We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria
Ranked #19 of 218 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have just returned from one week at the Riu Clubhotel meloneras (September 15th-22nd) We had very little to complain about from our weeks stay. We arrived at about 10.30pm on the saturday and we were given a room directly above the bar (room 3087) after going to get something to eat from the cold buffet which they had provided for late arrivals we headed off to bed, we found we could hear the noise drifting up to our room from the bar below and the next morning the scraping of tables and chairs as the staff were cleaning up. We asked if it was possible to change rooms which was no problem to them at all and we moved to room 3053 further round on the same floor which for us was a much better room, if you like to stay up late this probably wouldnt be a problem.
Service was excellent, the staff work tirelesly from morning until night always smiling and looking like they were enjoying their job, a special mention for Reuben in the international restaurant he was so funny and such a joker he had us laughing every meal time a great guy.
We also found the hotel was probably about 80% Germans, not a big issue as they are intitled to be there as much as we are but we only had a conversation with one english couple the whole week we were there so a few more english would of perhaps been nice.
I feel some people like to complain about petty things reading some of the reviews, we found the hotel to be spotlessly clean, i understand it is being refurbished next year but nothing was that bad it spoilt your holiday, if i have to be critical the sunbed mattress's were shabby and need replacing but when you think how much they are used their not exactly going to replace them every week and once i was lying on my sunbed with a towel over them i didn't notice them.
The food was very good although not as bigger choice as other places i have been to but it was always hot and plenty of it i'm a very fussy eater and i always found something i liked, again not a huge selection of desserts but what was there was were very nice. Alot of the drinks were self service so you just helped your self as much as you want, in the restaurant the staff were happy to get them for you if you asked or in our case Reuben got them for us the minute we sat down without even having to ask.
Overall i would definatley reccomend this hotel and i would return myself if i was going to Gran Canaria again. Just remember we all like different things and some people are fussier than others.

Room Tip: would definatley recommend a room with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rachel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,950)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,216 - 1,222 of 2,950 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

I am just home after a two week stay at Riu Clubhouse.Great hotel with comfortable rooms and great facilities.The food and drinks were fantastic.All staff were very friendly.courteous and helpful.The hotel is in a perfect location with easy access to lovely walks on the promenade.Overall good value for money and would definately go back again.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms on second floor are very peaceful especially at night so good nights sleep is gura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LimerickLil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Lovely hotel friendly staff gorgeous resort but the cakes are not up to much very bland no taste to them at all really needs improving, probably suit the many germans that go to this hotel, and although the staff say you must not reserve a sunlounger all day people do, the towels go on before breakfast and the loungers can still be unused at lunchtime, its a lovely resort but is over run by germans. Not worth a platinum rating the food was not up to that rating.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juerobbo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We are just back from a very enjoyable weeks stay at this hotel.

The hotel itself, whilst probably in need of the planned refurb, is spotlessly clean and well maintained. The grounds are beautiful, pool always clean and hotel interiors are impressive.

The food could not be faulted (unless you are extremely picky). Fresh salads, breads, choice of soups, always fresh fish and a selection of meats, pizza, pasta and veg... everyday. Choice of eating venue for each meal and the excellent themed restaurant, Las Brisas. All inclusive is exactly that - food and drink available 24/7. Wine, beer, cocktails, soft drinks, coffee, tea and named spirits are always available both at the bar and self service stations.

We found every member of staff we encountered to be friendly, helpful and able to speak very good English (as well as German and French). Add to that a good Thomson rep, great bar staff and a brilliant animation team (special mention to Yohara) made this a fantastic holiday.

The hotel is a mix of nationalities. Prob mostly German with a good helping of English, Spanish, Dutch, French and Russian. We did not find this to be a problem at all. Yes sunbeds are reserved early but there are always beds free at any time of the day so no one is left without.

Pool towels (no deposit) can be changed everyday and as expected at a Riu you get a safe and a fridge in your room at no extra charge. Bottled water is available at reception any time of the day, in any quantity for free also.

The resort of Meloneras is fantastic, plenty of shops, bars and restaurants, beautiful hotels and lovely atmosphere. The back entrance of the hotel leads you straight onto the promenade, from there it is a nice 10 minute stroll to the shops and nearest supermarket. Meloneras beach is 10 mins to the right, the bigger Maspalomas beach about 15 minutes the left (just past the lighthouse).

As first time travellers to Gran Canaria we were very pleasantly suprised to find such a beautiful, clean, well maintained and cosmopolitan resort.

Would be very happy to visit again and will definitely be back at the Riu Gran Canaria. Please don't change too much during the refurb!!

Thanks for a great holiday!

Room Tip: All garden view rooms have a great view over the hotel grounds, pool and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LouLom79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Just back after a weeks stay at this riu hotel and the only downside was that the hotel is a bit dated. On the upside location was great, didn't need to get up at a ridiculous time to reserve a lounger, don't get me wrong there are still people who are prowling around in the dark putting towels on beds at 5am crazy. room cleaned every day. Staff all very helpful and polite. The only loud overbearing guests were a few russians who must have had hearing probems as they shouted all the time. Hotel is supposed to be getting a refurb this year.great location and just a few steps to the beach shops and bars. On our last night we went to grand italia for dinner it ia amazing. Overall great holiday and will definetly will return.
.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adejefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Ouch ...My 14 year old son ,wife and i just got back from spending a week at the Grand Riu club Maspalomas.
Nice hotel but i personally didn't think platinum(and this site is based on individuals experiences)

Good points
We had a lovely seaview from our room ,staff worked really hard and food was good .
Thomson Rep excellent.
Yellow submarine underwater ride really good in Mogan called Little Venice !!!!!!.
But.....umm sadly thats it

Bad Points
Hotel room tired ,dirty bath (stained) dodgy tv and no kettle!!!!
Hotel room small ..really have stayed in better which wasn't platinum.
Pool is not three but one big pool divided by a stone jacuzzi feature plus slippery foam on floor i can only imagine some sort of cheap repair and pool can get seriously overcrowded.
Pool staff let people dive off stone feature into pool attempting to land on their inflatables(though it states no diving)and just missing other people's head.
Im certaintly no prude and like to have a good time in a pool but there is a time and a place,I
just felt no consideration was shown for other guests .
Clientel -A lot of Germans attempting to intimidate with their staring and mumbling when you walked past them (lost on me) but really so unpleasent and very loud Spanish (we were even lucky enough to be treated to very loud singing from a stag party on a saturday afternoon who took over Jacuzzi area with drinks in hand,,...classy.
Muchas euros for taxi to Mogan and esp Los Palmas 60 euros one way for latter although you could take bus or hire a car i suppose.
Maspalomas ,small town ,nice views not much there though although you could see a film in outdoor cinema for 45 euros.....
For tea my son was refused entry as he had a vest on as he had come from pool until he changed but its okay for drunk stags to perform at pool in front of kids.
Sunbed gang usual nonsense
Overall i would say a lot of double standards depending on your nationality but wont bore you with example after example
I dont usually write reviews but feel i owe it to people to cover these facts so others arent so badly let down.
Plus if you have a late check out be prepared to move rooms(probably a smaller one) for 50 euros.
A four star platinum from outside and through reception but a three star once you get to your rooms.

Room Tip: Dont go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rob n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Lovely hotel and rooms, great pool, very relaxing holiday. Our first with our 5 month old baby (not really a hotel for kdis and babies) Dinner times were not ideal because of the baby. Food was fabulous. The area was a bit odd - didnt realise there was a nudist beach and much frolicking by some tourists in the dunes! saw a little more than we bargained for on a walk one day! The town of Maspalomas is a dive to say the least.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brooksie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
4.4 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,903 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,716 reviews
2.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#19 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
5,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Apartamentos MarinaSol
Apartamentos MarinaSol
#11 of 19 in San Agustin
247 reviews
4 mi away
Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort
0.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria

Address: Las Meloneras, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Maspalomas
#9 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#10 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#15 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#16 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range: $241 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Costa Meloneras, near El Faro. 4 And 2-storey building. On the seafront. 30,000 M2 garden. 900 M from Maspalomas sand dune beach. 6 Km from the centre of Playa del Ingles. 200 M from various shops. 37 Km from the airport. 100 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Gran Canaria Maspalomas
Club Hotel Riu Gran Canaria
Riu Gran Canaria
ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria Maspalomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing