We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,293)
Filter reviews
1,293 results
Traveler rating
431
469
228
99
66
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
431
469
228
99
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews animation team ceiling fan pool bar no air con block c outdoor stage family holiday free bus foam party mini disco self service salad chinese night kids pool hot dogs chicken nuggets on tap
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
383 - 388 of 1,293 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2018 via mobile

Have just returned from a week stay from Dunas.. check in was quick easy and friendly. Good size rooms, modern and always spotless. There isn’t any air con but everyone should know this before they get there! The ceiling fan in the room was good enough for us. The food was terrible!!! Worst all inclusive I have ever been to in terms of the food. The drinks were good but the food was shocking. So repetitive, meat undercooked, very random options which only cater for particular nationalities. The pool bar food was better but very annoying paying for all inclusive living off burgers and pizza from the pool bar!!! The meal times were also really weird, breakfast doesn’t start till 8am so that’s poor for people who like being up early out and about. Lunch didn’t start till 1.30pm so come 12 o clock we were starving! Amongst all the bad, the hot chocolate is the best I have ever had! The hotel itself is absolutely huge and always busy! I was up at 6.45am reserving our sunbeds and a lot had already gone. The animation team were great and always made an effort, this hotel itself is very family orientated so I wouldn’t recommend going if you’re a couple/friends etc. The entertainment itself was very samey and again only for kids so was boring for us. The main pool dance was fab!!!! The location isn’t the best but we knew that before we booked, taxi to Playa del Ingles was around €4 and the beach was lovely! Good selection of shops and restaurants down the beach front aswell. We saw the reviews about cockroaches, we saw 2 and they were outside which is completely normal in a hot country. There were a lot of rude people here who didn’t know how to cue or use their manners which was very annoying but not the hotels fault. Check out is at 12pm but we paid €30 to keep the room and this could be kept till 6/6.30pm.
Overall I was disappointed with our stay however you get what you pay for for a 3* hotel so not sure why some people on here were expecting 5* treatment. The food is the biggest downfall.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
3  Thank geeceex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Mirador Maspalomas by Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2018

Dear Georgia Mae C,

Thank you for visiting us at the Hotel Dunas Mirador and sharing your experiences with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the easy check in and spacious rooms.

We are sad to hear however that you did not enjoy our food. Due to the fact that we have to cater to different nationalities, the food has a broad range.
We will take note about the times and the food, and see what can be changed about this.
I am sad that overall you are disappointed with your stay, we hope that even though not everything was as expected, we do hope to welcome you to our hotel in the future and see the improvements for yourself.

Kindest regards,
Laurel Muijen --- Guest relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2018 via mobile

This holiday was different from any other,
The weather wasn't overly warm witch may have affected our stay,

The hotel was a disaster from the start we checked in to find our room was facing the main road we requested to change as the hotel wasn't exactly full and all we got was "hotel is fully booked" we kept trying to change and finally got offered 3 different rooms to chose from but at a charge of 70€ which was ridiculous as the room was just the same but pool facing,

Food was very much the same every day nothing changed drinks were average cocktails where great,

Rooms very spacious and nice bathrooms,

Booking tours is best to do through the lady in reception as she was great and very helpful we had a dolphin tour, buggy tour and also went to see las palmas play which was great!!

Pool in the hotel was very cold and entertainment was ok but relied a lot on the audience,

Sun beds... very close to each other and not enough to cater for the hotel,

Bus to the beach is great and can also be used to take you to the bus station to catch the bus to las palmas very cheap a good day out.

Overall hotel is ok for its price and for a week break and for the experience.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank ashbullock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Mirador Maspalomas by Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2018

Dear Ashbullocks,

Thank you for visiting our Hotel Dunas Mirador and for sharing your experiences.
We are sorry to hear about your inconvenience about the rooms however we are glad to hear that you found the rooms very spacious with nice bathrooms. Further more, we are glad that even though the weather was not that warm, you did enjoy the island on external tours.

Nevertheless, we do hope to welcome you as guest in the future again.

Kindest regards,
Laurel Muijen -- Guest relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2018

Just got back from this hotel. Just wanted to say that on the whole it was OK.

The food was boring. I understand they need to cater for various nationalities. I stayed for a week and ended up eating out on 3 separate occasions at night, as i was sick of the very random combinations of food.

The Chinese restaurant next door was one of the best i have ever tasted. Well worth a visit.

The rooms were clean and tidy. Like others have said, there is no air-con, and the rooms do become unbearable at night.

If you want a sunbed. Be prepared to stand in line and wait for them to open it at 7am. Then the mayhem happens. I was getting up most morning around 7:15am and going for a coffee. there was not 1 bed available, even at that time. which didn't bother me because there was enough room round the pool bar area.

I do think the sunbed issue needs addressing.

Another annoying issue was that the reception bar was not always open on a night. So if you wanted to escape the 4 songs on repeat for the kids disco, you couldn't.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank stevene354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Mirador Maspalomas by Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2018

Dear Steven E,

thank you very much for visiting our Dunas Mirador and for sharing your experiences with us.

We are are sorry to receive your bad comment about our food. Our kitchen always tries to satisfy every taste and as you already said, we need to cater for various nationalities. We are sorry that we did not meet your taste.

We are glad to hear that you liked your room and the cleanliness. Instead of air conditioning we have a ceiling fan in every of our rooms. However we are sorry that you felt uncomfortable because of the hot weather.

We will take note of your criticism, also concerning the sunbeds and the minidisco, to improve these things in the future as well.

Again thank you for your evaluation and we deeply apologize for any inconveniences.

Best regards
Lena Overbeck - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2018 via mobile

We had a great week where we mixed time in the hotel and visiting the surrounding area. It's a lovely hotel for families with two pools and a little one for the little ones at the back. It gets busy at times as expected but managed to swim every day which was refreshing. People reserve their sunbed for the day by putting their towels out but there are plenty of spaces for everyone. You are side by side with parasols, similar to the beach actually. A number of small showers on pool side and i liked the waterfall shower one by B block. The Jacuzzi holds about 10 people and was relaxing as it is above the pool...

We had a day at nearby Aqualand waterpark (fun - got free entrances -worth getting the £10 fast access to all rides) maspalomas beach (€7.50 for 2 beds and parasol per day), playa del ingles (beach is crammed but some nice restaurants- casita canaria), Puerto de Mogan (€25in taxi) and Puerto Rico (we enjoyed the boat trip from Mogan to Puerto rico-€7) . Either walked to the beach (about 35 minutes) or got a taxi (€4 approx). Taxi rank just outside ge hotel.
Jet2holidays have reps on site for all the excursions (book at the start of your stay) and you can rent a car through them or just outside the hotel too. Fabulous fast in resort check-in from Jet2.com which means we didn't have to worry about luggage on the last day at all. The hotel also provides the use of a complementary room for 45 mins on your leaving day (book it early on to get the time you want) so you can enjoy the pool and then get ready before you fly home! (Great for us as had to vacate room for 12 but not leaving till 6:00).

There are a few shops around the hotel and a spar for all daily needs and a mini shop in the hotel too. The shopping in maspalomas beach and town is great and lovely in the evening with the restaurants and cocktail bars and shows (Café del Mar)

The hotel is a lovely 3 star hotel with friendly staff everywhere. It offers the usual activities with a busy animation team (more for the younger children but also water polo, aquaroebics, sangria making etc. There is a board in the entrance with all the timings), good range of food (varied hot and cold buffet with themed nights/not so many desserts) and drinks (fizzy drink dispenser, basic cocktails and local alcohols). There are water dispensers everywhere as it gets very warm.
As advertised there is no air conditioning in the rooms but we opened windows and door to create a draft and the ceiling fan helped keep the room aired too. We didn't have any problems with this.

A great mix of nationalities which we enjoyed very much, even during the world cup! Friendly atmosphere all round (apart from a few rude guests!!!).

I would say with small kids you will be fine in the resort for a week, with teenagers just do some trips and enjoy the evenings out in maspalomas too!

Thank you all at Dunas Mirador for a genuinely great stay!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank BVDE2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Mirador Maspalomas by Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your visit and for your detailed review about our Hotel Dunas Mirador.

We are delighted to hear that you were so satisfied with your stay, that you liked the food and as well the work of our hard working staff. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the pool area/jacuzzi and the work from our animation team.

We are pleased that we have been able to be part of your beautiful experience on the island and in our complex.

We hope you had a safe flight back and would be glad welcoming you again soon.

Best regards
Lena Overbeck - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for a week and had no problems whatsoever until the last few days where the maids didn’t leave me and my friends any towels. We went to reception to get some towels and we didn’t get them until we were ready to go out on the evening when we were ready, which was 3 hours later. On the last day a very rude Spanish lady stormed into our hotel room without knocking and demanded us to leave when we didn’t understand what she was saying because she was speaking very fast and very quiet and spoke no word of English. She also shoved the phone into my friends face to speak to reception. Apart from that the food was lovely and the bar staff were the highlight of the hotel. Shoutout to Rueben and Co. absolutely fantastic, so welcoming!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank tilliemurphy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Mirador Maspalomas by Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

Dear Client,

Thank you so much for your valuable comment. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our food and especially the work of our bar staff.
We deeply apologize for the inconveniences you mentioned and hope that you enjoyed your stay on Gran Canaria anyway. We will do our best to make sure that these situations won't occur again. Comments like yours help us to develop and offer a better service to our clients, so thank you again for sharing your opinion with us.

We hope you had a safe flight back and would be glad welcoming you again soon.

Best regards
Lena Overbeck - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews