We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Break!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Ranked #61 of 217 Hotels in Maspalomas
England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Family Break!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I very rarely write reviews on here but always read them. However I felt I had to write one in defense of this hotel, especially as I nearly changed my booking due to them.
We found this to be a great family holiday. The hotel is spotlessly clean, food was good, and we had a lovely time.
We returned yesterday from a break from 1-8 Jan 2014, 2 adults, 2 children ages 3, 5. We had a lovely room, facing the pool with a sunny balcony D211. Temp between 20-25 degrees.
We normally stay in 4/5 star hotels so I had low expectations but the hotel exceeded them!
The breakfast was lovely - great breads, doughnuts, cereals, eggs omlettes and pancakes freshly made to order. Every lunch and dinner there was a freshed cooked meat or fish. We are fussy eaters but always found something to eat.
The bedroom was very clean, beds comfy, pillows fine.
No the pool isnt heated so most people go in the little pool or jacuzzi. We preferred to spend 4 euros and grab a cab to the beach.
Cabs were readily available and cheap.
The football teams that arrived were impeccably behaved and did not bother anyone.
Yes drinks from the pool bar came in a plastic cup but I could live with that. Wine at dinner and tea/coffees were all served in glass/ china.
Our children enjoyed the mini disco of an evenin, the animation team were always very fun and energetic and we watched the shows on a couple of evenings, otherwise we were happy to grab a drink and sit on our balcony.
The hotel could provide a more secure kids club that books children in/out and does not have an open door policy, which meant I was not happy to leave my children there as they were too young to not be appropriately suppervised. That said we happily went to the beach as a family instead.
The sound proofing of corridors/ rooms was not great and did wake me occasionally but I could live with it.
We also booked massgaes for 29 euros each for 55 minutes that were fantastic!
The reception desk were always helpful and accomodating, moving our room after 2 nights so we could have a sunny balcony in block D.
For what we paid (approx £400 total for the week AI for 4 people, not incl flights, transfers) we were very happy and would consider returning.
Thi is a good 3 star hotel, go enjoy yourselves!!!!

Room Tip: Go for D Block pool view in the winter as the rooms have the sun all day on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EnglandCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Gerente at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to hear, that you are a regular guest at Dunas Mirador and that you enjoyed your holiday in our hotel as all the years before.

We will pass on all your congratulations to our hard working staff.

We also thank you for your criticism, we always take these comments very seriously, because they help us very much to improve our service in the future. Our goal is to offer the best holiday experience possible to all our guests.

We are looking forward to your next stay in our hotel and we also thank you for your comment on tripadvisor.

Antonio Cabrera
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    1,174
    707
    228
    174
See reviews for
1,086
1,209
82
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brussels
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We spent 3 days at this hotel just before New Year then happily checked out.

Too many shortcomings not addressed by their invisible management:

- Swimming pool is advertised as heated but it's NOT it's freezing cold. Hotel management are fooling their guests!
- Rooms are well cleaned however noisy (next to highway) and dated
- Restaurant is a big cantine no charm chaotic. Food is very basic no variety at all limited choices.
- Hotel is isolated hence All in hotel about 3km from Maspalomas beach -> taxi required
- Most of sunbeds are reserved, towels 1 Euro/day not All In
- WIFI 6 Euro/day was working well
- Hard beds

Sorry we won't return.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room far away from the highway and with swimming pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank domc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Gerente at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor.
We regret to know that you were not fully satisfied with our hotel. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences regarding your staying with us, and thank you for the feedback, as negative impressions also help us to improve. Nevertheless we remember that we offer a free shuttle bus to maspalomas every day in the week six times a day.

Kind Regards

Antonio Cabrera
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Maspalomas hotels

Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

although clean with comfy beds this hotel is way out of resorte,you could stand outside the hotel in the clouds and see the sun shine way down on the beach.courtesy bus always full unless you queued for at least 20 mins.sunbed so close together you couldnt get your foot between them them. no comfy bar to sit in if you were all inclusive you hod to go to pool bar and have your drinks in paper cups and have smokers puffing all around you. entertainment was rubbish when there was any on.there is a nice little village just up past the new shopping centre onother side of motorway very local if you like that sort of thing. would not visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALL376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Gerente at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear guest,

With reference to your comments about our hotel Dunas Mirador first we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. We appreciate your comments with its clarity and objectivity, which help us in the process of continuous improvement of our service. We regret that we could not satisfy you with our hotel.

Best regards

Antonio Cabrera
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We holidayed here Dec 1st to 8th. I went with a fair degree of intrepidation after all of the reviews I had read prior to leaving for 'a bit of winter sun'. We normally holiday in 4 or 5 star hotels and so didn't expect much but it would do especially for the price paid. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. So much so I have to be defensive on behalf of the hotel.
Upon arrival we were met with a very warm welcome from the reception staff. The lady in question (I wish I'd taken notice of her name) was very helpful and have a good impression of what we were about to enjoy. Although we hadn't paid for a pool view, this is what we got, and what a lovely feel it gave to be able to go out of the balcony and take in the intimate nature of the hotel. The firmness of the beds is just right (the pillows could be thicker but this was soon rectified). The rooms are quite large and when looking out at 9 a.m. every morning there were still plenty of sunbeds available. Did I go to a different hotel?
I don't know where the suggestion that there is only one fish dish and one meat dish should originate from. While there we enjoyed 3 meat and sometimes 2 fish on a few of the 7 nights. Also it wasn't just pork or chicken as had previously been stated. There was lamb, beef and even goat. Canarian cuisine was also fairly well represented. The only thing I will say is the quality of the ingredients could have been a little better but again it must be remembered that this is a 3 star hotel sold at a very good price.
My daughter is absolutely delighted that we are going back this December as she fell in love with the animation team (particularly Niek and Eva). They were fantastic and genuinely loved the children. She was a little disappointed however that Angela in the kids club was rather stand offish. Not at all what one would expect from someone whose purpose is to entertain children in an environment whereby the kids will be wanting a 'friend'. The entertainment every night ranged from very funny/enthusiastic in house shows to reasonable 'professional' acts. Also the whether the heated pool is suitable for swimming in depends upon the hardiness of the swimmer. My daughter wouldn't swim in there but then it does have to be like a bath for her. There were quite a few children and a couple of adults in they're everyday.
So if anybody has booked and is worrying because they have read very damming reports my advice, from our experience, don't worry, go and enjoy yourselves but bear in mind that it is not 4 or 5 star.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank marcoxl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Gerente at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for evaluating our hotel on tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that you have had such a nice and relaxing holiday in our hotel. We will pass on your congratulations to our staff, because good feedback is the best motivation for us. Thank you for your nice comments on the hotel, we are very pleased if our customers are satisfied. Evaluations such as yours help us to maintain and improve the standards in our hotel continuously. Thank you very much.
We hope you will visit us again.


Antonio Cabrera
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Prior to visiting the Dunas Mirador I checked a lot of the reviews on Trip and it seemed as people either loved it or hated it and after being there I can see where the divide could come from. It is very much a family resort and there are people on hand during the day and at night to ensure that the kids are happy and active, which gives the mums and dads some free time to relax. If however, like myself you go as a couple then it can get a bit noisy around the pool and especially at night in the entertainment block. The food again is very much aimed at families and it is set up and ran more like a canteen than a restaurant, there was always something I could eat but found most of it very bland. The hotel and rooms were clean and staff were all very friendly and helpful especially those on the bar who were very quick, efficient and poured some of the largest measures I have ever had. The drawback is it’s a fair distance from the beach and main resort but there is an hourly bus if you want to go. The sand dunes are a must but beware you do pass in front of a nude and gay beach to get to them, this will open your eyes but not always in a good way. The problem with being so far out is that there is not much to do around the hotel in the way of entertainment and you would have to get a taxi. I would not have liked to be in the hotel on anything other than all inclusive. There are 2off good size pools with sunbeds all around which are crushed together and again adds to the general noise. The problem when we were there was only half the beds can be used because the hotel shadows the other half, this might be different at other times of the year. Overall for the price at the New Year period I enjoyed the week and feel that it is a good family hotel but could be improved for people without children if there was a adults only bar or area and perhaps a proper restaurant with a smaller choice but more local flavours.

Room Tip: We got a pool view room in block A which at this time of the year got the Sun in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank furryboots123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Gerente at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Dunas Mirador guest,

Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor.
We regret to know that you were not fully satisfied with our hotel. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences regarding your staying with us, and thank you for the feedback, as negative impressions also help us to improve.
Should you decide to visit us again in the future, we will be pleased to welcome you in our hotel.

Kind Regards

Antonio Cabrera
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at hotel and was pleasantly surprised quick check in, big clean room E402 (no sun on balcony )but quiet at night ... Food was great plenty of choice and fresh, we were there when footballers were there and they were no problem really enjoyed our stay but having to travel everyday in a taxi to go to maspalomas or playa deli gas was a bit much at 4€ to 5€ a time yes there is a free bus during day but not at night brill hotel just to far out...

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank luca4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Gerente at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to hear, that you enjoyed your holiday in our hotel.

We will pass on all your congratulations to our hard working staff.

We also thank you for your criticism, we always take these comments very seriously, because they help us very much to improve our service in the future. Our goal is to offer the best holiday experience possible to all our guests.

We are looking forward to your next stay in our hotel and we also thank you for your comment on tripadvisor.

Antonio Cabrera
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

First off all I would like to inform you this is our 4th time at this hotel and meets all the standards for a 3 star hotel .I often think reading some reviews that some people have been at different hotel for one review said they only got fish or chicken .While I was there I eat Lamb, Steak, Roast Beef.Roast Pork ,Pork Chops,and various other meats so to say they only had fish or chicken I would not agree ,I also wonder how they thought the need for a other bar as the service at the bar was 1st class and you did not have to wait any time to get served .All the staff work very hard and the hotel is keep clean at all areas .If people find issues to complain about this hotel they would be better looking for a 5 star and pay for 5 star . I would return to this hotel without any hesitation .Thank you for a lovely holiday .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank laichpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Gerente at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to hear, that you are a regular guest at Dunas Mirador and that you enjoyed your holiday in our hotel as all the years before.

We will pass on all your congratulations to our hard working staff.

Our goal is to offer the best holiday experience possible to all our guests.

We are looking forward to your next stay in our hotel and we also thank you for your comment on tripadvisor.

Kind Regards

Antonio Cabrera
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
1.3 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,760 reviews
0.6 mi away
Koala Garden Suites
Koala Garden Suites
#178 of 217 in Maspalomas
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
#30 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,620 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
#55 of 217 in Maspalomas
1,976 reviews
2.7 mi away
Beverly Park Hotel
Beverly Park Hotel
#119 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunas Mirador Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunas Mirador Maspalomas

Property: Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Address: Calle Einstein s/n, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 217 Hotels in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunas Mirador Maspalomas 3*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The varied entertainment program for all ages and its spacious double and family rooms make this the ideal place to make the most of every minute of a family holiday. Located in Sonnenland (Maspalomas), there is a free shuttle bus service to the beach several times a day. Relax in the jacuzzi between 2 swimming pools and let us keep your family amused with our extensive entertainment program. This hotel is ideal for families or couples seeking a fun place to be and who want to enjoy the day with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunas Mirador Maspalomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas Hotel Maspalomas
Dunas Mirador Hotel Maspalomas
Maspalomas Dunas Mirador Hotel
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing