We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Koala Garden Suites
Ranked #179 of 216 Hotels in Maspalomas
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We have just returned from a week staying at the Koala Gardens and had a lovly time. Our apartment was perfectly fine, cleaned 5 out of 7 days, fresh towels 3 times. Plenty of hot water. All in couldnt really fault it for what we wanted. We needed additional pillows as you are only provided with one, we asked in the morning and it was there when we returned mid afternoon. Reception staff were friendly enough. We didnt eat at the hotel so can't comment about the food.

There are a few points to note but nothing that would put me off from going or returning.

The complex advertises a supermarket on site. This was closed when we were there but there is one at the Capri Gardens rouns the corner not too far away and resonably priced.

Refurbishment is required to parts, our shower head had seen better days but worked perfectly fine. There was evidance of refurbishment works being carried out but no doubt this will take time as its a big resort.

The resort is quite a distance from Playa da ingles about 20-30 min walk but good excercise and a taxi is only 3/4 euros. there is a free bus to Maspalomas beach but get in the queue early and abandon any British Queing habits you may have, when that bus arrives you get on it at all costs.

We travelled in November so I couldnt comment on what the place would be like in the middle of the busy season. There were a lot of German and Dutch guests at the hotel but I found the whole of Gran Caneria to be the same and It never really bothers me, if you want to holiday with the english stay in England.

All in all great value for money and worth a stay.

Room Tip: some rooms are next to the road others overlook the pool witht the Animation Program
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DanielC76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (766)
There are newer reviews for Koala Garden Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 767 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2011

My wife and myself have just returned from a weeks winter sun at the Koala Gardens and i must say they are very good value for money.
Apartment:very clean and a very good size with two three quater beds and built in wardrobes in the bedroom a large bathroom with seperate walk in shower a good size lounge area with kitchenette and flat screen tv and a good size balcony overlooking the pool area we had clean towels six days out of seven with the bed linen changed three times during our stay.
The location of the Koala is a nice quiet area of the resort with bars and restaurants just a short walk away approx ten mins at the fun park and the shopping centre however they are about a fifty minute walk to Playa de ingles and Maspalomas beaches but you can get a taxi at the rank right outside Koala gardens to both beaches for about three and half Euros BEWARE OF THE TIMESHARE TOUTS AT BOTH BEACHES .
I would recommend Koala Gardens to couples looking for good standard of accommodation on a budget and also familys with kids.
This complex is excellent value for money and may i say the weather was bliss for mid November in the late Twentys every day. I hope this honest and genuine review is of help to anyone considering staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank LuvmyholsWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Firstly, we arrived late at night - 5 adults and 1 baby with a serious amount of luggage. we were given keys to our apartments and told to make our own way. The complex is massive and no proper signs. we spent nearly an hour walking around trying to find our apartments and got lost. Finally found them and had to drag big suit cases up a flight of stairs. One person had to spend the night without a pillow which we had to wait 2 days to eventually get after asking numerous times! When we approached reception about this they were extremely rude and unhelpful saying such nonsense that they could not access the room were the cleaners kept pillows! Even though on our last day we found out they were actually kept in the room beside reception with other such things as clean sheets and towels which we also never got throughout our 8 nights there. So much for the cleaners, they never came into our apartments and we had to empty our bins ourselves.
We had ants in both apartments. Also there was never enough hot water for everyone to have a shower.
The complex seemed to only cater for the Dutch and Germans and posters for activities weren't in English. We went for breakfast on one occasion and found it very poor - frankfurters and some pastries. The men at reception were very abrupt and did not like to communicate in English.
The only positives are that the complex has lovely gardens and it is in a quiet area, but this is not enough for us to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nat l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We have just come back from the koala gardens and had a very relaxing week.
It's quite quiet there with 3 pools, 2 with music and entertainment and 1 tucked out of the way.
Rooms were clean and had a little kitchenette with kettle and microwave, fridge etc, own boiler per unit so plenty of hot water.
We stayed half board and found breakfast very good, however evening meals were only warm ,we eat there twice and then decided to eat out.
Overall a good stay and very relaxing, plenty of entertainment either at maspolomas ot yumbo centre which cost about 4 euro by taxi.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TauntonCarrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Had a week at the Koala ......... great location ...... bit of a walk to the beach ........ restaurant very good, friendly waiters ......... very close to Holiday World ......... short distance to playa des Ingles ....... clean rooms ........ helpful, friendly reception staff and cleaners ........ good value for money ..... handy for buses to explore ...........reasonably well equipment small kitchen area ............ Faro Dos complex nearby but a bit run down ....... all in all I like Koala Suites and would definitely go back .............

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Harpo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The hotel area is very big but it does not feel big because the staff is vey friendly and helpful. My grandoughter loved it because it was so much to do for the children and the staff took god care of them. There are severel poolareas and livegards at every pool and playgrounds for the children. You can take the bus to the beach, its free or you can take a walk to the market twice a week, it takes just a few minutes and you can buy anything from food to shoes.
We liked it so much so we will take my grandson there in a few years at his seveth birthday because we think it is a perfect place for the family.

Room Tip: We asked for a room at the poolarea because it is there the children are and we were lucky to got a...
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bertvald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Had a 5 night break , lovely big apartment, all you need for self catering although we went half board, fridge was helpful. shower good power, always plenty of choice for Breakfast and Dinner, nice pool. Bowling and entertainment arcade just round the corner.. Free bus to the beach if needed.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Wibbywooloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.6 mi away
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
#61 of 216 in Maspalomas
3,045 reviews
0.7 mi away
eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado
eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado
#56 of 216 in Maspalomas
1,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
Turbo Club
Turbo Club
#74 of 216 in Maspalomas
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,954 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Green Field
Hotel Green Field
#50 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
978 reviews
0.5 mi away
Canary Garden Club
Canary Garden Club
#17 of 216 in Maspalomas
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koala Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koala Garden Suites

Address: Calle Geminis 2 | San Bartolomé de Tirajana, Gran Canaria, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Apartamentos THe Koala Garden Suites)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 216 Hotels in Maspalomas
Price Range: $88 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koala Garden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartamentos THe Koala Garden Suites is located 2 kilometers away from the sea and near the golf course in Maspalomas. In an ideal surrounding for your family vacation, Apartamentos THe Koala Garden Suites offers comfort and service. It features spacious and luminous apartments, which dispose of air conditioning and the equipment you need for your vacation. A shopping center and an amusement park are close to the complex; you will also find a wide offer in further entertainment and relaxing activities nearby. **Dear clients, we are renovating our facilities to make your stay more comfortable. The refurbishment works will be done by areas in the estimated period from 22/05/17 to 15/07/17. We apologize for the inconveniences.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koala Garden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koala Garden Hotel Maspalomas
Koala Maspalomas
Koala Apartments Hotel Maspalomas
Koala Apartments Maspalomas
Koala Garden Suites Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing