We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,308)
Filter reviews
1,312 results
Traveler rating
440
476
229
99
68
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
440
476
229
99
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ceiling fan animation team pool bar no air con block c family holiday outdoor stage free bus self service foam party mini disco salad chinese night kids pool hot dogs chicken nuggets lovely hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
501 - 506 of 1,312 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2018

Made my reservation directly thought oficial website.
At checkin i was charged the correct amount. Got my pool view room but my request for a king size bed was not fullfiled. Got a possibility to change next day to a standart view room with big bed but we decided to keep the same room the entire stay. Was acceptable, the hotel was almost fully booked ‘cause was Carnival week (yes, in Gran Canaria Carnival Weekend were 10th and 11st March)
Reception Staff was very welcoming and helpfully.
Our Room was on 3rd floor above reception with a great view and far for the noisy pool bar. No air conditioning, only a single speed roof fan.
There was an acceptable entertainment agenda. We always avoid the pool entertainment because of the loud music. We were here for resting. But childrens were entertained giving their parents a bit of peace while enjoying a nice drink.
Very satisfied about breakfast. Lots of breads, standart pastry, sliced fruits (whole fruits only on lunch/dinner). Coffee was very good until they replaced the coffee machines, both of them very slow and there are always queue for them. Staff very busy but professionals. I must highlight Mrs Marie always happy and greeting all guests while making the best fried eggs.
Lunch and Dinner was a Ok Plus!, 1 fish and 1 meat in show cooking and another in buffet. Only the first dinner was not good, something not really fresh made us go to toilet several times that night. Puddings and other sliced deserts was not good, fruits and 4 flavours ice cream by scoop with topping saved the deserts.
White/red/rose wine all taped and almost impossible to drink. Sangria only in pool bar and with a lot of ice was acceptable. Beer I suppose that was “San Miguel” much much better than “Tropical” beer.
Drinks are served by automatic machines. A lot of soft drinks and even water is served like beer. In pool bar some local alcoholic drinks (gin, vodka, whisky, licors) are included. Those most famous drinks (Johnny Walker, Baileys, Tanqueray) are not included and only available in “cash bar”.
Staff in Pool bar Ok! Greetings for Ruben and the long curly hair girl very welcoming and greeting (sorry forgot your name)
Hotel location is not the best. Almost nothing to do nearby. But 3 buses times to go and return to Maspalomas beach and cheap taxi is good to go everywhere. Nearby the Municipal Market to be visited Sundays and Wednesdays (20 min foot) and the Holiday World Carousel park (20 min foot). There is 2 public courts (football and basketball) 2 minutes from hotel.
Hotel provides a free car park about 50 meters. Always got a place except on Carnival night. Car rental is very cheap, 120 euros full CDW a week for a VW Up. Rent one in advance online and discover this beautiful island.
And I satisfied? YES Would I return? YES

Room tip: Avoid rooms facing highway,
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank N-Ramos99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Mirador Maspalomas by Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2018

Dear N-Ramos99,

thank you very much for your stay in our hotel Dunas Mirador and for your detailed comment. We really appreciate the time you invested in writing this detailed comment. So thank you very much! We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you liked the island. Especially we are happy to hear that you were satisfied with the work of our staff and the breakfast. However we also took note of your criticism to improve in the future. Concerning the non local alcoholic drinks, they are included in All Inclusive GOLD (upgrade).

Again, thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us so we can develop our services.

We hope you had a safe flight back and we are looking forward to welcoming you as our guests again!

Best regards

Lena Overbeck - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2018 via mobile

Nothing much around the hotel but Taxi and buses are cheap enough when you venture out. Food was tasty , No additional potato options other than chips! not a lot of choice for children either,my kids lived on pasta for the week. We were a family group who wanted to sit together most of the time but we were told off if we put extra chairs at the table. One occasion we were ushered out to the conservatory and it was freezing so wr ended up leaving our meal as a few of us were dithering it was that cold.
Reception staff all very helpful.
Bar staff miserable ! Had to pay for Bailey's and it wasn't the real thing even though it came out of a Bailey's bottle it was a cheap version!!
Though on a positive note the Animation team worked so hard keeping everyone entertained and we loved the Grease night !!...well done.
Not enough to do once the club closes however we found ourselves going to bed by 11!! As they throw you out to the outside bar were it's cold and everyone is smoking. My balcony overlooked the bottle bins and a motorway, wish I'd complained as it wasn't what I wanted for my 50th birthday.
Spaces between the sunbeds were shocking you actually had to crawl onto them not a pretty sight!
The rooms were cleaned daily and were spotless and the hotel in general extremely quite at night.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank roundersmcmuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Guest Relations Manager at Mirador Maspalomas by Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2018



Dear Sir/Madam, roundersmcmuffin

thank you for visiting us. We regret very much your negative evaluation, and that it has not been possible to fix your complaints during your stay. We would have been glad to offer a different room or to prepare something different to eat in case we would know about your dissatisfaction.

As to the Bailey's, it is not offered in the All In service, as advertised the All In is a selection of national and international drinks (not branded).

We thank you very much though for your feedback and take good note of your comments.

We apologize for inconveniences and hope to have the chance to satisfy you in the future.

Best regards,
Angela Magni
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2018

Krisy in reception was a lovely woman and extremely helpful. Had a room on the outside in a quieter part of the hotel. Food was varied but very continental. Supermarket around the corner and a free bus to the beach.

Date of stay: March 2018
1  Thank scol614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Mirador Maspalomas by Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2018

Dear scol614,

Thank you so much for your visit in our hotel Dunas Mirador and for your comment. We are happy to hear that you spent a great holiday among us and in the island and also that you appreciated the staff and all services offered. We hope you had a safe flight back.

We would be glad to welcoming once again among us.

Best regards.

Coralie Tricard - Guest relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2018 via mobile

We checked in to this hotel in the evening which was done very professionally, as my self im also a hotel receptionist. We were shown to our room on the third floor. Lift is rather small so I took the stairs which were fine. Hotel room was a family room and was a good size , larger balcony than expected and exceptionally clean and modern. There is no Aircon in the room which was annoying only a fan. Dinner and lunch was standard buffet style. Not much choice for English food however we tried a bit of everything but would be a problem for younger children who may be more fussy! Breakfast was little disappointing and was hard to find a table for 3 or 4 as most were tables for 2. We pulled a chair up against the table and got told off however what are you ment to do??. The deck chairs at the pool were always taken and reserved vert early in my opinion this should not be allowed! However was a lovely terrace which got the sun most of the day! The hotel is in the middle of nowhere only a couple of small shops. There is a shuttle bus that runs down to Maspalomas resort and beach which is handy however make sure your up early or the bus will be full! The cocktails were the worst! They come out of a vending machine! Not made at all and don't think they even have any alcohol in them. The wine is also on tap. And fresh juice also from a vending machine. The pool was a good size and there was entertainment on in the evening however didn't last that long. If you are heading by taxi it's about 4 - 6 euro to Maspalomas resort and the cabaret bars. Great night out. Can't complain much for the price we paid and It's a good place to stay if your on a budget and don't mind taking a taxi into the busier areas. All staff were very friendly and had a pleasant stay.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank DL-B278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Mirador Maspalomas by Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2018

Hello liamrb08,
thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your holidays and for your detailed comment. We really appreciate the time you invest in writing this comment. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay among us. Especially we are happy to hear that you liked our reception staff and our rooms. However we also took notice of your criticism concerning the drinks and the variety of food for english people, to improve in the future.
We hope you had a safe flight back and we would be glad welcoming you once again among us.
Best regards
Lena Overbeck - Guest relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2018 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here in January this year. I wasn't sure what to expect looking through mixed reviews. The hotel was lovely and clean. Food was OK. Beer tasted foul. Entertainment was rubbish... The worst I've ever seen. As it was January, only half of the pool side beds were being used and the animation team while walking on the shaded side looked like they couldn't be chewed. Also one of the team had only just Started and was painful to watch him trying to dance. I'm not normally one for complaining but the main entertainment was bad...a reptile show with a tortoise and two snakes which lasted about 15mins after which every one seemed to go to bed... Nothing worth staying up for. Loved Gran Canaria and would stay somewhere else if I went back.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank lynna103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Mirador Maspalomas by Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018

Dear Lynn A,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel Dunas Mirador Maspalomas*** for your holiday in Spain and for taking your time to share your valuable opinion with us.
We are sorry for your disappointment. We have taken note of your criticism especially concerning the animation team, to improve our services in the future.
Thank you for your positive comments about the cleanliness and the food.

We hope you will be able to visit us in the future again, and to get a better opinion of our hotel.
Best regards,

Lena Overbeck - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews