We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing value and fantastic staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Cardonal Apartments
Ranked #207 of 217 Hotels in Maspalomas
Reviewed September 20, 2013

couldn't believe the review from the person calling themselves worlddivingtraveller,,I think his review was based all on their dislike of the area rather than the apartments themselves as I have never experienced anything they claim to have,yes,its a quieter area which suits us as we walk to the beach everyday rather than getting the free shuttle bus,the apatments are fully equipped with everything you need,clean,spacious and quiet,there is also a spar less than a 5 minute walk away,no problems with staff either,very courteous and friendly,but then,so are we,,,just booked again for February,that goes a long way to tell you how much we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anneforbes121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 163 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our second home at El Cardonal in Maspalomas.
We are provided with a basic, clean,well-equipped bungalow.
The owner and his staff are very helpful;nothing too much trouble.
We return every year, sometimes twice. Really good value for money.

Brian, Southampton, England

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian20smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Nearly time to book our annual trip to El Cardonal we have visited to a lot of places over the years but this is the only place that draws you back. It's such a friendly place with visitors from all over Europe everybody talks to each other even though there can sometimes be a language barrier people still communicate and always with a smile. The staff can't do enough for you nothing is a problem, the pool bar has good food and drink and isn't expensive.If you want a bit of night life you can get a taxi into Maspalomas for a couple of Euros or 5 euros will get you to the Playa del Ingles.There is also a bus just outside the door that will take you to the Gran Chaparal where you have English and Dutch Pubs and a 10 minute walk from that you have the Jumbo shopping centre or the Irish centre.The bungalows are basic but tidy the towels are changed twice a week and the bedding weekly and if your missing anything see Ramiro or Denis and you will be helped at once unlike other places they listen.So see you at El Cardonal.
Jimmy & Pam

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magpie022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I am a little unsure where some of the reviews are from.. they are not the resort I witnessed.

It did not start well upon arrival (late afternoon, they had all my flight times), to arrive to discover the entire place was locked up and desolate.
Searching around I see could see inside the LOCKED, closed reception was a large envelope with all my Full name, personal details and allocated room number (not great for security!) visible to anyone passing. But obviously being closed, I had now way in.
Eventually the (only) other guest on the complex passed through, and without any questions let me in. I then had to find my accommodation on the desolate complex of hills and steep dangerous rough concrete steps, soon afterwards all the lighting was turned off on a timer, so I would have been in the dark too. Great welcome.
So into the accommodation;
-a nice greeting Welcome information pack? No, lots of dirty old A4 sheets of faded paper strewn onto the table, with notices like "Your room will not be cleaned. You must keep it clean." "Your towels and bedding will not be changed. You must keep it clean (again)." "You must put all your rubbish in the big dustbin behind the reception. If you do not do these things YOU WILL BE FINED!" How nice.
One bathroom, one bedroom, one kitchenette/ diner room.

The bedroom:
Filthy Dirty, (foul under the bed, hair, rubbish, dirt, dead insects and cockroaches) dark cramped, one dim light bulb, windows that do not lock, and mouldy cupboard.
The 'double bed' was two broken very old camp beds shoved together, big gap in the middle, (hence how we discovered the filth underneath), missing slats, and a 'mattress' that was two old stained pieces of building type foam. The sheets were two thin stained 100% nylon, which was great in the heat.
The bathroom:
Again filthy with dust, dirt and hair ! Old red plastic fittings (broken). Dark, poor lighting, and the only window was hanging off by one hinge; a serious head injury waiting to happen.
The tiles were mostly broken, chipped (sharp dangerous edges) and all the grout was thick black mould.
The bath was stained, and the shower head filthy. Only had about 4minutes of hot water, before it ran cold. The shower curtain was ripped, badly stained, and that thin nylon that so loves to stick to you when you shower.
The toilet flush was broken, as was the seat. The bowl was heavily stained, dirty.
ONE (used!) toilet roll for the entire Two week stay.
The 'towels' were small thin green 100% nylon, all frayed, ripped and full of holes.
The kitchen:
two settings of each. All very dirty, refused to use; set upon filthy dirty Formica or rust dry rails (food poisoning anyone?)
The fridge was a health hazard: warm, filthy dirty (I bleached it twice!) covered in rust and grease. Dead cockroaches all around and underneath it.
same for the toaster. dirty stained kettle.
The diner part:
Bare electrical wires hanging out of the wall.
The table & Chairs were thick with dirt and grease (and very impolite 'notices'!)...
The 'sofa' bed was a joke; third adult?, no way you could not even lay across it was so small and narrow.
The nylon cover was stained and filthy. Pulled up to make into a bed to discover more 'building foam' that was supposed to be the 'mattress' heavily covered in stains. Filth and dead insects underneath the bed.
The curtains were all stained, and ripped.
The doors (except the front) had NO LOCKS.
The television was not operable without a remote (hire at additional euro20 per week).

NO security deposit box or safe in the rooms: you have to use ones built into closed reception area, which you can only access when reception is (ever?) open: result you have to keep pretty much everything in your room, as reception (was) nearly always closed all day, every day.
The windows and all, (except one), door had NO LOCKS.

The area:
Built upon a very steep hill, so broken steep concrete steps everywhere, the lights go off at night so tripping is a very real danger on the rough broken concrete.
Security; none. They even removed the one main door lock two days in as it was smashed and was never replaced, so anyone could have walked in. No lighting or personnel on site most of the day, and never at night.
Pool: dirty water and 'items' floating above and below the filthy waterline.
Poolside bar, filthy, closed, opened once.
Infested with wild feral cats; defecate and urinate everywhere.

Location REMOTE, and nothing anywhere around it. (no bars, shops etc)
to go ANYWHERE is a taxi ride euro 8 EACH way; so;
beach & return 2x8=16
evening & return 2x8=16
x14 days = ADD 224 Euros, yes 224 Euros! -and that is just for the nearest taxi.

NOTE: these are for the Nearest beach (a long walk, not for children) or into the nearest restaurant/ bar area in Ingles/Masplomas: way too far too walk in distance and also passes over huge steep hills.

You may also have to ADD your airport transfer which is another 2x45 Euros by taxi.
(add another euro90)

summary:
The place is remote, dangerous, filthy dirty and badly need of renovation.
It is NOT recommended, even more so when you arrive and ADD the cost of taxis every day!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank worlddivingtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elcardonal, Gerente at El Cardonal Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Cardonal is a great place to stay when you want to rest and stay in a low rate accomodation. We have a 60% of returning guests. Unfortunately, you didnt like the area and on the first night we made a mistake and gave you a key (the oficial receptionist was on holiday so there was another covering) of a NOT ready room. We explained this to you and gave you a NEW key for A clean BUNGALOW. Even though we mended the mistake you still wanted to put a reiew which has part of your experience with us. Next time stay at one of our HOTELS next to the beach which we have for a higher rate. Gracias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Well Back once again for a week in the sun and where better to stay them El Cardonal :) Fantastic place and love it there. Places is so peaceful and you can relax and enjoy the pool. the staff are fantastic and so helpful and nothing is any trouble.

Have to say I always recommend to friends when there heading to canaries.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hallie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We reviewed El Cardonal in 2009, and 4 years later we're still going back ! The bungalows are clean, simple but perfectly well equiped. The staff are really helpful. As other people have said, it's very good value for money. The unheated pool is big and catches the sun. What we really like is that it's quiet, in the daytime and at night. There is easy parking in the street if you have a car. If not, a bus goes by regularly and taxis are cheap to take you into Playa or to the beach.
We always enjoy our holiday here and are always sad to leave!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank lhgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

At El Cardonal once again this year, you could not find a friendlier place. The staff can not do enough for you and it's a place that people from all over Europe return to every year to see old friends. The English,Irish,Welsh and Scots as well as all the Scandanavian country's have a reunion here and every year we meet new friends.It's basic so not 5 star but clean towels twice a week and bedding once a week. real value for money easy access to public transport shops and beach. The Pool Bar has good meals and drinks and all at a reasonable price all in all a good holiday without breaking the bank.
Pam & Jimmy

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magpie022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
4.4 mi away
Apartamentos MarinaSol
Apartamentos MarinaSol
#11 of 19 in San Agustin
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ataitana Faro Bungalows
Ataitana Faro Bungalows
#202 of 217 in Maspalomas
54 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cordial Biarritz Bungalows
Cordial Biarritz Bungalows
#31 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cordial Green Golf
Cordial Green Golf
#44 of 217 in Maspalomas
1,534 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#14 of 217 in Maspalomas
687 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
#55 of 217 in Maspalomas
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cardonal Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cardonal Apartments

Address: Calle Einstein 4, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 217 Hotels in Maspalomas
Hotel Class:2 star — El Cardonal Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your El Cardonal Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cardonal Apartments Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
El Cardonal Apartments Hotel Maspalomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing