We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly and good value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Koala Garden Suites
Ranked #179 of 216 Hotels in Maspalomas
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We chose this location for several reasons:
1. Budget - it was one of the cheapest we could find for a last-minute budget holiday
2. People - some reviews said if you're English "don't go" - this, to me, is the point of going on holiday, to meet other people and learn about other cultures. It's true - the majority of holiday makers were Northern European but this was fine. I understand it's not to everyone's taste!
3. Location - I knew that Playa del Inglés was not my cup of tea and had heard good things about Maspalomas. We weren't disappointed. We ate at the complex for lunch most days - the waiting staff were very friendly, menu varied and well-priced. For our evening meal we either ate at the apartment (which I found to be adequately equipped for our cooking needs) or took a taxi (readily available and at around 5€) to the area around the lighthouse (El Faro) where there are restaurants to suit every taste and budget.
My only complaint would be lack of view as it is in the middle of nowhere but there's a free bus to the beach every day and the dunes at Maspalomas are definitely worth a visit.
This place would be ideal for families with kids as there are entertainment staff with different activities around the pool most days.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor which was great as we could sit on our terrace and dip in the pool...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank J1ll1an
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (767)
There are newer reviews for Koala Garden Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 767 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

The resort is very clean, pools & grounds are well maintained & tended & the children's play area is suitable for toddlers +. Our 1 bed apartment was again clean, air cond was temperamental? but room was well maintained & changed regularly. No problem in getting sunbeds too. The resort of Maspalomas is very German orientated which we had no problem with, & met some lovely ppl. The pools aren't heated so beware the temp' does take your breath away even on hot days!. The rooms are slightly dated, but they aren't fitted out in the normal O.T.T of pine furniture! The kitchenette is situated in a double closet, which again was clean, & practical for prepping breakfast. There was all the usual items you'd need including washing up brush & liquid (all new). Theres a mircowave, 2 hob, toaster & a load of ants from time to time near the sink. The boiler is sited above the sink & the hot water is literally scorching hot!!. So be careful!!. The bathroom was large, clean & had dual bathrobes, shaving mirror & hairdryer all fixed to the wall. The shower was large & we had a sep' bath tub.

There was no problem with the safety on site, & we felt completely at ease. However, there was a loose TV Cable point in the wall which our 16 mth old found & took the loose cover off exposing the wires behind!! We promptly covered it with some cardboard. Theres a supermarket on site too, which had everything we needed, but its cheaper @ Faro 2's supermarket 5-10 mins walk away.
The resort is behind a large football training area, & every night bright spot lights would flood the pitches & the banter of the games being played could be heard as late at 9.30pm+. Our room fronted the pool so sitting on the balcony wasn't too bad regarding the noise.

Theres a restaurant on site which we only used once on our first morning for the buffet breakfast which was ok, slightly tasteless in parts, but ok. The staff were lovely & very friendly.
We did use the free bus to the Maspalomas Dunes/Beach which is ok, but the times will either work for your day out, or not.. They aren't frequent.
Beach wise: For us having a toddler the Maspalomas Beach is far too rough, & the sea just crashed around you constantly. Playa's beach is better for young children & even better is the still calm waters of Puerto Rico's man made beach.

My title 'The place where time forgot' is more a reflection on the area, Maspalomas. The apartments are just the wrong end of where life actually is!... The local bus service basically runs @ whatever time the drivers feel, & completely ignore the timetables as we waited for 45 mins for a bus that should have been as regular as 20 mins. Taxis rides were the norm for us in the evening, costing 4-5 euro per journey to anywhere like Faro Lighthouse Area (Excellent, Excellent!!, beautiful restaurants & shops (Varedero shopping centre), Playa Del Ingles (OK, but slightly Blackpool'ish), & further a field places like Puerto Rico was around 20 Euro per way. 5 mins from the resort is Faro 2 Shopping Centre which sadly after the euro was introduced 7 yrs ago a once thriving designer led centre with 50+ shops now has high unaffordable rent & only around 4-5 shops left in business!!; but it has an amazing Steak restaurant called El Nublo & it is a real must!. The food is fantastic, & their family friendly service is great. (Our 16 mth old had a slight melt down & they came out with shaped balloons, disney cups, place mat & a lolly to keep her amused!). Playa is 45 mins walk away, which we had no problem with but if you're not keen on walking such long distances in heat then again its taxis day & night really??. The area of Meloneras is a brand new area of tourism & its really smart, the shops & hotels back onto the Faro Lighthouse area.

Beware of Promotion guys everywhere offering you free T-Shirts & free taxi rides: In short, its a Voyager Holiday Club in which you are required to attend a 90 min presentation at a near by hotel & its £4,000 for 6 years or £7,000 for 12 years membership. They say you can either win a T-Shirt, an ipod, a digital camera or a holiday just for attending..... blar blar... We attended one & although its a good product if you can justify your holiday expenditure over the next several years, the free gift for us was a holiday,.. but theres loads of catches, like attending another presentation when your there, & its only free accom' + an undisclosed admin fee'. So all in all don't be drawn in if you're not interested in holiday clubs.

We would not go back to Maspalomas, preferring Puerto Rico or Meloneras as theres more to see & do; & we wouldn't be depending on taxis everywhere. The beauty of Puerto Rico also means you can hop on sea ferries & go up & down the coast to beautiful harbour towns like Puerto Mogan also known as Little Venice.

Room Tip: Zone 2 over looking the pool. We also asked for a cot via lostcostholidays.com, & they never ask...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank longlashes76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Holidayed here last 2 weeks in August.One of the very few reasoably priced apts with air con which is essential! Hotel staff really friendly. Apts basic but everything you need and spotlessly clean. Matresses are pillow topped so a great nights sleep!! Hotel mainly full of Spannish holiday makers so if you are looking for a brits abroad holiday definately not for you!! Entertainment poolside in the day and quiet at night,There are supermarkets on site and would reccomend the buffet restaurant, 9 euro for eat all you want and food good standard.
Only little complaints were during high season not enough sunbeds and had to join in a get up early and put your towel down war, which we dont really like and the Spannish are brilliant at!! Also the hotel is a bit out of the way so any night out is a taxi which is a tenner return on top of your night. Resort is a bit sleazy tho so this kinda suited us.
Will deffo be returning to this lovely, family orientated hotel for the relaxing atmosphere and the great weather!!

Room Tip: Ground floor area 2 missing out on main pool noise but right accross the road.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mrsboombastic3475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a week staying at the Koala Garden Suites. On arrival in reception the staff were friendly and the decor was pleasant. Our room was large and had everything in it but was badly in need of redecorating. We were sold the accommodation as a 4 star but it only has 3 stars!
I also read previous comments about the spanish and the germans taking over the place and all I can say is you're going abroad, everyone is entitled to book accommodation. I will say though that the spanish were all really friendly but can't say the same for the germans. The entertainment staff were playing the "I am the music man" song and the germans were angry when the Dambuster theme came on during it and the staff were made to stop the song! We found this funny rather than annoying!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony facing the pool.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lynni011262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

we have just returned from here and had no problems whatsoever
i have read previous members comments and agree that the spaniards do take over at weekends but remember others are entitled to be there aswell
our apartment was clean, had what we required as we dont cook when on holiday just a cuppa and slice of toast first thing, and staff were very obliging
apartments are fair way from beach and centres of playa del ingles and maspalomas but taxis are only approx 3 euros each way and there is a bus that goes to beach free of charge dont know what the service is like as we hired a car for the fortnight ( if you book in advance it is only £110 for two weeks plus fuel = £150.00 )
we thought it was excellent value for money if you want 4 and 5 star treatment you have to pay 4 and 5 star prices if you want a cheap getaway this is sufficient
would have no problems returning there

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank derek2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

we have just returned from a 2 week break at koala gardens and all i can say is thank god i'm home, if your german or spanish you'll love it but if your english don't even bother, there is nothing to do during the day for english children i know i took 2 with me and as for evening entertainment there isn't any at all and it does say that there is which is a lie, the apartments are ok i suppose there spacious enough but nothing special and the camp is nice and kept clean but your given a card to get into your room and your suposed to be able to use it on the gates to get in and out of the complex but what a joke as they don't work most of the time, also the food in the resturant is a lot to be desired we had dinner once and it was horrible the food looked like it had been warmed up from the morning and it was disguisting, also they should warn people that of a weekend they have loads of spanish come and stay and they are very loud as we had to complain numerous times and they are very rude and they take over everything e had 2 pools where we were and you couldn't get near any of them, so if your considering this place give it serious thoughts. we will definately NOT be staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lizzy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We were moved here after we had complained about other accomodation and found these apartments much better. There were a few of us and we had three apartments, all were clean and spacious. We only had a couple of meals there and they were fine. There are a few pools here dotted around the complex. The whole complex is clean and tidy. The outside space was constantly being cleaned.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacqui155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.6 mi away
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
#61 of 216 in Maspalomas
3,046 reviews
0.7 mi away
eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado
eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado
#56 of 216 in Maspalomas
1,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
Turbo Club
Turbo Club
#74 of 216 in Maspalomas
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,954 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Green Field
Hotel Green Field
#50 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
978 reviews
0.5 mi away
Canary Garden Club
Canary Garden Club
#17 of 216 in Maspalomas
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koala Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koala Garden Suites

Address: Calle Geminis 2 | San Bartolomé de Tirajana, Gran Canaria, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Apartamentos THe Koala Garden Suites)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 216 Hotels in Maspalomas
Price Range: $88 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koala Garden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartamentos THe Koala Garden Suites is located 2 kilometers away from the sea and near the golf course in Maspalomas. In an ideal surrounding for your family vacation, Apartamentos THe Koala Garden Suites offers comfort and service. It features spacious and luminous apartments, which dispose of air conditioning and the equipment you need for your vacation. A shopping center and an amusement park are close to the complex; you will also find a wide offer in further entertainment and relaxing activities nearby. **Dear clients, we are renovating our facilities to make your stay more comfortable. The refurbishment works will be done by areas in the estimated period from 22/05/17 to 15/07/17. We apologize for the inconveniences.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koala Garden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koala Garden Hotel Maspalomas
Koala Maspalomas
Koala Apartments Hotel Maspalomas
Koala Apartments Maspalomas
Koala Garden Suites Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing