We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,310)
Filter reviews
1,310 results
Traveler rating
438
476
229
99
68
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
438
476
229
99
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ceiling fan animation team pool bar no air con block c family holiday outdoor stage free bus self service foam party mini disco salad chinese night kids pool hot dogs chicken nuggets lovely hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
415 - 420 of 1,310 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2018

We stayed here during May half term week- 3 kids and 4 adults. Lovely hotel, pools were great, plenty of sun beds, clean rooms. Although no air con (we knew that) the fans were sufficient but wouldn’t want to be there when it’s hotter!
Food was plentiful although need to think harder to provide for vegetarians like myself. classing ‘carrots’ as a vegetarian DISH isn’t a dish like paella or spag Bol is a dish for carnivores. Good job I like salad!
Didn’t join in too much with animation but that was our choice, and weren’t pestered to. Evening entertainment was rubbish apart from the two professional shows.why on Earth the animation team chose to do a ‘Rocky Horror show ‘ type thing as family entertainment is beyond me! Little kids were freaked out and ran off crying! More thought needed there.
On the whole though we really enjoyed our week as we live for the day/ the sun and don’t expect an awful lot from evening entertainment anyway...from our experience it’s often poor. Glad there was a free shuttle bus to the beach as this was Defo needed as too far to walk. Shame it’s a rather isolated location as a walk out at night was impossible. But we would return if we wanted a quiet week in the sun in a quiet, clean place.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank snowysheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Mirador Maspalomas by Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2018

Dear snowysheff,

thank you for choosing our hotel Dunas Mirador for your holidays in Spain and for sharing your experiences with us.
We are glad to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay in our Dunas Mirador and that you were satisfied with our pool area and the cleanliness of our rooms.
However we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our evening animation shows, we will do our best to improve this in the future.
We hope you had a safe flight back and would be glad welcoming you and your family again soon.

Best regards
Lena Overbeck - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2018 via mobile

There are such a wide range of reviews here it's difficult to believe they are the same hotel. There are elements of both I can vouch for.

For the record, we were here for 10 days with our three year old and baby.

POSITIVES:
The pool area is lovely with three pools. The massive one is freezing but you get used to it, the smaller one is warmer but overcrowded due to it the heat, and the kids pirate pool is good. Although a bit isolated.

The rooms are freshly decorated and cleaned daily, although bed sheets are only replaced every five days.

Animation staff are excellent. The young chap and girl were superb at the kids disco.

As a Brit who doesn't like being surrounded by loud Brits abroad, there was a nice mix here. A lot of Spanish, German, Russian and Belts provided a nice atmosphere and mix.

THE NEGATIVES:
FOOD.
Oh dear. The restaurant. How anyone can describe the food here as great is beyond me. It simply isn't. Imagine staff canteen with a nice salad bar and you'd not be far off. The repetition is really poor. Every night no matter what the theme there was spaghetti Bolognese. There was also chips. Our family aren't mad on seafood/fish so we struggled a lot, especially at lunch. At each sitting only five or so meals are getting changed (not including the Bolognese or chips..) and for kids the selection is quite poor. On Italian night for example there was no lasagne, pasta bake, garlic bread, and only two types of pizza. Oh, and chips.

Despite claims to the contrary, some of the food is borderline cooked. The sausages at breakfast were more than a tad pink inside, and we suffered from it. Believe me. Food choices are odd as well, boiled eggs in a tomato sauce for example.

If you're used to buffet eating on a cruise for example, you be disappointed. Just isn't that good, but you get what you pay for.

ROOMS
sleeping here is like trying to get a kip while holidaying on the sun. No air conditioning and the fan on the ceiling is nothing but an ornament. The useless minifridge is just that. Opening the window did nothing other than let ants into the room.

CLEANLINESS
on the whole the place was fairly clean. The room for example was spotless. However, in the main hotel toilets I regularly saw cockroaches, while in the restaurant I pointed one out to a waiter during a busy lunch service who looked at me funny, stamped on it then left it's corpse lying on the floor. Yummy.

STAFF
Not the best. Waiting staff in the restaurant are slow and not overly friendly (barring one young lady who I didn't catch the name of), reception and bar not much better. On two occasions our free Jet2 bus to aqualand didn't turn up we weren't offered an an apology or a free taxi.

MAIN ENTERTAINMENT
starts too late. Kids dead on their feet by 9.30 so didn't get to see it once.

VERDICT
Saw someone say this should be higher than a 3 star. Would suggest they've never stayed in a 4 star. No air con, below par restaurant and lack of overly friendly staff certainly don't point to that. On the plus side, room is clean, pool is big and it's not far to main attractions.

Would I stay here again? Get me an AC unit, a smile and some decent food and I'll think about it...

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Scott_Mullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Mirador Maspalomas by Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2018

Dear client,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel Dunas Mirador**** and for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor. Your words are an important source of information for us in order to further improve our hotel.

We regret that you did not enjoy your holiday to its fullest. It is our main goal that every guest has the most amazing holidays within our resort. Further, we have taken notes of your annotations and our board of management has been informed, we will check into the matter deeply but we can assure that all our food is prepared according to all the hygienic an safety rules, and registered.

We would like to thank you again for helping us and we all hope that you had a safe flight back home.

Best regards

Angela Magni
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2018

Just spent one week at this hotel, it's a little out of the way but the views are great. A couple of supermarkets near the hotel, and a nice chinese restaurant at the side of the hotel. A taxi rank just over the road, the taxi's are cheep 4uros to Playa Del Ingles. The hotel is very clean and well looked after most staff are very polite and helpful the only rude member of staff I encountered was in the restaurant show cooking area, too much trouble to be polite she was. The hotel food was a little bland and not very appealing to my taste buds, so I ate out quite a bit, wish I had'nt gone A/I now.

Room tip: Pick a high floor facing the valley, lovely views
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
Thank anth0nyashleyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Mirador Maspalomas by Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2018

Dear guest,

thank you for chose Hotel Dunas Mirador for your holidays and for your mark, too.

We are glad to know that you were satisfied with our team and the services we offer at the hotel. As well, we took note of your comments in order to improve, in one hand, the services provided and, in the other hand, our guest's satisfaction because it is very important to us.

We are looking forward to see you in Hotel Dunas Mirador on your next holidays.

Best regards.

Dayron Díaz
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 10 days in June, had a fantastic time.
Food was good and varied each night, staff were friendly and made the experience good. Entertainment team were excellent and cannot fault them one bit.

HOWEVER - pool staff were awful and rude. Left towels alone for a short amount of time to go to the room to fetch something and they had packed them away along with my partners clothes. As well as this, they disposed of two inflatables (having been told by other hotel guests) which we had bought, costing €20 each. I asked where they had put them and they told me to go away and look which I found extremely rude.

Ps. Fantastic hotel, just be weary about leaving inflatables and towels unattended for a short amount of time as the lifeguards will take them away and won’t help you get them back afterwards.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Mirador Maspalomas by Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2018

Dear Ryan,

thank you very much for your visit and for taking your time to share your valuable opinion with us.
We are happy to hear that you spent a great time in our hotel Dunas Mirador and that you were satisfied with our food, the work of our staff and the entertainment team.
However we deeply want to apologize for the situation with the lifeguards. We took note of this incidence and we will do our best that such a situation will not happen again.
We hope you had a safe flight back home and would be glad welcoming you again in our hotel.

Best regards
Lena Overbeck - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2018 via mobile

Great holiday with family of 4. The kids pool is a real asset and plenty of food options for fussy eaters! Kids disco is good too. Only negative is the sun beds issue, hard to find around the main pool, so many reserved but not used. Would recommend.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Adventure678413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Mirador Maspalomas by Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel Dunas Mirador for your holiday in Spain and thank you very much for taking your time to share your valuable opinion with us.

We are delighted to hear that you had a great time at our hotel. We are happy that you were satisfied with our pool area for kids and our variety of food in our Restaurant.

However we also took note of your criticism about the sun beds issues in order to improve our guest satisfaction in furthers holidays in our Hotel Dunas Mirador Maspalomas.

Thank you very much again.

Kind Regards,
Dayron Díaz - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews