We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Occidental Margaritas(Playa del Ingles)
$148
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Melia Tamarindos(San Agustin)
$167
$152
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
H10 Playa Meloneras Palace(Maspalomas)(Great Value!)
$222
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$290
$276
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bungalows Cordial Sandy Golf(Maspalomas)(Great Value!)
$151
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
IFA Buenaventura Hotel(Playa del Ingles)
$106
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Riu Don Miguel(Playa del Ingles)
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (692)
Filter reviews
692 results
Traveler rating
601
66
17
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
601
66
17
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmichelin star qualityhalf boardexceptional hotelpool servicethe general managersmall hotelrepeat guestsgran canariapool restaurantpool attendantjunior suitewelcome drinkbreakfast and dinnerfirst floorfresh fruitcanary islandspalm trees
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
271 - 276 of 692 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This is probably the best hotel to date we have stayed in. The staff here cater for everything, nothing is ever to much trouble. The hotel itself is small compared to other complex's in Maspalomas but this i think is what makes it so special. We went in July and the weather was amazing also. This is not a cheap hotel, however every staff member is proud and passionate about there job.

Reception staff amazing - Maya & Julie such caring, professional girls. We were greeted by our names as we walked in, which was a nice touch, they wanted to ensure your holiday starts off well and they do it with ease. We were then taken, seated and given a welcome drink of fizz why the check in process was finalised then at our leisure Maya showed us around the resort and to our room and everything was explained with great passion and pride and Maya ensured that all our needs were catered for. Betina from the bar is so cheerful and again goes that extra mile. My Husband wanted a certain Malt Whiskey one evening, Betina went out of her way to find it as she thought they had but was unsure and as she thought she found served with a smile and made hubby very happy with his whiskey nightcap.

Breakfast is beautiful and the Eggs Benedict made fresh for you my husband really enjoyed. Toaster a bit of a nightmare but they are in all hotels. Fresh fruit selection was amazing and the strawberries were Devine. The upstairs setting of the Restaurant is relaxing, and tranquil over looking the spotlessly clean swimming pool area. Waiting staff and chefs at breakfast have everything down to a fine art. Moving parasols around to avoid direct sunlight whilst eating, of course checking with you first. Seating you, getting anything you asked for again excellent service - just sorry I didn't get names.

The swimming pool is spotless, you could eat your dinner from the floors. The sun loungers were laid up for you by Sergio when you arrived with lovely clean thick cushions, neck pillows, fresh clean towels every morning. Sergio and his colleague really take pride in their work and it shows.

The pool bar food was very nice, again spotlessly clean, Antonio was so lovely always cheery and full of smiles and nothing ever to much trouble. We never ate in the evening's at the hotel we always walked into Maspalomas which gives you a great variety of food, from
english, spanish, asian, mexican and so on. And the sunset at night from Maspalmos was amazing.

Loved it loved it loved it didn't want to come home - will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Room 233 lovely room, but view restricted as upstairs room and outlook is metal fences around the restaurant however they have tried to brighten with flower boxes. Didnt spend much time in the room so not an issue for us.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T9TDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Manager at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your stay in July last year at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia.

It is a great pleasure to read that you rate the hotel as “best hotel that you have stayed at to date” What a great compliment for us!

I am very happy that you enjoyed the ample choice at breakfast as well as the pool bar lunches. Thank you for especially mentioning Bettina and Antonio as well as the guys from the pool service. I am certain they are very encouraged by your lovely review.

We look forward to welcoming you back this year!

Warm regards

Robert Heitzig
General Manager Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia*****GL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Have recently returned from a 9 day break over New Year in this lovely hotel. On arriving we were somewhat underwhelmed by the entrance, this is an hotel which can truly claim to be a hidden jewel. It is however amazingly centrally located within easy walking distance of the beach, promenade, shops and restaurants.
The hotel itself is pure bliss, excellent staff at all skills, courteous and helpful and in the main happy. Food was well prepared, varied and tasty. They have 2 BBQ's each week, try not to miss them they are superb. Breakfast is buffet and again very varied and good. If there is a fault they need to investigate toasting machines, what they have are slow and irritating.
Our room was a junior suite which was all that was left when we booked. It was excellent with plenty of space and wardrobes, large ensuite and lounge. Only fault we had was the level of natural light. When first built it was probably ok but trees grow and are now restricting the light into this particular room. The hotel's location does not lend itself to providing great views and most are garden or pool. There maybe the odd room that provides a sea view but as the hotel appears to be only two story I doubt it, if this is important check with reception.
The hotel is German owned and a lot of the management are German who bring with them their famed efficiency and this blends well with the Canarian staff. During the period we were there the hotel served afternoon tea/coffee and cakes around the pool. The pool is large and more than sufficient for the number of guests it can accommodate. As in most outside areas there are good spots for the sun and others that become shady. We never experienced any problems finding a suitable sun bathing area but admit we did have to move to a different location a couple of times.
The hotel provided entertainment most evenings on the patio, some was better than others and I don't think this is a strength of the hotel but it is a small and compact hotel and to many the entertainment is adequate.
I would highly recommend this hotel as providing very comfortable accommodation, excellent food and facilities in a great location. Its not really good for youngish children but does have a sister hotel 200 metres away that caters for children.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Manager at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Brian,

Thank you for having chosen Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia for your recent visit to Gran Canaria over New Years.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay a lot and that you found the staff excellent. The staff is our most important asset and we always strive to make the guests’ stay a memorable one. We have indeed a good mixture of Canarian- and international- respectively German staff with a lot of passion for hospitality.

The “Seaside Barbecue” is indeed very much appreciated and we find that it is a good mixture with two weekly barbecues. I am very happy that you enjoyed it a lot. As you mentioned we do always offer plenty of sun beds and there are always some available.

We do not have any sea views, as we only have two storey’s, however the views of the mountains from our restaurant terrace and pool area are lovely.

I understand that music is always a question of taste and very difficult to meet everybody’s taste.

Again, thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia.

Warm regards,

Robert Heitzig
General Manager Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia*****GL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Sadly, we had to come home after spending 9 days at this beautiful hotel. A wonderful reception on arrival, shown around the hotel and then to our room which was very clean and comfortable. First impression of the balcony area was a little disappointing but as the days went by, it ended up being a lovely secluded area with a view over the wonderful garden area. The garden areas were beautifully maintained. Lovely buffet breakfast with an amazing selection. The service of all the staff at the hotel was second to none but a special mention to Paco and the staff at the bar areas. Thankyou all for a wonderful, relaxing holiday and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreaLetford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Manager at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for having stayed at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia. It is a great pleasure to read that you had a wonderful and relaxing holiday and that you will definitely return.

I highly appreciate your lovely comments and am certain that the entire team but especially Paco and the rest of the bar staff will be very encouraged by your review. We do focus a lot on personalized service and in my opinion the staff makes the difference to our guests’ stay.

It is great to learn that you enjoyed your balcony while terrace rooms are beautiful as well.

Again, thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards from beautiful Gran Canaria,

Robert Heitzig
General Manager Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia *****GL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is a small boutique hotel with approx 90 rooms. We stayed 5 days here in Jan 2014 and had a wonderful time (despite torrential rain on day 1 of our stay).
The location is not the best situated with some road noise where the road ran along the side of our room and patio, but was not too much of a nuisance.
The pool area is great with more than ample sunbeds & umbrellas - and an attendant who was extremely helpful, polite and friendly.
The restaurant was on an elevated first floor level with outdoor and indoor dining for both breakfast and dinner.
The dinner menu was outstanding with a superb four course meal and a mouche bouche taster as a pre-course. The food was Michelin star level and the service immaculate.
Only gripe was that we stayed for five days Wednesday to Monday and there were buffet dinners on Wednesday & Sunday, so we got two in five days. The buffet was good but no way would did it come up to the standard of the other days.
So on this point I would say to the hotel management ; why spoil an unbeatable dining experience with a buffet that in all honesty was, albeit good, only par to a 3 or 4 star hotel.
Also as we went independently and paid a daily rate for half board, why do they charge the same rate per day for a superb 5 star meal as a standard buffet meal.
Having said the above. we were totally impressed with the hotel and would certainly return, but would arrange our stay to avoid more than 1 day's buffett.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJC_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Manager at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for sharing your holiday experience at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you had a wonderful time.

At the Grand Hotel Residencia we focus a lot on the personalized service and on the highest quality of food and beverage. Our culinary team around Executive Chef Wolfgang Grobauer is using only top quality and the freshest ingredients available to ensure the highest quality.

It is a great compliment that you found the kitchen Michelin star like and we are working hard every day to meet and exceed our guest expectations. I would highly appreciate if you would let the Guia Michelin España know about your thoughts.

I do understand that you, as well as some other guests, prefer the served menu while others enjoy the barbecue that we offer twice a week. I regret that we have not met your taste during the barbecue nights. Please let me assure you that also for the barbecues we offer the same high quality as we use for the menus.

Again, thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards from Maspalomas,

Robert Heitzig
General Manager Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia *****GL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This resort is one of the best I ever stayed at! The hospitality from the staff is excellent. The room was terrific. I could live here. I think they should serve tea daily by the pool and not just select days. The food was great. I highly recommend this place right on the beach.

Room Tip: Our room did not have a view of the ocean. We looked at a fence with the sand dunes right over the fence. Would have preferred to see the water.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blakemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Manager at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia during your recent trip to Gran Canaria.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay to the fullest and that you even “want to move in”…

I am certain that the team will be encouraged by your nice review.

Again, thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Robert Heitzig
General Manager Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia *****GL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews