We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Shame about breakfast and dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canary Garden Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canary Garden Club
Ranked #12 of 221 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
bedford
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Shame about breakfast and dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

The overall impression of this hotel is very good, the only problem is the breakfast and the evening meal, they were not up to standard compared to the rest of the place. However this was made up by the great lunch time meal which is prepared to order. There was also a lack of entertainment. The bungalows are lovely and clean and airy have a little kitchenette (lacking a toaster and kettle, we used a saucepan to boil water in) with plenty of room for two people. The bedroom could have done with extra pillows, but we used a rolled up blanket. The TV had 5 English channels, you have to hunt for them but they are all in a block of 5. The terrace was smashing, we had sun all the day so we used the sun loungers which every bungalow had plus a small table and chairs. The grounds were well kept. Best of all the people in the hotel were very polite and couldn`t do enough for you.

Room Tip: The bungalows are in a group of four each facing a different direction - get a south facing one for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annod01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    238
    60
    10
    5
See reviews for
179
345
20
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Had a wonderful time at the resort. Staff were so lovely and so friendly. They work so hard especially in the bar/restaurant part, so polite.
The Bungalow was adorable. I went with my friend and her two daughters. They had the double bed, she had the single and i had the sofa bed. Which was suprisingly very comfortable. The Bungalow itself was quite small but wasnt cramped at all.
The complex was very pretty, cute little paths to follow up to each individual bungalow and lots of palm trees.
The pools were nice, bit cold but soon walmed up once you are in having fun.
We went all inclusive and the food was absolutly gourgous. A big variety of meals throughout the day.
There wasnt much entertainment at the complex in the evenings whilst we were there but was pool and computers to keep us amused. Also a short walk from the supermarket and a little leisure park so had plenty to do.
Free buses are provided to take you to the nearest beach and town, taxis pretty cheap also.
Overall a very lovely holiday, very relaxing as it wasnt a noisy busy resort which was great. Will definatly be ruturning in the near future. Miss it already x

Room Tip: Bungalows are not very big. It could fit four adults but may be a bit small depending on how much sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Booked this after seeing the trip advisor reviews and was not disappointed. The little bungalows are set in a very nicely laid out complex, We had a Bungalow II, which had a double room, bathroom, lounge with sofa bed, TV and kitchenette with facilities for 4 people to self cater but why do that when there is a great range of food at the self service restaurant. The complex, the bungalows, the pool area (with pool bar and two swimming pools, plenty of sun beds) and the restaurant were all cleaned daily and spotless. No loud music or karaoke entertainment if that's what you are looking for, take a book, ipod and relax in the sun. Car hire on the island is cheap - it can be cheaper than a taxi fare to and from the airport to your resort so check it out as the island is so easy to drive around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Spent one week here with my girlfriend with the plan to do little more than sun bath & relax and this resort couldn't have been better. Bungalows are in blocks of 4 but very private. The bungalows are immaculately maintained and cleaned every day. They all seem to have the same layout with a small kitchenette/living room, a good-sized bedroom with a double & single bed, and a good-sized bathroom with strong shower. The cooking facilities comprised of a two-hob electric cooker and a micro-wave (more than enough for us). There were a number of pots & pans & plenty of cutlery (bread knife, etc.). There was also a coffee maker & a small fridge/freezer.
The safe & air-con were an extra cost (air-con was €40per week) and it had a large wall mounted tv with mostly German channels. The bungalow has a lovely patio area with a small table, 2 chairs & 2 sun loungers.
The grounds were gorgeous & very well maintained & really added to the relaxing atmosphere. It seemed to be a very peaceful resort with very little noise once you were away from the central pool & bar area. The pool area was very clean & well stocked with very comfortable sun loungers. There was a pool bar (12am-5:30pm) that served drink & food. The resort has a small shop in the reception area with all the essentials & not too overpriced. The reception is also very clean; staffed 24/7 by very friendly & helpful staff. The food in the restaurant was the only disappointment for us - buffet breakfast & dinner were pretty poor though you could eat as much as you liked. Didn't make much difference to us as we stayed in the bungalow or dined out.
Location was good. Very quiet with a nice feeling of not being in a overly resorty area but being only a 20 minute walk to Maspalomas or the Faro2 centre only 5 mins walk away (has a small supermarket & a couple of shops & restaurants). We rented bikes at the Faro2 for the week to get around. Nice & flat around Maspalomas & Playa del Ingles so not too strenuous a cycle. You can do lots of tours & other activites on the island too with plenty to keep you occupied for at least a week if thats what you're looking for.
Overall, for this type of relaxing holiday at this time of year I can't think of anywhere better for this price range. Would happily go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Toddybrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We spent last week in this resort. We had a wonderful restful week in the sunshine! It was a very nicely laid out complex with small individual bungalows which were very clean and well equipped. The staff were very pleasant and worked hard to cater for each individuals' needs. The grounds were beautiful...lovely palm trees, shrubs and flowers. There were parrots and hoopoes flying around. There was a very nice feeling of space in this complex and a feeling of privacy having your own individual bungalow. There was also a lovely view of the mountains in the distance. We took a trip to Puerto de Mogan and en route we passed through different holiday destinations...Puerto Rico, Arguineguin, Tauro and Puerto de Mogan....Maspalomas was far superior....compared to these places... it was paradise! They were overcrowded had loads of high rise hotels and were jammed in between big cliffs...no space or greenery. We were glad we had chosen this resort.
The grounds at Club Rio were very well kept. The food was good it wasn't the best food I have had in a hotel but there was a good selection and there was always something that you could eat.. Lunch snacks by the pool were very good quality especially the salada variada!
It was a 20min walk to Maspalomas beach and the nature reserve there was worth a visit...lovely birds and scenery. The Maspalomas dunes were quite spectacular also.
If you want a holiday where you can chill out in the sun, in pleasant surroundings by the pool, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annemarie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skidby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

One week away with my boyfriend and we thoroughly enjoyed it! This particular complex is simple, clean and friendly. The staff were very attentive and exceptionally friendly. The little bungalows you stay in are spotless and so sweet. Most guests were either German or Spanish. We didn't expect there to be alot of English guests as we booked with On The Beach and I've never been to a hotel when booking with O.T.B to find many English guests. This diddn't bother me but it did bother my Boyfriend a little as he found many of the guests to be rude and pushy.

When we booked the holiday we chose All Inclusive. We ate at the Complex 5 nights out of the 7 and ate out in Playa Del Ingles for the remaining two. The food in the restauarant was great! Any bad reviews with regards to the food must be coming from guests who want to eat the same boring food they have at home and not try anything new! There was different food every night, I never ate the same thing! Lots of different spanish foods and cooked to perfection, we throughly enjoyed it. Also ordering lunch from the pool bar was great! A lovely menu that we were happy to choose from. The only days we didnt eat at lunch were when we ventured to Maspalomas Beach and Playa Del Ingles Beach.

The Pool area can be quite busy at times but its nothing to complain about. You may have to get your towels down fairly early too if you want to sit close to the pool, we tended to sit outside our bungalow on the terrace area and grass on our own personal sunbeds which every bungalow is supplied with (a nice touch). Our bungalow was also situated very close to the pool bar and pool so we didnt really need to be grabbing a bed by the pool! Perfect position! Its fairly quite and I found the complex to be very relaxing. No loud music... Something I cannot stand when im trying to chill! I was happy to read my book and listen to my iPod, very relaxed :)

I would really recommend this hotel for couples who dont want a tacky, hotel entertainment kind of holiday... A couple or family who are seeking relaxation and to soak up the sun! Be sure to visit Maspalomas Beach... It stunning (free bus from the hotel too, busy but its okay, your not on it for long)! The Sand Dunes are wonderful and the nature reserve close by is beautiful! Also go to the icecream palour on the corner of the walk to the beach! Sensational!

Have to mention: The only small thing which we found a little disapointing was the fact the cleaners didnt change the bed sheets once! and only made the bed if we were up early enough and we got up at 8:30 everyday... The rest of the bungalow was cleaned thoroughly and towels changed every other day if not daily.

Overall the Holiday was great and we would definitely return, maybe not for a while as we want to try lots of different destinations! We came back with terrific tans so you can be sure of some great weather! Even when its a little cloudy out there :)

Tip: Stay clear of the ladies hanging out by the walk down to Maspalomas Beach. They try to talk to you and place braclets on your arms (tight) and then expect you to pay! This didnt happen to me but I saw them and ignored them as advised to do so my other guests. Im sure a few guests have mentioned this in reviews!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed for 11 days all inclusive but eat out most evenings

This was booked as a cheap and cheerfull holiday and it didn't disappoint the bungalows are lovely very clean with a patio that has table and chairs and sun loungers

We book all inclusive just for the drinks which are very generous breakfast very basic but had all we needed lunch at the pool bar was ok evening buffet was poor but we expected this so that was fine the holiday was cheap enough to eat out most nights

There is no entertainment again we expected this so made sure we downloaded plenty on the iPad before we went

Staff are very nice and helpful but the bar closes dead on 11 pm so if you want to drink past this you need to stock up which they don't mind

I woul definitely recommend this hotel I normaly pay a fortune for 5 star but to be honest we go for sun and relaxation and this ticked all the boxes if you Like a dring through the day and night then all in is worth the extra if not self catering all the way

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.1 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#13 of 221 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
1.0 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#22 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Palm Oasis Maspalomas
Palm Oasis Maspalomas
#16 of 221 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cordial Green Golf
Cordial Green Golf
#43 of 221 in Maspalomas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canary Garden Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canary Garden Club

Property: Canary Garden Club
Address: Touroperador Ols Wings, 1, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Rio Maspalomas II)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#13 Best Value Hotel in Maspalomas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Canary Garden Club 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Canary Garden Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Rio Maspalomas Ii - Canary Garden Club Hotel Maspalomas
Rio Hotel Maspalomas Ii
Canary Garden Club Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing