We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Duna Beach Bungalows
barnstaple
1 review
“Basic but lovely!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here from the 1st until 9th of april. All of the staff were lovely and were always jokung around and talking to everyone, very attentive amd tried hard with their english.
The food was simple but tastey! Pizza, chicken, bolognese etc, it was brought out promptly and hot everytime and never had any complaints, we ate there everyday as it was so cheap and tastey!
The room was cleaned everyday, it was simple and comfy, so if you want luxury it wont be suitable our only complaint has to be all of the ants everywhere!! But that can't be helped :)
Location was okay, a little out the way and I struggle to walk far so we took the bus or taxi. 40 minutes walk to maspalomas though. The buses were fab, going to playa de ingles and maspalomas everyday at €2 return. And a taxi was about €5 to playa or maspalomas.
Great chilled out cheap week overall :)

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank han32924020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    177
    94
    47
    37
See reviews for
111
191
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We tought it was ok when we arrived.
After a couple of hours we noticed how fake that the smiles were on the receptionistes faces.
Too bad. You do not feel comfortabele here, everything is controlled. To enter the property after 10 pm...you have to wait outside AND ring the bell..if the like you AND recognise you they Will let you in...really..otherwise you must show you passport.
No, this is not the Maspalomas we are used to.
Never again. Too bad for the money.

Room Tip: No good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterpalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Maspalomas hotels

South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

3rd time here. This time took adult family and they fell in love with it too. It is 30 mins by foot or 5 minutes by car out of town but clean, quiet comfortable and decent facilities. Restaurant is ok. Not fine dining but never had a bad meal. We have eaten there several times. just wish they did desserts.

We will doubtless return again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lucie_lastique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I would agree with most of the reviews, the hotel is quiet, the rooms are ok and clean, the staff were ok, the pool was good, the hotel is about a 30 minute walk to a resort either side both of which we did walk to so it's manageable if you are reasonably fit and it isn't horribly hot. The shuttle is a good service and a taxi will cost about 5 Euros to each town. Our biggest surprise especially given the other reviews was the food. We stayed half board as that is all that is offered so you have to go out at lunch and find food if you don't want to eat the hotel menu. The inclusive breakfast and dinner buffets were terrible, almost at times inedible. Yes we are frequent travellers and have eaten all inclusive many times so we expect a lower standard of food but the vegetables were always massively over cooked, the selection of desserts appalling, the main food always luke warm, the soup unidentified with no bread, the salad was predictable with lettuce, tomato, cucumber and a couple of other items and always the same dressing. We stayed for New Years Eve which is the worst place we've ever celebrated in, having been to all of the Canary Islands. It wouldn't take a lot of money to fix the things but we never felt the management cared enough to do this.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the upper level as we are told they are bigger. We asked but despite seeing l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Just got back from another week at Duna Beach. We were pleased the first time and again this time. It is a bit off the centre of activities but if you can deal with that it is great value for money. There are inexpensive taxis and free buses. We had a car (a bargain at £92 with auto reisen for the week) so no problem.

The complex is clean and in good order and currently decorating in progress. The pool is large and restaurant offering good food and excellent staff who go out of their way to please. All facilities offered are in good order.

For the money we paid my only niggle would be no teapot or kettle but there is more than one way to make a cup of tea.

Booking again for March.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lucie_lastique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Let me start by stating that I have just returned and when reading this review remember I only paid £257.00 for 7 nights for 5 people... thats £37.00 a night for 5 people.... cheaper than a premier Inn for two people on most nights.

For the money we got... a clean room, a little tired looking and I mean a LITTLE.... regularly cleaned (5 from 7 days) with a change of towels 3 times in 7 days. The resort is well looked after with clean pathways around the bungalows (we were in No. 8) the pool area is kept spotless and the pool is cleaned every moring, including a guy who cleans all the chrome handrails.... the lawns and Palm trees are well looked after.

Basic cooking equipment, two ring cooker, fridge freezer, coffee filter machine and Microwave.... you can hire a toaster (we did) and we also hired two fans as the rooms were hot... hey but thats a feature of the great weather.... The cooking equipment is more than adequete for small meals, snacks etc.... TV is expensive...

Staff were very accomodating and friendl, restuaranr was reasonably priced and served good food.... (i recommend the omelettes)

Hot water on tap....

Complex is quiet (floor tiles around pathways are ridged and do make a noise... but it really isn't that bad at all.

My top tips

1, Don't bother with the TV it doesn't pick up great pictures and is breaking up all the time.
2, Hire a fan if you can't sleep in a warm room
3, Don't rush for sunbeads, we never had an issue getting them at any time of the day(this was October though)
3, If you have a car drive to the beach... the bus was 1 euro each way there were 5 of us... there's a car park near all the beaches ... drop the family off right at the beach then park in underground car park near Maspalomas coach station for 8 euros a day...
4, Take a stack of cardboard cups with lids if you like good coffee... the bar does great filter coffee but if taking away then they put it in a glass ... akward if you get 4... I think the complex is missing a trick here!!!! more people would take away coffee if easily manageable.
5, Don't go to the faro 2 shopping centre ... it's virtually closed.... there are a couple of shops and retuarants there but a very derilect, rundown cetre.

Room Tip: They are all greatly located
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ken m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had 10 great days in this complex in oct. 2013. Definetely best of everything, this hotel is located in very peaceful site, there is no traffic around this property as it is located in the end of road, surrounded by golf court. We had big number room (those on upper level) and I consider this better as there is open extension in front of terrace with sunbeds. I recommend to get rental car, distance to beaches and bigger supermarkets is a bit far. Parking was available inside hotel fence for 2€/day with remote control for gate. Reception personnel were very helpful. On fridays there was bbq night, definetely worth - for 13,50€/pp all you can eat bbq food. Hotel it self might be old, but very well maintained and clean. If I need to find any slight complain, furniture were little out dated.

First, but definetely not last visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jerzey_of_North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.9 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#14 of 220 in Maspalomas
592 reviews
0.1 mi away
DunaGolf Bungalows
DunaGolf Bungalows
#123 of 220 in Maspalomas
81 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cordial Green Golf
Cordial Green Golf
#43 of 220 in Maspalomas
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bungalows Vistaflor
Bungalows Vistaflor
#84 of 220 in Maspalomas
625 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bungalows Cordial Sandy Golf
Bungalows Cordial Sandy Golf
#19 of 220 in Maspalomas
648 reviews
0.4 mi away
Club Vistaflor
Club Vistaflor
#32 of 175 in Maspalomas
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duna Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duna Beach Bungalows

Property: Duna Beach Bungalows
Address: Avenida Fritidsresor s/n 4 | Campo de Golf, 35290, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Duna Beach Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duna Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duna Beach Apartments Hotel Maspalomas
Duna Beach Bungalows Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing