We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“price quality as always”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Torso Gay Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“price quality as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

May last yr I write my first review. A year later I can say that the price quality is as before if not improved. A new çrew member'by the name of Daniel is an ad on the the Torso resort.
When comparing the other gay resorts in maspalomas don't forget to think of the comparables you will find typically in Torso and not always in the other resorts like a heated pool in winter, clean whirlpool, working wifi, fully equiped bar and free breakfast (and if you like they fry you an egg on the spot).
I learned from Martijn - one of the owners - that though the mattrasses I more than good for me - he will replace them in a few months, this as part of the process to renew and upkeep the resort and its bungalows in new condition. As mentioned in my earlier, we have stayed at a lot of gay resorts on Canaries, Torso gives in ouropinion the best price value, in particular taken the said in the first paragraph!
Some buzz words: very clean resort/bngalows; well furnished; more than adequate amenities (from dark room to sunbeds and towels); good kitchen; balanced lunch and dinner menu; walking distance to Yumbo/Beach; very sociable, attentive but discreet employees/owners.

Bungalow: (14 in number) are comfortable with good bed & big cupboard; flat screen TV & blue-tooth speakers for smartphone; Bath tub/shower with good watter pressure and indeed giving warm watter; clean smell.

Wi-Fi is free and working very well (indeed the first time after having visited 6 other gay bungalow parks). For once a gay complex that understands the need of a clear cut no nonsense operating Wi-Fi (I counted at least 6 signal amplifiers!)

The heated pool is more than adequate if not big in size, the same goes for the (also heated) whirlpool that can have about 8-10 guests.

After experiencing quite some decline and fall of other Gran Canaria's gay bungalow parks Torso remains a well maintained gem!

Bungalow 411/412/407/406/401 and 402 are around the (whirl) pool, but as the bar closes around 21.00 and the whirlpool is shut down at the same time it is very peacefull thereafter.
Bungalow 410 is opposite the dungeon (not too much traffic though); The others have the advantage to be away from the pool but than closer to the road. We slept in one next to the road (409) however had no problem at all to have a good sleep as the trafic dies in the night.
Don't be hesitant to ask the owners for a specific bungalow, they are happy to advice and make your wish come thrue.

For the quick shopping there a grocery shops etc 3 min. by foot.
For the lazy ones, taxi to yumbo is only 3 euro.
So I would say all in all a very good choice!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Antonio195731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    45
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
117
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Let me start by saying that I have stayed in many gay only complexes around the world, and my stay at Club Torso I would without a doubt say was one of if not the best place I have ever stayed. From the outset of their user friendly website and online booking to the warm welcome by new employee Daniel, whom I found out later had only been there 2months, it was from the outset a very professional set-up. During my stay here the rest of the staff, Richard, Martijn, June, Rob were extremely courteous and friendly and clearly take great pride in the running of the complex, and are happy to chat with you and assist with any questions you have, and also if you want your own space they are respectful. My daily natter with Rob was always enjoyable and he is a credit to the place with his bubbly personality and wicked sense of humour.
The complex itself has 12 bungalows with a central pool/jacuzzi area, a good stocked bar, and included is breakfast which was available until 11am each morning. A good menu for food during the day/evening was available and the presentation was second to none! Each bungalow is fully equipped with tv and a good kitchen area with all required amenities. Two points to note were excellent wifi coverage was available, and also (which can sometimes be a pet hate when travelling when it runs out) plenty of hot running water for showering. The pride the staff take in the complex is shown in how well kept it is, its spotless! And nothing is a bother to them, you just ask if you need anything, directions, towels, bed linen. Location I found was very good, within walking distance to the dunes and gay beach, and also only a 10/15min walk to the Yumbo Center in Playa del Ingles (or a quick taxi run for 2mins at around €4). A most enjoyable trip made more memorable from meeting such a great team of people that run this place. For sure I will return to Club Torso again when visiting Gran Canaria.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in January 2014 to get away from the English weather...wow what a place to stay. The staff were amazing, extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble. June, the cleaner, kept the place immaculate and was a joy to have around. The facilities were exactly what you need in a complex, from a heated pool to a large hot jacuzzi to spacious and clean bungalows, to a well stocked bar, serving a good range of food. Unlike some complexes, the showers didn't run out of hot water and the beds were really REALLY comfortable. The bungalows had everything you could want for a relaxing holiday. I highly recommend Club Torso and will definitely be going back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank Pauly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Decided to take the leap and try another new place this time. I was so glad I did. There really isn't a lot wrong with this place. As soon as you walk in you see what a good condition it's in and how clean it is (thanks mainly to June x!)
Its quite a small place with only 12 bungalows so is quite laid back and quiet, especially if most people hit the beach, so if you're a party animal all day long this may be too small for you, but we found it so relaxing during the day.
I have 2 pet hates when staying in the Canaries:
1) stupid little water heaters on the wall that hold enough water for a 20 second shower and then take a half hour to heat up again.
2) freezing cold swimming pools.
Well Club Torso had UNLIMITED HOT WATER for showers and a gorgeous HEATED pool which was a good size for the size of the property.
It really is very difficult to find negatives about this place cos it's the best place I've stayed at in Gran Canaria so far, but if I was being really picky its a lack of space around the pool because there are too many sunloungers around the pool-and there are not enough people to warrant them all, and the other being that there isn't anything nearby-it's a residential neighbourhood. (the Yumbo's a 20 minute walk)
But that's just being very picky because I AM going to stay here again next time!!
(the beds were huge and comfortable and the staff lovely-thank you all!)
see you next year! :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank westsussex2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkkonummi, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

I were beginning of January at Club Torso with my boyfriend and it was really over what we expected. Owners are really helpfull and really kind. And other staff OMG! :-D Rob, Daniel and June. We just love them. All so kind, funny and really helpfull.
Room what we had (406) is really cousy, clean and felt like home. Special thanks about big and comfortable bed. ;-)
Atmosphere is really nice. Might be cause its "small" so there isnt so much other customers. :-) swimming pool and jaguzzi in the middle brings spa atmosphere and pool bar crownes it all.

So big thank you Martijn, Richard, June, Daniel and Rob!
We are so comming back.
Yours
Guys from Finland

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
13 Thank Jukkis82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed 11 days over Christmas and thoroughly enjoyed Club Torso. It's smaller than some of the other gay complexes in Playa del Ingles but don't let that put you off. The bungalows are spacious and immaculately clean and well kept. There was everything we needed including a microwave oven in the kitchen and a large flat screen tv and free wi fi which worked everywhere (not just round the pool like some of the other resorts). I could even charge my ipod on the radio/ ipod player in the bungalow. Another bonus was that there was no charge for the safe in our room. Beds were really comfortable.

The rest of the clientele during our stay was predominantly Dutch with some French, Scandinavians, Germans, Canadians and Brits making up the rest. The staff here work really hard and couldn't do enough to make us feel comfortable. June the housekeeper (and the only lady allowed in the complex) is an absolute treasure but Richard, Martjin, Daniel and all the team go out of their way to create a great atmosphere. We spent most days by the clothing optional pool which was heated and there is a large jacuzzi and plenty of sunbeds. They allow occasional day visitors but this only added to the atmosphere most of the time.

Taxis were easy to hail outside and cost about 3 euros to the Yumbo centre. It's about a 15 - 20 minute walk to town.

Breakfast was help yourself buffet by the pool - a really good selection, nicely displayed with slight variations on a day to day basis to keep it interesting. There is a wide selection of food and drinks available through out the day from the bar. The supermarket at Faro 2 is only a 5 minute stroll away for other basics.

Some of the bungalows get more sun than others. We were in no. 8 which was shaded all day. Numbers 9, 10, 11 and 12 had sunshine on their terraces all day. I'm not sure if would be the same in summer time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank PeterTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Club Torso attracts singles and couples who want a quiet day after a busy night in the city. It's probably the cleanest place I've stayed in Gran Canaria, and the owners, Richard and Martijn treat the place as their own baby.

The bungalows are recently and tastefully refurbished - a and the pool area is kept immaculate by the various day workers, the owners normally turn up later in the day.

The breakfast buffet is al fresco by the pool, and basic but adequate, and importantly kept until 11am. If you have special dietary requests, email them up front - all of the staff knew about mine, providing gluten free breakfast/bar food. If you want to take your poolside flirt further, there is a special area for that - if you want wall-to-wall debauchery you're better off in other establishments. However... Both before and after lights out, things can happen if you want them to ;)
A special mention to June, who is the the most super cleaner I ever met. She is discreet, naughty and the only woman allowed into the resort. You'll love her. Talk to her, she's a people person :)

Room Tip: 11 and 12 are the rooms further from the pool and close to the dark room, 4 to 5 are far from the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Morten I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.7 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#10 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#15 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#3 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainbow Golf, Gay Men-only Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Torso Gay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Torso Gay Resort

Property: Club Torso Gay Resort
Address: Avenida Touroperador Kuoni 46, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Torso Gay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Club Torso Gay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Torso Gay Resort Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing