We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't regret your stay at El Cardonal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Cardonal Apartments
Ranked #210 of 220 Hotels in Maspalomas
Montrose
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You won't regret your stay at El Cardonal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

We have stayed at the El Cardonal apartments 7 times in the last 4 years and have no hesitation in recommending them to anyone thinking of a holiday in Gran Canaria.
There are 53 apartments of which 5 are 2 bedroom and everyone of them is facing south so you can sunbathe on your patio and have the sun all day as you can at the pool. The apartments are spacious and have 2 rings to cook on as well as Microwave, Toaster and Kettle + Fridge and optional TV for small fee. There are plenty of supermarkets around to stock up on food etc and the apts are less than a 1/2 hour walk from the beach and Maspalomas sand dunes. There is also a free bus. Also a short taxi ride from Playa del Ingles. The boss Ram (Ramiro) speaks excellent english and is very friendly and helpful and the same goes for the rest of the staff. I don't know when we will be going back to Gran Canaria but I do know where we will be staying. malcky7@talktalk.net

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malcky7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    43
    21
    19
    29
See reviews for
32
71
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

We visited El Cardonalfor for the first but not the last time from febrary 19 to mars 12 2009. We enjoyed ourselfs so much during this 3 weeks that we decided to come back for 5 or 6 weeks in february/mars 2010. Probably we will also do a shorter tripp in november/december 2009. El Cardonal is very nice, priceworth and pleasant. The staff are nice, friendly and very helpful. We just liked them very much.

Best regards from Barbro and Lars-Göran from Sweden

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars-Goran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2009

we have stayed at el cardonal many times now and have booked to go back again in november and january.. the apartments are always clean... the staff always friendly and always very helpful.. would never hesitate to go back there.. we always seem to meet someone who we have seen there befor.... the only problem is if you want nightlife it is a bit away from it.. but hey.. taxis are cheap enough....

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bensonandholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridderkerk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2009

The El Cardonal is home from home for us from the beggining of February to May,we have very good friends who go back each year as we do.Everone is friendly nothing is a problem to the staff,and it's a 24 hour reception.There's a free bus service to the beach,and the Islands bus service to Las Palmas,Vecindario(shopping centre) etc is outside the door plus taxi's are also cheap.If you are looking for a quiet winter break that isn't too expensive this is the place.
Pam & Jimmy

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magpie022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lothian, Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2008

We went on holiday here in February 2004. It cost us £410 for me and hubby for 2 weeks.

We booked on internet and it was allocation on arrival so had no idea what to expect, didnt even know where about in Gran Canaria we would be staying.

We neednt have worried anyway, it was fantastic. The bungalow was lovely and clean, staff was friendly, pool wasnt too crowded.

Food at the pool bar was great, I would definitely recommend pork chops and chips!!

Our First Choice rep, Jo was lovely, she really helped us have a great time.

We started to get a bit bored into the 2nd week though, but luckily we went to 2 nights out and won a trip in the raffle each night!! So went on the Island Tour, which was good, very interesting and we also went on the Jeep Safari. I would definitely recommend this, it was an amazing day out. Be prepared to get soaked as everyone has water fights and you will come back absolutely filthy!! So that stopped our boredom!

The chinese restaurant just up the road is brilliant, best chinese I've ever had.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed February 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gillg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston Super Mare
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2008

Jan-Feb 2008
Ian & Julie Gallier Trip Advisor Members from Somerset.
The price we paid for a 2 week stay limited our expectations.
To our surprise the bungalows were well equipped, clean and spacious for a couple. Hot water was permanently available.
The location looks awkward on paper, but proved to be anything but, Taxi's were instantly available to Faro Playa or El Inglais Playa less that 3 euro's for either. A taxi to Porto Rico was only 18 Euros. There was a free bust to Playa Melonderas - Faro-Maspalomas again under 3 Euros.
There is a large Merrcadonna supermarket, at the top of Sonninland hill just the other side of the Motorway again only 2 Euros return by taxi save that on 1 item compared with the tourist supermarkets.
Happy Hour in the EL Cardonal Bar is 9pm to 10pm Good deals!
Ram is a great host has a sense of Humour and is professional in his work he is also the complex Manager, very courteous and accommodating, the site has internet access from morning to evening.
The Roma restaurant at El Inglais Playa was well worth the trip to enjoy a great meal and see the local Elvis he was a Scotsman and a super artist, But the Do Not Miss Show has to be the Red & White Las Vegas show at the Casino in Playa Melonderas
Great Show , nice meal, excellent service e55 per person.

Overall this was not the Ritz or Sheridan, neither was it full of Ryanair customers, it was great ;value, weather, & holiday experience.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank tarkan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2008

The apartments were very small and a bit smelly. The bedding and sheets were about 30 years old as was the decor. There were only 2 plug points, one in the living area and one in the bathroom. we had to cook toast in the bathroom and boil the kettle in the living area if we wanted toast and a cup of tea at the same time. The outside patio and grass area connected to our apartment was dirty and covered if ciggarette ends. The clean towels smelled of cooking fat, dont know what was going down there. All in all the place just looked dirty.

The staff were unhelpfull too, "it's not my problem" an all to often used phrase.

I would say not value for money at €40 per night (£32 approx)

Without trying to be a snob it was full of what looked like drunken brits. Not our cup of tea.

Maspalomas is great though.

Eating : -

Faro has loads of great resteraunts along the sea front, though Casa Lola was our favorite. some nice quiet bars as well.

Faro II had loads of resteraunts but none that we would have gone back to.

The Beach: -

Was huge. you could walk for miles along he shore front. great for kids and was big enough to find a quiet spot as well. Very clean lots of bins dotted along the way and a cafe/shop every half mile or so. The only thing was the lack of toilets. there was one at the start of the beach and then nothing till you got to Play del Ingles.

Shopping: - good selection of shops at faro, some more expensive than others but some nice designer gear on offer.

On the whole Maspalomas was great and we had a good holiday but we were at our apartments for as little time as possible. we would go back but would choose different appartments, maybe neerer to faro II.

  • Liked — The Exit
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Marky2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elcardonal, Gerente at El Cardonal Apartments, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
The linen is 1 year old. The complex is in a great QUIET location for people whom want to relax. Sorry you dont like Brits. We accept all nationalities and religions and colors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Maspalomas hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.1 mi away
Ataitana Faro Bungalows
Ataitana Faro Bungalows
#207 of 220 in Maspalomas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#17 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
1.0 mi away
Club Vista Serena
Club Vista Serena
#71 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cordial Green Golf
Cordial Green Golf
#43 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bungalows Vista Oasis Apartments
1.0 mi away
Tisalaya Park
Tisalaya Park
#96 of 220 in Maspalomas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cardonal Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cardonal Apartments

Property: El Cardonal Apartments
Address: Calle Einstein 4, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 220 Hotels in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — El Cardonal Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your El Cardonal Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cardonal Apartments Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
El Cardonal Apartments Hotel Maspalomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing