We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Melia Tamarindos(San Agustin)
$142
$135
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Occidental Margaritas(Playa del Ingles)
$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort(Maspalomas)(Great Value!)
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Seaside Sandy Beach(Playa del Ingles)
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$508
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$265
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,220)
Filter reviews
2,220 results
Traveler rating
669
865
448
159
79
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
669
865
448
159
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiano barhalf boardpool areathomson repsartificial beachgran canariamirror imagemini golfpalm treesman made beachlovely hotelplenty of sunbedsevening entertainmentsand dunesdry river bedplenty of choicelarge hotel
Filter
Updating list...
891 - 896 of 2,220 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We had an excellent week's holiday, fantastic weather and really enjoyed ourselves. We travelled with two young children who loved every minute. But there are a few things we wish we had known before, so here goes...

We felt that this half board hotel was let down by being attached to an All Inclusive sister hotel (Tabaiba). We chose half board because we wanted to be able to buy nice quality drinks and receive good service, something you don't usually get on All Inclusive. However, the drinks that we paid for seemed to be the same ones the AI guests got, and therefore poor quality. And the buffet restaurant was shared - one side of it for us and one side for the Tabaiba. Service was therefore poor, took ages for plates to be cleared, etc. We were actually often seated in the Tabaiba side as that hotel wasn't as busy, but just weren't allowed to touch their drinks! In fact, on the last day we ate lunch in the buffet restaurant (only the Tabaiba side was open), and were told we could only order wine by the bottle, despite being surrounded by people drinking wine and beer by the glass. After going to see the head waiter, he eventually let us pay for a glass of draft beer!

On arrival we were delayed 2 hours, so ended up arriving at midnight. We then had to queue up at reception for over half an hour to check in, with just one person on the desk and a big queue of new arrivals. This did not give very good first impressions. They would have known our flight was delayed and should have had an extra member of staff on. And no, they don't have porters or luggage trolleys, so I had to stay in reception with our sleeping child whilst my husband did two or three trips to our room with the luggage at 12.30am.

We had to move rooms after the first night, as our ground floor room (garden junior suite) was directly above the entertainment lounge and the noise was so loud we could hear what people were saying over the microphone and could hear the clapping, etc. We were travelling with two young children, so did not want to sit in our room hearing this til midnight every night. When we complained to reception I don't think they handled it very well. They tried to fob us off with saying they will get the music turned down, it will finish soon, it won't be this loud tomorrow, etc. It was like they thought we wanted a free upgrade, and were very clear to say we could not move to anything other than another garden junior suite. They were actually a little rude. We ended up getting the Thomson rep involved and she managed to get us moved to a room further down the corridor.

Food was fine, but Thomson rate this a 5T hotel, and I wouldn't agree. One thing that really got on my nerves was the tea and coffee at breakfast. I'm one of those people who like to have lots of tea in a morning. Why couldn't they provide tea pots or bigger cups? By the time I'd queued to collect my breakfast, then queued to get my tea, one or the other was cold by the time I got to eat / drink it. And the tea was gone in three sips. Same with juice and water - they gave you the tiniest glasses ever, must hold about 100ml. Perhaps OK for juice, but I would stand at the drinks dispenser and drink three cups of water before taking one back to the table.

Anyway, enough of the moaning. The great things about this hotel were the swimming pools and the mini club. Our kids had great fun in the mini club which was open for 2 hours in the morning and 2 hours in the afternoon. Ages 5 - 12. There was also a 'kids hotel' next door to the mini club which would have been great in bad weather. It had all sorts of hotel related role play for the little ones. Adults needed to stay with the kids, but all ages could use it.

We also liked the fact that the hotel had so many different nationalities staying there. It had a nice feel.

It was about a 15 minute walk to the sea and sand dunes. Fine for us, but we ended up getting a taxi back as the kids got tired. Taxi was only 3.50 euros though, so no problem. We loved Maspalomas, some lovely restaurants along the front.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rebecca2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Spent a week with mum and 16 yrs old sister with the aim of relaxing and taking some short trips around GC. We were prepared for a family holiday h.ll but actually the kids were not really running around that loud or anything! Princess surely isn't a party place but not completely dead either. It was a great place to hang around by the pools, eat and sleep. Taxi to Faro (=shops and bars) was only 3,5e so no problem with that if you did not want to walk. IMO, the location was actually nicer than Faro/Meloneras. Other guests were of all ages and apparently from all over Europe so it was a nicely international atmosphere.

ROOM: spacious enough for three of us. Sofa bed was ok but only if you're less than 1.65cm tall! Clean and quite modern as the hotel in general. No pests in sight anywhere which was a major relief! I do not see why bedlinen should be changed every/other day. Don't people wash themselves before going to bed so they don't get too dirty that soon? Towels were changed everyday anyway. We had a 1st floor room. The larger balcony with a view to the pool and palm trees was nice. Downside of room location and grand marble looks of the lobby/atrium: noise from the piano bar downstairs was quite loud until midnight, also depending on the performer's PA gear. Aircon worked ok, it was +25 in the daytime so it was not really needed that badly. We used it more as to make the piano bar noise fade a little.

POOLS ETC: We always got nice sunbeds either in the sun or shade. We actually chose more often Tabaiba's side by the beach volley field as there were less children. Also, the bar in the most far end served takeaway "glasses" of cava for 4e that were actually often 0.4 litres of sparkles...kind of gets the day going! The gravel sand was a bit hard, yes, but first world problems are aplenty. If it were any softer it would have been all over between booksheets, mobile buttons, bikinis etc! After dinner we sometimes sat by the pools with some drinks bought from Dunas supermarket across the street as the bars were disappointingly expensive!

The GYM was a plus and most importantly FREE of charge! I prefer free weights but also machines seemed to serve fine. A jog on the dunes/beach and the gym = a great holiday workout. Opening hours were quite stupid (9-19) for an early/late workout but I used it only after breakfast so fine with me and probably it was available also on other times. Towels were provided.

FOOD/RESTAURANT: Breakfast variety was ok on a week's stay, probably would have gotten boring on a longer stay. The fresh fruits were not as delish as I expected... Apparently import is import everywhere? Coffee machines were frustrating but what's the hurry on holiday...one could digest a little before heading for a new plate. Dinners were actually a positive surprise considering the price of half board. The service was a bit erratic: sometimes friendly and sometimes just some service. Often there weren't enough utensils readily available and we had to wait a fair amount of time to get the staff bring them and take our drink orders before heading for the buffet. I prefer not eating meat but still ate too much every evening! It was not too crowded during this time of year.

The reception STAFF could have done better in terms of attentiveness and friendliness but luckily we had no issues that would have required more interaction or even problem-solving that no one likes while on vacation. We managed to get the stupid safety deposit jammed twice but the repair guy always came quickly and released it. The cleaning staff did their job well and always while we were away. Nothing got missing. All the staff passing by in the premises were very friendly.

Minuses considering 4-star/price: cost of safety box, internet, luggage scale and drinking water on dinners. We chose Princess in order to stay in a place with a steady standard and it was a good choice. Some complain here about the 4s rating which made me slightly worried but it turned out just fine. I have also stayed in more "luxurious" (=expensive) places that actually suck big time in terms of price/quality compared to Princess. I would book again if I were to revisit southern GC with family, husband or even as a group of friends.

Room Tip: Some 1st floor rooms closer to the center of the building have a larger, sunny balcony that opens to the inner yard but then again the bar noise is loud on the 1st floor until midnight.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cilla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

A very nice hotel to stay in, extremely helpful and pleasant staff. A good variety of food on offer and healthy eating options were always available.
The room was very spacious with a comfortable bed and excellent sun trapping balcony and views over the swimming pools.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mrs_M281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Does not merit a four star. No porterage. Had to lug our suitcases to the lift and then 60 metres to the room.
Safe was €2.30per day! Fridge was similar rate per day. €3per day for WiFi even in public areas. You queued up for breakfast coffee or tea from a vending machine!! Bed linen changed twice a week not daily as in other four star hotels. No room service. Had to complain to have clean glasses in the room. Door handle came off in the hand but repaired in a few minutes.

Quite far from all amenities such as supermarkets, shops, beach, restaurants.
Rooms were a bit tatty but clean. Food was reasonable and the buffets were about average. Staff pleasant and friendly. Entertainment pretty poor.
Certainly would not return ever.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel unless you do not mind the flaws. Good pools and sun away from the beach. No full sun balconies but outside rooms do get some afternoon sun for a while. But separating parapets are too short for privacy.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

A little disappointed with this hotel, as felt not quite the rating it deserves. On the plus side - rooms spacious, clean & well maintained. Dining & drink areas well organised; providing good choice & fresh produce.
On the disappointing side - all swimming pools look tired & dirty; broken tiles & an uninviting green colour. Hotel reception staff not as attentive as would hope & could be deemed as a tad rude.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Traceylk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews