We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just book it.....................if you want a great hotel !”
Review of IFA Faro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
IFA Faro Hotel
Ranked #13 of 218 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Love the Ifa Faro. Six of us stayed here last year and we enjoyed it so much, we came back. We were not disappointed.

The relaxed atmosphere of the hotel, the attentive staff and the food are all still excellent.
We decided to book half board this year. I have to say, we'd do it again. The chefs change the evening buffet daily. A great selection of salads, fresh meat and fish were on offer. Followed by some great tasty deserts. The fizz was still on offer with breakfast.
The lunch menu next to the pool offers great value - tagatellie with salmon, cream and walnuts for under €8.00, steak batch under €7.00, huge club sandwiches under €7.00 etc. All freshly made to order. The chefs are fantastic !

Pre book a massage. My friend had one and fell asleep, it was so relaxing and only cost €30.00.

The evening entertainment has improved from last year. We sang along to Beatles tunes one evening.( For a good big band and dancing, the sister hotel next door was great )

The location of this hotel is just brilliant..........sea at your toes when you walk through the gates.

The Ifa Faro has a mature clientele and is not suitable for families. It's great for a laidback holiday. Book early though, my sister and hubby wanted to join us and despite trying to book two months before we arrived could not get a room.
We got the best rate with travel republic.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room. Book well in advance to make sure you get the dates you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kilkenny1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (807)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 807 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

First time in Gran Canaria stayed in the lfa Faro Hotel Maspalomas for 10 nights. We had room 1313 lucky for some with a sea view. The staff at all times are very friendly, helpful and make you feel welcome. What can you say about the food good choice for breakfast and in the evening we don't eat meat but we still had alot of choice to choose from. The sun lounger system is great it means you do not have to rush down after breakfast to put towels on beds. The Hotel is in a good location only afew steps from the beach and the shops nearby. It was nice to have adult entertainment and to have a drink outside on the patio in the evening will stay longer next time. Would recommend this Hotel to our friends and family.

Room Tip: we stayed on the 3rd floor facing the sea very quiet and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Ifa Faro is a good 4 star hotel, the staff are all polite and friendly they can't do enough for you, the cleaners work hard and the place is spotless,they still use linen table cloths for breakfast and dinner, at breakfast you get proper mugs to drink out of, the food is good you have to look around the food area as it is easy to miss all the dishes, the sunbed allocation is a good idea, the location next door to the beach is perfect, we wish we could have stayed for more.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Golfmaddj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Faro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you a lot for your positive comments, we appreciate that a lot.
We would be grateful if you choose our hotel again to spend your holidays.
Thank you for the support.
Best regards,
Yolando Sánchez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just back from Maspalomas and a lovely stay at the Ifa Faro. We paid for a sea view room and it was great- beautiful views of the sea and the palm trees from our good-sized balcony. The sun lounger reservation system is great- I don't know why all hotels don't do it! If you don't like your chairs, they seemed happy to move people, but we liked the spot we were given. We really enjoyed all of the modern restaurants on our doorstep- especially SushiMex for dinners and Pinguino Soul for ice creams. The day we checked out we were allowed to still use our sun loungers and then had access to a bedroom on the ground floor for showering and changing before heading to the airport- a great service for guests! We also loved watching the aqua gym sessions after lunch- the girl who leads them is so enthusiastic!

The only small improvement I would suggest is about the tv- I know I didn't go on holiday to watch telly, but when we're in the room getting ready for dinner or after an evening in the bar, it is nice to have something on in the background. The only English language channels are news channels, while there was much more variety for Spanish and German speaking guests. At least 1 non-news channel in English might be nice.

Would 100% recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rsr310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Faro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you a lot for your positive comments, we appreciate that a lot.
We would be grateful if you choose our hotel again to spend your holidays.
Thank you for the support.

Best regards,
Yolando Sánchez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We're just back from spending 9 days here. The hotel is in a perfect location - right on the beach with plenty of excellent restaurants and shops nearby. It is kept very clean and the staff are all very polite and attentive. The pool is a good size with plenty of sun loungers (which are assigned to you for your stay) and parasols. I'd highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Faro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for the comments, we appreciate that a lot.

We would be grateful if you choose our hotel again to spend your holidays.
Thank you for the support.

Best regards,
Yolando Sánchez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Ifa Faro during the first two weeks in July. What a brilliant hotel in a fantastic location right on the beach and next to a lovely promenade with a host of really good restaurants and some lovely shops. We lloved the fact that sun loungers are allocated for the duration of your stay - why don't other hotels do this? Staff in this hotel are really friendly and efficient and the rooms are spacious and modern. The balconies are furnished with table, chairs and sunloungers and most rooms have sea views. Food in the hotel is very good - excellent choice at breakfast. The pool bar offers a good lunch/snack menu and there is a lovely little coffee shop on site. We stayed on a bed-and-breakfast basis and dined in the evenings in the lovely restaurants nearby. Not a hotel for families as there are little to no facilities for children but highly recommended for couples.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PkayTyrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Faro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you a lot for your positive comments, we appreciate that a lot.
We would be grateful if you choose our hotel again to spend your holidays.
Thank you for the support.

Best regards,
Yolando Sánchez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We love this hotel, really near to the beach. Peaceful, lovely, and good price for one week.The pool is good, but we prefer the beach, is very big and lovely. If you come here, you can go to the El Inglés beach walking for the sand.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LewisG1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Faro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you so much!!
Hope to see you soon in IFA FARO!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
0.2 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#5 of 218 in Maspalomas
1,167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
0.3 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,719 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Corallium Thalasso
2.2 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IFA Faro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Faro Hotel

Address: Plaza de Colon 1, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
#8 Green Hotel in Maspalomas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range: $164 - $577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — IFA Faro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IFA Faro Hotel is ideally situated close to the sea, a very short distance from the very south beach of Maspalomas and its lighthouse, on the island of Gran Canaria. Thanks to its perfect location you can enjoy fantastic sea and beach views, with their 6 km of golden sand dunes which extend to Playa del Ingles. The hotel, with a 4 star category and elegant architecture underwent a complete interior, solarium and swimming pool reform in 2005 and 2006. These reforms give a mixture of an up to date image and provide a notably brighter atmosphere to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your IFA Faro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ifa Faro
Ifa Faro Maspalomas
IFA Faro Hotel Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing