from our balcony - all was forgiven! We were right at the end of one of the wings and our balcony was facing the sea. The room was a little smaller than we are used to but the view made up for it. The hotel is currently being refurbished, and we were shown an example of one of the newly updated bedrooms. All very modern with a much improved bathroom layout. The food was quite acceptable with plenty of variety especially in the salads. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful and we would be quite happy to visit again when the refurbishment is completed, which should be towards the end of July.

Room Tip: My personal choice from experience would be one of the end rooms on either wing. preferably on floor three as the view from lower rooms is more restricted.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have been to many Riu hotels over the years. This was as good as the rest.
This hotel is now closed for a make over.It will re open in July. The reception staff showed us the computer images of the new rooms and pool area. It looks great.
We will return next winter for another holiday.
The location is great. A nice walk to the Faro Lighthouse or the famous sand dunes.
Weather was great.
I will write another review once we have stayed in the newly refurbished hotel.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms are the best.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mooseymat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Arrived Monday 25th March my wedding anniversary and also my 60th Birthday on 28th March, everything was fine and we really liked everything,hotel and food however from Saturday evening 30th March the hotel basically closed down for refurbishment, nothing was said about this but fewer and fewer clients were there then the resturants closed down only a half of the main one stayed open, the pool bars closed,the pool was drained, workmen moved in and all the furniture including beds mattresses chairs and tables were stacked outside the front of the hotel, we couldn't believe what we were seeing, how can Thomson and Riu allow this to happen, we were only there for a week and 3 days were a horrible experience. I could carry on and on about everything that went on but I have written to Thomson with photos and have many videos if needed. Is there anyone else who was there at the same time?

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
9  Thank JulieJ252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Had a lovely week in this hotel, only thing that ruined it was the awful weather (we went in Dec) but even the RIU cant sort that out!!! The bedrooms are nice, big & clean. The bathroom was nice clean & tidy to. Everything about the hotel was nice, the bar, restaurant, entertainment room (even though the entertainment was not that good, could have been a lot better). Everyone was very helpful & polite. The Xmas tree looked fab!!!We loved going out of the back gate at night and going a walk to the left down to the bars & shops, we used to go in the 19th hole bar, watching sport or listening to the singers, it was fab. Would definitely go back for another holiday... Thank you to you all xx

Room Tip: I think there all nice ..... we overlooked the hotel that the roof changed colour, amazing!!!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I returned for our 4th visit recently. The hotel is in a great location, and Melanores is a great resort for a relaxed break in the sun.
Stayed in a garden view room. The rooms are now looking dated, but the good news is that the hotel is shortly to close for a major refurbishment.
Food is of good quality, and the white,rose and red wine on tap, is acceptable.
All staff are friendly and courteous.
A good value all inclusive break. We will be returning, as do many other couples.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews