We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely clean hotel but food became very annoying by the end of the week!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dunas Mirador Maspalomas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Ranked #57 of 221 Hotels in Maspalomas
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely clean hotel but food became very annoying by the end of the week!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We have just got back from a week long family holiday. Was a little concerned given some of the reviews on here but we had a lovely time. The hotel is quite a way out but we got the bus a couple of times and on other occasions walked into town and got a taxi back (about 4/5 Euros with a tip). If we travelled as a couple we would probably have got a taxi into Playa del Ingles of an evening but we were away as a family so it suited us. It was about 40/45 mins walk into Maspalomas with a pushchair which was nice and pleasant in the warm weather. Walking back would probably take a lot longer as it's up a hill.

The whole hotel is kept very clean and the rooms were cleaned to a high standard. Towels changed every time the room was cleaned (every day apart from a Wed and Sun).

Check in was slow but not a huge problem and the staff were pleasant. The bar staff in the pool bar made a fuss of our little boy and were always friendly. The house wine wasn't the best but it was drinkable. All inclusive guests cannot drink in the lobby bar but that didn't bother us.

Our room looked onto the pool bar which some people may not like but we didn't experience any noise once the door was shut and we were quite happy to sit out of an evening and have a drink (which we got from the bar and took back ourselves and noone said anything).

We were all inclusive and the food was very much the same on a daily basis and by the end of the week we couldn't wait to come home for a decent meal. If you like Pork you will love it as it's nearly on the menu every night. A different potato dish as well as chips would also have been nice. We ate out near the beach a couple of times and the food was lovely.

We would recommend this hotel but would say don't expect too much from the food. You won't go hungry just get fed up with the same food all the time. If we went again we would probably go half board and eat a nice lunch out every day.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear "Katie L",

thank you for taking the time to write such a nice and informative review of our hotel.
We are proud to read, that you spent a lovely time in our hotel and that you describe the rooms were cleaned to a high standard. Of course I will pass this friendly compliment to the housekeeping, who will be very happy.
I feel sorry for the fact, that you didn't like the food in the restaurant. I can assure you, that our kitchen staff try everything to offer a lot of variety and highest quality food. Also they are all the time open for new ideas.

In spite of the variety of the food, we hope that you decide to visit us again. It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you very soon.

Kind regards,
Dunas Mirador Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    923
    531
    173
    135
See reviews for
780
934
63
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

just returned from mirador had a great time. Didnt know what to expect, but well pleased when we got there.Booked a high room with pool view and thats what we got, block c .The room was big,clean and airy and cleaned daily. The food was really good something for everyone a really good selection.The staff were friendly and helpful.The rule with the sunbeds we thought was a good idea, it helps everyone to get a bed fairly, although there were plenty of beds to go round and lots spare.We went with an open mind and were not dissappointed. We couldnt find any thing to complain about, and thanks to our rep for giving us all the info he did ,it was a great help,well done Samuel (sam).Infact wouldnt mind returning later in the year with all the family.Once again thanks for a good holiday.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 186346william
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear "186346william",

thank you so much for sharing this nice comment on "TripAdvisor".
We are delighted to hear, that you enjoyed your stay and that you didn't find anything to complain about. Of course I will pass all your compliments to the staff, who will surely be very proud to hear this.

We look forward to welcome you soon in our hotel.

Kindest regards,
Dunas Mirador Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

The Hotel is great, Great Reception Area, great Facilities, Great Rooms , Great Bars & overall a Great stay.
We stayed with family here in Febuary 2012, we booked this as a seperate accomodation (non packaged deal) so we looked at the reviews & could not fault it, however your personal judgments differ from others.

Arrived - Speedy Checked in.
Rooms - Bright Airy - Clean & Tidy
Views - Views of Pool area
Restraunt- Typical All Inclusive - Good Choice - lots of it ..
Pool Bar - Great Snacks & Cakes
Pools - One was Heated the other wasn't but in the Height of Summer this would not matter.
The whole place was Cleaned constantly & very well run.

An overall Great Complex & would definatley go back.

3 to 4 Euros in a Taxi to Maspalomas & Playa De Ingles centres.
Bee

Room Tip: All Rooms over look Pool, all Rooms are the same I think - all good choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sargey_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear "Sargey_12",

it is a pleasure for us to read your friendly comment about your stay in our hotel.
We are so happy to hear, that you have enjoyed your holidays and that you definitely plan to stay here again.

We are delighted to welcome you again very soon.

Kindest regards,
Dunas Mirador Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed for two-weeks half-board in second half of February 2012 as a couple. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and felt relaxed and refreshed on leaving.

Check in was quick and friendly - Gunther was very welcoming and professional on the desk. First impressions of the room was that it was modern and airy. We were in F-block, which was quite close to the motorway that skirts around the back of the hotel. Iniatially, the traffic noise was a bit of shock, but we actually got used to it within a couple of days. We were on the 2nd floor, and the motorway can’t really be heard at all from the pool level. There was a 10-euro deposit for a tv remote, so we made do with a few films on our laptop.
Dinner starts at 6 in the winter season and can get pretty busy between 7 and 8, so definitely worth coming down for dinner earlier or later. Some of the food was actually of better quality than what we had in 4.5* hotel in the Caribbean last year. The meat was of high-quality (little fat or gristle) and there was always plenty of stuff for adults and kids alike. Canarian night on Friday’s was the highlight with delicious local stews, goat casserole (really good if you take the plunge!) and the local Papas Arugudas (salted potatoes) with Mojo sauce is a must on these nights. Every night they had two griddle chefs on duty, typically serving up filleted fish and pork. But on one night we were given half a chicken!  If you’re going half-board the meal drinks can be a bit steep e1.60 for water, e3.00 for a beer, e10.00 for a bottle of house wine – so worth factoring that cost in when booking half-board.
Breakfast could get rather busy, and doesn’t start until 8, which meant we missed it when we had an early pick up for an excursion. But the food was again of high standard with dedicated egg and pancake chefs. Cooked breakfasts were of standard European quality with streaky bacon and frankfurters instead of bangers.
The pool area was generally pretty relaxed and the animation team try and keep people occupied during the day. The towel thing, as others have mentioned is a downer. One day we had two empty loungers next to us, reserved with towels, from about 10am until 4 in the afternoon. We gawped incredulously as a guest rolled up at 4 to take her towels back – effectively stopping anyone else using those loungers! Grrr!
Entertainment in the evening was a mixed bag, definitely better when an act from outside was brought in – the parrot show is awesome. But have to say as friendly as the Animation Team are performance comedy isn’t their strength! Unless you have young children you should probably avoid the Explosion Comedy Show – painful to watch.
All the staff were friendly and the chamber maids would always great us with a ‘Hola!’ as we met them doing their rounds.
The free bus to the beach is really useful, and runs three times a day and takes just a few minutes. Be careful of hawkers though near the beach bus stop. As someone else said there is a gang of ladies who will try and chat to you and then try and slip on a ‘lucky bracelet’. Although this area is a good few kms from the Dunas Mirador. The area the hotel is in, Sonnenland, although far from the beach is relaxed and friendly with a handful and bars, restaurants and convenience stores a stones through away.

Nothing to do with the hotel - but if you are going to Gran Canaria definately take in the Island Delights tour, which takes you all over the interior. Amazing awe struck day out!

In summary: good value for money, friendly staff, high quality food, far from beach but free buses, clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view to avoid the motorway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear "Thomas V",

thank you for this informative and nice review about your stay in the Dunas Mirador.
We are delighted to hear, that you had enjoyed your vacations and that you say, that you will visit us again.
If you are not satisfied with your room (because of the motorway), don't hesitate to contact the reception, who will look after changing your room, provided there is one free.
For the remote control we only take deposit, what you get back if you check out.
Of course you can have breakfast before 8 o'clock. You have to reserve it on the reception and than you can enter the restaurant before it normally opens.
Although I want to apologize, that the sunbeds are still reserved. Normally our pool attendant has to take care and has to bring the towels to the reception, if they are unused for about half an hour.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again very soon.

Kindest regards,
Dunas Mirador Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Just returned from at week at Dunas Mirador. From reading previous reviews we thought we were prepared, to be honest it is a very basic hotel, basic and repetative food, it also needs to decide whether it is a half board hotel or all inclusive, serving both is just not working.
A.I guests cannot use the lobby bar, only the pool bar and disco bar, the pool bar is all open air and very chilly on an evening, patio heaters would help. There is nowhere comfortable to sit in the pool bar, the disco bar is dim and souless, the lobby area is very pleasant but A.I. guests cannot use the bar there.
Food is very basic, always salad, freah & crisp, always the same rice salads, fish and meat, desserts are basic and fruit limited at dinner. Wine is on tap to help yourself, it is vile and the dining room constantly ran out and took an age to refill. Half board guests and A.I. guests are separated in the dining room but all use the same buffet!! Table clothes never changed and evening meal is more akin to a canteen school dining experience, it is totally chaotic, guests in shorts, flip flops not even changing for dinner, not our idea of a relaxing meal, rules of the hotel are not enforced and this spoils the whole place.
There is no hot water, at best it is luke warm. Bedrooms are spacious and kept spotlessly clean, we were in block A, Pool view and got the sun all afternoon, would be a nightmare in summer with no air-con.
All sunbeds are taken by 9am, guests are standing in line from 8.30am to race for a bed!! hardly civilised. The beds are crammed in line like a row of tinned sardines, no room to move at all. Pool is freezing cold, but again kept very clean. Only the right hand side of the pool sees the sun.
Entertainment, just okay, daytime animation team work very hard to keep activities going all day.
In a nutshell, you get what you pay for, this is a cheap A.I. price compared to other hotels, and it certainly shows. It would certainly be worth paying a litttle extra for a better standard overall.

Would we return - Not on your life!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dannyairedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear "Topcat63",

thank you for evaluating the Dunas Mirador Hotel. Only with the criticism and the suggestions of our clients we find our, what we should change in the hotel to improve ourselves.
As you explaines correctly, our hotel offers half board and all inclusive. Our all inclusive clients have the possibility to get their drinks on the pool bar and on special times in the restaurant and in the disco. The only bar, who doesn't fit to the all inclusive program is the lobby bar. This one can be used from the half board clients.
It is also right, that there is a special area in the restaurant for the half board clients, for a simple reason. They have to pay their drinks during dinner and in this special area the waiters ask for the drinks and serve them. The all inclusive clients take the drinks on their own.
I can assure you, that our kitchen staff try everything to offer our clients a lot of variety. If it wasn't the case during your stay, I feel sorry for it. As well there is a dress code for the restaurant in the evening. One of the restaurant bosses normally stands next to the door to welcome the clients and look after the dress.
Also I can assure you, that our pool attendant takes care of the reserved sunbeds. If he observes, that there are sunbeds with a towel on it, but unused for about half an hour he takes the towels away to the reception.

Inspite of your criticism we hope that you will give us the chance, to convince you from our services.

Best wishes,
Dunas Mirador Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Maspalomas hotels

UK
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Returned from this hotel on 20/02/12 after spending a week here.
When we arrived we were told that our room was not ready and was asked to go and eat first and come back an hour later, whilst we were eating we had to leave our suitcases and bags in a room which was unlocked and constantly had people wandering in and out.
The food was good, there was always the usual chips, meat and salad however they only had potatoes one day, the other days it was rice or chips which got a bit repetitive. Also on two occasions I was served raw meat (chicken and pork) and when I told the chef he just ignored me.
We stayed in block C which had a view of the children's park, the room was clean and a good size for us however the water is not hot at all, it is near enough cold.
The children's disco was fantastic and the children enjoyed it however I feel that the adult entertainment wasn't as good as most of the other reviews made out, but what can you expect from a 3* hotel?
All inclusive ends at 11pm which is okay but they turn the fizzy drinks machine and the water dispenser off which I feel was out of order, also when I went to get a drink 10.55pm there was a que and by the time I got to the front it was 11.01pm and the waiter refused to serve me.
On many of the reviews it said that there was free wifi however there is not and you have to pay 1 euro for 15 minutes!
The shop inside the hotel is very expensive, but there is a spar just around the corner which is much cheaper, and the staff are a lot more friendly.
The hotel is in the middle of no where and if you are traveling with children it would be too far for them to walk anywhere, there is a free bus that goes to the beach everyday however on Sunday this bus was over an hour late.
The MTV club in Maspalomas is great, you buy a wristband for 20 euros and your drinks are free all night, they have entertainment on and are constantly playing games.
Overall and Okay holiday, wouldn't recommend it and certainly wouldn't stay here again, I would say it is more like a 2* than a 3.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim123UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear "Kim123UK",

first of all I want to thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your stay in our hotel.
Only with the feedbacks of our clients we have the opportunity to get to know what could be changed to improve ourselves.
For the fact, that the meat was raw I want to apologize. Our kitchen staff always tries to offer our clients a lot of variety and a highest quality food.
I'm delighted to hear, that you liked your room and the cleaness. For a few weeks we had a problem with one of the water heater, what is already solved. If your water wasn't hot, don't hesitate to contact the reception, who will inform our technician. If this will not help you always have the possibility to change your room, provided one is available.
I really want to apologize for what happened on the pool bar. Of course our clients should be allowed to get a drink at 11.01, especially because you were standing in the queue. This is normally not the way we treat our clients.

In spite of everything we hope that you decide to visit our hotel again one time, so we have the possibility to convince you from our services.

Kind regards,
Dunas Mirador Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Just came back from the holiday at Dunas Mirador and it was amazing experience! Staff were friendly and always happy to help, food was fantastic! Local food was served as well as well known foods. Rooms were clean and tidy, wonderful view from the balcony. You can walk to the beach it takes about 40 minutes or take a free bus which goes straight from the hotel three times a day. The neibourghood was very beatuful. The place is absolutely amazing and I would defenitely recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: The room we had was on fith floor, was on the corner and had two balconies. You should choose room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Dear "b n",

thank you so much for this nice review and all the compliments. Of course I will pass them to all our staff, who will be very proud to hear this.
We are happy to hear, that everything was to your satisfaction and you recommend us to everyone.

We are delighted to welcome you soon in our hotel again.

Kindest regards,
Dunas Mirador Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
1.2 mi away
Barcelo Las Margaritas
Barcelo Las Margaritas
#20 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 stars 2,928 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
0.1 mi away
Palm Oasis Maspalomas
Palm Oasis Maspalomas
#14 of 221 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado
eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado
#58 of 221 in Maspalomas
3.5 of 5 stars 754 reviews
2.6 mi away
Beverly Park Hotel
Beverly Park Hotel
#83 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
3.0 of 5 stars 1,392 reviews
0.6 mi away
Turbo Club
Turbo Club
#76 of 221 in Maspalomas
3.5 of 5 stars 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunas Mirador Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunas Mirador Maspalomas

Property: Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Address: Calle Einstein s/n, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunas Mirador Maspalomas 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The varied entertainment program for all ages and its spacious double and family rooms make this the ideal place to make the most of every minute of a family holiday. Located in Sonnenland (Maspalomas), there is a free shuttle bus service to the beach several times a day. Relax in the jacuzzi between 2 swimming pools and let us keep your family amused with our extensive entertainment program. This hotel is ideal for families or couples seeking a fun place to be and who want to enjoy the day with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Dunas Mirador Maspalomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas Hotel Maspalomas
Dunas Mirador Hotel Maspalomas
Maspalomas Dunas Mirador Hotel
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing