We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday very relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palm Oasis Maspalomas
Ranked #16 of 216 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Holiday very relaxing”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were at Palm Oasis from 17/08/13 - 31/08/13 and had a great holiday, the staff are great especially in the restaurant, this is our 3rd visit to Palm Oasis and noticed that there was still a lot of the staff there from previous years, so we believe them to be very trust worthy. We had to laugh at night there is a happy hour from 11:00 - 12:00pm and some people do not buy a drink until 11:00!!
Yes there is a few things that could be changed the pool bar could be opened longer, but we do not go on holiday to just sit and drink so this is not a problem for us. There is a great system regarding reserving sunbeds, if there are towels on the beds before 8:00am they are removed by the pool man (towels are provided by the hotel) and a green band is put on the arm of the sun bed advising that the towels have been removed.. after 8:00am if the beds are still empty a green band is put on the parasol at about 9:30 if the bed is still vacant an hour later then the towels are removed and bands on beds advise that towels have been removed.. this then allows other people to use the beds and avoids confrontation with previous be hoggers.
Cleaning staff & garden staff work really hard, and this shows with the cleanliness of the rooms and gardens (which are stunning) pool area is exceptional. Playa del Ingles and Maspalomas are only a short taxi ride away although the hotel is a bit out of the way we like that as there are no noisy revellers leaving bars etc.. we like to relax and that is what this hotel provides

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    334
    68
    11
    3
See reviews for
316
338
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at Palm Oasis for a week after spending the previous week at Anfi Del Mar. Anfi is a hard act to follow but we found the staff were friendly and attentive on arrival (and throughout to be fair). The room was clean and spacious enough, the decor was a little dated but the apartment was well appointed and had all that we needed. There were two loungers on the balcony and a table and chairs for outside dining but could have benefitted from an electric socket so we could have plugged a docking speaker in to play music when we came home for a drink on the balcony. We were a little disappointed to see we didn't have a poolside view but a view of the front where the fairly busy GC500 road passes. When we ventured down to the pool area we were greeted by the welcome site of a lovely pool area with a massive landscaped pool and beautiful gardens surrounding and a pool bar in the middle breaking everything up. This really is the hotels jewel in the crown and can't be faulted. Waterfalls, a jacuzzi and a slide for the kids - a pool area to rival any I've experienced. Now for some negatives. The hotel is a little way from the main hub of Maspalomas which, when you get there (5 euros each way in a taxi) is a lively metropolis with some really nice restaurants and bars. Go to the lighthouse at the front facing the sea and turn right for the upmarket fine dine establishments which are not anything like as expensive as you might think or a left turn will take you to an area of more traditional restaurants. These too offered good value and we didn't have any bad experiences at any of the places. Would highly recommend the Oasis Restaurant on the beach front for nice food and laid back live music into the later hours. Now, back to the Palm Oasis Hotel. There isn't an awful lot you can walk to although the Chinese dead opposite was quite nice and the little Grill Bar just down the road on the left is also worth a try. There is a commercial centre with stuff going on from what we could tell but we couldn't work out how to walk to it and you have to get cross quite a busy road to get to it so we didn't try. The hotel has Wifi but it is quite a poor signal and you can only hook up on one device - quite stressful with 2 kids with iPads and iPods plus mom and dad all battling to use it! You can upgrade the service but it worked out quite expensive. There were a couple of niggles with the room. The plug became stuck in the bath so we couldn't use it for last couple of days. Panic not, there is a shower as well but the jacuzzi bath was a nice treat! The freezer drawer door wouldn't close properly because the freezer had become so frosted up. The sofa bed that the kids were using had seen much better days and led to both our kids having poor nights sleep on a number of the nights we were there. All in all though, this hotel was pretty good and the gardens and pool area were first class. They also offer a free shuttle bus to and from the beach which we took advantage of. Could use a little TLC in the rooms but I would recommend to others.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Darren1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here from 10th - 17th August. Staff on arrival were very friendly. We walked in to our two bed apartment which was clean, spacious and on the 1st floor so we had a lovely roof terrace with sun beds.
The first day we had breakfast and then went to the pool (Circa 10am). There were no sun beds available although most of them weren't occupied so we changed our minds and drove down to the beach.
The pool bar is fine and does reasonable if not basic food. At 7pm this bar closes and at that point there is no bar on the complex which is open. The bar which opens at 10pm is in a basement and is pretty poor.
Taxi's down to Maspalomas are only 4 Euros and there is a feast of restaurants. Head for the "Faro" (Lighthouse) there are some really good restaurants down there. One restaurant Grand Italia serves some of the best Pasta I have ever eaten. Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed here recently i feel the need to share an honest review of this hotel!
Upon arrival the hotel seems nice enough and rooms are really good, the pool is super and the pool bar is good too!, but unfortunately that is where the good things stop, due to the following reasons
1. The staff are generally slow and unhelpful
2. The air con is only availiable during certain months.
3. The drains in my bathroom had a terrible smell.
4. The nightlife is non existent. No drink available from pool bar closing at 4 until the pathetic excuse for a bar in the basement that is always empty opening at 10!!!
5.The food in the restaurant is horrendous and choice very limited, although the pool bar does nice pizza during the day!!
6 . And most importantly the cleaning staff are thieves, i had money go missing during the week from my room, to which i thought i had simply lost, until later in the week when 100 euros was stolen from my bag while my daughter was in the bathroom!, i was so shocked i planted a camera and another 10 euro on the floor beside my bed the following day, and this also went walkies!!. After consulting with the manager of the hotel who is extremely rude and no help at all, he refused to help us in any way even though we had photographic proof the maid took it! (Something she even denied lol).
We left the hotel the following day and i will not look back with any sadness about leaving! The hotel in my opinion should be 2 star and i am away 90% of the year so i do know my hotels and standards that should be reached.
I cannot stress enough how bad the staff are, unhelpful, rude and also untrustworthy, book this hotel if you must but dont say you were not warned!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Gwaimie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We as a family have always been to PO, we have made a few adjustments to ensure our money makes it further.
Do not bother with the taxi's the bus drops you so close its a mere walk up a hill and great to stretch legs after a flight.
There could be some updating as nothing has changed in the last ten years.
We do love fresh towels by the pool, BBQ night, the PO cocktails, happy hour and overall friendly staff... Reception sometimes let the team down. Housekeepers and gardeners always very friendly and do a great job. Will always return but maybe not when we have a family of our own.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LandJaccount R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My Father and Mother in-Law have had an apartment at Palm Oasis for 16 years and have always given it rave reviews! I can now confirm that Palm Oasis definitely measures up! The Grounds, Reception, Apartments, Pool Bar and Staff are deserving of a 5* rating.

Staff are always visible, Busy carrying out whatever duties they have from Security Guard, Groundsman, Cleaners or Pool Bar Staff

Domanique who directs all the pool and kids entertainment never stops! All the family where looked after very well by the staff. The 3 pools, Bubble Pools and Jacuzzi provide ample opportunity to relax and enjoy your stay.

Sunbed hoggers be warned! If you think you can reserve your sunbed with a towel at 5:30 in the morning think again lol the Pool Police will evict any bed hoggers that don't return to their beds within an hour exept for if your staying in the pool or pool bar area! Great Idea well executed!

Local Restaurants at the Lighthouse District provide the opportunity for great food at reasonable prices, the onsite restaurant does provide food and although staff are fantastic options are very limited.

Everyone we talked to including staff couldn't believe entertainment started at 10:30 every night when both the Pool Bar and onsite Bar provide the facilities that mean you wouldn't have a reason to leave the hotel! (The Only Real Complaint and something Managment really need to get a grip of)

Taxi's to the Lighthouse Area, Grand Chaparal & Kazbar all cost as little as 4 Euro's and provide plenty of options to sample the local hooch (Tropical Lager) the bus will also get you about, there is a free bus from Palm Oasis to the beach daily.

The staff work tirelessly to provide all services including pick-ups to and from the airport!

All in all a fantastic 2 week stay with batteries definitely re-charged, address the night time entertainment policy and tweek the food and Palm Oasis will provide a one stop shop for a perfect family holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty much identicle apart from number of beds, apartments with roof top terraces are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and i stayed for a week in a studio apartment within the main hotel block. The whole resort was very clean and had a maid service every day except Sunday. The studio room was ideal for two people and had a lovely balcony with table and chairs. As other reviewers have said kitchens are not stocked, a sponge washing up liquid and some kitchen towel are essential for doing dishes etc. Safes and underground parking for keeping car cool were purchased at reasonable rates. Although a bit remote and uphill from main town centre of Melenoras, walk in is about 40mins (4km). Taxis are available at the entrance to resort and are about €4 for trip to and from Melenoras. Free wifi is available but it can be very slow/unreliable depending on location with the complex. There is a small shopping mall, El Tablero, within 10 mins walk with a vey good bread tapas bar the chinese restaurant a few hundred yards away from resort was also very good. Despite what hotel info says there was air conditioning on during July visit. Low score for value only because 2B2B exchanged for studio. Pool amenities very good, on site shop was a little bit pricey for some things. All together a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Highlandhotshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.6 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#15 of 216 in Maspalomas
643 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sol Barbacan Hotel
Sol Barbacan Hotel
#6 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
915 reviews
1.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,485 reviews
3.3 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
1.3 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Oasis Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Oasis Maspalomas

Property: Palm Oasis Maspalomas
Address: Avda Albert Einstein s/n | Sonnenland, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#17 Best Value Hotel in Maspalomas
#25 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Oasis Maspalomas 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palm Oasis Maspalomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Oasis Hotel Maspalomas
Maspalomas Palm Oasis
Palm Oasis Gran Canaria
Palm Oasis Maspalomas Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing