We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic value for money, no reason to moan at all!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Duna Beach Bungalows
Ranked #100 of 170 Specialty Lodging in Maspalomas
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed at Duna Beach from 23rd September - 2nd October (this year, 2013) and we were over the moon with the complex, staff and rooms.

As the old saying goes "you get what you pay for" and this is certainly worth the money you pay. Having read some of the previous reviews I was a little dubious about what to expect especially as their website needs updating so I was worried that we were going to arrive at a hotel which is 20 years behind where it should be, but there was no need to worry at all.

We were greeted by Lucy who was the loveliest, friendliest and most helpful hotel Receptionist we have ever had the pleasure of meeting. Nothing was too much trouble for her and she even printed off our boarding passes for the return flight which we had forgotten to do before leaving for Gran Canaria. She fully explained everything to us including the surrounding areas, supermarkets, markets, shopping centres and points of interest and gave us a map. She also helped us throughout our stay calling taxi's for us and making sure we got into taxis which she had specifically booked for us.

The bar men are also very helpful and friendly. Each and every time we were served we were greeted with a friendly face and excellent service.

The hotel grounds are kept immaculately clean and there is daily maintenance workmen carrying out tasks. All garden areas, trees, bushes etc were landscaped and maintained whilst we were there.

The bungalows are more than adequate and comfortable. The only thing I did slightly struggle with was the mattress but then I do have an existing back problem so I can't blame that on the hotel. We were situated in bungalow 21 right opposite the pool, bar, restaurant and had a beautiful view of the hotel grounds which we loved as we ended up spending a lot of time at the hotel after my partner badly burnt both of his feet on the first day and could not walk for 5 days.

The pool was cool when you initially get in but then once you have been in a few seconds its fine. It was cleaned whilst we were there and we also saw the staff taking water samples/tests twice in the time we stayed at Duna Beach.

The shop was expensive but again a friendly team of staff. If you can shop elsewhere then do so, but with us being hotel bound due to my partners feet for half of the holiday we bit the bullet and used the shop for the stuff we needed.

The tv in the room was also pricey (é1 for 1.5 hours tv) if you wanted to watch a film it was costing us between 2 and 3 euros because of all of the adverts and with my partner being ill we watched a lot of tv at night as he couldn't walk!

The cleaning of the bungalows was also excellent. We mainly had Jordan clean our room, he was a lovely young lad who after tipping him just é1 bent over backwards to help us all week with clean sheets, fresh towels and making sure our bungalow was mopped every other day. He came nearly every day and was especially good with my partner being stuck on the sofa, cleaning around him and leaving him extra towels because of the cream we were putting on his feet and covering the furnishings with towels whilst he rested. He even folded up clothes I'd thrown on the floor to wash and put them neatly on the bed, wrapped the wire around my hairdryer etc and lots of little things like that which he didn't need to do but which we really appreciated.

The only slightly annoying thing was the German couple who allowed their baby to scream constantly from around 5am for a few days on the trot. We understand people have children and as gorgeous as he was we would have appreciated it if they could have made more of an effort to settle him when others in the surrounding bungalows were sleeping.

Be wary of the men in Playa del Ingles (situated by the main taxi drop off/pick up point and the restaurants by the beach) as we were approached by some men making out they were celebrating 25 years of Thomson holidays with free scratch cards. Unsurprisingly we won a major prize and in the midst of me questioning the guy about his intentions they tried to get us to get into a minibus around the corner to go to a hotel to collect our prize. Having travelled extensively abroad before I knew this was timeshare and a scam and was trying to alert my partner (who had never travelled abroad before) not to be sucked in. In the end the guy realised we weren't buying it and admitted it was timeshare (after denying that it was initially).

Overall I cannot rate Duna Beach enough, do not be put off by fussy moaning people who want to pay £300 for 10 days and have a hotel which serves 5* food with 5* quality rooms as Duna Beach has everything you need for a relaxing holiday! Enjoy! xx

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shoegal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
There are newer reviews for Duna Beach Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 509 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

Just back from the Duna Beach apartments, stayed with my partner and our four year old son. On arrival was greeted by the receptionist who was friendly, apartment was large enough and had a great patio and sunbathing area that was a plus :). I have to be very honest here, i was not impressed with the pool as it had a lot of debris and insects floating in it (quite a lot) plus a used plaster, and the kiddies two were even worse sorry but i do not think this is hygienic in the least, it is the first time i have seen a pool to not be crystal clear, a guy did clean the pool with a hand skimmer (more suited for leaves etc) but i truly think an automatic skimmer would be a great plus and they def didn't have one fitted to the filters :(. when you hate insects like i do its horrible to have them floating all around you.

Most of the staff were friendly apart from two or three which was not a major as the friendly ones made up for the ones that weren't so chirpy...I did ask the day barman to put up the large parasol when we sat down for lunch but he just said no there is no sun and refused to do so (quite embarrassing and rude in my eyes) as i knew the sun was coming through and it did three or four minutes later....eventually he apologised and put it up.....my point is that he should not have refused when a guest requested it irrelevant of sun or not!

Cleaning ladies were diamonds, happy, polite and very very friendly big plus for them :).

Duna Beach is a bit away from shops etc, and we had to cab it everywhere as our four year old would def not have been able to walk the distances to shops etc,( 28-33 degrees even in october.... i def would not recommend it for families who are planning to dine out, or want to save money as cabs a few times a day soon adds up.....and for that reason i would not stay here again with a child.....

def recommend having your E11 as well as your private insurance as the medical centres and hospitals if public will not accept private insurance, our son had an accident and we went through hell trying to get him sorted as the cab driver took us to the medical centre which was public and would not accept our private insurance :(. Got him sorted in the end after a lot of pleading, he got stitched and off we went....NOTE: if you are staying with kids do not let them play near the breakfast bar area as that is where our son banged his chin an ended up with a large hole that needed stitching :(.. he is fine now but be weary of it PLEASE! also the class on top of the coffee table remove it as it does not fit correctly and is over the edges of the coffee table, so take no chances remove it if you have kids....

so to sum it up i would def recommend for people seeking peace and quiet or even couples but a no for me when it comes to families who want to be within a reasonable walking distance to places...or want some type of entertainment in the evening for kids..

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank devers43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Again another really good stay at Duna Beach. This is about our tenth visit here and was fab as usual. The room we were in seemed to have been recently redecorated which seemed to be going on around the complex. We pick to stay here as it is nice and quite but close enough to the main area of Maspalomas and Playa Del Ingles with a taxi point right outside the complex. Would recommend this place who wants a good basic place to stay with really helpful staff.

Room Tip: Room numbers in the 80s which appear to have been recently redecorated.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Steve I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I arrived at Duna Beach on Tuesday 24th September with my boyfriend for a 10 night stay to be greeted a lovely lady receptionist she was really friendly and helpful x our room was lovely clean and tidy.
The pool was clean and tidy the maintenance staff were always cleaning the pool and surrounding area sunbeds were collected and packed away at the end of the day as were the parasols. The pool bar is always open and food was excellent couldn't fault it and the restaurant and pool bar staff were so friendly and really lovely bunch of people x u can order your food and take it away to your room its wrapped in foil to keep hot.
The supermarket is a little pricey and but handy there is also a washing machine and tumble dryer for guests to use as and when.
The cleaning staff were happy and friendly and kept the room clean and tidy emptied bins made beds x
A B-B-Q is held every Friday 18:30 til 21:30 good value and very popular and parrot show was held on Thursday night.
The complex is away from the main road so lovely and quiet and the golf course is all around you x
I will be definitely be staying here again and again and would most definitely recommend this complex to anybody that wants a quiet relaxing holiday x

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllyPally1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We arrived at this lovely complex on 15th September and I have to say it looks much better in person than the photos show. It's got everything you need for the basics and on site supermarket which is slightly higher priced than the Spar or HyperDino. Its has a BBQ every Friday after 6pm which is definitely worth doing and very tasty! The pool is clean and plenty of sunbeds to go around and you have 2 on your terrace and they are a lot more comfortable. There was a bit of a roach problem (our fault for leaving the side door open) but it had nothing to do with uncleanliness as the rooms were spotless and cleaned on a daily basis apart from Tuesdays and Thursdays the cleaner has off. The hotel is a bit out the way with the nearest ATM and supermarket at Faro 2 which is about a 10 minute walk away. Playa Del Ingles is about 4 or 5 Euros in a taxi very cheap. I have to say the staff in the hotel are very friendly and will do anything they can to help you. If your looking for a cheap getaway without the frills then this is a good place to stay. The restaurant onsite is ok great for a snack pizzas are nice there. Oh if you decide to take the hotel wifi its not the best in the world and quite expensive. signal seems to get very poor in the apartment so sitting on the terrace was the best signal I could get. Other than that I would come back again and there were plenty of people we spoke to have come back again and again. Mostly English, German, Dutch and Spanish people staying here its always nice to have mix of people from all over.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Josaphine99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Booked as a cheap late getaway just after a place to relax. Accommodation was overall pleasant, lovely surroundings and set up of the complex.was very quiet which suited no problem. Bit out of the way for walking but taxi's very cheap. Staff all pleasant. Food wasnt amazing but ok for a quick snack. Only niggle was ants...they just seemed to be able to get everywhere , but cant be helped oh and the pool sometimes was full of flies even though it was cleaned every morning. Overall it was a pleasant relaxing holiday..just what we ordered

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

About 40 mins transfer from the airptort.Apartments are fine for ten days,basic but clean and comfortable.Only down side was no air conditioning as was really stuffy at night.The area is lovely but quite a walk 40 mins from meloneres or playa de ingles.Would recommend play de meloneres as it is really beautiful and great to sit drinking coffee in one of the bars and watching the world go by,playa de ingles is much busier and faster paced,especially the commercial centres.Pool ,bar, restaurant,and on site supermarket all reasonably priced,towels changed anytime you ask and bedding changed once a week,with friendly maids who can't do enough for you..Faro2 the local commercial centre is a ten minute walk away.Not much in it but El Nublo is a great place to eat,doing lovely local dishes and steaks.All in all the Duna beach apartments are ideal if you want a quiet place to stay but within reach of all the local attractions.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henkelarn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.9 mi away
Capri Bungalows
Capri Bungalows
#195 of 216 in Maspalomas
291 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#15 of 216 in Maspalomas
677 reviews
0.1 mi away
DunaGolf Bungalows
DunaGolf Bungalows
#121 of 216 in Maspalomas
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
El Capricho Apartamentos
El Capricho Apartamentos
#79 of 216 in Maspalomas
60 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cordial Green Golf
Cordial Green Golf
#43 of 216 in Maspalomas
1,510 reviews
1.0 mi away
Club Vista Serena
Club Vista Serena
#71 of 216 in Maspalomas
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duna Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duna Beach Bungalows

Address: Avenida Fritidsresor s/n 4 | Campo de Golf, 35290, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 170 Specialty Lodging in Maspalomas
Price Range: $49 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Duna Beach Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Duna Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duna Beach Apartments Hotel Maspalomas
Duna Beach Bungalows Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing