We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Pity”
Review of Seaside Palm Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seaside Palm Beach
Ranked #6 of 217 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I really liked this Hotel and its Staff but I was severely disappointed, mainly by serious hygiene failures.

1. Awoke during the night to find a large cockroach crawling over bedside table. After a hunt we captured it under a glass. Following a complaint we were moved to a new room down the corridor with a 1/2 bottle of cheap Cava. It meant we had to wash and disinfect everything when we arrived home in case we infected our home with our clothes and luggage. (larvae/eggs). We were told that it could have flown in from the balcony. Maybe so. We didn't have the balcony door open at the time.
2. Came back to the room one evening to find the door wide open (after the cleaners had gone home) and any passers-by would have had access to all our stuff. Apparently a porter had delivered a letter addressed to someone else to our room and left the door open. Thankfully nothing was missing. The receptionist apologised.
3. At breakfast every morning pigeons walked right across the display of cold meats and cheeses, pecking away for all they were worth and then perching on the rim of a fruit salad bowls. They were in at the cereal bowls also. The manageress apologised and took away a bowl when I complained. The meat and cheeses remained. A definite health hazard.
4. Pigeons and sparrows flew on to the bread cutting board and pecked away at the loaves. I saw people coming up and cutting slices of loaf on the boards that the birds had been walking on and pecking at seconds earlier. We were told it was a wildlife conservation area and there was nothing they could do? A definite health hazard.
5. The fire escape door was wedged open with a stone. This is a security hazard as this is how Mediterranean and Eastern European criminals sneak in and enter hotel rooms to burgle and steal guest's property.

I regret having to report all these negative things because I have to say that all the Staff and especially Nicole were extremely pleasant and helpful. You could not find better staff anywhere. They were all truly wonderful and deserve great credit.

Otherwise this is an excellent Hotel and I would love to have been able to recommend it very highly but I'm prevented from doing so by the above complaints. Oh dear, what a pity!

I hate doing this because the Staff are so brilliant and the food is good.

Room Tip: Make toast and have cooked breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Soloncroesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Cibran, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Seaside Palm Beach Guest,

Thank you for your feedback posted on Tripadvisor.

First of all we are glad to hear that you found our team, the food and our Resort in general to be brilliant.

Please be assured that we take all possible measures in order to keep birds away from our hotel grounds. Furthermore the food is always covered, just like the area where we offer bread; we keep the bread in boxes, so that birds can not access it.

However due to the closeness of our hotel to the nature reserve it is true that only certain procedures are allowed and that every action has to be discussed with the bird protection society. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused by this and by encountering a bug in your room. We are terribly sorry and would like to let you know that this has been a very rare occurrence, since our fumigation procedures are very strict.

As the direct feedback of our guests is of paramount importance for us we wish to thank you once again for your comments. Please rest assured that we have immediately addressed all your issues and are working hard to improve wherever possible.

We would love the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and remain

with kind regards,

Rocío Cibrán
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

436 - 442 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had never been to Gran Canaria before and have loved every minute of it. The hotel is lovely and well kept. The staff are all very helpful and our room was very comfortable, we had a room at the front of the hotel so not much of a view but then I don't stay in my room much! The pool areas are very good, with 3 pools to cater for everyone. One for children, bigger pool to swim/cool down in and an area with a salt water pool. There is also a gym area which seemed very popular although I didn't use it, it did seem to have all the regular gym equipment. I did try the Spa I had a pedicure and it was fabulous. The food is excellent, we had thought we would eat out some nights but to be honest it would have been a waste of money. The entertainment in the hotel is a bit hit and miss but generally ok and we had gone on this holiday mainly to sit in the sun in a comfortable environment with good food and plenty of rest and that is exactly what we got. We did venture out and about and used the local buses which are very good, also the taxis are very reasonable. All in all a very good holiday and I would go back again

Room Tip: To be honest all the rooms are good just depends if you need a room with a view, the front of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TEDDY001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Cibran, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Seaside Palm Beach Guest,

We sincerely appreciate your review and would like to thank you for having chosen the Seaside Palm Beach***** as your holiday destination in Gran Canaria.

As we value the comments of our guests, we were glad to read that you perceive our hotel as well kept and our employees as being helpful.

It is a delight to learn that you enjoyed the different pool areas, our spa and the treatments offered, as well as our service and our excellent cuisine.

We look forward to meeting you again on future holidays.

Kind regards,

Rocío Cibrán
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel had loads of great features, the pools and grounds were impressive. We booked bed and breakfast because of the many and varied resturants in the area, we thought we would eat out most nights, but try the hotel for a couple evenings, however when we asked about the barbecue night we were told it would cost 60 euros: very expensive for a barbecue, so we just went out to eat. The service was excellent, the keeping the rooms top notch. The exterior of the actual building was a little dated compared to others in the area, the Palm Beach sign is old fashioned and lets the building down, I know its only a little thing but compared to other luxury hotels in the area its noticeable. The only negative from a slightly prudish middle aged English couple is the sauna area: all of the other users of the sauna and sun beds in the sauna area do so naked, without warning!! I just thought there should be a sign somewhere, it also spoiled it for us, i feel that you can use a sauna in swim wear without making others feel uncomfortalbe

Room Tip: The room we had, had a shower only, if you like a soak in the bath you need to state the requirement...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 462HAINES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I had not been to Gran Canaria for 15 years and decided we needed a week in the sun in a good hotel.
We were not disappointed the weather was in the high 20s , the hotel was comfortable and the flight on time and car meeting us at the airport made the visit painless. The hotel caters for a large number of guests but to a high service standard. There were 3 barbecue evenings during the week. These provided a buffet with a wide variety of food ranging from lobster and fish cooked to order to steak,duck and chicken. Most guests ate outside but I went inside to the restaurant which was very comfortable and there were more tables available. There was no shortage of beds or umbrellas and the pool staff were particularly helpful. There are a number of pools heated,freshwater and seawater with plenty of space for everyone. The balcony view across to the sea was not a great advantage. A pool view would have been as good and with a better chance of getting the sun in the afternoon. I would have preferred less barbecue buffets or extra cooking stations to reduce the wait for cooked while you wait food. However this is a very minor comment. The main test is that we will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arkay72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Cibran, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Seaside Palm Beach Guest,

Thank you very much for the comments published here on Tripadvisor.

We are truly pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the high service standard and our helpful employees; especially our pool service. This shows us that we are on the right track.

Rest assured that we will take your remark about the barbecue buffets into consideration and will think about a solution, which allows us to keep our philosophy of offering an exquisite gastronomy cooked “à la minute”.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Rocío Cibrán
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We were not that impressed by the photo's but our travel agent persuaded us to go, so we did and we were so glad that we took his advice. Good staff but fantastic food and good room. It was certainly better than the alternatives we looked at and pleased we chose Maspalomas it's a lovely area.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Cibran, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Seaside Palm Beach guest,

Thank you very much for your review published on Tripadvisor.

We are very proud to learn that your travel agency recommended us and most certainly took on board your comment regarding the photos in the catalogue. Rest assured that we already checked this issue with our Marketing Department.

Thank you so much for your kind words about our team, the good food and the allocated room. We really appreciate your kind words.

It was a pleasure having you as our guests and we would be honoured to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rocío Cibrán
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

If you really want to go to a "Med" resort, this hotel is very nice. The rooms are as good as it gets. The staff are wonderful: helpful, pleasant, well-trained... The hotel is very quiet, despite the large size of the hotel and there is some entertainment in the bar in the evening. The breakfasts are absolutely wonderful - everything and more. The pools are lovely. This is a typical resort for people who want to indulge in the spa, nude or semi-nude sun-bathing, and luxury. The grounds are lovely and well-kept. It is a short walk to the sea, the dunes and other hotels and restaurants. The Wifi quality is excellent.

Room Tip: The third floor rooms have a much better view than the second floor. Choose the rooms closest to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances4612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Cibran, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Seaside Palm Beach Guest,

Thank you very much for for sharing your holiday experience with us.

We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant and relaxing stay with us and enjoyed our wonderful breakfast and the pools.

Your kind words about our staff are truly a great motivation for us.

Once again we wish to thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back to our Seaside Palm Beach ***** in the near future.

With best regards,

Rocío Cibrán
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We went here just after Easter for a weeks worth of R and R and were not disappointed! The age group it attracts is mixed but we chose it as there are adult only areas and not a great take up of families. it was really peaceful but in easy access to bars and other restaurants if you wish. The food is really quite good but you have to be willing to try anything! The set menu is quite restrictive but buffet nights are fantastic. the staff are extremely helpful and polite. We stayed here about 5 years ago and it is much improved.
We went out for a walk most mornings and visited the local shops . The one right opposite the hotel is convenient but the girl continued to text and didn't acknowledged us so we tried the Oasis one just off the beach and he was even more rude! The shops at the back of the hotel - behind the spa - are really helpful and friendly and worthy of your custom!

All in all a place to return to - a week is just not enough!

Room Tip: We had a very quiet room overlooking the front of the hotel and you could see the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dinks47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Cibran, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Seaside Palm Beach Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments posted on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you had a nice stay with us and that everything lived up to your expectations.

Furthermore we are pleased that you enjoyed the food, especially our buffet nights, and that you found our staff to be very helpful and polite.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back and remain

with kind regards from Gran Canaria,

Rocio Cibran
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach *****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
0.2 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
2.0 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,482 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,877 reviews
8.7 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Palm Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Palm Beach

Address: Avenida del Oasis s/n, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Maspalomas
#6 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#14 Green Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range: $241 - $731 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Seaside Palm Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Palm Beach, the first and until now only member of “Design Hotels” on Gran Canaria, can be found alongside the nature reserve and sand-dunes of Maspalomas, set in an extensive palm grove, a unique and privileged location. For those in search of tranquility and the highest standard of cuisine, at just a few steps from the beach, this hotel is the perfect location for couples and families of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Seaside Palm Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Palm Beach Hotel Maspalomas
Seaside Hotel Maspalomas
Palm Beach Gran Canaria
Seaside Palm Beach Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing