We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“14 nights of bliss at the H10” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of H10 Playa Meloneras Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
H10 Playa Meloneras Palace
Ranked #9 of 220 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“14 nights of bliss at the H10”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Have just spent a wonderful fortnight at the H10 with my boyfriend (6th May 2013 to 20th May).

Check in was quick and efficient, the reception staff are all very helpful.
We were staying in room 529, which was one floor up from the pool level and towards the corner by the tennis court. Didn't get the sunlight until late afternoon, but we were by the pool during the day anyway, so it wasn't a problem.

The room was a good size, with a sitting area and large bathroom. The bed was comfortable and the room was kept immaculately clean by the cleaners - they even folded my boyfriends t shirts that he had left out!

We were on an all inclusive package, which was very good value. Includes premium brand spirits, cocktails etc. The food was very good, particularly in the pool bar restaurant where we ate lunch every day (the paprika potato wedges are yummy!) Lots of choice for breakfast and dinner with show cooking stations (we never ate lunch in the main restaurant so can't comment on that).

Service was generally to a very high standard in all of the restaurants and bars (special mention to Angel in the Lobby bar for his great service, smile and wicked measures!!) although some times could be slow in the disco if they weren't busy.

Entertainment was varied during the day and evening and some of the evening performers were good.

The pool area is lovely. We never spent any time by the infinity pool (which is adults only) but did use the other pools, all spotlessly clean, well maintained and not too cold! Lovely comfortable rattan day beds, but you have to be up early to snag one. Sunbeds cannot be reserved with towels before 10am and this rule was enforced while we were there - a refreshing change! During our stay, tiles which had cracked were being replaced, so they do take pride in keeping the hotel maintained.

The Spa is very nice, with a large hydrotherapy pool area, jacuzzi, sauna etc. We didn't have any treatments whilst there but used the spa every day. Thanks to the blonde haired lady with the glasses (sorry, didn't catch her name) who ensured we got fresh towels every time.

There were only a few niggles during our stay:

On two occasions, chicken cooked at the live food station was still slightly raw. Not an issue (I just didn't eat it) but could have resulted in an upset stomach if I hadn't noticed in time.

The maids are very thorough with their cleaning, but this can make a lie in impossible as they move the beds, furniture etc and on a tiled floor this is very noisy!

The music played in the disco is quite repetitive (should you spend more than an hour sat there or in the lobby bar, you will hear the same songs about 3 times on a loop!)

Wifi coverage is very good and the code can be obtained from Reception, but is restricted to one device and often expires much quicker than the stated time - on one occasion, a code for 3 days expired within about 4 hours! Why not just authorise it for the duration of your stay and save lots of trips back to reception?

A bottle of wine was incorrectly charged to our room following a mix up in the restaurant, but this was dealt with swiftly at check out and the charge removed once the issue was explained with no quibbles.

We ate out a few times during our stay and would recommend all for great steaks and service - Ciao Ciao which is on the promenade by Playa Meloneras, El Churrasco located in the main area of Meloneras (walk along the beach front promenade towards the light house for about 15/20 mins and you'll find lots of other bars, restaurants and shops), and El Gaucho in the Kasbah in Playa Del Ingles.

All in all, a brilliant holiday. This is my seventh visit to Gran Canaria and I usually stay in PDI, but would definitely stay at the H10 again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,809
    839
    242
    115
    80
See reviews for
757
1,660
91
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rainham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Just came back from 11 nights at this hotel, what a great stay.. great food and premium brands on all inclusive was an added benefit. The best part of the holiday for us and our son was the mini club... Vanessa who ran this was amazing her energry and enthusiasm with the children was second to none. Would definately return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCarter_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We’ve recently returned from a first-time visit to the H10 Playa Meloneras Palace. We were there for a week in the privilege level on an all inclusive basis – basically the highest you can get in this hotel from what we understand.

On arrival at the hotel we were dumped at the front door (literally) by Thomas Cook and then left in a queue for 15 minutes whilst the two staff on the desk worked through those that were waiting. The privilege desk was empty and unattended. A drink was sent over for us while we were waiting, but it certainly wasn’t a great first impression.

We were checked into the 6th floor and when we got to the room there were drinks, snacks, fruit bowl and a bottle of cava waiting for us – all part of the privilege service apparently – the cava was still cold, but the fruit was all overly soft and asking to swap the Coke for Diet Coke was apparently too much effort when it was requested.

The room overall was good, but certainly not of the standard expected of a 5 star hotel. They have fitted a key-card based electrical circuit to save people wasting light and AC, which is fine. Except it has the lights linked to the plug sockets, this means unless you have the lights on none of the plug sockets work, with the exception of the bathroom socket! So to charge your phone or tablet you need to have the lights on, or run them all off a single socket in the bathroom – totally crazy for a 5 star hotel.

The bathroom itself was very tired looking, with no seal on the bath screen leading to a flooded floor each time you showered and the shower head being cracked and lacking any decent pressure.

The minibar in general is not included in the all inclusive, but the water is, fair enough to be honest. The rest of the room was fine, the room had a safe included as standard with no deposit required, although this may be due to the privilege level.

The cleaning standard in the rooms and throughout the hotel was stunning to be honest, no where was there any dirt and the staff were going round all day cleaning away, even the lifeguards on duty clean the pool area, polishing the handrails and drains multiple times a day. Truly excellent service as far as cleaning and maintenance is concerned.

The food in the hotel was quite simply fantastic. The buffet service is widely varied and of great quality, being topped up frequently throughout the service. Privilege also gives you access to breakfast and dinner in the A La Carte 'Gaudi' restaurant, and whilst we didn't try the former we did have the latter a few times, both excellent quality and the AI drinks system is honoured in the restaurant too.

Whilst you can have the buffet for lunch (and it wasn't a rehash like previous AI resorts, it was all fresh) we preferred to go to the pool bar for lunch, where you can have anything you want on the AI and the quality is excellent. Be it King Prawn and Monkfish Skewers, freshly made King Prawn in Garlic or Handmade Pizza’s we found everything to be excellent, including the service!

Being a couple we were in the Adult Zone for the whole of our trip and the pool bar service on that side was truly excellent, utilising the bar sofa’s for the day to chill out, sunbathe or even sleep!

Whilst the hotel has a policy of not allowing the reserving of beds before 10am they don’t enforce it, not once did we see anyone remove towels and people were reserving at 7 am and brazenly going to breakfast, there was one group who did this daily and never used the beds for more than an hour a day, every day. It’s simply irritating and so easy to fix quite honestly.

The entertainment at night was average at best, along with the bar staff in the area. They simply aren’t enough of them and that’s a consistent trait with this hotel which lets it down badly. One person working the pool bar in the adults area for 120 people simply doesn’t work. Three people working the evening area for 300+ people simply doesn’t work either. It’s a shame, the staff are really good at what they do and pleasingly they were all Spanish from what we saw, but there simply are not enough of them for a 5 star rating.

The A La Carte restaurant sits above the entertainment and from 8pm the kids events start up and completely ruin the atmosphere of the meal. They need to do something here, as it severely affects the experience and dilutes the value of the privilege level. This hotel doesn’t have the private lounge for privilege, infact, we struggled to find much value in privilege given its premium cost – we made use of the spa access (normally 20 euro pp/per visit) more because we were trying to extract value than we needed to. The daily newspaper and the A la Carte dining were good but the lack of lounge and services available in other H10 properties is disappointing.

The reception service needs to have a serious amount of attention, in 5 visits to reception during the week there was only one time where we didn’t face a wait of over 5 minutes to see someone. Everything we asked for was catered for, although not in an overly friendly manner – it just didn’t feel as personal as I would expect for such a 5 star rating. We had to wait till the day of checkout to know if we were going to get a late availability room and even then the reception were very abrupt in saying we had to settle all bills on the room before they would give us the keys which would last till our extended check out time, despite us staying in the same room!

Overall though we had an enjoyable week, the staff did their best with what they had and the food and drinks were really good in quality and quantity. The cleanliness seems to offset the wear and tear that’s clearly showing around the place though. We paid a premium for the service, comfort and consumables, we don’t feel the privilege was worth the money, but the all inclusive certainly was. Would we return? Probably not based on the cost, but that’s more a reflection on the fact that it doesn’t massively standout from other good 4/5 star hotels in the Canaries.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Visidigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Arrived back to the UK on the 29th of April and had another fantastic stay,this was our 12th visit and i have to say the hotel and staff just keeps getting better. We experienced so many of the small areas of concerns highlighted in the past were either rectified or were in the process of being resolved which is a testament to the management and staff. Once again the whole hotel was very clean and whilst we were not in one of the refurbished rooms it was still kept very clean. The choice of food and the quality was extremely good again so much so we actually only left the hotel once to eat elsewhere.

I was really amazing to see how much effort the life guards put in to keeping the pool area clean and safe they worked non stop all day and into the evening to ensure the pool area was spotlessly clean.

Finally the staff in the restaurant, once again, made my Holiday we always eat outside and if Enriquez and Nikoss are on duty you will be so well looked after, they always take the time to chat and make you feel extremely welcome whilst still offering excellent service. We hope to return in September and can't wait to see what other progress has been

My only criticism and has been the same for others who have commented on this site are the beds they are very very uncomfortable and hope these will be replaced through the refurbishment

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the upper floors if its views you are after failing that all rooms are very ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Just spent a wonderful week in the H10 with some friends.8th to 15th May Their is Nothing negative that I can say about this hotel. I have been luck to travel extensively in my time and I am genuinely surprised at how pleasant and attentive the staff at the H10 where. I can only suggest that this particular hotel group appreciate their staff commitment as it is reflected in the overall approach to guest staying here. Facilities, Restaurants, Rooms, pool area all in excellent condition. Cleanliness was never a concern as the staff continuously cared for areas they where responsible for. Relaxed atmosphere throughout. Sophisticated without being stuff and stuck up.
Most definitely will return here. Guest Philip P. Ireland

Room Tip: Try avoid Ground floor - rooms shaded
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philipdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMeloneras, Equipo Directivo at H10 Playa Meloneras Palace, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear LouthLad,

first of all thank´s a lot for your comments on Tripadvisor. We are proud that you had a wonderful stay in our hotel. It is us a pleasure that you enjoyed our facilities that much and that you remarked our pleasant and attentive staff. Hoping to welcome you soon again.

With best regards,

H10 Playa Meloneras Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston-Tx
Level Contributor
343 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at this hotel and we got few days with breakfast and dinner. Very good. It's huge! If you have problem with a lot of stairs they have elevator. The pool is very nice and I like better the one that is more for adults.
If you dont want buffet, goo all the way down close to the beach (not good for swiming, a lot of stones), you get a lot of restaurant, wonderful food,good price, nice view, nice service and you can pick one at the time. We enjoyed two of them. The hotel also has a la cart restaurant,(again if you don't like buffet) and despite we didn't have time to try the menu seems to be very good.They don't charge for you use the Gym but they don't let you watch TV with the volume so you can only see but you don't know what is going on. Very small gym. You cannot use the spa if you don't pay 20Euros per person er day! That was the reason I just stayed two nights. The balcony was very durty, but the room was clean. The front desk are always busy but they are nice to deal with changes.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for ocean view like we did and we had a very small partial view(my room was 624...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celita Louback W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

This hotel has the quality of H10: it's modern, functional with swimming pools and tennis courts. The design is peculiar, from the outside it looks like a huge planetarium.

Our room was big with two medium sized beds, a nice bathroom with bathtub and a balcony with a lovely seaview. The restaurant was cool since it had an outdoor space but you have to hurry to secure a table there or avoid rush hours. The food is ok, there is a lot of choice, but in general I don't like buffets. The service is very good and the staff extremely helpful.

What I didn't really like is the beach: small and with lots of rocks. Then in a precise spot you can enter the sea, but there are still rocks that don't let you relax.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefania T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
0.9 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
1.0 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
4.5 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#6 of 19 in San Agustin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
2.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#22 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,974 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Corallium Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Playa Meloneras Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Playa Meloneras Palace

Property: H10 Playa Meloneras Palace
Address: C/ Mar Caspio 5 | Costa Meloneras, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Maspalomas
#4 Green Hotel in Maspalomas
#6 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#9 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
#12 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — H10 Playa Meloneras Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The H10 Playa Meloneras Palace is located in Meloneras, in the south of Gran Canaria, an excellent location in a quiet seafront area next to some of the island's exclusive golf courses. Its recently refurbished rooms, new Chill-Out terrace with sea views, manicured gardens and Despacio Spa Centre give this hotel its special charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and H10 Hotels so you can book your H10 Playa Meloneras Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Playa Meloneras Palace Hotel Maspalomas
H10 Playa Meloneras Palace Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
Playa Meloneras Palace
Gran Canaria Meloneras
Meloneras Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing