We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“2 week relaxing break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dunas Mirador Maspalomas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Ranked #57 of 221 Hotels in Maspalomas
N ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“2 week relaxing break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

My husband and myself stayed here from 3rd - 17th Dec as a birthday and anniversary treat. We were given room C505, room was basic and overlooked a motorway so there was some noise constantly even with the balcony door closed. In hindsight we maybe should have asked to be moved but my hubby didnt like to be a pain or any trouble. I thought that maybe they were full as I had sent an email and my mum sent one regarding our anniversary but neither of us had a reply. Maids serviced rooms nearly everyday and were cleaned to a very high standard. There was only 2 english channels so dont worry bout a remote u wont get any extra with it.
Meals were of good quality and there was always something to eat. All inclusive in the pool bar were ok too, Barman Migel was very nice.
Near the hotel you have a chemist, chinese, spar, souvenier shot but for any more you need to go into the centre of maspalomas. We got the free bus down in one day but didnt stay long in the centre as it was full of people trying to sell timeshare and women trying to put stuff on you arms, got very annoying after a while.
Round the hotel was spotless and none of the staff were cheeky it just helped to tip the bar men now again.
Swimming pools were of a good size although nearly the whole of our 2nd week the large pool was being fixed so you only had access to the small pool.
Hotel entertainers work hard and evening entertainment was good.
3 days before we were due to leave 2 teenage basketball teams were put into our block. We ended up having to call reception on the 2nd night after their arrival as noise was ridiculous. It was dealt with and was quiet for the remainder of our stay.
This was my 1st visit to gran canaria as we always go to Lanzarote or Tenerife but I am not sure if we would return.
All in all we had a good holiday and had a nice rest.

Room Tip: C block odd numbers back onto motorway, can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sam28Nireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Asistente de Dirección at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear client,

thank you for your evalutaion on our hotel.
We are glad to read that you could relax in our hotel although there were a few things which did not work that good.

First we want to make sure that there is the possibility of getting a remote control at the reception without any extra cost.
We are sorry that there were some points which disturbed your holidays, e.g. the noisy room.
It would not have been aextra trouble for us to change the room.

We keep doing our best to make our guests have a nice stay at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas.

We would be happy to receive you again as our guests to show you our improvement and convince you of gran canaria.

Best regards and a happy new year 2013

Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Asistent Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    923
    531
    173
    133
See reviews for
779
932
63
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

After previously staying in Puerto Rico a few years back and hating it, I was a bit apprehensive when my partner told me he had booked for us to go to Gran Canaria again. We arrived on 13th December and had a fanastic week at the Dunas Mirador. As soon as we arrived we were very impressed with the reception area and the welcome from the staff. We stayed in Block D so had a lovely view of the whole resort and looking down towards Maspalomas. The room was nice, very clean although possibly could do with air conditioning in the height of summer. The swimming pools are brilliant and amongst the best I've seen at any resort I've stayed at. All the staff were very nice with the exception of a restuarant "manager" who wasn't very nice when I was explaining to him that a family had left their expensive camera behind after eating and I was concerned it would go missing but he shrugged his shoulders and said wasn't his problem. I do feel the evening entertainment could be improved as the hotel has a fantastic disco facility that is being badly underused with mediocre entertainment. Only nights we liked were the Spanish and Chinese acrobats. As for the food, it was basic and enjoyable in the main. Menus were varied enough to prevent things getting repetitive which is often the case with all inclusive.
As for what to do, Maspalomas is beautiful and a trip to the beach, lighthouse and sand dunes is highly recommended although beware the people trying to tie good luck bracelets on your wrists in exchange for Euros. We were also a stones throw from Playa de Ingles and enjoyed a couple of days/nights out at the various centres there. We booked through Thomas Cook so there were a lot of excursions to do and I would highly recommend the Canarian Combo day out which consists of a trip to see the dolphins, an off road jeep safari up the mountains then finishes with a visit to the camel farm.
We also went on the day trip to the Anfi timeshare resort which was fantastic until they told you how much they were looking for a 1 bedroom apartment. Still well worth going to see the resort though.
All in all we had a great week, weather was brilliant, hotel better than we thought and was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Asistente de Dirección at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for your nic3e comment and your positive evaluation.

We are glad to hear you have enjoied your stay in our hotel Dunas Mirador MAspalomas.
As we care about our guests opinion not only the positive words are important to us, we also try to improve our service by reading your suggestions.
Soon I will talk with the entertainment team and we will try to use our disco better.
I am sorry for the bad reaction you got from the restaurant manager.

We hope to welcome you again soon in our establishment.

Best regards and a merry christmas

Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The hotel was extremely clean and most of the staff were friendly; the rooms were spacious. The swimming pools were excellent.
The food was OK, however, there was not enough choice and after a few days it became very repetitive. We were all inclusive but some of the drinks behind the bar weren't free which was very disappointing. The lifts were extremely temperamental; our lift broke at least five times in the 2 weeks we were there!!
Finally, there wasn't enough to do for adults, there was a disco but the room had no air-con so after ten minutes it was so unbearable that we had to leave. There was quite a lot to do for the children though.
All in all a decent hotel but not one I would recommend during school holidays.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beck T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director General at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for evaluating and commenting on our establishment.

I regret that you have not passed your holidays the way you planned.
We are sorry that you could not enjoy the food and the drinks (inclusive the disco).
For us it is important to get to know your complaints. This helps us to improve and to fix problems.
I want to say sorry for the elevators, too.

Although, you would not recommend our hotel we would be happy to welcome you again in one of our Dunas Hotels.

Best regards and merry christmas

Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

When we first arrived at the hotel, myself and my mum were thinking what have we done as there is a chinese takeaway underneath 1 block and some shops and it looked a bit like it needed a renovate, however as soon as we stepped inside our opinion totally changed the foyer is massive and the pool area is gorgeous, the food was fabulous and great for people that like a mix of plain stuff and fancy food. The room was lovely and we had a pool view, the cleaning and towel changing wasn't so great. The hotel is quite unsuitable for inactive or disabled guests as we had 4 flights of stairs to our room and yes i had to drag my 3 suitcases up them without offer of help. The only other let down about this hotel is that the animation team, who were absolute rubbish, the shows in the evening were ridiculous unless you were 5 years old.

Room Tip: Get a pool room in any block apart from A unless u like the smell of the resturant and chinese drift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hdlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Recepción at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for taking your time to comment on our hotel.

We are glad to hear that you enjoied your vacacions in out establishment.
We have rooms for disabled guests available. If there is the need of one there is no problem for us to change it for you. These rooms are easy to reach because there are not just stairs.

We keep noticed your comment on the cleaning service and the towel changing.

We do our best in trying to improve and would be very happy to welcome you again in one of our Dunas Hotels.

Best wishes and merry christmas

Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

stayed here 3rd till 10th dec had a great time the hotel is keeped spotless . rooms are a good size cleaned to high standard.the pool is nice but abit on the cold side. food as said in other reviews is a good all inclusive hotel overall had a realy great stay all staff helpfull and pleasant great hotel i would recomend it

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alunrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director General at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear guest,

we would like to thank you for your really positive comment on our establishment.

We hope that you will recomend and come back to our hotel in your next holidays so that you can be sure to pass them relaxed and the same way like a few days ago.

Wishing you the best

Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a weeks holiday i was a bit worried after reading the reviews but i can honestly say people must moan for the sake of it! First of all the rooms 406 was very spacious and had a great shower very powerfull the maids were great rooms cleaned every day.The food was amazing something different every day steak,chicken,burgers,salads,pastas and all very tasty the 3 entertainers work very hard day and night the shows they done were good as for the dancers they were boring staff very friendly except one female on our last night in the disco bar who was very rude the hotel grounds pool areas were stunning plenty of sunbeds as its prob quiet at this time of year my only 2 negatives were the pool was very deep and me being a non swimmer could not take part in the aqua gym as no shallow end the other was location the hotel is on top of a massive hill and nothing near by but taxis are very cheap and a free bus daily to the beautiful beach we got a really good deal on this holiday and was better than i was expecting.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcgoldrickscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Recepción at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your nice comment and your obviously positive evaluation.

We are sorry that you could not participate on the aqua gym because of the deep pool.
As the pool is now in renovation maybe we can put a shallow end so that other people who are not able to swim can have fun in the pool, too.

We hope that our location is not a reason for not coming back because we are really looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel or in other of our Dunas hotels.

Best wishes

Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here last February. It was our first holiday abroad together without our children. We had a fantastic time, couldnt fault the hotel staff, everyone very friendly, Miguel made our evenings at the pool bar fun with his singing and couldnt have been more helpful. The first room we were given backed on to a busy road, block C I think,and the delivery lorry woke us up the first morning at silly o clock, but we asked to be moved and without any problems we were moved to block A which was much better and had a great view looking towards maspalomas dunes. I am a veggie and found something to eat each day, thought the breakfasts were really good, lots of choice. Hotel is away from everything but if you just want to relax in the sunshine then its perfect. We went to Maspalomas in the evenings, lots of nice shops and restaurants, and beautiful sunsets. We always got a sunbed by the pool, weather was fantastic, met lots of great people, and enjoyed it so much we are going back in January 2013. My only gripe is that I have emailed the hotel 3 or 4 times in the last few months to ask them if we can be in block A again, and possibly the same room and I havent had a response which isnt very good customer service, but other than that, no complaints!

Room Tip: Think Block C is quite noisy, try and get a room in one of the other blocks if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 29Poppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Recepción at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear guest,

it is great to here that you have enjoied your stay in february.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in our establishment.

We are sorry that we could not respond to your email.
We had to organize a few email accounts so that some of the sent emails could not reach the right destination.
I would recommend to write a last time directly to

recepcion_mirador@hotelesdunas.com

There will be no problems of answer.

Best regards

Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
1.2 mi away
Barcelo Las Margaritas
Barcelo Las Margaritas
#20 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 stars 2,905 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
0.1 mi away
Palm Oasis Maspalomas
Palm Oasis Maspalomas
#12 of 221 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 stars 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado
eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado
#58 of 221 in Maspalomas
3.5 of 5 stars 754 reviews
2.6 mi away
Beverly Park Hotel
Beverly Park Hotel
#80 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
3.0 of 5 stars 1,384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Turbo Club
Turbo Club
#75 of 221 in Maspalomas
3.5 of 5 stars 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunas Mirador Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunas Mirador Maspalomas

Property: Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Address: Calle Einstein s/n, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunas Mirador Maspalomas 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The varied entertainment program for all ages and its spacious double and family rooms make this the ideal place to make the most of every minute of a family holiday. Located in Sonnenland (Maspalomas), there is a free shuttle bus service to the beach several times a day. Relax in the jacuzzi between 2 swimming pools and let us keep your family amused with our extensive entertainment program. This hotel is ideal for families or couples seeking a fun place to be and who want to enjoy the day with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Dunas Mirador Maspalomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas Hotel Maspalomas
Dunas Mirador Hotel Maspalomas
Maspalomas Dunas Mirador Hotel
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing