We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IF YOU WANT PASSIVE SMOKING THIS IS THE HOTEL FOR YOU”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Ranked #64 of 218 Hotels in Maspalomas
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Just returned from a weeks holiday at the Dunas Mirador on 28th November. The plus points were rooms are a good size and beds were very comfortable. The downsides were numerous.One of the pools was advertised as heated, I am sure that there was a trickle of hot water in it some where but it was freezing. We went to this hotel as it advertised a heated pool, swimming is important to us on holiday.and we were so disappointed that the pool was so bitterly cold. Everyone smokes everywhere. No staff ask visitors to put out their cigarettes. Poeple smoke in all areas apart from inside the building. So you can be sitting in the restaurant and the smoke wafts in from outside and is quite overpowering. I did complain to the Thomas Cook rep who told me to complain to the hotel staff and they would ask the guests to stop smoking.I would not return here ever again. We found the staff uninterested in us . We were all inclusive.

Room Tip: We had a room in D block on the top floor. It did not overlook the pool but the sun shone on the bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HeatherBishopton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Gerente at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Dunas Mirador guest,

Thank you very much for evaluating our hotel on TripAdvisor.
We regret to know that you had not a satisfying holiday in our hotel.
We would like to apologize for the inconveniences regarding your staying with us, and thank you for the feedback, as negative impressions also help us to improve, specially our service and staff quality.

Kind regards

Antonio Cabrera
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,246 - 1,252 of 3,228 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed here as a couple late November.
Hotel is fine with daily room service. We stayed in Block E over reception (Room 203) which was perfect as it had a pool view.

Restaurant food is okay (plenty of choice and two dishes cooked freshly every night) and you will never go hungry but it did get a bit repetitive towards the end of the week.

Pool bar food was burgers, hot dogs, pizza and salads mostly with sandwiches and cake when it finished at 4pm-tried it once and was fine.

Entertainment staffs were great and tried to get everyone involved.

Restaurant staffs were also excellent considering it was so busy-I think 1000 people for the first 3 nights we stayed.

Pool Bar staff-for the most part excellent (Mario, Pedro, Gustavo and 1 more whose name I forget) always remembering what you drink with a smile. There was however 2 sullen gentlemen who will remain nameless and were very unhelpful. The pool bar really needs some night-time entertainment-The hotel bar which wasn't covered under all inclusive had a singer every night and really this should be brought to the pool bar. A very good choice of drinks here-mostly local however you can upgrade to branded for €8 a day.

The hotels clientele at our time of staying were mostly older couples with the occasional young family and a few groups of early 30's. We were lucky to meet a lovely couple from Leeds who we spent most of our days with and really enjoyed the company (John and Elma)
Also met a fine gentleman from Scotland called Les (I think a few people will remember him) who when he had a grip on reality (between 8 and 11am) was a really nice man.

The area itself I cannot really comment on as we mostly stayed around the hotel. Headed into Playa Del Ingles a few nights and was loads going on around the Yumbo centre.

Would I go back?-Yes if I got a similar deal. We paid €289 each all inclusive. That's an unbeatable price for what we got.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Dunas Martin C Ireland,

Thank you for evaluating our hotel on TripAdvisor.
We regret that you were not fully satisfied with our hotel and would like to apologize for the that regarding your staying with us.

Furthermore we would like to thank you for mentioning also positive impressions about our hotel. We always take these comments very seriously because positive comments as well as criticism help us to improve our service constantly.

We would be grateful to see you again at our hotel!

Kind regards

Antonio Cabrera
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Late booked bargain 12 days at the beginning of November. Facilities were exactly as described, the food was fair better than expected. Snacks are fair better than others we have had, freshly cooked all day. Night time entertainment was at its best poor.We had a room above the main entrance which gave the sun in a morning and made it cooler later, no air con was not a problem at this time of year but would be in the summer. Basically we had a b&b break that cost £125 a day in Dublin and here we had a 12 days in the sun for £40 a day in the sun. Hotel is what it is.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Gerente at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for your time and for your positive comment on the web. Our goal is to keep our guests satisfied, and we are happy we could do that with you. We are glad you enjoyed our food and services, and that you could find us as a good value for money.

Me and my team hope to see you soon again in our house,

best regards,

Antonio Cabrera

Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is the fourth time we have stayed at this hotel and it is very good value for money. We arrived back in UK on Monday 25th after a week and had a really good holiday. There were a few problems at the hotel when we first arrived as they had just had an influx of 300 Norwegians booking in and the computer system had gone into overdrive so we had to wait a couple of hours for a room but as the sun was out and the food and drink was free it was not much hardship. The hotel staff and Manager, Angela, were quick to apologise and did their best to get us settled as soon as possible and gave us a free safe, free hairdryer and free spa treatment to recompense us for the wait. The staff are always polite and helpful in all areas. Cant agree with previous reviewer regarding food, we have always found plenty to choose from and it is always hot and tasty and varied. My only moan would be about the shortage of fresh fruit but otherwise the food is good. I would agree about the noise levels, this has not happened on our previous visits but there were nearly 1000 guests on site that week, including the Norwegian party so it was inevitable. Think the restaurant staff, chefs and waiting on, did extremely well. There was a problem getting seats at pool bar this trip due to AGAIN the Norwegians, they were accordion bands on a tour and insisted on playing every night which became monotonous, and of course the whole party wanted seats ! They were noisy and rude but that is not the hotels' fault and they cannot be blamed. Our beds and towels were changed everyday and our room was spotlessly cleaned every day, absolutely no complaints there. We paid £350 for a week all inclusive, we had good flights, good food in a pleasant clean hotel and plenty of lovely sunshine, I am not sure you could get much better value all in all and not sure what some people expect for that sort of price.

Room Tip: The best blocks to go in are A and B as they get evening sun on balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenny h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Gerente at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

me and my team wish to thank you for letting us know about your experience with us. It is much to our pleasure that we acknowledge that, in spite of a bad start, we have been able to fix it, I will pass your regards to Angela, our Guest Relation and Reception manager, and the rest of our collegues involved in making the rest of your stay enjoyable and comfortable. It is actually our policy to apologize if something goes wrong and find a solution as soon as possible.

So, we hope to see you again in the future here, and that you might choose to spend your holidays here again with us, of course we will be very happy if this could happen.

Best regards,

Antonio Cabrera
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Where do we start, we arrived back in UK on Monday 25th Nov having spent the previous week at Dunas Mirador. On arrival we asked for the code for the room safe only to be told we had to pay 14.95euros for its use. We then found out that you also had to pay for the following,hair dryer,tv remote control and pool towels 10Euro deposit and 1 Euro per day. That's before we unpacked,we were advised to use bottled water and yes you have guessed you have to pay for it. Meal time in the all inclusive restaurant what a let down same choice every day, Luke warm food and the noise,don't try and have a conversation over the table it's impossible the noise is over powering. Like a drink you pay for your drinks in the lobby bar and at the pool bar they are free sit at the bar it's in a glass at a table it's in plastic container. Don't expect change of bedding and towels you ain't getting it. What a let down keep your money you would be better off holidaying elsewhere. Blonde beauty and Mr Beasty will certainly not be coming back.

Room Tip: Request pool view in Block A. Other blocks are over looking a motorway and busy roads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 1947BrianP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Gerente at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

first of all, we would like to thank you for your time spent in posting your comment on the web.

Actually, we are always thankful for the comments, either good or bad, because even critics are of a great help for us to know where we fail, and give us the possibility to fix it and improve.

At least, we must stress some points, e.g. safety box is not included as by catalogues and description, as well as the Lobby Bar, and glasses are not allowed by the Pool area included tables because of safety reasons.

In spite of this, we take good note of all the points you mention, and will do our best to improve them.

Best regards,

Antonio Cabrera
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Very Clean, Food good, not enought sunbeds in the sun and very close together but we had a enjoyable holiday would go back a little way from the beach but the bus was usefull , taxi back was only 4 euro's , no sky sport channel could do with a porter to help with cases,Bottom pool was heated the others were not , entertainment could be better still enjoyed it.Ask for the honey rum at the pool bar was lovely .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philipmanning001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Gerente at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor.

We are glad you find our honey - rum delicious :-), as well as the cleaning and the food!!

We are also aware that not all the points are positive for you, we will take care of your opinion in that case also, and will improve them as much as we can.

Hope to have the chance to receive you again in our house,

yours faithfully

Antonio Cabrera
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Food good , plenty of choice no problems over what to eat , would have liked Canarian potatoes more than just once in 10 days we were there, San Miguel beer on tap in restaurant and pool bar. Floor very slippy round the pool and sunbeds close together but overall pool area good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Havinafabtimejjjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Gerente at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

we appreciate your comment ant that you evaluate the hotel as not bad....we remind you that our hotel is quite big and have many guests, but we will take care of your impressions as we use to do with all our guests, and try to improve to their full satisfaction.

We hope to see you again here in the future, and give our best regards.

Antonio Cabrera
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
1.3 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#19 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
5,452 reviews
3.6 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
1.1 mi away
Cordial Green Golf
Cordial Green Golf
#47 of 218 in Maspalomas
1,597 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canary Garden Club
Canary Garden Club
#18 of 218 in Maspalomas
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunas Mirador Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunas Mirador Maspalomas

Address: Calle Einstein s/n, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 218 Hotels in Maspalomas
Price Range: $113 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunas Mirador Maspalomas 3*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The varied entertainment program for all ages and its spacious double and family rooms make this the ideal place to make the most of every minute of a family holiday. Located in Sonnenland (Maspalomas), there is a free shuttle bus service to the beach several times a day. Relax in the jacuzzi between 2 swimming pools and let us keep your family amused with our extensive entertainment program. This hotel is ideal for families or couples seeking a fun place to be and who want to enjoy the day with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dunas Mirador Maspalomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas Hotel Maspalomas
Dunas Mirador Hotel Maspalomas
Maspalomas Dunas Mirador Hotel
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing