We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All we expected - good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apartamentos THe Koala Garden
Ranked #106 of 218 Hotels in Maspalomas
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Spent 1 week early February 2014 (before half term). Enjoyed sunny days 20+ degrees but cool evenings. Needed a jacket or sweater to sit near bar as tables are outside (although there are a couple of stand heaters).
All inclusive deal but many on half board or self catering. Plenty of food, good quality and variety. Hot drinks dispensed from a machine - ugh.
Apartments spacious, bright and clean. Firm beds, good pillows and extra blankets. Large bathrooms inc. bath, bidet, basin and separate shower. Cupboard kitchen inc electric kettle, coffee machine, microwave and 2 hotplates. Balcony or patio with chairs and table. No hairdryer found.
Plenty of sunbeds round several pools but only one heated pool. jacuzzis were icy cold. Good programme of daytime activities for kids (staff worked very hard to get people involved).

Dont miss local market Sat/Wed am and free bus to Faro lighthouse boardwalk. Discovered attractive covered bar/restaurant Capri on nearby Taurus street with music and nice touches like iced glasses and liquor sweeteners with bill.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FRANNY4848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koala G, Manager at Apartamentos THe Koala Garden, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear friend:
We would like to tahnk your valuanble remark and invite you to come to Koala Garden to fullfil ypur expectations again.
Many thanks and best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 819 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2014

Location: the hotel is located in Campo Internacional. It consists of 5 sectors. Free shuttle bus to the beach: 9:30, 11:40, 12:30. Supermarkets close to the hotel. Holiday world just five minutes walking from Koala.
Rooms: studios and apartaments. Furnished reasonably, kitchen with cooker, kettle, microwave.
There are several swimming pools, the internet is to be paid extra. The staff is very helpful and kind.

Room Tip: All rooms with garden or swimming pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koala G, Manager at Apartamentos THe Koala Garden, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Mr. Tom N:
Dear customer:
We are pleased to contact you and thank you for the rating received. We are proud to serve our customers every day in Koala Garden Suites.So I would like to remark our commitment to improve quality and service.
Please, let us have the opportunity to serve you at Koala Garden Suites to cover your expectations again.
We hope to see you soon.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

When we arrived to the gorgeous island of gran canaria, we had to travel about 45minutes on a bus to get to our hotel... it wasn't that bad as the 'views were ok'.... alot of construction sites on the way...
when we arrived we were given a room right out the back of the hotel, ground floor. it felt abit out of the way and was next to a main road. so didnt real comfortable about us leaving our patio doors open while we were out.|!!! the rooms can get really stuffy, the air con is basic,

the out side area is really nice though. the 'gym and spa area was quiet laughable. not open for any days me and my partner were there.. we stayed for 10 days.

WHAT EVER YOU DO DONT EAT FROM THE RESTAURANT,.... was awful, under cooked chicken, and breakfast was terrible, the spar shop they have on site was also rather laughable.. i purchased cheese, ham, butter and bread to make some sandwiches for a light lunch. when i opened the packet of ham and cheese, there was an awful smell coming from them, i looked at the packet. 6 MONTHS out of date. was shocked .. when i retured the items they simple handed me HALF my money back and said thats all i get.

over all good location and nice reception area. they do try and con you with the day excurations so be warned......

very friendly staff and good cocktails.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shauny1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koala G, Manager at Apartamentos THe Koala Garden, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear customer:
We are pleased to contact you and thank you for the rating received. We are proud to serve our customers every day in Koala Garden Suites.
So I would like to remark our commitment to improve quality and service. Highlight our full readiness to implement improvements, which are fed by your opinions. Please, let us have the opportunity to serve you at Koala Garden Suites to cover your expectations again.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The suites are in the south of the island, low rise and spread across 5 zones. At this time of year, January, to ensure you get the best of the sun you should insist on a pool side apartment but avoid those with low numbers (117-137, 201-219, 302-309, 401-413 and 502-509). There is no heating so unless you get some sun shining in during the day you may feel cold and dampish. The apartments have ample wardrobe,draw and cupboard space, a safe (2 euros per day), phone, t.v ( channel 3, 35, 903, 905 and 987-990 are English speaking at sometime during the day), kitchenette (microwave, fridge, 2 ring hob, coffee maker, kettle, toaster, ample crockery, cutlery and pans etc), sofas, coffee tables and patio furniture. The bathrooms are spacious with both shower and bath. The decor is a little tired but comfortable. Check you room is in full working order and fully equipped when you arrive as the policy seems to be "respond to need" rather than ensuring everything is tickety-boo beforehand. You need to take your own tea, coffee and condiments. All sites have their own pool and loungers but you need to take your own pool towels.
Your fellow guests at this time of year are mainly German and Scandinavian - many of whom return year after year. Those we met preferred the self catering option because the meals are low quality the only bar open everyday is on the main site (no.2) behind reception. We paid £125 each per week (including self catering, flights and transfers). Food shopping at local supermarkets is approx. 40% less than UK prices with fresh fish and fruit being the best buys. (e.g £2.50 for Sea Bream/Bass and Oranges £1 per kilo) An acceptable wine costs £3 for 70cl and Smirnoff Vodka £12 per litre. A taxi to the larger supermarkets at El Tablero & San Fernando cost approx.8 euros return. We stayed for 21 days.
On site Wifi costs anything from 0.5 euros per 15min to 20 euros per week. However if you are willing to make a 15min walk to the local bowling ally it is free. The bar next to the ally regularly shows Sky Sports. Coffee is cheap at 1.60 euros. Lager costs 4 euros a litre.
Evening entertainment for adults, apart from Anthony on Wednesday, is weak. Poor singing over electronic backing tracks is normal. However the children's entertainment is always good and will tire them out just before bedtime! To compensate the company is good, staff are friendly and drinks cheap - so enjoy.
The apartments are situated between the main motorway and the famous sand dunes of Maspalomas. On Saturday and Wednesday there is a modern local market within walking distance (you must haggle to get the best price!) and everyday there is a free bus to and from the town. A boot fair is held at the nearby Stadium every Sunday.
Gran Canaria is a very diverse island both in weather and landscape. The south is warmer and sunnier than the north. The south has golden sand, elsewhere it can be golden or volcanic grey. The centre is covered by volcanic mountains and the western valleys home to banana plantations. So we hired a car on line from Orlando Car Rental. It cost us 113 euros for 7 days and you can get excess insurance on line for £1.99 per day. Petrol is less than £1 per litre and motorways toll free. Trips to the small villages, majestic mountains, dams and small fishing communities extend your holiday into a more interesting experience beyond that of sun bathing. Old Las Palmas is worth a trip. Arguineguin, Mogan and Porto Ricco are all a short distance/bus ride away and all very good places to take an evening meal overlooking the sea.
We went to get away from the exceptionally poor UK January weather and were very pleasantly surprised. So if you are looking for the same, on a small budget and not a culture vulture these suites represent very good value.

Room Tip: To ensure you get the best of the sun you should insist on a pool side apartment but avoid those wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keith p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koala G, Manager at Apartamentos THe Koala Garden, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Mr. Keith P.:
We are pleased to contact you and thank you for the rating received. We are proud to serve our customers every day in Koala Garden Suites.
So I would like to remark our commitment to improve quality and service. Highlight our full readiness to implement improvements, which are fed by your opinions. We will enjoy covering your expectations again.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed at Koala Gardens last November as our budget for holidays is reduced after retiring in 2012. We have been a bit spoilt after staying at a five star hotel on the two previous occasions,
When we got there my wife said " I'm not coming here again¬ and |I had to rebuke her that she should wait a while before she make up her mind! . Koala Gardens is quite a distance from the beach but the hotel offers a courtesy bus which runs from outside the hotel down to the bus stops near to the beach, down a sort of promenade called 'La Charca'. It would be best to be at the bus stop in good time as the bus can get quite full and some nations do not believe in queuing, however if one bus becomes full the driver did request another bus. The Taxis are very cheap compared to the UK one reason seems to be that the 'first mile' is NO DEARER than the following. mile or part thereof and is only about €4. The Apartment- we found spacious with large beds and contemporary decor. The kitchen was as described by other reviewers but as we were AI it didn't make any difference to us, There is a bath as well as shower the water heater seems to be of small capacity so you would have to run it a couple of minutes wait 5 minutes about 4 or five times if you want a good soak ( if you are 5'2' like me) , We were told there was 2 restaurants that we could use, one near zone 4 & 5 which is mainly made use of by the AI guests that are in Zone 4 & 5, but the Restaurant near to the Reception (?zone 1,2 &3) is designated for guests who pay for their meals. but there is no objection to AI guests using this restaurant the only DIFFERENCE is you have to pick up your drinks (free) just OUTSIDE the restaurant at a hatch (from the SAME bar) and then walk in with your drink and then usually shewn your table. DON'T BE OFFENDED BY THIS - RULES IS RULES!; It just so they can cost things properly. We didn't find them any less polite to us and we can't speak German! We found everybody at Koala Gardens very friendly and we are BOTH!!! hoping to be back soon!

Room Tip: There are steps up to the higher floors (eg 5-34) that might not suit the less fit or disabled but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LiveinSonNsun1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koala G, Manager at Apartamentos THe Koala Garden, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Koala Friend:
We are pleased to contact you and thank you for the rating received. We are proud to serve our customers every day in Koala Garden Suites.
So I would like to remark our commitment to improve quality and service. Highlight our full readiness to implement improvements, which are fed by your opinions.We send you a big hold from all the staff, and we all hope to see you soon.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We booked into Koala Garden Suites last minute after deciding to cancel a more remote booking and go for a resort instead! The price was a little high as a result but I'm sure a better deal can be had by booking in advance.

First of all, give up any idea of walking to the beach from the resort, as it's a long boring walk (around 45 minutes, more if you have kids). Even using the shortcut it isn't much less - certainly not 10 minutes as I read elsewhere! Also, it's worth noting that people were complaining about not getting on the free bus to the beach from the resort as it was full. We had a car so never encountered this personally.

So onto the accomodation itself. The resort is quite quiet but well equipped with several pools and a bar, and a couple of restaurants if you don't wanna go out (or cook). The kitchen is effectively in a cupboard, which was a minor irritation as it was pretty small, but overall the apartment was well equipped, spacious and clean. The AC and heater both worked well (you need both in the Canaries in winter!) This resort really comes into its own if you have a car - it was very very close to the motorway, and as Maspalomas is located in a very good position for exploring the island, it is the perfect base to explore Gran Canaria.

I think I may have been a little disappointed if I was going on a beach holiday without a car, but otherwise it's a great resort.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tluamiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koala G, Manager at Apartamentos THe Koala Garden, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear customer:
We are pleased to contact you and thank you for the rating received. We are proud to serve our customers every day in Koala Garden Suites.
So I would like to remark our commitment to improve quality and service. Highlight our full readiness to implement improvements, which are fed by your opinions. Thank you for your opinion.
Please, let us have the opportunity to serve you at Koala Garden Suites to cover your expectations again.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My family and I spent Christmas at the Koala Gardens Suite booked via Thomas Cook.
The accommodation we found to be poor, shabby, rock hard beds (so don't expected a good nights sleep unless you are tanked up) and generally a bad smell in the bathroom at all times.
The swimming pool in the main area is supposed to be heated - but you can forget that as it's stone cold.
We found the food to be pleasant and of good quality considering the star rating. The restaurants were clean and tidy and the waitresses were helpful and polite. However, the male waiting staff seemed operate the restaurant like a concentration camp dictating their rules to diners in often an abrupt manner. If you are going here on "All inclusive", forget any courtesy. They will treat you like second class citizens in the restaurant. There is one in particular short, thin bar man around late 50's who was so rude to guests it's unreal. He refused to serve my 10 year old son a coke since his "all inclusive" wrist band was broken. Generally a rude man who should not be working in Front of house, rather he would be more suited to the scullery.
The kids entertainment was fine and adequate. Reception was efficient and the general manager was pleasant.
Only real gripe is the substandard accommodation and rude, often ignorant male bar and waiting staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DELLMAN760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koala G, Manager at Apartamentos THe Koala Garden, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear customer:
We are pleased to contact you and thank you for the rating received. We are proud to serve our customers every day in Koala Garden Suites.
So I would like to remark our commitment to improve quality and service. Highlight our full readiness to implement improvements, which are fed by your opinions. Also commenting that because of the heterogeneity of customers and schedules standardization , we provide our clients with the service according to the most widely used criteria in the hotel industry. We are sorry about the incident and we sincerely apologize.
Please, let us have the opportunity to serve you at Koala Garden Suites to cover your expectations again.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.7 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#19 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
5,276 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#15 of 218 in Maspalomas
699 reviews
0.7 mi away
eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado
eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado
#57 of 218 in Maspalomas
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Canary Garden Club
Canary Garden Club
#18 of 218 in Maspalomas
751 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
#61 of 218 in Maspalomas
3,164 reviews
0.9 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos THe Koala Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos THe Koala Garden

Address: Calle Geminis 2 | San Bartolomé de Tirajana, Gran Canaria, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Apartamentos THe Koala Garden Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range: $84 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apartamentos THe Koala Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartamentos THe Koala Garden Suites is located 2 kilometers away from the sea and near the golf course in Maspalomas. In an ideal surrounding for your family vacation, Apartamentos THe Koala Garden Suites offers comfort and service. It features spacious and luminous apartments, which dispose of air conditioning and the equipment you need for your vacation. A shopping center and an amusement park are close to the complex; you will also find a wide offer in further entertainment and relaxing activities nearby. **Dear clients, we are renovating our facilities to make your stay more comfortable. The refurbishment works will be done by areas in the estimated period from 22/05/17 to 15/07/17. We apologize for the inconveniences.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apartamentos THe Koala Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koala Garden Hotel Maspalomas
Koala Maspalomas
Koala Apartments Hotel Maspalomas
Koala Apartments Maspalomas
Apartamentos THe Koala Garden Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing