We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, but very quiet”
Review of Seaside Palm Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seaside Palm Beach
Ranked #6 of 218 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed half board for one week at the Palm Beach Hotel in July 2013. We were very impressed with the hotel. Our room was lovely and it was serviced twice a day - the free bottles of water, chocolates and use of bath robes were much appreciated. We had a room on the ground floor overlooking the pool; privacy was a little limited on ground floor due to people walking past (had to keep the curtains shut!) but the room was lovely and had sunlight in the evening so we could sit on the balcony. We felt sorry for anyone on the ground floor one the other side of the hotel as there would have been a view of the car park so try to avoid this where possible.

The food was lovely (alternative buffet/BBQ and a la carte nights) although the drinks service was slow and service in general a little slow on the a la carte evenings. Staff very polite and friendly. The breakfast buffet is AMAZING!!! Anything you could ever want.

There is hardly anything going on in the hotel in the evening, empty bar (where were all the guests!?), no proper entertainment, so we found this quite boring. It is mostly older German couples who stay there (I am 30 and my partner is 32). Usually on holiday we are happy to hang out in the hotel bar and watch whatever is going on and have a few beers but most nights we walked into Meloneras or got a taxi to Playa del Ingles as it was just so quiet at the hotel. I would have to say I wouldn't recommend this hotel for younger couples, or groups of friends, or anyone looking for a lively holiday. Saying that, the bar is actually lovely although drinks are a little on the expensive side but this is what you expect for a 5 star hotel. We were confused at first but you pay for drinks on a tab (no one offers this information you have to work it out!) by signing a receipt with name and room number. We decided to pay ours mid-week as well as at the end so that it didn't get out of hand.

The hotel is practically on the sand dunes which is great, and very close to bars/restaurants of Meloneras (although mostly restaurants, no lively bars). When at the hotel during the day, we spent most of our time at the amazing flotation pool! This is slightly heated so no shocks when getting in, and is mineral enriched so you can float. The jacuzzi areas of the pool are so relaxing. We never had any problems with getting sunbeds and it stayed hot and sunny well into the evening which was great if we had been out and about in the day. Don't bother booking excursions - the hotel is a few minutes away from bus/taxi station with very easy to use bus service (they have a helpful website).

Great hotel and very helpful friendly staff - thank you.

Room Tip: Overlooking pool is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Cibran, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Seaside Palm Beach Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your holiday on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that you were impressed with our hotel, appreciated our friendly and helpful team and enjoyed your stay to the fullest.

In the summer time we entertain our guests with live music and shows at our African Bar as well as with ambient music on our restaurant terrace and in the bar.

The majority of our guests choose our Seaside Palm Beach**** in order to relax and to enjoy its quiet location close to the famous dunes of Maspalomas. However Playa del Inglés and Puerto Rico (both famous for offering a lively nightlife) are just a short taxi ride away from our Resort.

Furthermore we wish to thank you for your comment regarding the service at the a la carte evenings, which we have already shared with the relevant team members.

It was a pleasure having you as our guests and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rocío Cibrán
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

414 - 420 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

I have been visiting this hotel on and off for the best part of 20 years. That in itself should tell enough of a story for this review. The hotel commands a select position in a mature palm grove only a few steps from one of the world's ten best beaches. Owned and operated by German's you can expect high levels of Quality and Service, however, if you are British you may notice a lack of English speaking people in which to engage with during your stay.

The formula offered by this hotel is, in my opinion, complete. From half or full board with a selection of recreational activities included. As you would expect there is a great pool area with several sunbathing terraces and sufficient numbers of sunbeds that you don't need to play the "towels before breakfast" game. There is also a full Thelasotherapy massage suite which is accompanied by a full sized brine pool with integral water-treatment positions as well as a high temperature brine pool with gym (take care as this area is for naturists). There is a separate kiddie area with pool, sand-pit and playground style equipment. If you tire of the in-house facilities then within a few steps from the front door you find yourself on a stunning beach with safe bathing and cheap sun-bed rental.

The food offered by the Palm Beach is superb and all meals are taken outside. A breakfast buffet which would provide for the most eclectic taste includes complementary cava and premium freshly prepared coffee. Evening meals alternate between formal À la Carte and informal buffet BBQ each day with no set seating times and waiter service even on the barbecue nights. BBQ options are many and varied including meat, fish and pasta dishes. most meats cooked to your order individually. On other nights considering that the kitchen has no predetermined time schedule they manage to achieve a flowing À la Carte experience en-mass - clever! As most Brits will visit during the summer "off season" they will miss the 5-star dining options of La Tratattoria and The Orangeriè which are indoor, formal and only available during the high season of October through April. Lunches are available and if requested a half-board dinner can be exchanged for a lunch.

Evening dinner is accompanied by live music and subsequently an after dinner act (magician, band, dancers etc.) each night, although if staying for 2 weeks you will recognise some repetition. In good Germanic style there's a "lights out" policy in outside public areas at 10:30pm

So, something for everyone and high levels of service. Add a few words of German and a reasonable tip to the Maître d'hôtel, the pool service attendant and your housekeeper to step up to exceptional attention. The hotel was redecorated a few years ago in a 1970's style - it may not be to everyone's taste and certainly the decor in the basement bar/lounge will make your eyes bleed. But the main areas are easy-going if colourful.

You will be sure to find somewhere that does individual aspects of a holiday a little better than Palm Beach. You will surely struggle to find somewhere that does everything to this level. Perhaps it's unfortunate that this oasis of sublime contrasts so markedly with the rest of Gran Canaria which increasingly seems to be trapped in a time warp of 1985 where crumbling concrete and kiss-me quick hats prevail. That said there is enough on offer at Palm Beach to mean that you need stray no further than the beach to enjoy your break...

Room Tip: Floors 6 and 7 sea view rooms are best. Avoid floors 1-3 as these look right into the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My partner booked this after I had spinal surgery, and got the all clear to fly. She researched the hotels, and all I can say is she came up trumps. The hotel was incredible in every detail.
firstly - location, it is 10 minutes walk from shops, restaurants, bars, and bus station, where you can go for day trips and to visit other areas, it is near the moonlight cinema, and next to the sand dunes, and a 2 minute walk to the beach, which I don't think you could beat anywhere!
secondly - the room, we had a third floor room (1 floor up from reception), which overlooked the front of the hotel. we asked for a view, and the staff did say it had a good view - it was bit unfortunate that it didn't - we had the car park and hotel chalets on beach front - so if you want a room it is advisable to ask before you go for 5th floor room. that said, the room was spacious, clean, tidy, comfortable, great air conditioning, and you can't complain. We hoped for a double bed but understand generally abroad it is 2 single beds put together so cannot grumble. the bathroom was lovely, but as a tip, there is a slated window by the toilet looking into the hallway, so others could look in - put a small towel covering it if you worry about privacy.
thirdly - the food - it was incredible! the breakfast has so much choice we had no idea what to do with ourselves and made sure over the week we tried everything, smoothies, omelettes, cakes, fruit platters, cooked breakfast - all of it was wonderful.
the barbeque nights are also something we really really enjoyed! the a la carte was a little fancy for us (I think 2 of the restaurants were shut so the same one kept having to provide food), but just because it wasn't really to our taste, it was all still well presented, and delicious. as a side note (I know I keep writing them) the service did take a bit of time with these nights, some evening we took 2 hours to get the courses, so if I could change anything I would make service quicker, so do not make plans for these evenings as you may miss them.
on 2 occasions we had trips planned where we went out - the staff were accommodating as we would miss dinner, and did us packed lunches instead. all I can say is these were brilliant, fruit, bread, water, cheese, ham and yoghurts - exactly what we hoped for. they catered brilliantly.
fourthly - staff. the staff were all friendly, asking how the day was whether they we collecting, towels, middle management, cooking omelettes or cleaning a room. the friendliness was refreshing, and they were smartly presented, and I could say we had nothing but compliments to give the staff. they made the hotel a very friendly place to visit. I have read reviews about being German friendly, but I can say we seemed to receive equal treatment, I saw no favouritism between any nationality.
finally - the hotel itself - was beautiful. it was clean, decorated very well, well presented, spacious, and the bars were clean and enjoyed drinks. the toilets were spotless, the views from top were very nice, and the pool was lovely. there are 3 pools, (a well thought out childrens one, the main one which was clean and very relaxed to swim in, and a salt one which is linked to the spa). the main pool had plenty of sunbeds and parasol's to use and we never struggled to find one - you do get the usual of people reserving the best ones at ungodly hours in the morning but as we always found one somewhere this was not a problem for us.
the gym kit is dated, but useable - it did everything we needed for a quicky workout whilst away.
the sauna and steam room was pleasant but be advised - naked men in the sauna. thankfully sat on towels but thought i'd mention it.
not much to say, room was lush, staff were brilliant, food was incredible, service was faultless and location was flawless. if we were to return to maspalomas this would definitely be our first choice hotel!

Room Tip: go above 4th floor and ask for view of sea and dunes. I would advise requesting this before you lea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rich s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Really great stay in a quality hotel. Yes they do favour the Germans but that's probably due to 90%of the guests being German . However if you want top food and friendly staff then this is worth a look . we will be back again .

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view from the 4th floor up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoyLorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Cibran, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Seaside Palm Beach Guest,

Thank you for having chosen our Seaside Palm Beach***** as your holiday destination.

We are glad that you had a nice stay and that you are already planning a return visit.

However we are very sorry to hear that you felt that another nationality was favored. Please accept our sincere apologies! Rest assured that we strive to provide the very best services for all our guests.

Furthermore please be informed that our guests come from all over Europe and therefore we attach great importance to employ multilingual staff only.

Once again we wish to thank you for your review and are looking forward to your return.

Kind regards,

Rocío Cibrán
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just returned from this fab hotel. Had 10 nights , half board. All as expected from previous reviews, great location, food, service etc. My only negative is that after breakfast you cannot get a drink of water without having to pay for it, though you do get a free bottle in your room. Even at dinner you have to pay. We had 4 small bottles per evening working out at around 12 euros. Seems a bit cheap not providing free water in such a great place. As mentioned previously, British tour operators only book the cheapest rooms, so we paid the hotel direct for 2 category B rooms, very nice. We will be booking to go back. We left on the 4th July, and I believe the hotel filled very soon after this, so we will be booking for early June.

Room Tip: We had 5th floor after upgrade. Sea view no good less than 5th floor. Pool view gets hot evening sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Cibran, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Martin,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us.

We are happy to hear that you had a nice time and enjoyed the food, the service and the great location of our Seaside Palm Beach*****.

Your feedback is highly appreciated, since we always strive to meet the expectations of our guests. Rest assured that we took note of your suggestion concerning the water.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we are looking forward to your return.

With best regards,

Rocío Cibrán
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Poor restaurant service at dinner. Charging for drinks not had, and forging of signatures on tab. Witnessed German guests paying waiters for quicker service while we had to wait extra time for meals. Also witnessed payments to pool attendants to secure prime sunbeds for duration of stay - against a written policy of non reservation of poolside sunbeds(a newer version of the early morning German towel on beds tricks).After recovering from major life threatening surgery we were forced to cancel a Thompson luxury holiday to Mexico and rebooked with Thompson A La Carte for a flight of shorter duration with guaranteed sun. After much deliberation we chose Palm Beach on half board option. As is the norm with Brits travelling with Thompson we pay top prices for our packages but always seem to be bunched together in the lowest category rooms, and this was by no means a cheap holiday. The room allocated was good not exceptional for 5 star - overlooking car park and with palm trees 2 metres from balcony obscuring all views of beach and sea(although these were cut back after 4 days opening up views). Alternative room was offered for a payment of 470.00 euros.
Breakfasts were very good with a great selection of fruit, cereals and cooked options, also a complete coffee menu and gratis cava.
Dinner was indifferent. Barbeque options 3 days a week with overcooked meats and no vegetarian options. On the other 4 nights an a la carte menu with limited options, although the dishes looked great they were often tasteless, unseasoned, luke warm, and sometimes seemed to be made up from barbeque leftovers. To make matters worse the service on menu nights was appallingly slow, for a couple of nights we dined out elsewhere.(highly recommend Time restaurant, Maspalomas, at the end of the Oasis complex - superb food and nice guys who run it) On a couple of days they allow you to take lunch instead of dinner - this is the best option as the lunch menus are far superior to anything served at dinner.
Overall the staff were pleasant and friendly and we did enjoy our holiday, the resort was great, brilliant beach great for walking, leading 800m to the nudist beach catering for gay and naturists it was an educational walk where everyone walked together without any discomfort or inhibitions. In the other direction to Melonaras past the picturesque lighthouse there are many excellent restaurants and also some sumptuous up market designer shops. Would recommend 19th Hole bar and restaurant great service and good spot to listen to live rock music every night. Best act Chris Moony who also plays at the Blarney Stone 3 nights a week in Porto Rico.
To sum up - there are many other 5 star rated hotels in the area which I would consider booking with, we would not return to the Palm Beach.

Room Tip: 4th floor and above rooms at front of hotel are best for views - sea and dunes. rear of hotel for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank theseerjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Cibran, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Seaside Palm Beach Guest,

Thank you for feedback published on Tripadvisor.

First of all we are glad to read that you enjoyed your holiday here on Gran Canaria.

However we regret that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and wish to comment on your statements.

Our reception makes a courtesy call after each check-in, asking if everything would be in order. Should a guest not be entirely satisfied with the allocated room, we always try to offer alternatives within the same category (according to availability). We are sorry that your travel agency has not informed you about the location and the view of the room when you did your booking.

It is our aim to provide a first class service to all of our guests, no matter where they come from or with which tour operator the vacation has been booked. And most certainly tips should not be an issue at all – our guests deserve a five star service with or without tips. Therefore please rest assured that we take your comments very seriously and will address them with the respective departments.

By providing high quality, fresh products, which we prepare a la minute, we try to pamper our guests. We regret to hear that our menus and the BBQ were not to your taste. During dinner time our management team usually uses the opportunity to check with our guests if everything meets their expectations; we hope that you have contacted our team right away, enabling us to find a solution for you.

Once again we wish to thank you for your valuable feedback. While we understand that your stay was not entirely satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance.

If there is anything we can do to meet your expectations during your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

With best regards,

Rocío Cibrán
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Perfect situation, near to the beach, personal service, staff very friendly. Excellent and varied cuisine. Get a room on the top floors, either pool side or sea view. Deckchairs are nice and large enough, African bar perfect for your poolside lunch I'll certainly get back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vergote L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Cibran, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013
Google Translation

Sehr geehrter Seaside Palm Beach Gast,

vielen Dank, dass Sie das Seaside Palm Beach anlässlich Ihres Aufenthaltes auf Gran Canaria gewählt haben. Schön, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, Ihre Bewertung auf Tripadvisor abzugeben.

Wir freuen uns, dass es Ihnen in unserem Hause gefallen hat und hoffen, Sie baldmöglichst – bei bester Gesundheit – in unserem Hotel wieder willkommen heißen zu dürfen.

Mit den herzlichsten Grüßen und erneutem Dank für Ihre Kommentare verbleibe ich

Rocío Cibrán
Direktorin Seaside Palm Beach*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
0.2 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
4.5 mi away
Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort
2 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,903 reviews
2 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,622 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Palm Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Palm Beach

Address: Avenida del Oasis s/n, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Maspalomas
#6 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#14 Green Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range: $234 - $821 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Seaside Palm Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Palm Beach, the first and until now only member of “Design Hotels” on Gran Canaria, can be found alongside the nature reserve and sand-dunes of Maspalomas, set in an extensive palm grove, a unique and privileged location. For those in search of tranquility and the highest standard of cuisine, at just a few steps from the beach, this hotel is the perfect location for couples and families of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Seaside Palm Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Palm Beach Hotel Maspalomas
Seaside Hotel Maspalomas
Palm Beach Gran Canaria
Seaside Palm Beach Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing