We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Apartamentos THe Koala Garden
Nearby Hotels
Melia Tamarindos(San Agustin)
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$190
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$510
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort(Maspalomas)(Great Value!)
$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Seaside Sandy Beach(Playa del Ingles)
$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Occidental Margaritas(Playa del Ingles)
$132
$125
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$266
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$261
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (896)
Filter reviews
896 results
Traveler rating
140
290
228
123
115
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
290
228
123
115
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskoala garden suitesfree busa ground floor apartmentspar shoptaxi rankgreat holidaysmall supermarketshopping centrepalmitos parkliving areaall inclusive optionhire carmain poollas palmaschoice of foodfresh towelsplenty of sunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
364 - 369 of 896 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed at Koala Gardens last November as our budget for holidays is reduced after retiring in 2012. We have been a bit spoilt after staying at a five star hotel on the two previous occasions,
When we got there my wife said " I'm not coming here again¬ and |I had to rebuke her that she should wait a while before she make up her mind! . Koala Gardens is quite a distance from the beach but the hotel offers a courtesy bus which runs from outside the hotel down to the bus stops near to the beach, down a sort of promenade called 'La Charca'. It would be best to be at the bus stop in good time as the bus can get quite full and some nations do not believe in queuing, however if one bus becomes full the driver did request another bus. The Taxis are very cheap compared to the UK one reason seems to be that the 'first mile' is NO DEARER than the following. mile or part thereof and is only about €4. The Apartment- we found spacious with large beds and contemporary decor. The kitchen was as described by other reviewers but as we were AI it didn't make any difference to us, There is a bath as well as shower the water heater seems to be of small capacity so you would have to run it a couple of minutes wait 5 minutes about 4 or five times if you want a good soak ( if you are 5'2' like me) , We were told there was 2 restaurants that we could use, one near zone 4 & 5 which is mainly made use of by the AI guests that are in Zone 4 & 5, but the Restaurant near to the Reception (?zone 1,2 &3) is designated for guests who pay for their meals. but there is no objection to AI guests using this restaurant the only DIFFERENCE is you have to pick up your drinks (free) just OUTSIDE the restaurant at a hatch (from the SAME bar) and then walk in with your drink and then usually shewn your table. DON'T BE OFFENDED BY THIS - RULES IS RULES!; It just so they can cost things properly. We didn't find them any less polite to us and we can't speak German! We found everybody at Koala Gardens very friendly and we are BOTH!!! hoping to be back soon!

Room Tip: There are steps up to the higher floors (eg 5-34) that might not suit the less fit or disabled but are more likely to catch the l'late pm sun' but lower (eg 5-33) better access to pool etc,
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LiveinSonNsun1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koala G, Manager at Apartamentos THe Koala Garden, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Koala Friend:
We are pleased to contact you and thank you for the rating received. We are proud to serve our customers every day in Koala Garden Suites.
So I would like to remark our commitment to improve quality and service. Highlight our full readiness to implement improvements, which are fed by your opinions.We send you a big hold from all the staff, and we all hope to see you soon.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We booked into Koala Garden Suites last minute after deciding to cancel a more remote booking and go for a resort instead! The price was a little high as a result but I'm sure a better deal can be had by booking in advance.

First of all, give up any idea of walking to the beach from the resort, as it's a long boring walk (around 45 minutes, more if you have kids). Even using the shortcut it isn't much less - certainly not 10 minutes as I read elsewhere! Also, it's worth noting that people were complaining about not getting on the free bus to the beach from the resort as it was full. We had a car so never encountered this personally.

So onto the accomodation itself. The resort is quite quiet but well equipped with several pools and a bar, and a couple of restaurants if you don't wanna go out (or cook). The kitchen is effectively in a cupboard, which was a minor irritation as it was pretty small, but overall the apartment was well equipped, spacious and clean. The AC and heater both worked well (you need both in the Canaries in winter!) This resort really comes into its own if you have a car - it was very very close to the motorway, and as Maspalomas is located in a very good position for exploring the island, it is the perfect base to explore Gran Canaria.

I think I may have been a little disappointed if I was going on a beach holiday without a car, but otherwise it's a great resort.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tluamiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koala G, Manager at Apartamentos THe Koala Garden, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear customer:
We are pleased to contact you and thank you for the rating received. We are proud to serve our customers every day in Koala Garden Suites.
So I would like to remark our commitment to improve quality and service. Highlight our full readiness to implement improvements, which are fed by your opinions. Thank you for your opinion.
Please, let us have the opportunity to serve you at Koala Garden Suites to cover your expectations again.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My family and I spent Christmas at the Koala Gardens Suite booked via Thomas Cook.
The accommodation we found to be poor, shabby, rock hard beds (so don't expected a good nights sleep unless you are tanked up) and generally a bad smell in the bathroom at all times.
The swimming pool in the main area is supposed to be heated - but you can forget that as it's stone cold.
We found the food to be pleasant and of good quality considering the star rating. The restaurants were clean and tidy and the waitresses were helpful and polite. However, the male waiting staff seemed operate the restaurant like a concentration camp dictating their rules to diners in often an abrupt manner. If you are going here on "All inclusive", forget any courtesy. They will treat you like second class citizens in the restaurant. There is one in particular short, thin bar man around late 50's who was so rude to guests it's unreal. He refused to serve my 10 year old son a coke since his "all inclusive" wrist band was broken. Generally a rude man who should not be working in Front of house, rather he would be more suited to the scullery.
The kids entertainment was fine and adequate. Reception was efficient and the general manager was pleasant.
Only real gripe is the substandard accommodation and rude, often ignorant male bar and waiting staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DELLMAN760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koala G, Manager at Apartamentos THe Koala Garden, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear customer:
We are pleased to contact you and thank you for the rating received. We are proud to serve our customers every day in Koala Garden Suites.
So I would like to remark our commitment to improve quality and service. Highlight our full readiness to implement improvements, which are fed by your opinions. Also commenting that because of the heterogeneity of customers and schedules standardization , we provide our clients with the service according to the most widely used criteria in the hotel industry. We are sorry about the incident and we sincerely apologize.
Please, let us have the opportunity to serve you at Koala Garden Suites to cover your expectations again.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I found this Hotel not too out of the way for Maspalomas it was easy to find and close to all amenities too and plenty cabs always outside.
Clean friendly and with an electric kettle a plus for sure and would return
It is also next door to the outdoor market which runs on Wednesday and Saturdays.

Room Tip: Rooms near the main road can get noisy in the morning!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlesworth100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Travelled here for 1 week all inclusive on 16 December 2013. The hotel appear to be undergoing a transition of management and change, and as such this was reflected in the absence of flexibility with drinks at the bar, 1 per person- meaning that each person had to get their own. Challenged in terms of volume of drinks at the time of day you started drinking (despite the bar opening at 11am).
The food was buffet based in 2 restaurants. The timings were very strict. Snack period were biscuits. Staff were most friendly. There was a limited supply of hot water each day, 10mins maximum in our room. We notified the hotel but no change. Unable to call reception from room. It is in a nice quiet location, playa des ingles is just 4 euro each way in taxi. Free beach bus, however we walked and it was 40mins each way and very easy route. No heated pools. No evening entertainment. Local supermarkets close by. Wifi only in reception. No matter what room you have, you'll most likely get a pool view. A nice break, but just didn't wow us on this occasion.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews