We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and will return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Ranked #1 of 218 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 27, 2011

This hotel is simply fantastic and we cannot recommend it highly enough.
The staff are brilliant and the whole place is very clean and comfortable.
The service at the main restaurant and pool bar are very good and the menus have daily specials although some dishes have to be ordered the previous day. Paella wasn't on the menu but we ordered and received a stunningly good one the following day for lunch. Breakfast is a matter of too much choice or too small an appetite !
The room was airy and spacious with quiet air conditioning that didn't freeze you but kept it nice and cool. The standard of maid service was truly excellent with a fruit bowl topped up and bottled water replaced daily.
The gardens around the complex are delightful and beautifully landscaped. The pool too is extremely clean and inviting.
The hotel is situated near to the beach and next to a sister 5* hotel which can also be used. The walking is fairly level with a wide promenade running alongside the sea with numerous cafe's/bars/shops etc.
Beware what the guidebooks say about the temperature being an average of 25C (this maybe taken at Las Palmas) as when we were there (end of June 2011) the temperatures averaged 34 degrees with a high of 39C.
The only downside to the whole holiday was travelling on Thomson Airways. They are absolutely terrible! Although if you fancy travelling in what must be the smallest possible spacing of seats allowed - with your knees around your ears, feel free to try them! Unfortunately the choice of airline flying to Gran Canaria from the UK is very limited - however it is worth it all when you stay at this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicoleSchaffers01, Manager at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to hear that you had a satisfying and relaxing stay at the Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia.

As it is our endeavour to ensure all our guests a first class service with an exquisite cuisine, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay to the full.

During the week you spent on Gran Canaria we experienced a climatic event which we call Calima. It is caused by a duststorm that is stirred up by high winds in the Sahara and is then driven over the Canary Islands. This phenomenon usually happens only twice a year in the summer months.
Therefore the average temperature of 25 degrees mostly stated in the guides is correctly. Because of our mild temperatures Gran Canaria is a destination to visit during the whole year.

Once again, we wish to thank you for your comments and look forward to welcome you back at the Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia on a future holiday.

Kind regards,

Nicole Schaffers
General Manager Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 683 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2011

This was a real find. Fantastic food with great service and very comfortable rooms. A bonus was that mobiles are banned at the pool. In fact we only heard one ring in our week there. Best resort hotel we have stayed in in Europe - very relaxing.

Room Tip: First floor,pool facing - or a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boeing787_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicoleSchaffers01, Manager at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

We are delighted to read that our excellent service and our exquisite gastronomy ensured you a satisfying and pleasant stay at the Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia.

Your statements are important to us and therefore we value every of our guests comments.

We hope to welcome you again on future holidays at the Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia.

Kind regards,

Nicole Schaffers
General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

we have been to this hotel a few times now and never been disappointed. The venue is superb, the staff and rooms wonderful. Food is outstanding from the huge varied breakfast buffet where your individual requests can also be cooked in front of you to the fantastic evening meals of quality restaurant standard. twice a week fantastic bar b q s also cooked freshly for you. The pool and surroundings are excellent and well staffed. Perhaps not a hotel for small kids but a different world to the rest of maspalomas.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poggy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicoleSchaffers01, Manager at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comments on Tripadvisor.

It was a pleasure welcoming you again at the Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia.

As we are eager to maintain our high quality standards, we appreciate our guest’s comments and are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay at our hotel to the full.

We look forward to welcoming you on a future occasion at the Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia.

Kind regards,

Nicole Schaffers
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

What a hotel... I had a blast here. Loved the staff, they're so kind and work very hard. You can ask them anything! The rooms are great, spacious and authentic. The food was beyond expectations and is really good priced. You should visit the welness center of the hotel, incl. sauna, steam bath and seawaterpool. I had a great time relaxing at the swimming pool, being served cocktails next to my sunbed. The hotel is rather small and that was great. The staff is always available and the place guarantees you a nice and quiet stay!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spems22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicoleSchaffers01, Manager at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you had an overall satisfying and relaxing stay at the Grand Hotel Residencia.

As it is our endeavour to ensure our guests a first class service with an exquisite gastronomy, we are entranced that you enjoyed our ambience to the full.

It was a pleasure for us that you chose to stay in our hotel and we hope to welcome you back on future holidays.

Kind regards,

Nicole Schaffers
General Manager Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

We were bowled over by the all the staff's genuine courtesy and interest in you as their guest, asking were we completely happy while staying in Residencia. Nothing was too much trouble. The surroundings were lovely,,probably more couples orientated than child friendly but this is just my observation as there were no children there the time we were staying. There is a great outdoor ( roofed) gym, overlooking a seawater pool and a really nice outdoor pool with decent sunbeds! The food is fantasic, diet before you go!!! Also go half board because you will not get better food anywhere else on the island, we have stayed plenty of times in the Canaries. The stand out feel about this hotel is the staff, they really do make a huge effort to go the extra mile to make you feel special. Even if the newspapers arrived a bit late the guy would come out to the pool and find you to give it to you. The bedrooms are very well appointed, fresh flowers, fresh fruit everyday and bottled wated, all part of the deal, nice touch. Only slight quibble, the air conditioning could be stronger, otherwise rooms kept really well. This is the best review I have ever given a hotel but it deserves it , This is the best Sun Hotel we have stayed in worldwide. It was so relaxing. Thank you everyone.

Room Tip: Ground floor garden rooms on east side I like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LimerickOlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

I stayed here fore one night together with my daughter. As a surprise my son and her brother arranged. It is hard to describe this hotel in one word. You have to feel and see for yourself how outstanding this hotel is! We never seen this before! Let indulge yourself in this outstanding place on earth!

My son arranged a limousine for us to bring us from the airport to this luxury retreat in the middle of a beautiful palm tree forest. Upon arrival at the hotel we were given welcome cocktails at the outdoor terrace. Because we had to wait a little bit longer for our room we got a second drink. All on the house! At checkin they asked which newspaper we would like to have the following day. We could choose between different international newspapers. And indeed, we found this paper at our door the next day! Wonderful! So we could read this on our big balcony with really nice wooden chairs and table with comfy and thick pillows. This was nice waking up and getting ready for the day!

Dinner in the restaurant was excellent. You could choose between several dishes in every course. And they serve the main course with the famous silver bowls on the plate. And at the same time the staff will put the bowls up! Fantastic! Excellent choices of wine! (check the prices carefully, otherwise you will have a large bill to pay upon check out)

The room we had was a view on the garden, type B! It was a quit room, with ever amenity you could imagine. The size of the room was bigger then we saw before in many five star hotel. Beautifully designed and well furnished. I can imagine that some people find the bed a little bit too low. When you compare the bed with other five star hotel, this bed is indeed low. Especially for the old and disabled people I understand that we can have a problem with it! But when you finally lay down in your bed it is like heaven! Within seconds you are gone and you dream about the wonderful hotel you are staying in.

We also got a Spa & Wellness treatment, and I can only say one thing about it: Heavenly...!!! You have to book a treatment, otherwise you will be sorry!

Overall I would recommend this hotel to everyone, who is seeking for: rest, sun, excellent staff, privacy, food/wine and spending your holiday in total luxury!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JacobJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Just had a week in the above hotel. Trip adviser reviews looked good and they were correct. We wanted to laze around in the sun, eat nice food and have good service if we needed anything. We were very happy as all the above were met.
They had the best food I have ever had on holiday. The breakfast had everything you could imagine - didn't see any marmite though! They had a BBQ twice a week and we thought that would be disappointing given the other days food. However, like breakfast it had everything including a stir fry and pasta station.
The rooms were great and had DVD player and great HiFi. Husband was very happy as his iPad worked everywhere in the hotel grounds and room. Great gym with good equipment, towels and water supplied. I haven't used hotel gyms in the past but when I have looked they were a lot inferior to this one.
We stayed by the pool as the beach looked a bit windy and sun beds not as comfy as those by the pool. It is quiet in the evening but that suited us. Town is nearby if you want more night life.
I think this is the first hotel abroad I would be likely to revisit.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sazoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
1.9 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,680 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#5 of 218 in Maspalomas
1,205 reviews
8.5 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 67 in Puerto Rico
3,380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
3.9 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 20 in San Agustin
1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia

Address: Avenida del Oasis 32, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
#1 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Maspalomas
#13 Green Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range: $432 - $1,090 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia, only member of “The Leading Hotels of the World” on the island of Gran Canaria, is situated in a place of exceptional beauty: an extensive palm grove in a natural park. At just a few steps from the sand dunes and beach of Maspalomas, the charming two-storey villas integrate harmoniously within the landscape, and enjoy spectacular views of the distant mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Grand Maspalomas
Grand Hotel Residencia
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing