We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good clean accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Koala Garden Suites
Ranked #178 of 217 Hotels in Maspalomas
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“good clean accomodation”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just returned from week in Koala gardens -19 Jan to 26 , Apartments very reasonably priced
, and property well maintained very clean , and safe access by key card. Rooms bright and cheerful , we stayed in studio not great for cooking , but as we only had breakfast indoors it was ok. safety deposit was 15 euros per week , no deposit and no refund , but was ideal.Only fault I could really complain about that on occasions there was a smell from drainage in shower or bath , quite bad at times .but we got used to it. Apts quite a fair bit from resort centre but taxis cheap 4 euros to playa del ingles or Meloneras. Plenty of supermarkets nearby , but found the most expensive to be Koala gardens own.There is a spar at nearby Faro centre which is ok .As for faro centre itself ,now very run down , but by all accounts the restaurants , and bars that are left are first class.One plus point of the Apts is that they are close to maspalomas holiday world which has plenty of attractions Ten pin bowling , fairground rides good for kids , and adults alike.there is also a first class Chinese restaurant very clean and good value.Overall good clean accomodation (better than expected , just a bit far out. Forgot to mention supposed to be a gym , but none of equipment in working order very poor.

Room Tip: Rooms near restaurant have heated pool , though can be used from other apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HonestAyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    246
    202
    115
    111
See reviews for
270
322
20
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Jan 14th - We stayed at the Koala Apartments for 6 days and was so valuable. Kitchenette in apartment is small but perfect if your having breakfast and lunch. We were on the ground floor with a tearrace facing the pool. Although the apartments are attached they are well planned out and you are not on top of your neighbours.
We were delighted with the service of clean towels and bin changes everyday - little ants around the kitchen area but only in around one area!
Its great if your looking for relaxation and a good nights sleep in the evenings as is quiet around.
Its only €3.90 to El Faro and Maspolomas Beach (although free bus also runs for beach)
El faro is great for restaurants and shopping!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at Koala Garden Suites from 28th. Dec. to 4th Jan and we were very pleased with the place.
Checking in was quick and hassle free.
The apartment was very bright and spacious and had one of the best equipped kitchens we have ever seen for a self catering stay.
Very quiet at night so getting a good nights sleep was never a problem.
If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing break then this is the ideal location.
Would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timcollinsCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We chose this location for several reasons:
1. Budget - it was one of the cheapest we could find for a last-minute budget holiday
2. People - some reviews said if you're English "don't go" - this, to me, is the point of going on holiday, to meet other people and learn about other cultures. It's true - the majority of holiday makers were Northern European but this was fine. I understand it's not to everyone's taste!
3. Location - I knew that Playa del Inglés was not my cup of tea and had heard good things about Maspalomas. We weren't disappointed. We ate at the complex for lunch most days - the waiting staff were very friendly, menu varied and well-priced. For our evening meal we either ate at the apartment (which I found to be adequately equipped for our cooking needs) or took a taxi (readily available and at around 5€) to the area around the lighthouse (El Faro) where there are restaurants to suit every taste and budget.
My only complaint would be lack of view as it is in the middle of nowhere but there's a free bus to the beach every day and the dunes at Maspalomas are definitely worth a visit.
This place would be ideal for families with kids as there are entertainment staff with different activities around the pool most days.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor which was great as we could sit on our terrace and dip in the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank J1ll1an
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The resort is very clean, pools & grounds are well maintained & tended & the children's play area is suitable for toddlers +. Our 1 bed apartment was again clean, air cond was temperamental? but room was well maintained & changed regularly. No problem in getting sunbeds too. The resort of Maspalomas is very German orientated which we had no problem with, & met some lovely ppl. The pools aren't heated so beware the temp' does take your breath away even on hot days!. The rooms are slightly dated, but they aren't fitted out in the normal O.T.T of pine furniture! The kitchenette is situated in a double closet, which again was clean, & practical for prepping breakfast. There was all the usual items you'd need including washing up brush & liquid (all new). Theres a mircowave, 2 hob, toaster & a load of ants from time to time near the sink. The boiler is sited above the sink & the hot water is literally scorching hot!!. So be careful!!. The bathroom was large, clean & had dual bathrobes, shaving mirror & hairdryer all fixed to the wall. The shower was large & we had a sep' bath tub.

There was no problem with the safety on site, & we felt completely at ease. However, there was a loose TV Cable point in the wall which our 16 mth old found & took the loose cover off exposing the wires behind!! We promptly covered it with some cardboard. Theres a supermarket on site too, which had everything we needed, but its cheaper @ Faro 2's supermarket 5-10 mins walk away.
The resort is behind a large football training area, & every night bright spot lights would flood the pitches & the banter of the games being played could be heard as late at 9.30pm+. Our room fronted the pool so sitting on the balcony wasn't too bad regarding the noise.

Theres a restaurant on site which we only used once on our first morning for the buffet breakfast which was ok, slightly tasteless in parts, but ok. The staff were lovely & very friendly.
We did use the free bus to the Maspalomas Dunes/Beach which is ok, but the times will either work for your day out, or not.. They aren't frequent.
Beach wise: For us having a toddler the Maspalomas Beach is far too rough, & the sea just crashed around you constantly. Playa's beach is better for young children & even better is the still calm waters of Puerto Rico's man made beach.

My title 'The place where time forgot' is more a reflection on the area, Maspalomas. The apartments are just the wrong end of where life actually is!... The local bus service basically runs @ whatever time the drivers feel, & completely ignore the timetables as we waited for 45 mins for a bus that should have been as regular as 20 mins. Taxis rides were the norm for us in the evening, costing 4-5 euro per journey to anywhere like Faro Lighthouse Area (Excellent, Excellent!!, beautiful restaurants & shops (Varedero shopping centre), Playa Del Ingles (OK, but slightly Blackpool'ish), & further a field places like Puerto Rico was around 20 Euro per way. 5 mins from the resort is Faro 2 Shopping Centre which sadly after the euro was introduced 7 yrs ago a once thriving designer led centre with 50+ shops now has high unaffordable rent & only around 4-5 shops left in business!!; but it has an amazing Steak restaurant called El Nublo & it is a real must!. The food is fantastic, & their family friendly service is great. (Our 16 mth old had a slight melt down & they came out with shaped balloons, disney cups, place mat & a lolly to keep her amused!). Playa is 45 mins walk away, which we had no problem with but if you're not keen on walking such long distances in heat then again its taxis day & night really??. The area of Meloneras is a brand new area of tourism & its really smart, the shops & hotels back onto the Faro Lighthouse area.

Beware of Promotion guys everywhere offering you free T-Shirts & free taxi rides: In short, its a Voyager Holiday Club in which you are required to attend a 90 min presentation at a near by hotel & its £4,000 for 6 years or £7,000 for 12 years membership. They say you can either win a T-Shirt, an ipod, a digital camera or a holiday just for attending..... blar blar... We attended one & although its a good product if you can justify your holiday expenditure over the next several years, the free gift for us was a holiday,.. but theres loads of catches, like attending another presentation when your there, & its only free accom' + an undisclosed admin fee'. So all in all don't be drawn in if you're not interested in holiday clubs.

We would not go back to Maspalomas, preferring Puerto Rico or Meloneras as theres more to see & do; & we wouldn't be depending on taxis everywhere. The beauty of Puerto Rico also means you can hop on sea ferries & go up & down the coast to beautiful harbour towns like Puerto Mogan also known as Little Venice.

Room Tip: Zone 2 over looking the pool. We also asked for a cot via lostcostholidays.com, & they never ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank longlashes76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Holidayed here last 2 weeks in August.One of the very few reasoably priced apts with air con which is essential! Hotel staff really friendly. Apts basic but everything you need and spotlessly clean. Matresses are pillow topped so a great nights sleep!! Hotel mainly full of Spannish holiday makers so if you are looking for a brits abroad holiday definately not for you!! Entertainment poolside in the day and quiet at night,There are supermarkets on site and would reccomend the buffet restaurant, 9 euro for eat all you want and food good standard.
Only little complaints were during high season not enough sunbeds and had to join in a get up early and put your towel down war, which we dont really like and the Spannish are brilliant at!! Also the hotel is a bit out of the way so any night out is a taxi which is a tenner return on top of your night. Resort is a bit sleazy tho so this kinda suited us.
Will deffo be returning to this lovely, family orientated hotel for the relaxing atmosphere and the great weather!!

Room Tip: Ground floor area 2 missing out on main pool noise but right accross the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mrsboombastic3475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a week staying at the Koala Garden Suites. On arrival in reception the staff were friendly and the decor was pleasant. Our room was large and had everything in it but was badly in need of redecorating. We were sold the accommodation as a 4 star but it only has 3 stars!
I also read previous comments about the spanish and the germans taking over the place and all I can say is you're going abroad, everyone is entitled to book accommodation. I will say though that the spanish were all really friendly but can't say the same for the germans. The entertainment staff were playing the "I am the music man" song and the germans were angry when the Dambuster theme came on during it and the staff were made to stop the song! We found this funny rather than annoying!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lynni011262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.6 mi away
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
#61 of 217 in Maspalomas
2,989 reviews
0.2 mi away
Turbo Club
Turbo Club
#74 of 217 in Maspalomas
1,263 reviews
0.7 mi away
eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado
eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado
#56 of 217 in Maspalomas
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Green Field
Hotel Green Field
#47 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
954 reviews
0.5 mi away
Canary Garden Club
Canary Garden Club
#17 of 217 in Maspalomas
718 reviews
0.7 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koala Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koala Garden Suites

Property: Koala Garden Suites
Address: Calle Geminis 2 | San Bartolomé de Tirajana, Gran Canaria, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Apartamentos THe Koala Garden Suites)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Koala Garden Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartamentos THe Koala Garden Suites is located 2 kilometers away from the sea and near the golf course in Maspalomas. In an ideal surrounding for your family vacation, Apartamentos THe Koala Garden Suites offers comfort and service. It features spacious and luminous apartments, which dispose of air conditioning and the equipment you need for your vacation. A shopping center and an amusement park are close to the complex; you will also find a wide offer in further entertainment and relaxing activities nearby. **Dear clients, we are renovating our facilities to make your stay more comfortable. The refurbishment works will be done by areas in the estimated period from 22/05/17 to 15/07/17. We apologize for the inconveniences.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koala Garden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koala Garden Hotel Maspalomas
Koala Maspalomas
Koala Apartments Hotel Maspalomas
Koala Apartments Maspalomas
Koala Garden Suites Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing