We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,296)
Filter reviews
1,296 results
Traveler rating
433
469
229
99
66
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
433
469
229
99
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews animation team ceiling fan pool bar no air con block c outdoor stage family holiday free bus foam party mini disco self service salad chinese night kids pool hot dogs chicken nuggets on tap
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
267 - 272 of 1,296 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2018 via mobile

Had an amazing time the animation team are out of this world work really hard and also very talented. Bar staff are lovely and very friendly. The hotel is extremely clean. The food isn't the greatest but you can always manage to find something. My son turned 6whilst we were there and they made him feel really special and also made him a cake.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Mirador Maspalomas by Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2018

Dear Tracy,

Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel Dunas Mirador***, and our staff. We are working every day to make every guest feel as welcome as possible. Your words are therefore greatly appreciated. We are delighted to read that our birthday details were appreciated.
We hope that you will come and visit us again in the future.

Kindest regards,
Angela Magni
Recepction Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2018

Myself and my two sisters stayed at the Dunas Mirador in Maspolomas, Gran Canaria for 1 week from 7.10.18 until 14.10.18 as all inclusive guests. Our ages are between 42-57 years. We booked this break through Jet2.

Jet2- fabulous airline to fly with, efficient transfers from airport to resort which takes around 20 minutes.

Arrived at hotel around 3.30pm and initially told room wasn’t ready - but once we explained that we were going to meet friends they allocated us our room.

Reception area is large and clean with seating areas. The dining area is off the reception areas.

Accommodation is divided between blocks and we were block C room 401. There were 2 lifts up to the 4th floor. our room overlooked the back of the hotel and looked directly onto a very busy main road, so we could hear the traffic constantly - tip- request a room that overlooks pool area

The room was ample for our needs with built in mirrored wardrobe, two single beds and a sofa bed. There is a ceiling fan which was useless and very noisy, but no other air con.

The bathroom has a bath and shower and was fair size.

We had a small verandah with table and chairs- though as mentioned it was noisy to sit out.

There are no tea or coffee facilities in the room. There is a fridge and a safe which they charge €2 per day to use

The beds are made daily but sheets are only changed on day 5- towels are provided in the room. If you want to use towels by pool you have to hire them

The all inclusive guests are given a green band- plenty of choice for meals though dining can get busy. There are also poolside venues for snacks . The drinks in the all inclusive include local beer and spirits and if you want better quality you have to pay. Cocktails were disappointing.

There are always staff cleaning the areas, and a lifeguard on duty at the pool.
It gets very busy at the pools and although we managed to get sun beds we were always by the pool early as we are early risers.

Entertainment crew are really committed to offering wide range of activities and encouraging people to join in. each morning at 10.30 we were greeted to rendition of “Good Morning, Good Morning” followed by the crew doing the dance routine- there was also entertainment each night- was fun- take it as lighthearted entertainment.

There is a chemist, Chines restaurant, hairdressers, souvenir shops and a large Spar shop just around the corner. Dunas Mirador is located in the Sonneland area so is not central to Maspolomas Beach. There is a market in Maspolomas on a Wednesday and Saturday which is really good. It’s about a 20 minute walk away- but we took a taxi for €4_ worth it as we didn’t want to walk in the heat.

We also visited the beach at Maspolomas which again is a taxi ride from hotel €5. We loved this area- bars, restaurants where you can sit and watch people surfing on the huge waves. We also recommend a restaurant called El Churrasco where we sat upstairs, outdoors and saw fab sunsets. They serve gorgeous steaks and reasonable price. If you don’t let me the beach there are places to hire sun beds attached to bars, with drinks service.

We also took a taxi to Playa del Cura to visit friends and had a drink at an Irish’s bar The Old Brogue. Lillian runs this place and has great atmosphere. They serve the most gorgeous roast dinner and drinks are very reasonable.

We also took a taxi from hotel to Puerto Rico- € 22- and had drinks at The Pub- run by a great couple Sarah and Paco- there was a singer- and very cheap drinks !!!! We love the shops here and got some bargains/souvenirs

This hotel is much more suitable for families with younger children. It was further from the centre than we hoped. We would not visit here again as it did not meet our needs. However we enjoyed our week in the sun and made the best of our time there
We pass d £560 each for our holiday

Room tip: Ask for pool view
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mrsjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Mirador Maspalomas by Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2018

Dear guest,

We thank you very much for publishing your very detailed valuable opinion about the surrounding areas of Sonneland, the hotel itself and its service by the several departments. We will pass all the feedback to the animation guys and the staff in order to encourage them to always give their best every single day and achieve the best level of service.
We are glad to know that you liked all the area of the hotel like the restaurant, the pools, the rooms and the reception area.
In addition to this, we are happy that you spend time enjoying the wonderful and different places on the island.
We hope that we can welcome you and your sisters back to our hotel in the future.

Kindest regards,
Francesca Romei
Guest relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2018

The hotel is lovely and clean staff very friendly. The beach is a bus ride away. Beach is lovely but to get in the sea you have to get past all the rocks. The entertainment in the hotel was ok but as we went as a couple could have done with something more entertaining than kiddies disco. But the entertainment staff worked very hard on there routines.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank debmccarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Mirador Maspalomas by Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback on our staff and they will be get forwarded to them. It always motivates the entire team which is interested to give the best service to the guests every day.

We are sorry that the animation didn’t completely satisfied your expectation but they always give their best organizing activities during the day, such as: ping pong, water polo, bingo, sangria demonstration, French ball, poker, balloons day, water game, yoga stretching, aqua gym and many others. Moreover every single night, after the mini disco, there is a show both from external professions and musical from the animation team.
We hope that you will come to visit us again in the future, in order to experience all the activities and the new shows.

Kindest regards,
Francesca Romei
Guest relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2018 via mobile

We don’t normally write reviews but we think you need to know what to expect! Yes it’s a cheap 3 star hotel but it fell way below our expectations. So firstly, though the room was clean and spacious there were single beds and no air con (unheard of!). We’ve been on all inclusive holidays before but nothing quite like this. Entertainment: professional they are not. (Repetitive, Same music over and again every night, too loud especially if your room overlooked the pool as most do). Pool area: extremely cramped and sun beds all reserved by 7am, against hotel policy (needs to be policed). Not a relaxing hotel, there are no quiet areas. Food/Drink: food repetitive and little choice. A few times we had to go out to eat as the food options were terrible. Not what you expect on an all inclusive holiday! Drinks were limited, cocktails on tap! Poor grade of drinks on offer compared with other all inclusive holidays we’ve been on. We experienced a lot here we never have before eg paying for the use of towels and paying for the use of safe. We ended up spending a lot more money than we expected, to get away from the hotel each day. It is too cramped, too noisy and not what you’d expect for an all inclusive hotel, not even 3 star.
Bus service and taxis are good. Clear signage around the island. It’s not been a great experience for us and we won’t be coming back!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Bird1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Mirador Maspalomas by Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2018

Dear Guest,

we are sorry to read your evaluation of our house and want to apologize for the inconveniences. Our animation team is focused on the younger public and families with children.

Dunas has several hotels, we recommend the Dunas Don Gregory or Dunas Suites&Villas for a future stay.
We have just changed our drink offer and now provide a wider range.

We take notice of every suggestion in order to improve.
Thank you very much.

Best regard
Laurel Muijen
Guest relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2018 via mobile

Having read reviews good and bad about this hotel we decided to try it ourselves.
The rooms are spacious and clean, even though we only had an ceiling fan it was fine, showers are good and the pool is lovely and clean.. Sunbeds are too close together and most are booked with towels from 7am and sometimes nobody would return till 3pm.
On arrival I asked for some bottled water for the room (every all inclusive we've been on provides this) I was told by the receptionist that I can go to the shop to buy some or take a glass of water from the bar,which only uses paper or bendy plastic cups (I found this rather odd producing all this waste for an establishment that promotes an eco friendly hotel).
Then came the buffet room, (or feeding time at the zoo) total chaos. We stayed a week and had the same menu for 3 of those nights, 80% was fish I even asked one of the chefs if there was shellfish in a rice dish as I have an allergy and he said he wasn't sure!! We ate in the Chinese next door twice and the food was excellent.
On their website they say dress code for evening meal, not true.. Guests were wearing swim shorts vests etc and no staff paid any attention.
I know it's only a 3 star hotel, but as an all inclusive it needs a few improvements...we won't be returning.!!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 72lesleyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Mirador Maspalomas by Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2018

Dear Lesley,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay in Dunas Mirador***
We ask our guests not to leave the towel on the sunbeds without using them. In case this happens, our pool attendance will take care of it and if someone is looking for a sunbed, they will help to find a free one.

For safety reasons we do not use glass at the bar and near and around the pools.

Concerning our menus, we have different theme buffets during the week: Italian, Spanish, Oriental and an international buffet with different dishes. In case our guests are allergic or intolerant, we ask them to let us know in advance so that we can provide care .

Best regards,
Laurel Muijen
Guest relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews