We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brits Not Welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dunas Maspalomas Resort
Ranked #42 of 220 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brits Not Welcome”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I have recently returned from Dunas Maspalomas Bungalow Resort - Very disappointing. We arrived late on the first night and had to find our way in the dark to our bungalow. The 'bungalow' was basic and a little tatty, ie stained bath, flaking internal and external walls, poorly fitting curtains, no air con, although there were some with it, and a pet cockroach - the patio was in the shade with no view and I wish now that we had asked to have a room change. Food was average and repetitive. There is supposed to be a dress code for dinner but this is not adhered to. Staff had a poor grasp of English and were dismissive. General impression was that the resort catered primarily for Spanish and German, Brits were second class customers. The 'entertainment' was very poor and catered more for children. They advertise a disco bar but there is no disco and no dancing. Outside of the resort the area is run down and there is nowhere to go, so you end up getting taxi's into the more expensive beach area. On our last day we paid 30 euros to keep our bungalow for the day. We were informed by our holiday advisor at the arrival meeting that we would be allowed to keep our wrist bands/all inclusive status until we left at nine that evening. However we were required to hand in our wrist bands at 12 midday. However, there were other Brits at the resort who kept their bands and all inclusive status (some on the same flight as us).We spoke to our holiday advisor (situated in the opposite hotel) who had an argument with the manager of the resort over the phone. The manager actually accused the advisor of lying when he was informed of a meeting the previous week where this arrangement was apparently agreed. We did not have our all inclusive status reinstated although we spoke to others who had had their wrist bands returned after complaining to one of the receptionists (It appeared that it would depend which member of staff you spoke to). The manager was rude and arrogant and was selective about when he would be able to speak and understand English. On the up side, the pools were nice! - Never again!

Room Tip: difficult if you arrive at night as you have to find your room in the dark. Ask for air con as there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyGwyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dunas Maspalomas Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear WendyGwyn B,

thank you very much for your comment about your experience at our hotel.
We regret to learn that , apart from the pools, you were not satisfied with your holiday and apologize for the inconveniences caused.
Your feedback helps us to improve our service and to prioritize the improvements already planned for our hotel.
We would be very pleased if you would give us another chance to show you that a stay at our hotel can be a very enjoyable one.

Best regards,

Monica Palmieri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    431
    140
    46
    35
See reviews for
592
291
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed end of august for 10 days and we got a nice bungalow away from the main pool area (traveling with a small kid). The weekends were some more noise so we just organized some beach and island tours so we were back in the hotel with time enough to have a bad at the pool.
During the week the hotel was much quiet so we decided to stay in the pool areas.
The bungalows are just beautiful, big and very clean. The staff were also very friendly.
The entertainment was more focussed for children but we also had a good time with the shows and their team.
We will for sure come back, but probably not in august.

Room Tip: In summer its better to choose rooms away from the main pool, specially when traveling with kids. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NiceWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dunas Maspalomas Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear NiceWorldTraveler,

thank you very much for the time you spent sharing your review about our hotel. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay very much. We look forward to welcoming you soon again!
Best regards.

Monica Palmieri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed in the dunas bungalows with a newborn baby and it was comfortable enough accomadation but not much else.the cleaners were the only friendly staff.we arrived late at night and were left in the dark to find our bungalow and struggle with bags and a pram.the bungalow itself was fine but you wouldn't want to spend too much time in it.the pool area isn't very big and sun loungers are all cramped together.the staff all speak german but little english so we struggled with spanish because neither of us spoke german.the food was also catered more so to the german tourists.the night time entertainment was only on at the wknd and again they spoke in german so we were lost.over all we left dissapointed with our choice the location was fine its a 10 minute walk to the beach and prominade.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bravelouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed at the Dunas Bungalos my wife and I between 10-17 Sept 2012. We paid the going rate for what we classed as being worthy of n indulgent week away in the sun. Unfortuantely what we got was equivalent to a cheap and cheerful experience. In short:

- The day & evening entertainment was shocking at best and did not cater for the English speaking. It was OK if you were German or Spanish. On occasion the odd English word was thrown in for good measure. Fortunately you didnt have to speak the language to know how poor it was. The organisers were just a bunch of kids entertaining themselves.
- The food didn't really vary much from day to day. It lacked any real flavour and forget any ideas of getting some authentic Spanish queseen.
- The drinks that were on offer wihin the "all inclusive" bracket was limited and really not very good. Anything worth having had a price attached to it. It's ok if you don't mind drinking 7up for days on end.
- The location was isolated to say the least. As the hotel lacked any real appeal of an evening we walked around the surrounding area in the hope of an alternative. No such luck. In the end we were paying for Taxis to take us to other parts of the resort to fill the many gaps.
- The hotel demographic is in the main anything other than English. Which shouldn't in today's world be a problem however you need to be aware.

On the whole a very disappointing stay we won't be in a hurry to repeat.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_Murph01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

I have just returned from a weeks holiday at Dunas bungalows with my partner and 4 teenage children aged 12,15,16 and 18. This was our first holiday abroad and we arrived tired and hungry at midnight and was greeted by a friendly receptionist, sandwiches and bottles of water, for which we were extremely grateful. Immediately we loved the look of the place. Very pretty setting. Bungalows were clean and lovely. The lack of air conditioning in the bungalows made our first night's sleep unbearable and we hired fans the next day, 12euros each to hire and 10euros deposit on each,but we still needed windows open at night in addition to the fans. Our children had the single beds to sleep in whilst my partner and i had the sofa bed, not a way i'd prefer to sleep on holiday as 1of us was on a pull out single on the floor and the other on the sofa itself. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The food was lovely and something for everyone, i was impressed with the presentation. As other reviewers have said being English does make you very much outsiders with the other guests which didnt bother us massively as we went more to explore the island rather than spend our week in a hotel, though it did mean the evening entertainment wasnt really much to rush back for, though we did enjoy the darg tribute act on Thursday night! .It's a 25 minute enjoyable walk to the beach and shops, past the camels, though, if you prefer, there is a free bus transfer from ouside the hotel which many seem to use. Bus stops for Las Palmas, Morgan and Puerto Rico are just a couple of minutes from the hotel and easy to use for exploring the island. A couple of evenings we also took a 20 minute walk to Holiday World for entertainment which the kids all enjoyed. Overall we loved our first holiday abroad with the positives far outweighing the negatives.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Manager at Dunas Maspalomas Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for your nice review and for choosing our resort for your first holidays abroad.
We are happy that you enjoyed our service and your time with us.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family again.

Best regards

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at the Dunas Bungalows last week for 7 days. Overall the holiday was great. The accomodation was clean (cleaned daily) and well maintained and the staff were really helpul. Although our bungalow was a relatively fair walk (in comparison to other bungalows but still only a few minutes) to the pool, it did mean that the setting was quiet and private which was great for an afternoon siesta! The pools were really good, although if you have kids less than 1.2m they will struggle to stand up anywhere in the main pools - fine if you have armbands or are happy to stay in the shallow paddling pools 0.4m. We used the main pool which had a slightly shallower end which was fine and the kids were more than happy!
The guests at the resort were predominantly Spanish and German, with what seemed to be very few English, and the entertainment was geared around that. Saying that though, the animation team were very good and there was plenty going on each day and evening.
Food is buffet style, we couldn't complain about the food, is was good, not amazing, but we were not dissapointed and had no complaints. There was loads of it and my kids fortunately found things other than chips to eat! You could also eat at the pool bar for lunch (generally burgers/hot dogs) but they provide sandwiches and afternoon cakes each day to help your self to if all inclusive. Ice cream tubs were also available and the all inclusive beer and wine was very drinkable!
My only critism of the bungalows is that they are not air conditioned. It was really hot when we were there and this would have been great at nights. The original plan was to have the kids (I have three between 3 and 6) all in one room together, which would have been fine, but my husband and I ended up sleeping in separate rooms with the kids so we could leave the windows wide open at night. On arrival I didn't feel overly happy leaving them next to a wide open bungalow window (saying that though I am sure it was perfectly safe....I think I am just slightly paranoid!).
Maspolomas has a lovely beach (free bus service) and promenade a short taxi ride.
Overall would recommend, we had a great time and would definately consider visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We have just returned from the Dunas Bungalows, Maspalomas which we found to be very nice and clean. We stayed in the 3 star bungalows which were nice but had no air conditioning so it was very hot at night. It is very much a Spanish hotel with also a lot of Germans. British people come last in the queue! We were not told this when we booked and the children found it very difficult to make friends. There is certainly not enough for the children to do especially if they are aged over 10. The evening entertainment is aimed at children of mainly 10 and under and again for the Spanish and German. It was also very repetitive, the same things every day.

The food is very nice but again does get very repetitive. If you are looking for a holiday where you purely sit by the pool all day every day then this is the holiday for you as there is not much else to do.

We stayed for two weeks and never ever saw a Thomson rep as they are based in the hotel next door. Also be careful about your coach times when you leave as ours NEVER turned up and we ended up having to get a taxi to the airport and nearly missed our flight. The Thomson reps at the hotel were very nice and we did get a full refund at the airport, but very very poor service! We will not be returning to this resort!

Room Tip: If you are booking to stay here, book into the four star part of the resort as we felt this was alot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artypym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
1.0 mi away
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
#61 of 220 in Maspalomas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,858 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#17 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
#56 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
1.3 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#21 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tabaiba Princess
Tabaiba Princess
#52 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunas Maspalomas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunas Maspalomas Resort

Property: Dunas Maspalomas Resort
Address: Avda. Air Marin s/n, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Maspalomas
#29 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunas Maspalomas Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This super holiday park comprises one, two and three bedroom villas with kitchens and spacious terraces. It is located in the middle of a subtropical garden of over 75,000 m2, making it a unique holiday park within the Canary Islands. Adjacent to the 4 star Dunas Suites & Villas Resort, it is just a few metres from the Maspalomas golf course and the Dunas de Maspalomas nature reserve, whose beach is approximately 1 km from the resort. This hotel is ideal for families, couples and golfers who wish to enjoy the natural environment by strolling around the grounds.The 3 star complex Dunas Maspalomas Resort was renovated en june 2013 with new textiles, new paintings in pale tones, most recent decoration, new kitchen with appliances, new flat screen TV, new electric installation, new accessories and taps in the bathrooms, with additional vanity mirror and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunas Maspalomas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas Maspalomas Hotel Maspalomas
Dunas Hotel Maspalomas
Dunas Maspalomas Resort Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing