We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noise and noro virus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Ranked #63 of 218 Hotels in Maspalomas
Reviewed February 3, 2010

At first glance, this asthetically pleasing hotel looks everything a 4* hotel should be.
The rooms are the first indication that it is not what it seems. The rooms are big, but shabby and dated. The towels are a trendy deep blue, worrying when you think that dark blue cannot be hot washed or boiled! the dining room is huge, as is the infection of sickness and diarrhoea! it spread like wild fire throughout the hotel, there was nothing in place to prevent it. the food tastes the same no matter what it is, and the meat is of very poor quality. nothing is individually sealed and you see people picking up and replacing things, which in itself makes you feel ill, even before you contract the virus!
the walls of the rooms are paper thin and you are kept awake by all manner of noises, ranging from, people stomping the walkways, vomiting, flushing the toilets, shouting and tv's on. not one night did we sleep. i have written many reviews for hotel, and this is the first time i have nothing good to say, apart from the old adage, you get what you pay for! this was a cheap holiday, but you pay for it with noro virus and sleep deprivation.
The island is lovely, diverse and beautiful, the hotel was terrible and i wouldnt recommend it to anyone. there is a pharmacy next door to the hotel, perhaps this should have been a warning to us!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sueofkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,955 - 1,961 of 3,265 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2010

Just returned from a short stay at Dunas Mirador. We were very pleased with the hotel overall. Room was clean & comfortable and we were allocated a room on the 1st floor as i'd requested by email a few days before our stay.
The staff were all friendly and gladly answered any questions.
The food was ok. Breakfast was the usual cold meats & cheese, cereal, bacon, eggs, sausage and lots of bread & cakes. Dinner was a chioce of salads, meat dishes or fish. There was a pasta dish & a rice dish. Sweets were ice cream, sponge cake, jelly & friut. We also found we were able to have wine for free even though we had only booked half board.
The food may not have been to everyones taste but you have to remind yourself that you've only paid 3* prices so you won't get 5* food!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazwaz62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Dunas Mirador, for a week from 7 Jan. Rooms are standard stuff, twins pushed together to make "double", Bright & clean with a bath, soap only. Have to differ with some reviews as to staff. All staff that I met were extremely professional. Those guys really worked hard. If you took the time to give them a Hola, buonas dias/notchas, they were friendly as well.
The Hotel does have a courtasy bus to Maspalomas beach but the last bus leaves before Lunch and the first back is after lunch so if you are all inclusive you lose out. It is located on top of a long steep hill 2nd gear job, I wouldn't like to walk it. If you hire a car the Mirador is perfect, good location just off the motorway and about 3 miles to he beach. The only downside is that parking is at a premium.
Best go all inclusive as there is not a lot of bars or resturants around locally. Food was excellent with great variety. However all inclusive drinks were served only at the pool bar (plastic cups) which stoped at 22.30 sharp. A.I.s had to Q (up to 20 at closing) at the back of the bar. Then the entertainment started at 22.30 in the Lounge Bar, full price.
I strongly feel, that the hotel should do something, to address the two tier effect of the bar system. It caused some residents to refer to it as a factory.
All in all it was very good value, good hotel with very hard working staff. Would consider it again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank egetilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

THE HOTEL & ROOM:
The hotel is very big, with two pools. It was very clean and the room I stayed in was quite large, pretty standard- but again, kept clean.
The rooms don't have fridges, which is bad if you want to keep water, because it gets very warm, very quickly. Also, no hairdryer, which I guess isn't essential, but it's something I could have done with.
I asked for a double room, and had two single beds pushed together, which isn't great for a couple.
If you ask for a seaview, beware of the main road, which is very close and is quite noisy! But then, I wouldn't want to overlook the pools!
The staff in the hotel were OK, not too friendly, but not awful either.

HOTEL LOCATION:
If, like me, you like to explore your surroundings, this hotel isn't great. It's right at the top of Maspalomas, with nothing behind it apart from roads and it's really far from the beach, and there aren't really any nice local restaurants or cafes nearby. There is a Chinese next door, but the food isn't good and it's expensive.

HOTEL FOOD:
If you're not all-inclusive, you only get offered overly-sweet squash type juices, warm water, or tea/ coffee for breakfast - All from machines. Nothing fresh. For dinner, it is only water- but you get ice-cubes!
There is a good variety of food on offer, but apart from the meat, it is generally the same. The bacon in the morning is disgusting- basically greasy strips of fat with about 5mm of meat.
The dining experience as a whole is bad- no atmosphere at all. It's just like a heaving canteen, and the staff aren't friendly. We went half board, just to save some pennies, but having to go back for dinner was quite restricting.

OTHER FACILITIES:
We're not the type of couple that like to spend too much time in a hotel, so I can't really comment on anything.... We avoided the pool (lots of rude Germans), and pool bar because it was constantly full of tanked up Brits getting their free alcohol.
The hotel does provide a free bus to and from the beach, which was great- takes about 10 minutes. Very reliable.
Otherwise you have to use taxis. Don't get the hoelt to order you a taxi- they don't turn up! Go out the hotel, turn left and across the roundabout there is a taxi rank. To get to the beacj is about 3.50 euros.

OVERALL:
It was OK, not bad- but I wouldn't stay there again. If I had to stay there again, I would only stay B+B, have extra spending money and hire a car.

The beach are is lovely, lots of restaurants/ cafes/ bars, but a bit pricey. The dunes are lovely, but lots of nudists! Puerto De Mogan is lovely, get the bus from Faro Maspalomas, and definitely take trip into the mountains, it's beautiful.
Also Aqualand is great fun, but expensive... and annoyingly, when you get in (after paying 25 euros each, and 6 euros for a locker) there are signs everywhere saying "Get your return ticket today for only 8 euros and get a free sunbed!"

I would go to Gran Canaria again, fantastic weather in January! But I wouldn't stay at the Dunas Mirador, unless there was absolutely nothing else!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

"the all inclusive makes you feel like the poor people staying in the hotel if you want a drink you have to use the pool bar outside i thought all inclusive meant use what you like as you have a band on your wrist. Shame about the large pool not being heated as it wasnt used much obviously the time of year we went probably more used in the summer. None of the staff smiled apart from reception they were very helpful, found out that apparently milk was not included in the pool bar all inclusive after asking at reception found it was so had an argument with bar staff. Rooms were fine and chamber maids very helpful tiles on the floor all around hotel very slippery my wife slipped down stairs. We were delayed due to snow overnight i phoned through to the hotel to say we were delayed when we arrived we were shocked to find that they had let our rooms to someone else as they didnt know we were coming but they moved us rooms the day after"

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingcol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

Stayed here from 08/01/10 to 18/01/10 with my Wife and two young boys aged 3 and 1 years old. Hotel is very clean, our romm was very nice and cleaned every day apart from 3 days out of 10 to a high standard. The food offered a wide variety and was very nice and well prepared and kept topped up and clean at all times.
The staff were well presented and friendly and well mannerd and always smiling, the entertainment team were fantastic with our boys and gave 110% effort.
The all inclusive beer was San Miguel and was very nice and cool i sampled the Vodka and the Bacardi and they were fine and given in generous measures all soft drinks were branded like Pepsi etc. In 10 days i saw not one Cockroach only a few ants
This is a very busy Hotel and is well managed and maintained, we would go back anytime, We had many great meals at lunch and at Dinner in the restaurant.
You will not be dissapointed if you stay here.
My advice is to ignore all the negative stuff below, and just to add all inclusive guests were allowed to sit anywhere in the dining room and were not traeted any different and no one used the Lobby bar in the reception area, all a load of rubbish by people with nothing better to do but pick faults.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hundith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2010

We only wanted a hotel that was cheap and in fairness to the Mirador it was cheap. It was cleanish, I think they could do better. Cockroaches seen in dining area many times during our stay! Food very basic - all in all a bit like a transport cafe. Maid service poor, they do not clean very well and on Sundays and Thursday no maid service at all in the rooms, so you have to make your own bed!! Outside area by pool kept well and along with the plants and borders. Pool clean. Pool Bar - watered down drink! don't bother going - there is a nice little German bar round the corner which serves good drink and they are friendly, unlike the rude bar man at the pool. If you are looking for a cheap holiday then definitely a place to go - otherwise DON'T BOTHER.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bronzekitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
1.3 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
5,533 reviews
3.6 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
1.2 mi away
eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado
eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado
#60 of 218 in Maspalomas
1,096 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canary Garden Club
Canary Garden Club
#18 of 218 in Maspalomas
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunas Mirador Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunas Mirador Maspalomas

Address: Calle Einstein s/n, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 218 Hotels in Maspalomas
Price Range: $119 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunas Mirador Maspalomas 3*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The varied entertainment program for all ages and its spacious double and family rooms make this the ideal place to make the most of every minute of a family holiday. Located in Sonnenland (Maspalomas), there is a free shuttle bus service to the beach several times a day. Relax in the jacuzzi between 2 swimming pools and let us keep your family amused with our extensive entertainment program. This hotel is ideal for families or couples seeking a fun place to be and who want to enjoy the day with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dunas Mirador Maspalomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas Hotel Maspalomas
Dunas Mirador Hotel Maspalomas
Maspalomas Dunas Mirador Hotel
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing