We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suited us Sir!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Duna Beach Bungalows
Livingston, Scotland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Suited us Sir!”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Wife and I travelled out from Edin on 17th Nov for a week having booked half board with On The Beach. Having stayed in Maspalomas only last year we were slightly familiar with the area although this was a different part of the resort.

The transfer took a while as we were second last off and please be aware that the location of this hotel is a little off the beaten track although we did find the short cuts. That said, taxi's aplenty at around 3-4 Euro into Playa Del Ingles.

Reception area was spotless and the staff incredibly helpful to us upon our arrival. Apt 31 it was to be, a ground level fellow close to the bar, shop and restuarant areas. Again spotless, functional but fine for us. Microwave, two ring hob, fridge and plenty of hot water as you have your own combi boiler. Lots of storage space. Kitchen equipment available to hire as well as an extensive range of other stuff. Lounge with pay TV, with kitchen area at one end and a typical two bed room. Over bath shower with towels changed regularly, probably more often than you do at home. Private patio areas outide every apartmant which offered us sunshine for most of the day and ours looked directly onto the pool area.

Massive pool with two smaller ones attached, outside bar and eating area with entertainments area combined. All spotless too and bar staff, only three covering all shifts when we visited, were very friendly and efficient. Lots of available loungers if you wished. Most of our neighbours were either Norweigan, Swedish or German as seen to be the case at this time of year. The whole are outside looks as if it may have been freshened up recently as it was largley unmarked and looked crisp and fresh.

Food, hmm! Well it was there, not a massive choice, a little repetitive and often not much more than luke warm. A little disappointing but we could live with it. Shop has a reasonable stock for an on site affair and handy as the next nearest less expensive shop is some distance away.

Entertainment, well, there was some but not our kind of thing really. Birds of prey, dance show, a band, flamenco and all sorts. The guy in charge of entertainments clearly thinks he does a far better job than he actually delivers and if truth be told we felt he was a sanctimonious chump more interested in feeding his obese appetite at the expense of the hotel than engaging with the guests. As we were located quite close to this area it was a little loud at night however other apartments will not have this problem.

We were glad of the peace and quiet, just as we wanted, and therefore this hotel filled the bill for us. We would have no hesitation in recommending but please bear in mind, our holiday was in November and way outside peak times and those times would perhaps have made a different review.

Runners - out the main gate and keep left, left and left all along to the Charca Las Maspalomas, maybe a half hour, 3.5km return jog and relatively traffic free at the far end. Lots of runners on the way, twice as many on a Sunday. Garmins lock on quickly too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Superwing27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    182
    104
    51
    42
See reviews for
120
200
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hartlepool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

A little far from activitys but a nice place for familys or couples.weather is always great and the staff are helpfull.there is plenty of places to eat out and serve good food. there is an onsite shop that sells most things you will need

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank critehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Visited 17th October - 31st 2012 on a Half Board Basis. Found resort very clean and tidy and well kept. Staff were very courteous and polite. Plenty of space around a very nice pool. A little off the beaten track however and had to get taxis to nearest bigger resorts,( 4euros) or a good half an hour stroll.

The waiters were polite and helpful. However he food was very disappointing - cold and repetitive. Did complain to the Manager who said he would take on board our comments. Would go self catering and would dine out next time.

However prefer Lanzarote - so would not visit Gran Caneria again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank essexpegasus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just stayed as a couple self catering. As several other bungalows we have stayed at in Maspalomas it seems very orientated towards 'other Europeans' although being with mostly other nationalities isn't necessarily a bad thing! Complex is nice if just a little remote to walk to town or beach. Every day was beach for us so can't comment much about daytime but evening entertainment was a bit dire for adults. However Euro 4 - 4.50 (with tip) taxi to town is reasonable and 1 Euro bus runs every hour to beach or town in the day. We ate out most nights but when we did eat in the food and service was excellent and appeared good value even compared to the competitive town shopping center.The reception staff were particularly helpful and always very friendly. Only complaint was no toaster or kettle unless hired.
Do only the British have tea and toast for breakfast?
Suited us as a base to go out and quiet at night so would definitely return again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank juls2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Wife and I stayed for two weeks from 6th October 2012 and came back today, 20th.
40th Wedding Anniversary present to ourselves, a pleasant break away in the sun.
We've stayed here before, both alone and with friends and I can happily say it has always been a beautifully operated establishment. The bungalows are clean, recently repainted, new(ish) hobs in the kitchenette and everything working fine.
The reception staff are excellent. Friendly, and all speaking excellent English. willing to do whatever it takes to make your holiday better. We are both late 50's but still like to party occasionally and coming in at 3am we were ALWAYS welcomed with smiles and pleasantries.
When we left at 5am on our last day, the night guy was there waiting for us, doors opened and wished a safe and pleasant trip home.
The pool was clean, safe and pretty. Sun beds aplenty although we didn't use them. The restaurant was good, had a normal selection of restaurant fare at reasonable prices and we were served quickly and efficiently on the night we chose to eat in.
Parking was good, even if it's paid for (€10 and a €30 deposit). Plenty of space.

BUT, just a few niggles.

When we booked this we were asked if we had any requests. Yes we did. We asked for a quiet location and away from the pool with plenty of sun on the patio.
What we got was almost exactly opposite. We got bungalow 27. second nearest to pool, bar, restaurant and entertainment and underneath trees.... Just about as opposite as you could ask for! There were few bungalows occupied at the time so this wasn't "The only available".

TV... We didn't really need this but since it's available... However, when we saw the rate the money went down in the pre-paid unit, we balked. €1cent per minute, doesn't sound much but it's a lot if you've got kids to entertain.

BED... Two pillows, one enormous, one thin, thin, thin!

KITCHEN... Frying pan was wrecked. Burnt nearly through and useless, had to get a new one.

LINEN... Towels every other day, great. Sheets once a week, well, ok but not great, Tea Towel, you get one and that's your lot for a fortnight. We had to wash it out several times. This is the last link in the cleaning chain and should be the most regularly changed.

STAFF... As I've said, the reception staff were brilliant. The grounds staff the same, always friendly. The management, not so good. Not a smile or even an acknowledgement when they were around.

ENTERTAINMENT... Ummm.... Repetitive say it really. That and a singer who can't, a "Bingo Caller" who would drive anyone to drink.... Apart from that, ok if you're tone deaf.

All said. yeah, I'd recommend it. Don't expect it to be quiet there, kids echo in the below-ground-level complex. Go for a high number bungalow if you want more peace and sunshine coz they're on the upper level.

Room Tip: Go for bungalows on the upper tier for sunshine and quieter location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I and 3 children ages 13, 12 and 9 have just returned from a week self catering and had a great holiday. We found the bungalows to be clean and functional for our needs and had a good power shower! The site was spotlessly clean, loads of palm trees and parrots flying around! The pools were great for the kids (one big one and two smaller ones), the staff were very friendly and helpful. It was a nice leisurely walk into the centre of Maspalomas and as long as you are fit very enjoyable, if not fit then there are plenty of taxis right outside that cost 4 euros to take you into centre or a courtesy bus runs you in during the day and back. Loads of lovely restaurants and not expensive. All in all a fab holiday and a great destination without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 141sandy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenage
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

just returned from spending 10 nights at duna beach,a nice layed out site with bungalows around the swimming pool,everything you need for selfcatering,peaceful clean site, polite helpful staff,a great base to explore gran canaria.
would book it again when we return to the canaries

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
0.9 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#15 of 216 in Maspalomas
630 reviews
0.1 mi away
DunaGolf Bungalows
DunaGolf Bungalows
#117 of 216 in Maspalomas
84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bungalows Vistaflor
Bungalows Vistaflor
#82 of 216 in Maspalomas
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Apartamentos Las Faluas
Apartamentos Las Faluas
#64 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
160 reviews
0.9 mi away
Canary Garden Club
Canary Garden Club
#19 of 216 in Maspalomas
694 reviews
8.5 mi away
Roslara Apartments
Roslara Apartments
#26 of 49 in Puerto Rico
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duna Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duna Beach Bungalows

Property: Duna Beach Bungalows
Address: Avenida Fritidsresor s/n 4 | Campo de Golf, 35290, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 167 Specialty Lodging in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Duna Beach Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duna Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duna Beach Apartments Hotel Maspalomas
Duna Beach Bungalows Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing